فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / السكان في ليبيا / ليبيا: نضال الأمازيغ من أجل حقوقهم بينما يخاطرون بالتورط في الصراع الدامي المستمر في البلاد

ليبيا: نضال الأمازيغ من أجل حقوقهم بينما يخاطرون بالتورط في الصراع الدامي المستمر في البلاد

Libya- Amazighs libya
ليبيون يلوحون بأعلامهم الوطنية إلى جانب العلم الأمازيغي أثناء حضورهم احتفالاً بالذكرى السابعة للثورة الليبية في ميدان الشهداء في العاصمة طرابلس في 17 فبراير 2018. Photo: MAHMUD TURKIA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA

تعدّ ليبيا في عام 2019 مستنقعاً مماثلاً للنزاعات الأخرى في الشرق الأوسط، الناشئة عن انتفاضة الربيع العربي عام 2011. ومع ذلك، انعكست إحدى أبرز نتائج النضال الليبي على الشعب الأمازيغي في البلاد. فمنذ بداية الصراع، كانت هذه الأقلية المضطهدة في عهد الزعيم الراحل معمر القذافي، أكثر قدرة على تقدير سماتها الثقافية على نحوٍ منفتح. ومع ذلك، مع دخول الحرب الأهلية مرحلةً جديدة، باتت الجماعة العرقية عرضة لمزيدٍ من الهجمات – بينما يغض المجتمع الدولي الطرف عن ذلك.

الأمازيغ، الذين يشار إليهم أيضاً باسم البربر، هم جماعة السكان الأصليين في شمال إفريقيا. وفي ليبيا، على الرغم من الاحصاءات النادرة، إلا أن تقديرات أعدادهم تتراوح بين أقل من 200 ألف نسمة وما يصل إلى 1,5مليون نسمة، أي ما يمثل حوالي ربع سكان ليبيا البالغ 6.75 مليون نسمة. يقدر البعض أعدادهم بأرقامٍ أكثر واقعية تتراوح ما بين 500 إلى 750 ألف نسمة.

وبثقافتهم المميزة عن الأغلبية العربية في البلاد، شهدت ثقافة وهوية الأمازيغ تاريخاً من القمع، لا سيما في ظل حكم القذافي، الذي اعتبرهم تهديداً انفصالياً لصياغته لسرد الوحدة العربية في المنطقة.

تم حظر اللغة المتميزة للأمازيغ، والمعروفة باسم تمازيغت، إلى جانب ممارسة تسمية الأطفال بأسماء غير عربية. ونتيجةً لذلك، سار النشطاء الأمازيغ على طريق محفوف بالمخاطر، حيث تم سجن الكثير منهم وحتى قتلهم، بينما اتهم البعض منهم بأنهم جواسيس.

انتهى الاضطهاد في عام 2011 مع سقوط نظام معمر القذافي.

فقد أوضحت أسماء خليفة، الباحثة الأمازيغية والمؤسسة المشاركة في حركة النساء الأمازيغ، لنا في فَنَك أن ذلك كان جزءاً من الرد الاستعماري على “أن يكون الجميع عرباً متحدين ضد الإمبريالية والاستعمار.” وأضافت “إلا أن هذه رواية فاشلة،” “[ذلك] لم يوحد أو يجمع الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا، لأنهما مختلفان بشدة.”

فقد تمت تسمية زورغ مادي، إحدى المؤسسات المشاركات أيضاً في حركة النساء الأمازيغ، باسمٍ أمازيغي من قِبل والدها، سالم مادي، وهو زعيمٌ أمازيغي بارز أعتقل في ثمانينيات القرن الماضي لتحدثه علناً عن حقيقة أن الأمازيغ يملكون هويةً ثقافية مميزة عن العرب، حيث كلفه ذلك عشر سنواتٍ في السجن قبل ولادة ابنته.

