فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / السكان في ليبيا / بعد خمس سنواتٍ من الربيع العربي، تاورغاء ليبيا يستعدون للعودة إلى ديارهم

بعد خمس سنواتٍ من الربيع العربي، تاورغاء ليبيا يستعدون للعودة إلى ديارهم

Libya- Tuareg
طرابلس: أسرة نازحة من مدينة تاورغاء، 2011. Photo Flickr

أصبحت مدينة تاورغاء، التي تبعد عن مدينة مصراتة 38 كيلومتراً، مدينة أشباح. فقد فرّ سُكانها، المعروفون بالتاورغاء، إلى المخيمات المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد بعد إنتفاضة عام 2011 التي أطاحت بمعمر القذافي، الديكتاتور الذي حكم البلاد لفترةٍ طويلة.

آنذاك، كانت قوات المتمردين من مدينة مصراتة الساحلية الغربية يحملون ثأراً شخصياً ضد تاورغاء، إذ كانوا يلقون اللوم عليهم لمساعدة القذافي في حصار مدينتهم لثلاثة أشهر. فقد قُتل أكثر من ألف شخصٍ خلال الحصار واختفى مئاتٌ آخرون، كما يُزعم أن تاورغاء، الذين تحالف العديد منهم مع القذافي خلال الانتفاضة، اغتصبوا العديد من نساء من مدينة مصراتة.

بيد أنه لم يتم التحقق من هذه الادعاءات مطلقاً. فقد ذكرت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية أنها حصلت فحسب على أدلةٍ بإصدار القذافي أوامر باستخدام اغتصاب النساء كسلاحٍ ضد قوات المتمردين. ومع ذلك، فإن المحرمات المحيطة بالكشف عن العنف الجنسي في ليبيا جعلت من الصعب تقدير عدد الحوادث أو ما إذا كان تاورغاء متورطين بشكلٍ مباشر. وقال السكان لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) إنهم لم يشاهدوا أي حالات اغتصاب، بيد أنهم اصروا على حدوثها.

وبغض النظر عن ذلك، كان دور تاورغاء في محاصرة المدينة سبباً كافياً لسعي مقاتلي مصراتة للانتقام. فعندما تقدموا نحو تاورغاء في أغسطس 2011، طردوا أكثر من 30 ألف نسمة ونهبوا منازلهم، وتعهدوا بعدم السماح لهم بالعودة.

وبعد خمس سنوات، ساعدت بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا بالشروع في عملية مصالحةٍ بين المدينتين، حيث تم التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ في 31 أغسطس 2016 ينص على أن الشرط الأساسي لعودة تاورغاء هو تعويض ضحايا ثورة عام 2011. ويتوقع سكان مدينة تاورغاء حصولهم على تعويضٍ مالي، وكذلك هو حال مقاتلي مصراتة الذين قبلوا بالصفقة.

وقال عماد بادي، وهو ناشط سلامٍ ليبي يشارك في تحسين التماسك الاجتماعي في أجزاء من البلاد، لفَنَك إن هناك شفافية ضئيلة حول لمن ستذهب الأموال وكيفية إنفاقها.

وأضاف عبر الهاتف “من غير الواضح للمجتمع الليبي [أين ستذهب الأموال]، ولن يكون هذا واضحاً أيضاً للمليشيات الأخرى في البلاد التي قد تظن أن الأموال لقمة سائغة للاستيلاء عليها إذا ما قبلوا بالمصالحة.” وتابع قوله “لربما تُستخدم لشراء الأسلحة، ولكن هذا ليس بيت القصيد. تكمن المشكلة في أن الميليشيات تكافأ على تشريد الناس.”

وعلى الرغم من هذه المخاوف، تم التصديق على الاتفاق في يونيو 2017 من قِبل حكومة الوفاق الوطني، المعترف بها دولياً إلا أنها تواجه تحدياتٍ داخلية من قِبل حكومة منافسة والميليشيات القوية. وقد دافع مارتن كوبلر، الرئيس السابق لبعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا، عن هذه الأخبار باعتبارها خطوةً إلى الأمام في عملية المصالحة في ليبيا.

