فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مؤتمر باريس يوحد الشخصيات المتنافسة، ولكن ليس ليبيا

مؤتمر باريس يوحد الشخصيات المتنافسة، ولكن ليس ليبيا

Libya- Haftar
(من اليسار) القائد العام للجيش الليبي المشير خليفة حفتر، ورئيس البرلمان الليبي في مدينة طبرق الشرقية عقيلة صالح عيسى، ورئيس المجلس الرئاسي لحكومة الوفاق الوطني فايز السراج، ورئيس مجلس الدولة خالد المشري، أثناء حضورهم المؤتمر الدولي حول ليبيا في قصر الإليزيه في باريس، في 29 مايو 2018. Photo AFP

بعد اجتماعهم في باريس في 28 مايو 2018، اتفق الزعماء الليبيون المتنافسون على خريطة طريقٍ نحو الانتخابات البرلمانية والرئاسية للبلاد، التي تشهد حالةً من الفوضى منذ الربيع العربي ووفاة زعيمها السابق، العقيد القذافي، في عام 2011. وتطالب حكوماتٌ متنازعة في الشرق والغرب بتولي السلطة منذ ذلك الحين ويدعم كل طرفٍ ميليشيات مختلفة. وتأمل جميع الأطراف، التي تضمت العديد من جيران ليبيا والدول الغربية والأمم المتحدة، أن يتوجه الليبيون إلى صناديق الاقتراع في 10 ديسمبر لانتخاب حكومةٍ جديدة. عندئذ، سيتم منح الحكومة الجديدة المنتخبة والبرلمان مهمة تحقيق الاستقرار في البلاد.

وقع على الاتفاق كل من فايز السراج، الذي يقود حكومة الوفاق الوطني في الغرب، وهي الحكومة المعترف بها من قبل الأمم المتحدة، والرجل العسكري ذو النفوذ، خليفة حفتر، الذي تسيطر قواته على الشرق. وكان من بين الموقعين أيضاً عقيلة صالح عيسى، رئيس مجلس النواب الليبي في مدينة طبرق الشرقية، التي تعارض حكومة الوفاق الوطني، وخالد المشري، رئيس المجلس الأعلى للدولة المنتخب حديثاً.

في واقع الأمر، اعتبرت موافقة المشري، وهو عضوٌ في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، الجلوس على طاولة الحوار مع حفتر انجازاً كبيراً بحد ذاته. فقد سبق واتهم حفتر جميع الإسلاميين في ليبيا بكونهم إرهابيين، في حين قال المشري أنه لا يعترف بحفتر باعتباره شخصية عسكرية شرعية. غير أن الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون توسط في المحادثات، وأشاد بالاتفاق باعتباره نجاحاً كبيراً.

وقال ماكرون في ختام المؤتمر القصير الذي ضم ممثلين من 20 دولة: “هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يوافق فيها الزعماء الليبيون على العمل معاً ويتفقون على إعلاٍن مشترك.” وأضاف “الآن، لدينا التزامات واضحة تجاه البلاد، جدول مواعيد متفق عليه للانتخابات.”

وإلى جانب إجراء الانتخابات، تشمل بنود الإتفاق توحيد المؤسسات المالية الرئيسية في البلاد مثل البنك المركزي الليبي، والتخلص التدريجي من الحكومة والمؤسسات الموازية، وبناء جيش وطني. وينص الإتفاق أيضاً على أن تحافظ جميع الأطراف على الأمن خلال الانتخابات، واحترام النتيجة النهائية.

وعلى الرغم من تفاؤل مختلف أصحاب المصلحة، يتوقع المحللون المختصون بالمنطقة أن تواجه خارطة الطريق نحو الانتخابات عقباتٍ رئيسية. بل إن العديد من الجماعات المسلحة في غرب ليبيا رفضت مؤتمر باريس والاتفاقية الموقعة، زاعمين أنها لم تمثلهم.

فقد قالت الجماعات المسلحة في بيانٍ مشترك قبل المحادثات، “إننا ندعو إلى حوارٍ حقيقي يركز على طموحات المجتمع الليبي.” كما أعلنت الفصائل عن معارضتها للتدخل الأجنبي ولأي جهودٍ لفرض الديكتاتورية العسكرية في ليبيا. ويخشى العديد من المعارضين لحفتر أن يدعم رعاته، لا سيما مصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة، طموح الرجل القوي لحكم البلاد بقبضةٍ من حديد.

