فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تركيا وليبيا: اتفاق ثنائي يُبشر ببزوغ فجرٍ جديد للتآخي العسكري

تركيا وليبيا: اتفاق ثنائي يُبشر ببزوغ فجرٍ جديد للتآخي العسكري

Turkey libya deal
وزير الخارجية التركي مولود جاويش أوغلو يعقد مؤتمراً صحفياً بعد اجتماعه مع رئيس حزب الشعب الجمهوري في مقر حزب الشعب الجمهوري قُبيل جلسة البرلمان التركي لمناقشة الإنتشار العسكري المحتمل في ليبيا، في أنقرة في 30 ديسمبر 2019. Photo: Adem ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Adem ALTAN

في 21 ديسمبر 2019، صدّق البرلمان التركي على صفقةٍ لتوفير دعم عسكري غير مباشر للحكومة الليبية. ويمثل هذا الدخول الأكثر صراحةً لقوة إقليمية أو دولية أخرى إلى مصفوفة الجهات الفاعلة المعقدة في الدولة الغنية بالنفط. يتضمن التزام تركيا خيار قوة التدخل السريع التركية التي يمكن للحكومة الليبية طلبها، بيد أن الاتفاق غامض حول معنى ذلك بالضبط. وفي حين اعترض حزب الشعب الجمهوري، حزب المعارضة الرئيسي في تركيا، على الإتفاق، إلا أن حكومة الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان قدمت دعمها الكامل للاتفاق الثنائي.

ولكن من أين أتى هذا التعاون وماذا سيسفر عنه؟

منذ عام 2014، تم تقسيم ليبيا إلى قسمين تقريباً، حيث سيطرت قوات المشير خليفة حفتر، وهو عسكري قوي أعلن نفسه معادياً للإسلاميين فضلاً عن تحالفه مع مصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة، على النصف الشرقي من ساحل البحر المتوسط بالبلاد. بينما تتولى حكومة الوفاق الوطني المعترف بها دولياً، إلى حدٍ كبير، حُكم النصف الغربي الساحلي ذو الأهمية الاقتصادية للبلاد. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن حكومة الوفاق الوطني، برئاسة فايز السراج، لم تتمتع قط بقبضةٍ عسكرية قوية على المنطقة، بيد أنها تتمتع بشرعية الدعم الدولي.

بينما تُسيطر حكومة الوفاق الوطني على العاصمة طرابلس، تحرس قوات حفتر محطات النفط والمراكز التجارية في بنغازي ودرنة. يعدّ الحزام الساحلي الجزء الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان في البلاد وشهد أعنف قتالٍ خلال الثورة ضد معمر القذافي في عام 2011. وخلال هذا الفصل الجديد من النزاع المدني في البلاد، لا تزال المنطقة الساحلية المكتظة بالسكان وموطن المدن الليبية الكبرى، المكسب الرئيسي في حين يستمر القتال للظفر بالعاصمة.

ومع ذلك، لم يكن الصراع في ليبيا شأناً داخلياً بحتاً، فقد اغتنمت القوى الإقليمية الفرصة لدعم الجهات الفاعلة المفضلة لديها وإقامة علاقاتٍ مواتية مع الحكومة المستقبلية لتاسع أكبر احتياطي للنفط في العالم. فمن جهة، كانت روسيا تدعم حفتر بصمت، حيث قامت بنشر قوات المرتزقة في البلاد، بينما يبدو أن عبد الفتاح السيسي، وهو لواء سابقٌ أيضاً في مصر، يرى في القائد العسكري حفتر صديقاً مقرباً. وعليه، قد يناشد زميل قوي سابق في الجيش أمثال موسكو والقاهرة، لتعزيز شبكة حلفائها الإقليميين.

