فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاتفاقية البحرية الليبية التركية: شراكة أم كأسٌ مسمومة؟

الاتفاقية البحرية الليبية التركية: شراكة أم كأسٌ مسمومة؟

Turkey libya deal
مجلس النواب الليبي يعقد جلسةً طارئة في مدينة بنغازي بشرق ليبيا يوم 4 يناير 2020، لمناقشة التدخل العسكري المرتقب لتركيا لدعم حكومة طرابلس المعترف بها من قِبل الأمم المتحدة. Photo: Abdullah DOMA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Abdullah DOMA

في أوائل ديسمبر 2019، وقعت تركيا وليبيا اتفاقاً لإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على حدودهما البحرية، وإنشاء منطقة اقتصادية خالصة تمتد عبر البحر المتوسط. ومنذ أن تم التصديق عليها من قبل البرلمانات المعترف بها دولياً لكلا البلدين، فتحت الصفقة صندوق الشرور في منطقةٍ تواجه لعنةً مزدوجة من سباق استغلال النفط والغاز المكتشفين حديثاً تحت قاع البحر، والسحابة المظلمة من العداء الجيوسياسي.

فرصةٌ في البحر المتوسط

قد تبدو الحدود البحرية التي يبلغ طولها 35 كيلومتراً بين البلدين غير مهمة، بيد أنها جزءٌ رئيسي من أحجية البحر الأبيض المتوسط المعقدة المتمثلة في الحدود البحرية، مما أثار غضب الجيران في وقتٍ تتصاعد فيه المنافسة على حقوق حقول النفط والغاز.

ومما لا يثير الدهشة، صوّت البرلمان الليبي الذي يتخذ من شرق البلاد مقراً له والموالي للجنرال خليفة حفتر بالإجماع ضد الاتفاق الموقع من قبل حكومة الوفاق الوطني المعترف بها من قبل الأمم المتحدة في طرابلس. ومع ذلك، وفقاً للقانون الدولي، الإتفاق مستمر.

وبموجب الإتفاق، وافقت ليبيا وتركيا على إنشاء منطقة اقتصادية خالصة من الشاطىء الجنوبي لتركيا إلى الساحل الشمالي لليبيا. فهذه المنطقة الممتدة عبر وسط البحر الأبيض المتوسط لا تفرض سيادةً فحسب على مساحةٍ شاسعة من احتياطيات النفط والغاز التي يعتقد أنها تقع تحت قاع البحر، ولكنها أيضاً تفرض رقابةً تقييدية على عبور هذه المواد من حقول الغاز في شرق البحر المتوسط إلى الأسواق الرئيسية في أوروبا.

وتشير تقديرات هيئة المسح الجيولوجي الأمريكية إلى أن حوض شرق المتوسط يحتوي على غاز طبيعي بقيمة 700 مليار دولار، وقد ذكرت تركيا بالفعل أنها وليبيا مستعدتان للتعاقد مع شركاتٍ دولية لاستغلال النفط والغاز.

استغلال الاتفاقية

تؤكد الإتفاقية مطالبةً واضحة بحقوق البلدين في استغلال الموارد أسفل قاع البحر في جزءها من المنطقة الاقتصادية. فقد كانت حقوق الاستغلال نقطة خلافٍ متنامية لطالما أشعلت التوترات في البحر المتوسط في السنوات الأخيرة. وفي ظل حرص الدول القوية على الحصول على قطعةٍ من هذه الكعكة، إلى جانب التوترات التي طال أمدها حول تحديد نقاط الحدود البحرية وما إذا كانت الدول تمتلك الحق في المطالبة بالسيادة عليها، إلا أن التحركات نحو استغلال النفط والغاز لم تمر دون جدال.

فقد اشتبكت ليبيا في الماضي مع اليونان بشأن حقوق الاستغلال في المياه القريبة من جزيرة كريت اليونانية. وعليه، تزود الإتفاقية الليبية التركية طرابلس بحليفٍ قوي في الدفاع عن مطالبها. ومن ذلك الحين، قامت اليونان بطرد السفير الليبي بسبب تورط طرابلس بالإتفاقية.