لم ينتهِ نشاطه بمجرد إطلاق سراحه من السجن: فقد ألهم الآخرين، بمن فيهم أبنائه، لمواصلة الاحتجاج والعمل مع كيانات شمولية في عموم إفريقيا مثل الكونغرس العالمي الأمازيغي الذي يهدف إلى حماية وتعزيز الوعي بالأمازيغية عبر شمال أفريقيا. اضطهاد عائلة مادي لم يتوقف، أيضاً، إذ تستذكر زورغ مادي إحدى اللحظات التي عاشتها: “أتذكر حدثاً واحداً جاءت فيه قوات القذافي إلى منزلنا وهم يصرخون، متهمينا بأننا خائنون ومحتالون، إذ قالوا لنا ‘ينبغي قتلكم.‘” وأضافت “ثم اندلعت الثورة. نحن أقوى الآن.”

يعمل سالم ماضي الآن مع المجلس الأعلى للدولة كما تطورت الحركة الأمازيغية بشكلٍ كبير. لكن بالنسبة للكثيرين، لم يقطع الدستور الليبي شوطاً كافياً في منح الأمازيغ مكانةً متساوية مع للعرب، إذ تقول ماضي: “لا يتم الاعتراف بنا بجدية في التشريعات الحكومية، نحن غير موجودون في ليبيا.”

اعتمد المجلس الوطني الانتقالي الذي تم إنشاؤه بعد عهد القذافي، أي بعد زوال الديكتاتور، دستوراً مؤقتاً، إلا أن الهيئة التأسيسية لصياغة الدستور الليبي أنشئت في عام 2013 لكتابة دستورٍ دائم. ومع ذلك، تم منح مقعدين فقط من المقاعد الـ 60 للأمازيغ (تم تخصيص ستة في المجموع للأقليات الرئيسية الثلاث في البلاد، الاثنان الآخران هما التبو والطوارق). استقبل هذا الأمر بمرارة كبيرة بين الأمازيغ، الذين رأوا أنفسهم يلعبون دوراً كبيراً في الثورة الليبية والتمرد المسلح، محررين البلدات من قوات القذافي.

وفي هذا الصدد، يقول محمد بن طالب من المجلس الأعلى للأمازيغ، وهو هيئة منتخبة تتألف من 18 عضواً تقوم بالوساطة بالنيابة عن مجتمع الأمازيغ في ليبيا- أن الحكومات ما بعد الحرب لا تزال تحتفظ بنفس السرد المتعارف عليه ما قبل الحرب والذي ينظر إلى الأمازيغ باعتبارهم انفصاليين.

نتيجةً لذلك، قاطع الأمازيغ الهيئة التأسيسية لصياغة الدستور الليبي وكذلك الانتخابات البرلمانية التي أجريت في 25 يونيو 2014. ما يريدون من الدستور هو أن يتم مساواة الثقافة الأمازيغية واللغة الأمازيغية باللغة والثقافة العربية. وبالتالي، يطالبون باستخدام أبجدية تيفيناغ، الأبجدية الأمازيغية، في جوازات السفر وغيرها من الوثائق الرسمية.

فقد أثار طعم الحرية الذي جاء بعد سقوط القذافي رغبة أكبر في استقلالية التعليم والأمن.

كما زاد الوعي بالحقوق في إذكاء هذه الحركة، وتبع ذلك صحوةً ثقافية، لا سيما في المناطق الأمازيغية البارزة في الغرب، مثل زوارة، على الحدود مع تونس وجبال نفوسة وحول غدامس في الشمال الغربي.

فقد بات المزيد من السكان الأمازيغ يلوّحون بعلم مجتمعهم ويتحدثون باللهجة الأمازيغية. وغالباً ما تُكتب لافتات الشوارع بأبجدية تيفيناغ، كما تُدّرس المدارس والكليات المحلية الأمازيغية. تم جلب معلمين من الجزائر والمغرب لبدء مثل هذه البرامج لأن القليل من الأمازيغ البالغين في ليبيا يمكنهم القراءة أو الكتابة بأبجديتهم. كما يتم الاحتفال بالسنة الأمازيغية الجديدة في أجزاء من البلاد، والتي يتم الاحتفال بها في 12 يناير من كل عام، على الرغم من أنه غير معترف بها باعتبارها عطلة وطنية.