وعلى الجبهة المقابلة، شهدت حكومة الوفاق الوطني دعماً من أمثال تركيا وقطر (كان دعم القوى الغربية دبلوماسياً إلى حدٍ كبير)، إذ جاءت المساعدة من هذين البلدين إلى حدٍ كبير على شكل أسلحةٍ وطائرات بدون طيار، وبالتالي فإن احتمال “نشر قواتٍ برية” وكذلك تبادل المعلومات الاستخبارية يشكل تصعيداً كبيراً. فقد سعت تركيا إلى بناء علاقاتٍ مع جماعات المعارضة في أعقاب وفاة القذافي، بيد أن الانقسامات التي دار رحاها في السنوات الأخيرة قدمت فرصاً جديدة لتركيا لمساعدة إحدى الجماعات في الوصول إلى السلطة.

وعلى كلا الجانبين، التفاصيل حول ما أوجبه هذا الدعم، بصرف النظر عن الأدلة على المساعدات العسكرية التي كشفت عنها التحقيقات، ضئيلة. أدى الوضع الأمني الذي كان سائداً في ليبيا إلى خنق الكثير من التقارير الأجنبية في البلاد، وسمحت قبضة حكم القانون العنيفة بانتشار مجموعة واسعة من النشاط الإجرامي أو غير المنظم، ليس أقلها تجارة المهاجرين الأفارقة الضعفاء الذين يحاولون الوصول إلى أوروبا. ويبدو أن هناك احتمال ضئيل بتأجج الصراع بين القوى الكبرى على ليبيا. ففي نهاية المطاف، بالكاد أسفرت سنوات من الحروب بالوكالة في سوريا واليمن (التي تضم بعض القوى الأجنبية نفسها كما هو الحال في ليبيا) عن مواجهات دولية أقل ما يُقال عنها أنها نادرة. ويبدو أن تركيا استبقت مثل هذه التوترات من خلال معالجة مصالح تركيا المتضاربة مع روسيا في اتصال هاتفي مع الكرملين في ديسمبر. ومع ذلك، لا يبدو أن هناك أي قرارٍ يلوح في الأفق.

يُنظر إلى قوات حفتر، إلى حدٍ كبير، على أنها القوة العسكرية الأكثر قدرةً (وبالتأكيد الطموحة) من بين الجانبين. فقد قامت القوات الموالية لحفتر، بدعمٍ من القوة الجوية المصرية والإماراتية، وذلك بحسب الأمم المتحدة، بعدة محاولاتٍ متضافرة للاستيلاء على طرابلس، وبموجب السيطرة على العاصمة؛ السيطرة على البلاد أيضاً. ومع ذلك، تمكنت قوات حكومة الوفاق الوطني من صد هذه الهجمات، وذلك بمساعدةٍ كبيرة من الإمدادات العسكرية من الحلفاء الأجانب مثل تركيا. لم يكن هذا مجرد عكازٍ للإتكاء عليه في العالم الدبلوماسي فحسب، حيث كان الحلفاء مثل تركيا أكثر الأصدقاء صراحةً بدعم حكومة طرابلس، فقد قدمت هذه القوى الإقليمية مساعدة مادية أكثر بكثير والتي لربما ضمنت بقاء حكومة الوفاق الوطني في مواجهة العدوان المدعوم من روسيا. في الواقع، قد تلعب هذه الصفقة الأخيرة دوراً في هذه المعركة الدبلوماسية، محذرةً حفتر ومؤيديه من قوة إرادة حكومة الوفاق الوطني. وحتى لو لم ترسل تركيا قواتها قط، فلربما يكون هذا التهديد كافياً لجعل حفتر يفكر مرتين بينما تواصل قواته محاولة الاستيلاء على طرابلس.

