الصفحة الرئيسية / ليبيا / حقوق الإنسان في ليبيا / حكومات أوروبية متورطة بتجارة العبيد في ليبيا

حكومات أوروبية متورطة بتجارة العبيد في ليبيا

تورطت حكوماتٌ أوروبية في كشفٍ عن تجارة بالعبيد وغيرها من الإنتهاكات التي طالت المهاجرين في ليبيا التي مزقتها الحرب، وذلك بسبب تعاون أوروبا مع خفر السواحل الليبي لوقف تدفق المهاجرين الذين يعبرون البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

وكشف تحقيق أجرته شبكة “سي إن إن” عن مزاداتٍ للعبيد يُباع فيها المهاجرون للاستعباد بما يعادل 400 دولار، إذ يعبُر عشرات الآلاف من اللاجئين والمهاجرين الاقتصاديين من أماكن أخرى في أفريقيا إلى ليبيا كل عام، أملاً بنجاحهم بركوب البحر من هناك إلى أوروبا في قوارب المهربين.

وذكر التحقيق الاستقصائي، الذي نُشر في نوفمبر 2017، “بيد أن الحملة الأخيرة التي شنها خفر السواحل الليبي تعني أنّ قوارب أقل تنجح في الوصول إلى البحر، مما يكدس الركاب المحتملين بين أيدي المهربين. وهكذا، يُصبح المهربون أسياداً والمهاجرون واللاجئون عبيداً.”

فقد سبق ووثقت المنظمة الدولية للهجرة نتائج مماثلة. وقال مهاجر سنغالي وصل إلى سبها في جنوب غربي ليبيا للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة إنه تم بيعه في سوق الرقيق هناك ونُقل إلى منزلٍ خاص حيث احتجز مع نحو 100 مهاجر كرهائن بينما حاول الخاطفون ابتزاز أسرهم بدفع المال للإفراج عنهم، وفي بعض الأحيان كان يتم ضربهم أثناء تحدثهم على الهاتف “حتى يتمكن أفراد أسرهم من سماع تعرضهم للتعذيب.” وأضاف إنه كان يتم في بعض الأحيان قتل المهاجرين الذين لا يستطيعون الدفع، في حين كانت النساء يُبعن في أسواق العبودية الجنسية.

وبغض النظر عن أولئك الذين يتم بيعهم في أسواق العبودية، يُحتجز العديد من المهاجرين الذين يتم القبض عليهم أثناء محاولتهم مغادرة ليبيا في مراكز احتجازٍ تفتقر لمقومات الظروف الإنسانية. فقد اتهم تقريرٌ لمنظمة العفو الدولية الحكومات الأوروبية بـ”تورطها عن علمٍ في تعذيب وإساءة معاملة عشرات الآلاف من اللاجئين والمهاجرين الذين تحتجزهم سلطات الهجرة الليبية في ظروف مروعة.”

وقال جون دالهويسن، مدير منظمة العفو الدولية في أوروبا، في بيانٍ إن “مئات الآلاف من اللاجئين والمهاجرين المحاصرين في ليبيا تحت رحمة السلطات الليبية، كما أن المليشيات والجماعات المسلحة والمهربين يعملون في كثيرٍ من الأحيان معاً بسلاسة لتحقيق مكاسب مالية. إن هناك عشرات الآلاف من اللاجئين المحتجزين إلى أجل غير مسمى فى مراكز الاحتجاز الليبية، وهم يتعرضون لسوء المعاملة المنهجي.” وأضاف إن ” الحكومات الأوروبية لم تكن فقط على علمٍ تام بهذه الانتهاكات، وإنما دعمت السلطات الليبية فى إغلاق المعابر البحرية واحتجاز الأشخاص فى ليبيا، لذلك هم متورطون أيضاً في هذه الجرائم.”

فقد بذلت الحكومات الأوروبية- وبخاصة إيطاليا حيث يصل غالبية المهاجرين الذين ينجحون في عبور المتوسط- جهوداً كبيرة لوقف تدفق المهاجرين من خلال توفير القوارب والتدريب والمعدات لخفر السواحل الليبي. في الواقع، انخفضت أعداد المهاجرين الواصلين إلى أوروبا عبر المتوسط فضلاً إلى أعداد الوفيات بين المهاجرين بسبب الغرق في البحر بشكلٍ كبير في الفترة ما بين 2016 و2017.