في حين اتخذت الجماعات المسلحة الأخرى نهجاً أكثر عدوانية. ففي مطلع الأسبوع الذي سبق محادثات باريس، اجتثت فصائل أخرى الحرس الرئاسي- وهو قوة تابعة لحومة الوفاق الوطني- من مناطق قريبة من مطار طرابلس الدولي ومن مكتب رئيس الوزراء. كما اندلعت أحداث عنفٍ في بعض المناطق بسبب التحريض على اجتماع باريس، وفقاً لمصادر دبلوماسية.

وتوقعت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية (ICG)، وهي مؤسسة فكرية غير ربحية مقرها بلجيكا، أن مؤتمر باريس سيسبب مشاكل أكثر من تقديم الحلول. وورد أن بعض المقاتلين أعربوا عن قلقهم من أن فرنسا تقوّض جهود السلام التي تقودها الأمم المتحدة. فقد حاول الممثل الخاص للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة في ليبيا، غسان سلامة، منذ وقتٍ طويل حشد الشخصيات المتنافسة وراء خطة عملٍ خاصة به، إلا أن اتفاق باريس يخاطر اليوم بإقصاء مبادرة ونفوذ سلامة. إلا أن تصريحاتٍ خرجت من فرنسا ذكرت إن قمة باريس تدعم جهود الأمم المتحدة، ولا تقوّضها.

وتساءل سياسي من مدينة مصراته الغربية بقوله، “لا نرى أين موقع الأمم المتحدة في كل هذا. ما هي العلاقة بين ما تفعله فرنسا وبين ما صرح ممثل الأمم المتحدة أنه ينوي القيام به.”

وعلى الرغم من عدم وضوح العلاقة بينهما، إلا أن سلامة عبر عن دعمه لإتفاق باريس. وادعى أنه متفائلٌ بشأن العملية وأنه “لم يسبق أن رأى” مثل هذه الإرادة السياسية الموحدة بين الشخصيات الليبية الرئيسية والجهات الفاعلة الدولية.

ومع ذلك، لا تزال ليبيا مقسمّة ومتقلبة. فمنذ خمس أسابيعٍ مضت، تشن قوات حفتر حملةً وحشية لمحاولة استعادة مدينة درنة الشرقية من الإسلاميين المتشددين. وبينما تم الإبلاغ عن وقوع العشرات من الإصابات في المدنية، لم ينطق أحدٌ في مؤتمر باريس بكلمة عن القتال المستمر. كان ذلك مفاجئاً بشكلٍ خاص، ذلك أن المشري سبق أن هدد بعدم توقيع اتفاقٍ في باريس ما لم تقم قوات حفتر بفك حصارها على درنة.

وقالت كبيرة المحللين في الشأن الليبي في مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، كلوديا غازيني لفرانس 24، ” في الواقع هذه فرصة تم تفويتها وأمرٌ يدعو للأسف أن قمة كهذه [جمعت ما بين] جميع الممثلين الدوليين والمحليين تحت سقفٍ واحد لم تتطرق إلى النزاعات المستمرة في ليبيا اليوم. مدينة درنة أولاً وسبها التالية.”

وأضافت غازيني: “كانت هذه فرصة جيدة لاستخدام هذا البرنامج على الأقل للتوصل إلى توافقٍ في الآراء حول كيفية تشكيل فريق عمل لحل هذه النزاعات بالطرق السلمية بدلاً من التزام الصمت.”

واليوم، تم التوصل إلى اتفاق، إلا أن المحللين يشككون في إمكانية تنفيذه.

فقد كتب طارق المجريسي، وهو زميل زائر في المجلس الأوروبي للعلاقات الخارجية، أنه مع وجود العديد من النخب السياسية وزعماء الميليشيات الذين يستفيدون من الوضع الراهن- عن طريق عمليات الاختطاف أو التهريب أو النهب- فإن القليل، إن وجد، يملكون الحافز لإنهاء الفوضى.

وكما كتب المجريسي، وهكذا، تنامى غضب الجهات الفاعلة الدولية. ومع ذلك، فقد ثبت أن التوصل إلى إجماعٍ دولي “لإصلاح” ليبيا أمرٌ صعب تماماً كما هو حال التوصل إلى إجماعٍ محلي.