كما كانت تركيا أيضاً في قلب هذه التوترات. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، نشرت أنقرة سفناً بحرية لمنع دول البحر المتوسط الأخرى من استغلال المواد الهيدروكربونية في المياه التي تطالب بها لنفسها أو جمهورية شمال قبرص التركية الانفصالية. وعليه، أرسلت تركيا طائرةً عسكرية بدون طيار إلى قبرص الشمالية لمراقبة سفينتي الحفر اللتين استخدمتهما أنقرة لحفر حقول الغاز المحتملة.

ومع الإتفاقية الأخيرة، أنشأت تركيا مطالبةً قانونية دولية قوية في معظم المناطق التي كانت تأمل بالمطالبة بها كحقولٍ هيدروكربونية خاصة بها.

وبالتالي، اشتكت اليونان من أن الإتفاقية تنتهك مطالباتها البحرية، بيد أن المسؤولين الأتراك واصلوا عنادهم، واصفين أنفسهم بالعمود الفقري في شرق البحر المتوسط. فقد كانت تركيا تضغط من أجل إتمام هذه الصفقة مع ليبيا منذ عام 2018، لكن طرابلس كانت مترددةً في السابق لعدم رغبتها بالخوض في الجغرافيا السياسية الإقليمية. ومع ذلك، مع قرع قوات حفتر المدعومة من روسيا أبواب طرابلس، لم يعد أمام حكومة الوفاق الوطني خيارٌ سوى الموافقة على عرض تركيا مقابل الحصول على مساعدة عسكرية لضمان بقائها.

ومن وجهة نظر تركيا، لا تكمن استفادتها من الإتفاقية فيما ستحققه فحسب من حقوق الإستغلال، بل تكمن أيضاً فيما يمكن لأنقرة إيقافه.

الطاقة أهم من السياسة

يمكن القول إن الصلة الأوسع للإتفاقية مرتبطة بسياسات الطاقة على المستوى الإقليمي. إن التهديد بسيطرة تركيا (وليبيا) الوصول مستقبلاً إلى طريقٍ رئيسي من طرق أسواق المواد الهيدروكربونية قد أثار غضب دول شرق البحر المتوسط.

فقد انتقدت كل من مصر وإسرائيل (اللتان لم يتمتع أي منهما بعلاقات ودية مع تركيا في السنوات الأخيرة) هذه الخطوة التركية الليبية، بل وصل الأمر إلى حد زعم مصر عدم قانونيتها. فالبلدان يتطلعان بنشاطٍ لتصدير الغاز الذي يعملون على استغلاله من حقولهم في البحر المتوسط إلى أوروبا. ومع وجود عقبة تركية على طريق التصدير، يترك هذا أمامهما خياراتٍ أقل لإيصال هذه المواد الهيدروكربونية إلى السوق الأكثر حيوية، إذ كانت إسرائيل تعتمد على مشروع خط الأنابيب بين إسرائيل وقبرص واليونان وإيطاليا للقيام بذلك. ولكن، إذا ما اعتبرت تركيا المشروع غير قابلٍ للتطبيق، فلربما لن تواجه إسرائيل مشكلةً كبيرة حيث بدأت بالفعل في تصدير الغاز الطبيعي المسال إلى مصر لإعادة تصديره.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، على الرغم من العلاقات السياسية المعقدة بين تركيا وإسرائيل، إلا أنهما حافظتا على علاقاتٍ تجارية قوية، والتي من المرجح أن تضمن استمرار تدفق الغاز الإسرائيلي بغض النظر عن النتائج السياسية أو العسكرية لهذه الأحداث الأخيرة. وفي أعقاب الإتفاقية التركية الليبية، وقعت ثلاث دول في مشروع خط الأنابيب الذي يبلغ طوله 1900 كيلومتر والذي يتضمن أربع دول إتفاقاً، وذلك حرصاً دون أدنى شك على حشد قواتها الدبلوماسية والاقتصادية.

