فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الثورة ضد القذافي عام 2011

الثورة ضد القذافي عام 2011

مؤيدو القذافي في شوارع طرابلس / Photo HH
مؤيدو القذافي في شوارع طرابلس / Photo HH

اعتُقل الناشط الحقوقي والمحامي فتحي تربل، ممثل عائلات ضحايا مجزرة أبو سليم، في بنغازي في 15 شباط/فبراير عام 2011 بعد مرور أكثر من شهر على المظاهرات التي اندلعت في مدن بنغازي والبيضاء ودرنة الواقعة في إقليم برقة احتجاجاً على تفشي الفساد السياسي والتأخر في بناء الوحدات السكنية. أدى اعتقال تربل إلى إشتعال الثورة ضد القذافي. وفي نهاية كانون الثاني/يناير، ردت الحكومة بمبلغ 20 مليار يورو للاستثمار والتنمية المحلية. كما أطلقت سراح مجموعة من السجناء من أعضاء الجماعة الإسلامية الليبية المقاتلة على أمل تهدئة التوترات. ولكن في 1 شباط/فبراير تم اعتقال جمال الحاجي الناشط الحقوقي في بنغازي بعد أن دعا على شبكة الإنترنت إلى مظاهرات تطالب بحريات أكبر في ليبيا مستلهمة من الثورة التونسية والمصرية.

استمرت الدعوة إلى التمرد على الإنترنت، وبلغت ذروتها في دعوات إلى “يوم غضب” ضد النظام في 17 شباط/فبراير. انطلقت احتجاجات في إقليم برقة (بنغازي، أجدابيا، درنة، الزنتان، البيضاء) كما في الزنتان في منطقة جبل نفوسة في الغرب الذي يهيمن عليه الأمازيع. وتلتها ثورة مصراتة في 24 شباط/فبراير. تم قمع المظاهرات بشراسة، مما دفع بالمتظاهرين إلى استخدام العنف بدورهم. وفي 20 شباط/فبراير، ألقى سيف الإسلام القذافي خطاباً مطولاً أعلن فيه عن تغيير عرضه السابق بالليبرالية الإصلاحية إلى تأييد صريح للقمع الرجعي. استخدمت الحكومة الطائرات للهجوم على المتظاهرين؛ وتم سحق ثورة مصراتة عن طريق سلاح الجو.

في 26 شباط/ فبراير، أصدر مجلس الأمن في الأمم المتحدة القرار 1970 استناداً إلى الفصل السابع من ميثاق الأمم المتحدة. فتم تجميد أصول عائلة القذافي ومنع سفر أي من أفراد العائلة. وتمت إحالة قضايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. في 27 شباط/ فبراير، شكل الثوار في بنغازي مجلساً وطنياً انتقالياً ليكون بمثابة “واجهة سياسية للثورة”، وفي 5 آذار/مارس أعلن المجلس أنه “الجهة الشرعية الوحيدة التي تمثل الشعب الليبي والدولة الليبية”. وتم تعيين محمود جبريل رئيس المكتب التنفيذي.

في 17 آذار/مارس، أصدر مجلس الأمن في الأمم المتحدة القرار رقم 1973 بفرض حظر جوي فوق ليبيا ويسمح بضربات جوية بقيادة حلف شمال الأطلسي لحماية المدنيين. مما وفّر تغطية للثوار الليبيين للاستيلاء على مساحات واسعة من الأراضي قبل صدّهم من قبل قوات القذافي ذات التسليح الأفضل. بالتالي، طلب الثوار من عدة دول غربية تزويدهم بالسلاح. وبدأت فرنسا وبريطانيا والولايات المتحدة بقصف جوي دعماً للثوار. أتاح هذا الدعم لقوات المجلس الوطني الانتقالي التقدم غرباً عبر ليبيا وثارت مجموعات أخرى في منطقة جبل نفوسة. كانت تلك المساعدات مفيدة لحماية مصراتة التي كانت تتعرض لحصار شديد بدأ في 20 آذار/مارس. وفي أواخر نيسان/أبريل، أشارت التقارير إلى مقتل حوالي 1000 شخص في المدينة وجرح 3000 تقريباً. ساهم الدعم الجوي لحلف شمال الأطلسي في حماية خط دعم بحري من جزيرة مالطا، وتمكن الثوار من رفع الحصار مع حلول منتصف أيار/مايو.

في 29 آذار/مارس، اعترفت الحكومات الأوروبية الرئيسية والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ودول حليفة من الشرق الأوسط بالمجلس الوطني الانتقالي باعتباره الحكومة الشرعية في ليبيا.