ومع ذلك، بالنسبة لكثير من الليبيين، يُنظر إلى وضع المساواة بين الأمازيغ والسكان العرب الليبيين على أنه خطوة بعيدة المنال، إذ تعتبر النخب القديمة نفسها متميزة عن بقية السكان الأفارقة، بينما يعتبر الأمازيغ أنفسهم أفارقة.

وعلى الرغم من المقاطعة، لم يعترف المجتمع الدولي بمطالب الأقليات الليبية، حيث كان هناك شغف لتبني الدستور وإجراء الانتخابات بعد الحرب.

وتقول مادي، “بصراحة، نشعر أنه تم التخلي عنا.” وتُضيف “حتى خلال الثورة، لعبنا دوراً كبيراً في القتال ضد القذافي، إلا أننا لم نحظى بأي دعم.”

تقول مادي إن دولاً مثل فرنسا تعمل فعلاً ضد الأمازيغ بسبب الدعم الفرنسي للجيش الوطني الليبي، الذي أصبح الآن فصيلاً سياسياً تحت قيادة اللواء السابق خليفة حفتر التابع للحكومة غير الرسمية في شرق البلاد. علاوةً على ذلك، يُعرف الجيش باللغة العربية باسم “الجيش العربي الوطني” – ويشير النشطاء الأمازيغ، بمن فيهم مادي وخليفة، إلى أنه يستثني الأمازيغ.

وبالرغم من الإنفتاح المتزايد في المجتمع الليبي، لا يزال النشطاء الأمازيغ يواجهون تهديدات. فقد اختطف ناشط أمازيغي، يدعى ربيع الجياش، العام الماضي على أيدي قوات موالية لحفتر، واتُهم بالتجسس بعد أن سُمع وهو يتحدث الأمازيغية.

وفي نفس العام، احتلت ليبيا المرتبة الـ11 من بين الدول التي تعتبر “شعوباً معرضة للتهديد” من قبل منظمة حقوق الأقليات الدولية.

تقول خليفة: “أود أن أقول إن الوضع تغير كثيراً. بطريقة ما، لم يحصل ذلك.” وتابعت “أقصد، تغير الأمر بالنسبة للأمازيغ، يمكن أن يكونوا أكثر صراحةً، إلا أن هذا يحدث فقط بسبب الافتقار إلى ضوابط الدولة.”

ففي أغسطس، أصدر الذراع الديني للحكومة الشرقية، اللجنة العليا للإفتاء، فتوى ضد الإباضية – الإباضية هي إحدى طوائف الإسلام التي يتبعها الأمازيغ، من بين آخرين. فقد وصفتهم هذه الفتوى حرفياً بـ”الفرقة المنحرفة والضالة،” رغم أنه كان هناك دعمٌ غير متوقع للبربر نتيجة لذلك، بما في ذلك من العناصر السُنية في البلاد.

فقد خلق هذا الهجوم الذي شنه حفتر في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام ديناميكية جديدة لاستقرار ليبيا وانعدام الأمن. وما زالت تلك الجماعات المقربة من الزعيم المتمرد تشكل تهديداً للأمازيغ، خاصة في زوارة الاستراتيجية وغير المحمية نسبياً، وهي بلدة ساحلية رملية منشودة بفضل محطات النفط والغاز فيها ومطارها وميناءها وموقعها على الحدود من تونس. فقد أسفر الهجوم على زوارة، في 4 أبريل من هذا العام، عن مقتل 254 شخصاً وإصابة أكثر من 1,228 وتشريد 32 ألفاً.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن السلفيين المداخلة والميليشيات المتحالفة مع الجيش الوطني الليبي في الجنوب معادية بشكلٍ خاص للأمازيغ الأباضية، حيث أدى ذلك إلى إثارة الخوف من حدوث إبادة جماعية محتملة، كما أصدر المجلس الأعلى للأمازيغ في العام الماضي بياناً جاء فيه: “يجب على المجتمع الدولي التدخل وحماية الأمازيغ في ليبيا وفقاً للاتفاقيات والمعاهدات الموقعة من قِبل ليبيا.”