بيد أن الانتخابات في ديسمبر القادم تملك القدرة على إحداث التغيير- إلا أن التصويت يمكن أن يؤدي بسهولة إلى زعزعة استقرار البلاد. وتتمثل الطريقة الوحيدة التي قد تستفيد بها ليبيا من الانتخابات بتبني الدول الأوروبية موقفاً موحداً حول نوع الانتخابات التي ترغب في أن يتم إجراؤها في ليبيا والإشراف على العملية من خلال العمل مع الأمم المتحدة والمفوضية الوطنية العليا للانتخابات، وغيرها من اللاعبين البارزين لتقليل خطر وقوع كارثة.

وكتب المجريسي أيضاً، “علمنا التاريخ الحديث أنّ الشقاق والإرتباك على الساحة الدولية ينعكسان كما هو متوقع على أرض الواقع في ليبيا.” وأضاف “في حال لم تعكس انتخابات عام 2018 [كارثة] إنتخابات عام 2014، فلا بد من تعلّم الدروس المستفادة من السنوات الأربع الأخيرة.”

ويبدو أن فرنسا ما زالت تتعلم هذا الدرس. ويبدو أن ماكرون يضغط على ليبيا لإجراء انتخاباتٍ قبل أن تكون البلاد آمنة بما يكفي لإجرائها. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يعرف أحدٌ ما إذا كان بمقدور سكان مدينتي درنة وسبها المشاركة في الإنتخابات الوطنية إذا ما استمر القتال، وقد يُحرم أيضاً أولئك النازحون داخلياً من حقهم في التصويت، نظراً لكونهم خارج دوائرهم الانتخابية، ولربما يتعرض الليبيون الذين قد يرغبون في الترشح للانتخابات للترهيب لسحب ترشحهم.

ومع أخذ هذه المخاوف بعين الاعتبار، قالت غازيني لفرانس 24 إن ماكرون كان من المفترض أن يُسّهل التزاماً أقوى من جميع الشخصيات المتنافسة لتوحيد المؤسسات المالية واستعادة الأمن، بدلاً من الدفع نحو إجراء الانتخابات. كما أكدت أن إنجاز هذه الخطوات من شأنه أن يعمل على تحسين حياة الليبيين أكثر من قدرة الانتخابات في هذه المرحلة.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Paris Conference unites Rival Figures, but not Libya

Paris Conference unites Rival Figures, but not Libya

Libya- Haftar
(From L) Libyan National Army’s Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar, Libya’s parliament speaker based in the eastern town of Tobruk Aguila Saleh Issa, Libya’s Presidential Council of the Government of National Accord Fayez al-Sarraj, and President of the High Council of State of Libya Khaled Mechri attend an International Congress on Libya at the Elysee Palace in Paris, on May 29, 2018. Photo AFP

After meeting in Paris on May 28 2018, rival Libyan leaders agreed on a road map towards parliamentary and presidential elections for the country, which has been left in chaos since the Arab Spring and the death of its former leader, Colonel Gadhafi, in 2011. Rival governments in the east and west have claimed power since then, each side backed by militias. All sides, which included several of Libya’s neighbors, western countries and the UN, hope that Libyans will head to the ballot box on December 10 to elect a new government. The newly elected cabinet and parliament would then be given the task of stabilizing the country.

The agreement was signed by Fayez al-Sarraj, who leads the Government of National Accord (GNA) in the west, the government recognised by the UN, and the military strongman Khalifa Haftar, whose forces dominate the east. Aguila Saleh Issa, the president of the House of Representatives in the eastern city of Tobruk, who opposes the GNA, and Khalid Al-Mishri, the newly elected head of the High Council of State also inked their names to the agreement.

The fact that Al-Mishri, a member of the Muslim Brotherhood, agreed to sit down with Haftar was considered a major breakthrough. Haftar had previously framed all Islamists in Libya as terrorists, while Al-Mishri had said that he doesn’t recognize Haftar as a legitimate military figure. French president Emmanuel Macron nonetheless mediated the talks, and hailed the agreement as a major success.

“This is the first time these Libyan leaders accepted to work together and approved a joint declaration,” Macron said at the end of the brief conference, which included representatives from 20 countries. “Now, we have clear commitments for the country, an approved calendar for elections.”