ومع ذلك، لدى القاهرة الكثير لتخسره. فمصر، المتحالفة بشكلٍ وثيق مع الرجل العسكري القوي حفتر، تصطف على الجانب الآخر من النزاع الليبي ضد تركيا. وبالنظر إلى علاقات تركيا بالإخوان المسلمين – العدو اللدود للنظام الحاكم في القاهرة – فمن غير المرجح أن تحظى مصر بشروط سخية من تركيا إذا دخلت البلاد في مفاوضات بشأن الوصول إلى خطوط الأنابيب في البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

في حين يبدو من غير المحتمل أن تشارك مصر في عملٍ عسكري أكثر خطورة من الاشتباكات السابقة التي حرض عليها جيرانها على البحر المتوسط، فمن المرجح أن تضغط الإتفاقية التركية الليبية على القاهرة لمضاعفة دعمها لحفتر، وذلك بلا شك لإطالة أمد الصراع ومعاناة ليبيا. كما وضعت الإتفاقية مصر في مأزقٍ اقتصادي محتمل، مما زاد من الضغط على منطقة متوترة بالفعل. وإذا ما كانت تركيا مجبرةً على زيادة التزامها العسكري تجاه ليبيا لمكافحة دعم مصر (بعيداً عن مشروع القانون الذي تم الاتفاق عليه مؤخراً لنشر قوات في ليبيا)، فلربما ستندم أنقرة على اندفاعها لتأمين حقوقها البحرية.

كأسٌ مسمومة؟

تستغل الإتفاقية التركية الليبية الهوس الراهن باستشكاف المواد الهيدروكربونية بين قوى شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط، مما يُقيّد ترتيبات الأمن الرئيسية والترتيبات الجيوسياسية لكلا البلدين. من جهتها، عززت تركيا موقفها ضد خصومها القدامى مثل اليونان وقبرص، في حين فازت حكومة الوفاق الوطني بتأييدٍ عسكري قوي لكفاحها الداخلي المسلح. وبالرغم من أن النفط والغاز كانت يوماً ما نعمةً تتغنى بها منطقة شرق المتوسط، إلا أنها جلبت مرةً أخرى مشاحناتٍ جيوسياسية. وعليه، تتطلع كلٌ من تركيا وليبيا إلى أن يكونا أحدث فصلٍ في هذه القصة الملحمية المستمرة.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Abdullah DOMA | ©AFP ⁃ Abdullah DOMA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Turkey and Libya’s Maritime Deal: Partnership or Poisoned Chalice?

Turkey and Libya’s Maritime Deal: Partnership or Poisoned Chalice?

Turkey libya deal
The Libyan House of Representatives holds an emergency session in the eastern Libyan city of Benghazi on January 4, 2020, to discuss Turkey’s prospective military intervention in support of the UN-recognised Tripoli-based government. Photo: Abdullah DOMA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Abdullah DOMA

In early December 2019, Turkey and Libya signed a deal to formalize their maritime border, creating an exclusive economic zone that spans the Mediterranean. Since being ratified by both countries’ internationally recognized parliaments, the deal has opened a Pandora’s box in a region facing the dual curse of a race to exploit the newly discovered hydrocarbons under the seabed and the dark cloud of geopolitical animosity.

A Mediterranean opportunity

The 35-kilometre maritime border between the two nations may seem insignificant, but it fills in a key part of the Mediterranean’s complex puzzle of naval boundaries, riling neighbours at a time of heightened competition over rights to hydrocarbon fields.

Unsurprisingly, Libya’s eastern-based parliament loyal to General Khalifa Haftar voted unanimously against the deal signed by the United Nations-recognized Government of National Accord (GNA) in Tripoli. However, according to international law, the deal holds up.

With the deal, Libya and Turkey have agreed to a form an exclusive economic zone from Turkey’s southern shore to Libya’s northern coast. This zone stretches across the middle of the Mediterranean, not only staking claim to a broad swathe of the hydrocarbon reserves thought to be located under the seabed but also drawing up restrictive control of the seabed transit of these hydrocarbons from gas fields in the Eastern Mediterranean to key markets in Europe.

The Eastern Mediterranean basin is estimated to contain natural gas worth $700 billion, according to the US Geological Survey, and Turkey has already said that it and Libya may contract international firms in the hunt for hydrocarbons.

Exploiting the deal

The deal stakes a clear claim on both countries’ rights to exploit resources below the seabed in its portion of the economic zone. Exploitation rights have been a growing flashpoint in the Mediterranean in recent years. With powerful nations eager for their piece of this resource pie alongside often long-standing tensions over where sea borders lie and whether countries even have a right to claim sovereignty, moves toward exploitation have not gone uncontested.