بعد أيامٍ فقط من الوعد باستخدام “قدرات تركيا لمنع التآمر ضد الشعب الليبي،” في إشارة إلى محاولات حفتر للاستيلاء على السلطة، أرسلت تركيا سفينةً بشكلٍ مباشر إلى طرابلس، التي كانت محملةً بناقلات الجنود المدرعة تركية الصنع لإيصالها لقوات حكومة الوفاق الوطني. وعلى الرغم من أن إمدادات الأسلحة هذه تخرق حظر الأسلحة الذي تفرضه الأمم المتحدة على ليبيا، بيد أنه يبدو أن تركيا وحكومة الوفاق الوطني لم تبذلا الكثير من الجهد لإخفاء عملية النقل. كما زودت تركيا الليبيين بطائرات بيرقدار المنتجة محلياً في ثلاث مراتٍ على الأقل في عام 2019. وفي حين يعدّ تزويد أنظمة الأسلحة هذه المنتجة محلياً لحلفاء أنقرة ملائماً لها، إلا أنه أيضاً يخدم أهدافها الثانوية المتمثلة في تعزيز صناعة الدفاعات التركية (التي نمت بشكل كبير في عهد الرئيس أردوغان) واختبار هذه التقنيات الجديدة على أرض المعركة للمساعدة في المبيعات المستقبلية في أي مكانٍ آخر، ومن المحتمل لحكومة وحدة وطنية ليبية مستقبلية، في حال انتصرت حكومة الوفاق الوطني.

كما عرض أردوغان أيضاً إمكانية إرسال قواتٍ تركية إلى ليبيا منذ أوائل ديسمبر. ونظراً لالتزامات الجيش التركي في شمال سوريا والعراق، فإن انتشار الجيش التركي مرةً أخرى ليس بالمهمة السهلة ويعكس تصميم أنقرة على رؤية انتصار الجانب المفضل لديها.

الآراء والفرص الغنية بالنفط

إن موقف تركيا حول السلطة الشرعية في ليبيا واضح – فهي ترى أن حكومة الوفاق الوطني هي القوة الشرعية الوحيدة وسلطة حفتر مجرد انقلابٍ عليها – ولم تحصر وجهات نظرها في القنوات الحكومية الرسمية. كما اتخذت وكالة أنباء الأناضول التي تديرها الدولة مساراً مماثلاً، ووصفت حفتر بـ”الجنرال المارق” الذي يهدف إلى إنشاء “ديكتاتورية عسكرية.” وفي حين أن العديد من وسائل الإعلام الأخرى قد وصفت الجنرال الليبي بأمير الحرب، إلا أن صياغة وكالة الأناضول أقوى بكثير من معظمها، مما يعكس بالتأكيد الموقف السياسي المهيمن تجاه ليبيا في تركيا.

وفي المقابلة التلفزيونية التي أعلن فيها عن الانتشار العسكري في ليبيا، أوضح أردوغان أن تركيا ستدفع جميع التكاليف المرتبطة بالمهمة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه نادراً ما يتم تقديم مثل هذا العرض القيم دون احتمال الحصول على تعويض نقدي حقيقي، بالنظر إلى تدهور الوضع الاقتصادي في تركيا. بدلاً من ذلك، يبدو أن هذه الخطوة العسكرية هي شكل من أشكال الضمان لإيمان تركيا باستقرار حكومة طرابلس وأيضاً تبادلٌ أساسي للجنود الأتراك مقابل حقوق النفط الليبية. ويبدو أن مذكرتي التفاهم حول التعاون في مجال النفط والشؤون العسكرية التي وقّعها القادة الليبيون والأتراك في أواخر عام 2019 كانت صفقةً شاملة. قد يؤدي ذلك إلى جر ليبيا إلى التوترات المتزايدة في منطقة البحر المتوسط حول مطاردة تركيا العدوانية للنفط والغاز تحت سطح البحر. فقد أعلنت اليونان بالفعل أن صفقة النفط التركية الليبية لاغية وباطلة، وأثبتت تركيا بالفعل استعدادها لاستخدام دبلوماسية مدافع الأسطول لحماية مصالحها. وفي حال أصبحت علاقاتها بالطاقة مع ليبيا أكثر ترسخاً، فقد ترى تركيا قيمة في إرسال قواتها البحرية لحماية البنية التحتية للنفط والشحن المرتبطة بحكومة الوفاق الوطني.