تقول خليفة إن هناك الكثير من الادعاءات حول الأمازيغ، بما في ذلك خطط لإقامة مملكة شمال إفريقيا، أو رغبتهم في التخلص من العرب، والتي “لا تستند إلى أي دليلٍ سوى نظريات المؤامرة.”

ومع ذلك، فمن الآمن أن نقول إن الطموحات الأمازيغية لا تزال تتوق إلى المساواة في القانون، بينما يقاتلون لتجنب كارثةٍ جماعية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Population of Libya / In Libya, the Amazighs fight for their rights, but risk getting caught in the country’s ongoing and bloody conflict

In Libya, the Amazighs fight for their rights, but risk getting caught in the country’s ongoing and bloody conflict

Libya- Amazighs libya
Libyans wave their national flag alongside the Amazigh flag as they attend a celebration marking the seventh anniversary of the Libyan revolution in the capital Tripoli’s Martyrs Square on February 17, 2018. Photo: MAHMUD TURKIA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA

Libya in 2019 is a quagmire similar to other conflicts in the Middle East, arising from the Arab uprising of 2011. A notable outcome of the Libyan struggle, however, has been for the Amazigh people in the country. Persecuted under late leader Muammar Gaddafi, this minority group has since the start of the conflict been more able to openly appreciate their own cultural traits. However, as the civil war enters a new phase, the ethnic group is vulnerable to further attacks – and the international community is turning a blind eye.

The Amazighs, who are also referred to as Berber, are an indigenous group of North Africa. In Libya, although statistics are rare, estimates of their numbers range between less than 200,000 and up to 1.5 million, which would represent around a quarter of Libya’s 6.75 million population. Some estimate a more realistic figure between 500,000 and 750,000.

With a distinct culture from the country’s Arab majority, the culture and identity of the Amazighs has undergone a history of repression, particularly under the rule of Gaddafi, who saw them as a separatist threat to his crafting of the narrative of Arab unification in the region.

The distinct language of the Amazighs, known as Tamazight, was banned, as was the practice of giving children non-Arab names. As a result, Amazigh activists tread a precarious path, with many being imprisoned and even killed, and some accused of being spies.

This repression ended in 2011 with the fall of Muammar Gaddafi.

Asma Khalifa, an Amazigh researcher and co-founder of the Tamazight Women’s Movement (TWM), explained to Fanack Chronicle that it was part of the decolonial response to “all be Arabs united against imperialism and colonialism”. “But that’s a failed narrative,” she told Fanack Chronicle. “[It] has not united or unified the Middle East and North Africa, because it’s so diverse.”

Zorgh Madi, also a co-founder of TFW in Libya, was given an Amazigh name by her father, Salem Madi, a prominent Amazigh leader who was arrested in the 1980s for speaking out about the fact that Amazighs had a distinct cultural identity to Arabs. This cost him a decade in prison before his daughter was born.

His activism didn’t end once released from prison: he inspired others, including his sons, to continue protesting and to work with overarching, pan-North African entities such as the Amazigh Congress that aimed to protect and promote awareness about the Amazigh across North Africa. The Madi family’s persecution didn’t stop, either. “I remember one event where Gaddafi’s forces came to our house and demonstrated, saying we were traitors and cheaters, telling us: ‘You should be killed’,” Zorgh Madi recalls. “Then the revolution came,” she continues. “We’re stronger now.”

Salem Madi now works with the High State Council and the Amazigh movement has developed greatly. But for many, the Libyan constitution doesn’t go far enough in affording Amazigh equal status to the Arabs. “We are not recognised seriously in government legislation, we do not exist in Libya,” says Madi.

The National Transitional Council that was established post-Gaddafi, after the dictator’s demise, adopted an interim constitution, but the Constitutional Drafting Assembly (CDA) was created in 2013 to write a permanent one. However, only two of the 60 Assembly seats were given to Amazigh (six in total were allocated to the country’s three main minority groups, the other two being Tebu and Tuareg). This was received with much acrimony among the Amazigh, who saw themselves as playing a large part in the Libyan revolution and armed rebellion, liberating towns from Gaddafi forces.