Libya- Libyan slave trade
مهاجرون غير شرعيون يصلون إلى قاعدة بحرية في طرابلس في 16 ديسمبر 2017 بعد أن تم انقاذهم من ساحل غارابولي ( 60 كم شرق العاصمة الليبية). Photo AFP

إلا أن إنخفاض العدد هذا له ثمنه، حيث يتم حجز وتكديس عشرات الآلاف من المهاجرين في ليبيا من قِبل جهاز مكافحة الهجرة غير الشرعية، الذي يُدير مراكز احتجازٍ تضم ما يصل إلى 20 ألف مهاجرٍ محتجز. كما ذكر تقرير منظمة العفو الدولية إنه في بعض الحالات، كان يتعرض المهاجرون في هذه المراكز للتعذيب للحصول على الأموال منهم. وكان يتم إطلاق سراح أولئك الذين يستطيعون الدفع، حيث كانت تتم مساعدتهم في بعض الأحيان على مغادرة البلاد. كما يدعي التقرير تواطؤ خفر السواحل مع شبكات المهربين.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد تورط خفر السواحل في حادثةٍ وقعت في نوفمبر 2017، حيث غرق ما يصل إلى 50 مهاجراً، إذ توجه طاقمٌ ليبي على متن قارب قدمته إيطاليا نحو سفينةٍ توشك على الغرق وعلى متنها مهاجرين، حيث لم يفشل الطاقم فحسب في نشر قاربه القابل للنفخ لإنقاذهم، بل عمد إلى إلقاء أجسام على عمال الإنقاذ من زورق المنظمات غير الحكومية الذي حاول الوصول لمساعدة المهاجرين، وذلك وفقاً لتقرير منظمة العفو الدولية.

كما توجه مسؤولون في الأمم المتحدة بكلماتٍ قاسية بحق الاتحاد الأوروبي والحكومة الإيطالية، حيث وصف زيد رعد الحسين، مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لحقوق الإنسان، سياسة الاتحاد الأوروبي بمساعدة خفر السواحل الليبي باعتراض وإعادة المهاجرين بـ”غير الإنسانية.”

وقال جيف كريسب، وهو مسؤولٌ كبيرٌ سابق في المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، وهي وكالة تابعة للأمم المتحدة تُعنى بشؤون اللاجئين، وباحثٌ في مركز دراسات اللاجئين في أكسفورد، لفَنَك إن: “إيطاليا والاتحاد الأوروبي مسؤولان بشكلٍ مباشر عن سجن واستغلال اللاجئين والمهاجرين في ليبيا؛ أولاً، عن طريق دفع خفر السواحل ومجموعات الميليشيات إلى اعتراض واعتقال الأشخاص الذين يحاولون الفرار بواسطة القوارب، وثانياً، بزيادة صعوبةً عمل المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بعمليات البحث والإنقاذ في البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ينتهك هذا النهج بوضوح القانون الدولي ويسمح، باستخفاف، بتحمل ليبيا المسؤولية عن العبودية وغيرها من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي وقعت في مراكز الاحتجاز سيئة السمعة في البلاد.”

ودعا كرسيب وغيره من الحقوقيين، أوروبا إلى خلق مساراتٍ أكثر أمناً وقانونية لإعادة توطين المهاجرين واللاجئين عوضاً عن احتواءهم في ليبيا. كما دعت منظمة العفو الدولية إلى ذلك في تقريرها عن الانتهاكات التي يتعرض لها المهاجرين، إذ ذكر التقرير “بيد أنه من الضرورة بمكان – سواء من المنظور القانوني، أو العملي أو الأخلاقي أو السياسي – أن يعاد النظر في أهداف هذا التعاون وطبيعته، وأن يتحول التركيز من منع وصول القادمين الجدد إلى أوروبا نحو حماية حقوق اللاجئين والمهاجرين.”

وفي اعقاب الكشف عن تجارة العبيد هذه، اعلن مسؤولون في الاتحاد الاوروبي عن خططٍ للتعاون مع الاتحاد الافريقي ضمن فرقة عملٍ مشتركة بين أجهزة الشرطة والاستخبارات، تستهدف الاتجار بالبشر. وبدأوا أيضاً بإجلاء المهاجرين من معسكرات الاعتقال في ليبيا وإعادة الذين يرغبون في العودة إلى بلدانهم. ووصف رئيس الاتحاد الاوروبي، دونالد توسك، التقارير التي تفيد بالعبودية وغيرها من الانتهاكات التي يتعرض لها المهاجرون بـ”المرعبة،” إلا أنه لم يُعقب على تورط أوروبا، قائلاً: “أسوأ ما يمكننا القيام به هو البدء بإلقاء اللوم على الآخرين. ما نحتاج إليه الآن هو حلولٌ مشتركة وتعاونٌ أقوى لإنقاذ الأرواح وحماية الناس والسماح لهم بالعيش بكرامة. يتمثل واجبنا المشترك بتكثيف الحملة ضد هؤلاء المجرمين عديمي الضمير وتقديمهم للعدالة.”

لا تمتلك ليبيا حكومةً مركزية وظيفية، بل حكومتين متنافستين فضلاً عن الميليشيات المتحالفة مع مختلف الفصائل الحكومية التي تتنافس على السلطة. وعلاوة على ذلك، أصبحت هذه الميليشيات متورطةً في أعمال التهريب، ففي سبتمبر 2017 على سبيل المثال، اندلع قتالٌ في مدينة صبراتة الساحلية بين الميليشيات المتنافسة، كانت إحداهما تعمل على تهريب المهاجرين والأخرى كانت تحاول اعتراض قوارب المهربين.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Libya / Human Rights / Report: European Governments Complicit in Libyan Slave Trade

Report: European Governments Complicit in Libyan Slave Trade

European governments have been implicated in revelations of a slave trade and other abuses targeting migrants in war-torn Libya, due to Europe’s collaboration with Libya’s coast guard to stop the flow of migrants crossing the Mediterranean.