وكان قد صرح أنذآك، “يمكن لسكان تاورغاء العودة أخيراً إلى ديارهم. يجب أن نضع على سلم الأولويات ضمان عودة آمنة وطوعية وغير مشروطة لهم، وهنا تقف الأمم المتحدة على أهبة الاستعداد لتقديم الدعم.”

وتعمل وزارة شؤون المهجرين اليوم على إعادة وصل المياه والكهرباء وغيرها من الخدمات الأساسية. وفي ديسمبر 2017، أعلنت حكومة الوفاق الوطني أن بإمكان تاورغاء العودة بحلول فبراير 2018. وقال وزير الدولة لشؤون المهجرين والنازحين، يوسف جلالة، للمراقب الليبي إن الأسر التي تعرضت منازلها للتدمير جزئياً فقط ستعود أولاً. وقال أيضاً إن بإمكان الآخرين العودة بعد إصلاح الخدمات العامة على نحوٍ ملائم.

فالعديد متحمسون للعودة، إذ لم يعد بإمكانهم تحمّل الظروف السيئة في المخيمات، التي تُسيطر عليها الميليشيات. وقبل أسبوعٍ من إعلان حكومة الوفاق الوطني، خرج البعض من تاورغاء في مظاهراتٍ في منطقة الفلاح بالعاصمة طرابلس، مطالبين السلطات بالسماح لهم بالعودة إلى ديارهم.

وبالرغم من أن طلبهم هذا قد تحقق اليوم، إلا أن الجماعات الحقوقية تخشى أنّ تفتقر عملية المصالحة إلى المساءلة. وحتى الآن، أدانت المحاكم الليبية تاورغاء فحسب على عمليات القتل غير القانوني وحيازة الأسلحة، وفقاً لتقريرٍ صادرٍ عن هيومن رايتس ووتش. ولم يتم بعد مقاضاة أي مسلحين من مصراتة لطردهم تاورغاء ، وهدم مدينتهم، وتعذيب الأشخاص الذين تم القبض عليهم.

كما تتوق الأسر التي تستعد إلى العودة أيضاً للإفراج عن أحبائهم. وقال مفتاح المبروك، الذي يمثل أسر تاورغاء المحتجزين، لهيومن رايتس ووتش، إن بعض المحتجزين البالغ عددهم 160 من تاورغاء قد أدينوا في المحاكم والسجون التي كانت تديرها الميليشيات منذ الثورة. أما الآخرون فلا يزالون في الحبس الاحتياطي.

بل الأسوء من ذلك أن حكومة الوفاق الوطني بالكاد تمتلك السلطة على هذه المحاكم والسجون؛ فالسياسيون تحت رحمة الميليشيات، وليس العكس. وفي حال استمرار الوضع الراهن، سيكون تحقيق العدالة أمرا مستحيلا تقريباً، على الأقل إلى أن يتم حل الميليشيات، وسيطرة حكومة واحدة على البلاد.

وحتى ذلك الحين، بالكاد هناك ما يمنع الفصائل المسلحة من انتهاك اتفاقات السلام ومواصلة ارتكاب الفظائع. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن للقوات من مصراتة أن تستهدف مرةً أخرى تاورغاء بمجرد عودتهم. وتشير هذه الاحتمالات، بوضوح، إلى أن المصالحة لم تتحقق، وفقاً لبادي.

فهو يرى أن تحقيق مصالحةٍ حقيقة أمرا مستحيلا ما لم يعترف الطرفان بتجاوزاتهم ويتفقان على كيفية إقامة العدل. وكما يقول، فإن الإتفاق الحالي فشل في تغيير ميزان القوى بين مصراتة وتاورغاء أو حتى معالجة المظالم السائدة.

وأضاف أيضاً “[الاتفاق الحالي] هو صفقة لإعادة اللاجئين إلى ديارهم.” ويتابع “يتمتع جانبٌ واحد بالقوة كلها، ويسمحون للطرف الآخر بالعودة. هذا ليس عدلاً، هذه عملية مختلفة تماماً.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Flickr | ©Flickr

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Libya / Population / Five Years After Arab Spring, Libya’s Tawergha Prepare to Return Home

Five Years After Arab Spring, Libya’s Tawergha Prepare to Return Home

Libya- Tuareg
Tripoli: A displaced Tawerghan family, 2011. Photo Flickr

Tawergha is a ghost town located 38km from Misrata. Its people, also referred to as the Tawergha, fled to camps scattered across the country during the 2011 uprising that overthrew long-time dictator Muammar Gaddafi.