Emhemed Bentalab of the Amazigh Supreme Council – an 18-member elected body that mediates on behalf of Libya’s Amazigh community – says that post-war governments are still maintaining the same, pre-war narrative that views Amazighs as separatists.

As a result, Amazighs boycotted the CDA as well as the parliamentary elections that were held on 25 June 2014. What they want from the constitution is for the Amazigh culture and language of Tamazight to be held in an equal status to that of the Arabic language and the Arab culture. Thus, they require the Tifinagh script, an Amazight script, to be used in passports and other official documents.

The taste of freedom that came after the fall of Gaddafi spurred a greater desire for autonomy around education and security.

An increased awareness of rights has further fuelled this movement, and a cultural awakening has ensued, particularly in prominent Amazigh areas in the West, such as Zuwara, on the border to Tunisia, the Nafusa Mountains and around Ghadames in the North West.

More of the Amazigh population are waving their community’s flag and speaking the Tamazight dialect. Street signs are now often written in Tifinagh and the schools are teaching Tamazight, as are local colleges. Teachers have been brought in from Algeria and Morocco to kickstart such programmes because few Amazigh adults in Libya could read or write in the script. The Amazigh new year is also being celebrated in parts of the country, which is marked on the 12 January each year, although it is not recognized as a national holiday.

However, for many Libyans, equal status for the Amazigh with Libya’s Arab population is seen as a step too far. The old elites consider themselves as distinct from the rest of the African population, whereas Amazigh see themselves as Africans.

Despite boycotts, the international community have not acknowledged the demands from Libya’s minorities, as there was eagerness for a constitution to be adopted and elections to take place after the war.

“Honestly, we feel left behind,” says Madi. “Even during the revolution, we took a big role fighting against Gaddafi, but we never received any kind of support.”

Madi says that countries like France in effect work against the Amazigh because of the French support for the Libyan National Army (LNA), which has now become a political faction under the leadership of former General Khalifa Haftar of the unofficial government in the east of the country. The LNA literally translates from Arabic to English as the ‘National Arab Army’ – and Amazigh activists, including Madi and Khalifa, point out that it excludes the Amazigh people.

Despite more openness in Libyan society, Amazigh activists still face threats. One Amazigh activist, called Rabie al-Jayash, was abducted last year by forces loyal to Haftar and was accused of espionage after he was heard speaking in Tamazight.

The same year, Libya was ranked 11th among countries counting “peoples under threat” by the NGO Minority Rights Group International.

“I would like to say that the situation changed so much. In a way, it hasn’t,” says Khalifa. “I mean, it has changed for the Amazigh, they can be more open, but only because there are very little state controls.”

In August, the eastern government’s religious arm, the Supreme Fatwa Committee, issued a fatwa against Ibadis – Ibadism is a sect of Islam that the Amazigh, among others, follow. This fatwa effectively labelled them “a misguided and aberrant group,” although there was reportedly unexpected support for the Berbers as a result, including from Sunni elements in the country.

The offensive launched by Haftar earlier this year has also created a new dynamic to Libya’s stability and insecurity. Those groups close to the rebel leader continue to pose a threat to Amazighs, particularly in strategic and relatively unprotected Zuwara, a flat, sandy coastal town that is a sought after area for its oil and gas plant, airport, port and position on the border to Tunisia. An attack in Zuwara, on 4 April of this year, resulted in 254 deaths and more than 1,228 injuries while displacing 32,000 people.

Madkhalsit salafists and LNA-aligned militias in the south are particularly hostile to the Amazighs’ Ibadism. This has stoked fear of a potential genocide and the ASC last year issued a statement that stated: “The international community must intervene and protect Amazigh people in Libya as per the conventions and treaties signed by Libya.”

Khalifa says there are a lot of claims about the Amazigh, including plans for a North African Kingdom, or desires to get rid of the Arabs, that are “not founded on anything but conspiracy theories.”

It is however safe to say that Amazigh ambitions still yearn for equality in the law, and are fighting to avoid a mass catastrophe.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA | ©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.