A CNN investigation uncovered slave auctions where migrants were being sold into servitude for the equivalent of $400. Tens of thousands of refugees and economic migrants from elsewhere in Africa cross into Libya each year, hoping to make the journey from there to Europe in smuggler boats.

‘But a recent clampdown by the Libyan coast guard means fewer boats are making it out to sea, leaving the smugglers with a backlog of would-be passengers on their hands. So the smugglers become masters, the migrants and refugees become slaves,’ the investigation, published in November 2017, found.

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) previously documented similar findings. A Senegalese migrant who arrived in Sabha in south-western Libya told IOM that he was sold at a slave market there and brought to a private home where about 100 migrants were held hostage while kidnappers tried to extort money from their families to release them, sometimes beating them while on the phone “so that their family members could hear them being tortured”. Migrants who could not pay were sometimes killed, he said, while women were sold into sexual slavery.

Apart from those sold into slavery, many migrants who are apprehended while trying to leave Libya are held in inhumane conditions in detention centres. An Amnesty International report accused European governments of being ‘knowingly complicit in the torture and abuse of tens of thousands of refugees and migrants detained by Libyan immigration authorities in appalling conditions’.

“Hundreds of thousands of refugees and migrants trapped in Libya are at the mercy of Libyan authorities, militias, armed groups and smugglers often working seamlessly together for financial gain. Tens of thousands are kept indefinitely in overcrowded detention centres where they are subjected to systematic abuse,” said John Dalhuisen, Amnesty International’s Europe director, in a statement. “European governments have not just been fully aware of these abuses; by actively supporting the Libyan authorities in stopping sea crossings and containing people in Libya, they are complicit in these abuses.”

European governments – especially Italy where the majority of the migrants who make it across the Mediterranean arrive – have been pushing to stop the flow of migrants by providing boats, training and equipment to the Libyan coast guard. Indeed, both the number of migrants arriving in Europe via the Mediterranean and the number of migrant deaths at sea has dropped dramatically from 2016 to 2017.

Libya- Libyan slave trade
Illegal immigrants arrive at a naval base in Tripoli on December 16, 2017, after they were rescued off the coast of Garabulli, 60 kilometers (40 miles) east of the Libyan capital. Photo AFP

Yet the reduction comes at a price, as tens of thousands of migrants are warehoused in Libya by the Department for Combatting Illegal Migration, which runs detention centres in which as many as 20,000 captured migrants are housed. In some cases, the Amnesty International report said, migrants in these centres are tortured to extort money from them. Those who can pay are released, and sometimes are then helped to leave the country. The report alleges collusion between the coast guard and smuggling networks.

The coast guard was also implicated in a November 2017 incident in which up to 50 migrants drowned. A Libyan crew in a boat provided by Italy came across a sinking vessel full of migrants and not only failed to deploy its own inflatable vessel to rescue them but threw objects at rescuers from an NGO boat that attempted to come to the migrants’ aid, according to the Amnesty report.

United Nations (UN) officials also had harsh words for the European Union (EU) and the Italian government, with the UN’s human rights chief Zeid Raad al-Hussein calling the EU policy of assisting the Libyan coast guard to intercept and return migrants “inhuman”.

Jeff Crisp, a former senior official with UNHCR, the UN refugee agency, and a researcher at Oxford’s Refugee Studies Centre, told Fanack Chronicle, “Italy and the EU have been directly responsible for the imprisonment and exploitation of refugees and migrants in Libya; first, by paying the country’s coast guard and militia groups to intercept and capture people who are trying to escape by boat, and second, by making it increasingly difficult for NGO search-and-rescue organizations to operate in the Mediterranean. This approach clearly violates international law and cynically allows Libya to take the blame for the slavery and other human rights abuses that have taken place in the country’s infamous detention centres.”

Crisp and others have called for Europe to create more safe and legal pathways for resettlement of migrants and refugees rather than containing them in Libya. Amnesty International also called for this in its report on the abuses of migrants, arguing, ‘It is essential that the aims and nature of this cooperation be rethought; that the focus shift from preventing arrivals in Europe to protecting the rights of refugees and migrants.’

In the wake of the revelations of the slave trade, EU officials announced plans to team up with the African Union in a joint task force of police and intelligence agencies targeting human trafficking. They also began evacuating migrants from the detention camps in Libya and repatriating those willing to return to their countries. EU President Donald Tusk called the reports of slavery and other abuses of migrants “horrifying” but stopped short of conceding Europe’s culpability, saying, “The worst we can do is to start the blame game. What we need now are common solutions and stronger cooperation to save lives, protect people and allow them to live in dignity. Our common duty is to step up the fight against these unscrupulous criminals and bring them to justice.”

Libya has no functional central government; two rival governments as well as militias aligned with the different government factions are competing for power. The militias have also become involved in the smuggling business. For instance, in September 2017, fighting broke out in the coastal city of Sabratha between rival militias, one of which was smuggling migrants and the other which was trying to intercept the smuggler boats.

image_pdfimage_print