Libya has in the past clashed with Greece over exploitation rights in waters near the Greek island of Crete. The Libya-Turkey deal provides Tripoli with a powerful ally in defending its claims. Greece has since expelled the Libyan ambassador over Tripoli’s part in the deal.

Turkey libya gas deal
Sources: Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS), The Jerusalem Post, Stratfor, Limes, alaraby.co.uk. @Fanack ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

Turkey, too, has been at the centre of these tensions. In recent years, Ankara has deployed naval vessels to stop other Mediterranean nations from exploring for hydrocarbons in waters it claims for itself or the breakaway Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Turkey even dispatched a military drone to Northern Cyprus to watch over the two drilling vessels that Ankara has used to drill potential gas fields.

With the recent deal, Turkey has established a solid international legal claim for much of the area it hopes to stake out as its own hydrocarbon fields.

Greece has complained that the deal infringes on its own maritime claims, but Turkish officials have been bullish, styling themselves as the lynchpin in the Eastern Mediterranean. Turkey has been pushing for this deal with Libya since 2018, but Tripoli was previously reluctant to wade into regional geopolitics. However, with Haftar’s Russian-backed forces knocking on Tripoli’s door, the GNA was left with little choice but to agree to Turkey in exchange for military assistance that may guarantee its survival.

From Turkey’s point of view, its benefit from the deal lies not just in what it gains in the form of exploitation rights; it also lies in what Ankara can stop.

The energy behind the politics

The broader relevance of the deal is arguably tied to energy politics at the regional level. The threat that Turkish (and Libyan) control over future access to a key route to hydrocarbon markets has Eastern Mediterranean states riled up.

Both Egypt and Israel (neither of whom has enjoyed rosy relations with Turkey in recent years) decried the Turkish-Libyan move, with Egypt even claiming it is illegal. The two countries are actively looking to export gas they are and will be exploiting from their own Mediterranean fields to Europe. A Turkish block on this export route leaves few options to get these hydrocarbons to the most viable market. Israel was counting on the Israel-Cyprus-Greece-Italy pipeline project to do this. But if Turkey renders the project unviable, Israel is in less of a fix as it has already begun exporting liquified natural gas to Egypt for re-export.

Additionally, despite Turkey and Israel’s difficult political ties, they have maintained strong trade relations, which are likely to ensure that Israel’s gas keeps flowing regardless of the political or military outcome to these recent events. Following the Turkey-Libya deal, three of the countries in the four-nation, 1,900-kilometre pipeline project signed an agreement, no doubt anxious to rally their diplomatic and economic forces.

Cairo has more to lose. Closely allied with the military strongman Haftar, Egypt is on the opposing side of the Libyan conflict to Turkey. Given Turkey’s ties to the Muslim Brotherhood – the sworn enemy of Cairo’s ruling regime – Egypt is poorly placed to win generous terms from Turkey if the country ever enters negotiations over pipeline access in the Mediterranean.

While Egypt seems unlikely to engage in military action more serious than the previous clashes instigated by its Mediterranean neighbours, the Turkey-Libya deal is likely to pressure Cairo to double down on its support to Haftar, no doubt prolonging the conflict and Libya’s suffering. The deal has also put Egypt in a potential economic bind, adding yet more pressure to an already-tense region. If Turkey is forced to drastically up its military commitment to Libya to combat Egypt’s support (beyond the recently agreed bill to deploy troops to Libya), then Ankara may come to regret its rush to secure its maritime rights.

A poisoned chalice?

The Turkey-Libya deal exploits the current hydrocarbon mania among Eastern Mediterranean powers, locking in key security and geopolitical arrangements for both countries. Turkey has bolstered its position against long-standing adversaries like Greece and Cyprus, while the GNA has won a powerful military backer for its internal armed struggle. Yet while hydrocarbons were once considered a boon for the Eastern Mediterranean, they have once again brought geopolitical squabbles to the surface. Turkey and Libya look to be only the most recent chapter in this ongoing saga.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Abdullah DOMA | ©AFP ⁃ Abdullah DOMA | ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.