كان لتوقيع الصفقة بين الحكومتين الرسميتين في تركيا وليبيا بعض النتائج الفورية (وإن كانت خافتة نسبياً). فقد أوقفت قوات خفر السواحل الموالية لحفتر وفتشت سفينة ترفع العلم الكاريبي والتي كانت تحمل على متنها شحنة غير مشروعة من الأسلحة الصغيرة واحتجزت لفترةٍ وجيزة بعض أفراد طاقمها التركي. وعليه، أعلن كلا البلدين عن إجراء تحقيقاتٍ بالشحنة، لكن مع وجود معلومات مستقلةٍ عن نقصٍ بإمدادات الأسلحة، تلوح رائحة الحرب في أرجاء ليبيا، مما يعني إفلات الجهات الفاعلة المحلية والأجنبية من العقاب. ومع وجود قوة أخرى مثل تركيا ضمن هذا المزيج، لا يبدو أن ليبيا باتت تقترب من السلام في حقبة ما بعد القذافي.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Adem ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ Adem ALTAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Turkey and Libya: Bilateral Deal Ushers in New Dawn of Military Brotherhood

Turkey and Libya: Bilateral Deal Ushers in New Dawn of Military Brotherhood

Turkey libya deal
Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu (C) holds a press conference after his meeting with Chairman of the Republican People’s Party (CHP) at the headquarters of the Republican People’s Party (CHP) prior to Turkish parliament session for possible military deployment in Libya, in Ankara, on December 30, 2019. Photo: Adem ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Adem ALTAN
On 21 December 2019, the Turkish parliament ratified a deal to provide potential military support to the Libyan government. This marks the most overt entry of yet another regional or international power into the complex matrix of actors in the oil-rich state. Turkey’s commitment includes the option of a quick re-action force of Turkish troops that the Libyan government could request, but the agreement is vague on what exactly this means. While the Republican People’s Party (CHP), Turkey’s main opposition party, objected to the deal), President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s government has given its full-throated backing to the bilateral agreement.

But where has this cooperation come from and where might it lead?

Since 2014, Libya has been roughly divided in two. The eastern half of the country’s Mediterranean coast has been dominated by the forces of General Khalifa Haftar, a military strongman and self-proclaimed anti-Islamist general aligned with Egypt and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The western half of the country’s economically important coastline is largely ruled by the internationally recognised Government of National Accord (GNA). Headed by Fayez al-Sarraj, the GNAy has never obtained a strong military hold on the region but has enjoyed the legitimacy of international backing.

While the GNA controls the capital Tripoli, Haftar’s troops garrison the oil terminals and trade hubs of Benghazi and Derna. The coastal belt is the most populated part of the country and saw the fiercest fighting during the revolution against Muammar Qaddafi in 2011. During this new chapter of the country’s civil strife, the populated coastal region, home to Libya’s major cities, is still a key prize and fighting continues for the capital.

Yet Libya’s conflict has not been a purely internal affair. Regional powers have seized the opportunity to prop up their preferred actors and establish favourable relations with the future government of the world’s ninth largest reserve of oil. On one side, Russia has been a quiet supporter of Haftar, deploying mercenary forces to the country, while Egypt’s Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, also a former general, appears to see in warlord Haftar a kindred spirit. A fellow ex-military strongman may well appeal to the likes of Moscow and Cairo, to bolster their web of regional allies.

On the opposing front, the GNA has seen support from the likes of Turkey and Qatar (Western powers’ support has been largely diplomatic). Assistance from these two countries has largely come in the form of drones and armaments, so the prospect of ‘boots on the ground’ as well as intelligence sharing constitutes a major escalation. Turkey has sought to build relations with opposition groups in the wake of Qaddafi’s death, but divisions in recent years have offered new openings for Turkey to help a group towards power.

On both sides, details on what the support has entailed, aside from the evidence of military aid that investigations have uncovered, are thin. The precarious security situation in Libya has throttled much foreign reporting in the country and the limp grip of the rule of law has allowed a wide variety of criminal or unregulated activity to proliferate, not least the trade of vulnerable African migrants trying to reach Europe. There appears to be little chance of a flare-up between major powers over Libya. After all, years of contested proxy wars in Syria and Yemen (involving some of the same foreign powers as in Libya) have produced only rare international clashes. Turkey even seems to have pre-empted such tensions by ad-dressing Turkey’s conflicting interests with Russia in a December call with the Kremlin. No resolution ap-pears to have been forthcoming.