Besides holding elections, the terms of the agreement include unifying the country’s key financial institutions such as the Libyan Central Bank, phasing out parallel government and institutions” and building a national army. It stipulates that all parties will preserve security during the elections, and respect the final outcome.

Despite the optimism of various stakeholders, analysts of the region are predicting that the roadmap to elections will face major hurdles. Several armed groups in the west of Libya even rejected the Paris conference and the signed agreement, claiming that it didn’t represent them.

“We call for real dialogue focused on the aspirations of Libyan society in its aspects,” the armed groups said in a joint statement before the talks. The factions also announced their opposition to foreign interference and to any efforts to impose a military dictatorship in Libya. Many opponents of Haftar fear that his patrons, especially Egypt and the UAE, are supporting the strongman’s ambition to rule the country with an iron fist.

Other armed groups have taken a more aggressive approach. In the weekend leading up to the Paris talks, factions uprooted the Presidential Guard – a GNA force – from areas near Tripoli’s international airport and the prime minister’s office. The violence was triggered in part due to agitation over the Paris meeting, according to diplomatic sources.

International Crisis Group (ICG), a non-profit think tank based in Belgium, predicted that the Paris conference would cause more problems than solutions. Some fighters reportedly expressed concern that France was subverting UN-led peace efforts. The UN Secretary General’s Special Representative for Libya, Ghassan Salame, has long tried to rally competing figures behind his own action plan, but the Paris agreement now risks trumping Salame’s initiative and authority. (France said the Paris summit was supporting the UN’s efforts, not supplanting them).

“We don’t see where the UN fits into all of this. What is the link between what the French are doing and what the UN representative has stated that he wants to do,” asked a politician from the western port city of Misrata.

While the link isn’t clear, Salame still expressed support for the Paris agreement. He claimed that he was optimistic about the process and that he had ‘never seen’ such a unified political will between key Libyan figures and international actors.

Libya nevertheless remains fragmented and volatile. For the past five weeks, Haftar’s forces have been waging a brutal campaign to try and retake the eastern city of Derna from hardline Islamists. And while scores of civilian causalities have been reported, nobody at the Paris conference uttered a word about the ongoing fighting. That was particularly surprising since Al-Mishri had previously threatened not to ink an agreement in Paris unless Haftar’s forces ended its siege on Derna.

“It’s actually a missed opportunity and a pity that a summit like this [that brought together] all the international and domestic actors in the room together didn’t deal with what are the ongoing conflicts in Libya today. Derna is the first one and Sebha is the second,” Claudia Gazzini, a Libya expert from International Crisis Group, told France 24.

“It would have been a good opportunity to at least use this platform to forge some consensus on how to form a taskforce to solve these conflicts through peaceful means instead of remaining silent,” Gazzini added.

An agreement is now in place, but analysts are skeptical about its enforcement. Tarek Megerisi, a visiting fellow at the European Council on Foreign Relations, wrote that with so many political elites and militia leaders benefiting from the status quo – by way of kidnapping, smuggling, or pillaging – few, if any, have an incentive to end the chaos.

International actors have thus grown exasperated, writes Megerisi. That said, forging an international consensus to ‘fix’ Libya has proved as trialing as building a domestic one.

Elections in December nevertheless do have the ability to jumpstart change – but the vote could just as easily destabilize the country. The only way that Libya might benefit from elections is if European states adopt a unified stance over the kind of elections they would like to have in Libya and oversee the process by working with the UN, the High National Elections Commission (HNEC) and other prominent players to lessen the risk of a catastrophe.

“Recent history has taught us that disunity and confusion on the international scene is inevitably mirrored on the ground in Libya,” writes Megerisi. “If 2018’s elections are not to mirror the [catastrophe] of 2014’s then the lessons of the last four years will need to be learned.”

France, it seems, is still learning that lesson. Macron appears to be pushing Libya to hold an election before the country is secure enough to have one. Nobody, for instance, knows if residents in Derna or Sebha will be able to participate in a national election if fighting ranges on. Those who are internally displaced may also be denied their right to vote, since they would be languishing outside of their constituency. Libyans who may want to run for elections could further be intimidated into withdrawing their candidacy.

With these concerns in mind, Gazzini told France 24 that Macron should have facilitated a stronger commitment from all rival figures to unify financial institutions and to restore security, rather than push for elections. Accomplishing these steps, she stresses, would do more to improve the lives of Libyans than an election can at this stage.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.