At the time, rebel forces from the western port city of Misrata had a personal vendetta against the Tawergha, blaming them for helping Qaddafi besiege their city for three months. More than a thousand people were killed during the siege and hundreds of others disappeared. The Tawergha – many of whom aligned with Qaddafi during the uprising – were also alleged to have raped numerous women from Misrata.

The allegations were never verified. The International Criminal Court merely said that it had obtained evidence that Qaddafi had ordered the rape of women as a weapon against rebel forces. However, the taboo surrounding sexual violence in Libya made it difficult to estimate the number of incidences or whether the Tawergha were directly implicated. Residents told the BBC that they had never witnessed any rapes but insisted that they had happened.

Regardless, the Tawergha’s role in besieging the city was enough reason for fighters from Misrata to seek vengeance. When they descended on Tawergha in August 2011, they expelled more than 30,000 people and ransacked their homes, vowing never to let them return.

Five years later, the United Nations Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL) helped jump-start a reconciliation process between the two cities. An agreement was reached on 31 August 2016, stipulating that the primary condition for the return of the Tawergha is that the victims of the 2011 uprising are compensated. Residents from Tawergha are expecting to receive financial compensation, but so are fighters from Misrata who accepted the deal.

Emad Badi, a Libyan peace activist involved in improving social cohesion in parts of the country, told Fanack Chronicle that there is little transparency around where the money is going and how it will be spent. “It is not clear to the Libyan community [where the money is going], and it won’t be clear to other militias in the country who might assume that money is up for grabs if they consider reconciliation,” he said over the phone. “Maybe it could be used to purchase weapons, but that’s not the point. The problem is that militias [are being] rewarded for uprooting people.”

Despite such concerns, the agreement was ratified in June 2017 by the Government of National Accord (GNA), which is recognized internationally but is challenged internally by a rival government and powerful militias. Martin Kobler, the former head of UNSMIL, championed the news as a step forward in Libya’s reconciliation process. “Tawerghans can finally return home. Ensuring that their return is safe, voluntary and unconditional must be a top priority, and here the United Nations stands ready to support,” he said at the time.

The Ministry of Displaced People’s Affairs (DPA) is now scrambling to restore water, power and other basic services. In December 2017, the GNA announced that the Tawergha could begin returning by February 2018. Yousif Jalala, DPA minister, told the Libya Observer that families whose houses were only partially damaged would return first. The others, he said, could come back after public services had been adequately repaired.

Many are eager to return. The desperate conditions in the camps, which are controlled by militias, have tested their tolerance. A week before the GNA’s announcement, several Tawergha staged a demonstration in the Falah district of the capital Tripoli, demanding that the authorities allow them to return home.

Although that demand has now been met, rights groups fear that the reconciliation process is lacking accountability. So far, Libyan courts have only convicted Tawergha for unlawful killings and the possession of weapons, according to a report by Human Rights Watch (HRW). No militants from Misrata have yet been prosecuted for uprooting the Tawergha, demolishing their city and torturing the people they captured.

Families that are preparing to return also long for the release of their loved ones. Miftah Almabrouk, who represents the Tawergha families of detainees, told HRW that only some of the remaining 160 detainees from Tawergha have been convicted in courts and prisons that have been administered by militias since the revolution. The others are languishing in pre-trial detention.

Worse still, the GNA has little power over these courts and prisons; politicians are at the mercy of militias, not the other way around. If the status quo continues, getting justice will be virtually impossible, at least until the militias are disbanded and a single government controls the country.

Until then, there is little stopping armed factions from violating peace agreements and continuing to commit atrocities. For instance, forces from Misrata could again target the Tawergha once they return. This possibility clearly indicates that reconciliation has not been achi eved, according to Badi.

In his view, true reconciliation is impossible unless both communities acknowledge their wrongdoings and agree on how to administer justice. The current agreement, he says, fails to alter the balance of power between Misrata and Tawergha or address prevailing grievances. “[The current agreement] is a transaction of repatriations,” he said. “One side has all the power, and they are allowing the other side to return. That’s not justice. That’s a very different process.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.