بدأت المراحل النهائية من الحرب مع بدء قوات المجلس الوطني الانتقالي بهجوم على الساحل، فتمكنت من الاستيلاء على طرابلس في 21 آب/أغسطس. هرب القذافي والمقربون منه إلى سرت التي أعلنوها عاصمتهم الجديدة. كما هربت زوجته وثلاثة من أولاده إلى الجزائر. وفي النهاية، تمكنت ميليشيات موالية للمجلس الوطني الانتقالي من السيطرة على مدينة سرت في 20 تشرين الثاني/أكتوبر، وألقي القبض على القذافي وقُتل بوحشية في ذات اليوم.

في 23 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أعلن المجلس الوطني الانتقالي رسمياً، والذي كانت الأمم المتحدة قد اعترفت به على أنه الحكومة الشرعية في ليبيا، عن نهاية الحرب الليبية. مع ذلك، استمرت المقاومة في بعض المناطق، خاصة في مدينة بني وليد.

جمال الحاجي

فتحي تربل

Further Reading

ليبيا البلد الغارقة في الفوضى اليوم، محكومةٌ بأكثر من رأس منذ أطا...
ملف فنك الشامل عن ليبيا يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
يحاول سيف الإسلام حشد الدعم بين زعماء القبائل والمقاتلين الموالي...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Home / Libya / Past to Present / The 2011 revolt against the Gaddafi regime

The 2011 revolt against the Gaddafi regime

Pro-Gaddafi supporters in the streets of Tripoli / Photo HH
Pro-Gaddafi supporters in the streets of Tripoli / Photo HH
The human-rights lawyer Fathi Terbil, representing the families of the Abu Salim victims, was arrested in Benghazi on 15 February 2011 after more than a month of protests that had broken out in the Cyrenaican cities of Benghazi, Bayda, and Derna about political corruption and the delay in construction of housing units. His arrest sparked the protest that led to the rebellion against Gaddafi. At the end of January, the government responded with a 20 billion euro fund for investment and local development. It also released a group of prisoners who belonged to the Libyan Islamic Fighting Group, hoping to ease tensions. But on 1 February a human-rights activist, Jamal al-Hajji, was arrested in Benghazi after calling, on the Internet, for demonstrations in support of greater freedoms in Libya, inspired by the revolutions in Tunisia and Egypt.

Propaganda for rebellion on the Internet continued, culminating in calls for a ‘day of rage’ against the regime on 17 February. Protests took place in Cyrenaica (Benghazi, Ajdabiya, Derna, and Bayda), as well as in Zintan in the Berber-dominated Jebel Nafusa, in the west. A rising in Misrata followed on 24 February 2011. These were brutally repressed, and the protesters became violent in their turn. On 20 February, Saif al-Islam Gaddafi made a long rambling speech that showed that his previous display of reformist liberalism had changed into outright support for reactionary repression. The government used aircraft to attack protestors; the 24 February rising in Misrata was almost crushed by airpower.

On 26 February the UN Security Council passed Resolution 1970 invoking Chapter VII of the UN Charter. This froze the Gaddafi family’s assets and restricted travel by the inner circle. It referred human-rights abuses to the International Criminal Court. On 27 February the Benghazi rebels formed a National Transition Council (NTC) to act as the ‘political face of the revolution’, and on 5 March it declared itself to be the ‘only legitimate body representing the people of Libya and the Libyan state’. Mahmoud Jibril was appointed to chair its executive board.

On 17 March UN Security Council Resolution 1973 declared a no-fly zone over Libya and authorized NATO-led air strikes to protect civilians, which provided cover for Libyan rebels to capture extensive areas, before they were forced back by Gaddafi’s better-armed forces. The rebels then asked various Western countries for arms. France, Great Britain, and the United States began aerial bombardments in support of the rebels. With this assistance, NTC forces pushed west across Libya, and other groups rose in the Jebel Nafusa region. The aid was particularly valuable in protecting Misrata, which was subjected to a fierce siege that began on 20 March. By late April, it was reported that over 1,000 people in the city had been killed and about 3,000 injured. NATO air support protected a maritime lifeline from Malta, and rebel forces lifted the siege by mid-May. On 29 March the main European governments, the US administration, and allies from the Middle East recognized the National Transitional Council as the legitimate government of Libya.

This began the final stages of the war, as NTC troops began an offensive along the coast, capturing the city of Tripoli on 21 August. Gaddafi and his close circle escaped to Sirte, which they announced as their new capital. His wife and three of his children fled to Algeria. Sirte was finally taken by NTC-aligned militias on 20 October, and Gaddafi was captured and brutally killed on the same day.

On 23 October the National Transitional Council, which the UN had recognized as the legal government of Libya on 16 September, announced the official end of the Libyan war. Even so, resistance continued in some areas, particularly Bani Walid.

Fathi Terbil
Fathi Terbil
Jamal al-Hajji
Jamal al-Hajji
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH

image_pdfimage_print