Haftar’s forces have largely been seen as the more militarily capable (and certainly ambitious) of the two sides. Backed by Egyptian and UAE airpower, according to the United Nations, Haftar-loyal troops have made several concerted pushes to seize Tripoli and, by virtue of holding the capital, take control of the country. GNA forces have managed to hold off these attacks, helped in no small part by the military sup-plies from foreign allies like Turkey. Not just a crutch to lean on in the diplomatic world, where allies like Turkey have been the most vocal friends of the Tripoli government, these regional powers have offered far more material assistance that may have ensured the survival of the GNA in the face of Russian-backed aggression. This latest deal may in fact play into this diplomatic battle, warning Haftar and his backers of the strength of wills on the GNA’s side. Even if Turkey never sends troops, this threat may be sufficient to make Haftar think twice as his forces continue to try and take Tripoli.

Just days after promising to use all Turkey’s ‘capabilities to prevent the conspiracy against the Libyan people’, referring to Haftar’s attempts to seize power, Turkey sent a ship directly to Tripolid. It was loaded with Turkish-made armoured personnel carriers for the GNA forces. Although such arms supplies defy a United Nations arms embargo on Libya, neither Turkey nor the GNA appears to have made much effort to hide the transfer. Turkey has also provided the Libyans with its domestically produced Bayraktar drone in at least three waves in 2019. While these domestically produced weapons systems are obviously convenient for Ankara to supply to its allies, their supply also serves the secondary goals of bolstering the Turkish defence industry (which has grown significantly under President Erdogan) and battle testing these new technologies to aid future sales elsewhere, potentially to a future Libyan unity government, if the GNA prevails.

Erdogan has also been offering up the possibility of sending Turkish troops to Libya since early December. Given the Turkish military’s commitments in northern Syria and Iraq, an additional deployment is no small undertaking and speaks to Ankara’s determination to see its preferred side prevail.

Opinions and oil-rich opportunities

Turkey’s stance on who is the legitimate power in Libya is clear – it sees the GNA as the sole legitimate power and Haftar’s power as a coup – and it has not restricted its views to official government channels. State-run news agency Anadolu Agency has taken a similar tack, branding Haftar a ‘rogue general’ who is aiming for a ‘military dictatorship’. While many other news outlets have labelled the Libyan general a war-lord, Anadolu Agency’s wording is far stronger than most, surely reflecting the dominant political position towards Libya in Turkey.

In the television interview in which he announced the military deployment to Libya,t Erdogan clarified that Turkey would be paying all the costs associated with the mission. Such a valuable offer could scarcely be made without the prospect of real monetary compensation, given the current weak state of Turkey’s economy. Rather, it appears that this military move is a form of insurance for Turkey’s faith in the stability of the Tripoli government and also a material exchange of Turkish soldiers for Libyan oil rights. The two memoranda of understanding on oil and military cooperation that the Libyan and Turkish leaders signed in late 2019 appear to be very much a package deal. This may drag Libya into the growing Mediterranean tensions around Turkey’s aggressive hunt for undersea oil and gas. Greece has already declared the Turkey-Libya oil deal null and void, and Turkey has already proven willing to employ gunboat diplomacy to protect its interests. If its energy relations with Libya become more entrenched, Turkey may see value in dispatching its navy to protect the oil infrastructure and shipping tied to the GNA.

The signing of the deal between the two official governments of Turkey and Libya has had some immediate (albeit relatively muted) consequences. Coastguard forces loyal to Haftart stopped and searched a Caribbean-flagged vessel that was carrying an illicit cargo of small arms and briefly detained some Turkish crew. Both countries have announced investigations into the shipment, but with independent information in short supply the fog of war has settled on Libya, offering impunity to both local and foreign actors. With another power like Turkey in the mix, Libya looks no closer to peace in the post-Qaddafi era.

Further Reading

Libya, the country drowning in chaos today, is governed by multiple sides since a national alliance led by the NATO over...
Libya has huge oil and gas reserves and a small population, making it one of the richest countries in Africa, in per cap...
If Turkey is forced to drastically up its military commitment to Libya to combat Egypt’s support (beyond the recently ...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Adem ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ Adem ALTAN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.