فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع

المجتمع

المركز السابق للكتاب الأخضر في بنغازي
المركز السابق للكتاب الأخضر في بنغازي

تعتبر ليبيا بعدد سكانها الستة ملايين نسمة من أقل الدول العربية كثافةً سكانية، وهم يتوزعون بأعداد قليلة في إحدى أكبر الدول مساحةً.

معظم سكان ليبيا هم من المسلمين السنّة، غير أن الأمر لم يكن كذلك دائماً. اليوم، تقتصر المسيحية على المغتربين. تاريخياً، كان هناك طائفة يهودية كبيرة، إلا انها اختفت تماماً. وليس هناك تمييز بين العرب والبربر كما في المغرب والجزائر؛ وفقط بعد سقوط القذافي بدأت الأعداد القليلة من البربر تشعر بهويتها.

اتصف حكم القذافي بالدكتاتورية والقمع الشديدين. جاءت ثورة عام 2011 بانفتاح سياسي. يصف عدد كبير من الليبيين مجتمعهم بأنه “محافظ”؛ الصفة التي عززها حكم القذافي بجعل العائلات تركز على المقربين من أجل الثقة والوفاء. كان القذافي يعتمد على العدائية والوفاء على مبدأ فرّق تسُد. عززت ثورة عام 2011 الوعي بالهوية القبلية والشعور بالوحدة بين السكان.

هيمن القذافي على المجتمع الليبي لأكثر من أربعين عاماً. وكان لحكمه الدكتاتوري تأثير على العقلية الجماعية للسكان والثقافة والإعلام. وكانت كتاباته وخطاباته تحدد سلوك وتفكير الليبيين في كل مجالات الحياة: التعبير والتعليم والترفيه والرياضة والفنون والثقافة.

كان من الصعب تعليم طلاب المدارس والجامعات التفكير المستقل في ظل هذه الظروف. وكان انعدام الثقة يعني أن الحياة اليومية كان يحكمها الخوف من وجود “هوائي إرسال” يحدد إذا كان شخص ما “خائن لثورة القذافي”. وصف بعض الليبيين الشعب الليبي على أن جميعهم “سجناء القذافي”.

كان هذا على خلفية نمو اقتصادي استثنائي. فمع بدء استغلال النفط في الستينيات، تغيرت خصائص المجتمع الليبي بشكل جذري. فقد تحولت من دولة فقيرة إلى مجتمع أكثر ازدهاراً، كما شهدت تغيرات سكانية. تأثرت العلاقات في المجتمع الليبي بوصول أعداد كبيرة من العمال المهاجرين من العالم العربي وإفريقيا وآسيا. وتُعتبر ليبيا حالياً البلد الأكثر ازدهاراً في القارة الإفريقية.

بعد رفع الحظر، شهدت البلاد انتعاشاً اقتصادياً وزيادة في الاستهلاك. بعد ثورة عام 2011، ظهرت المبادرات خاصة وازداد عدد الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة.

إقرأ المزيد

مؤشر التنمية البشرية
منذ ثورة عام 2011 التي لعبت فيها المجتمعات البربرية دوراً أساسياً، تزايد استعمال اللغة البربرية والتعبير الثقافي البربري. وحتى ...
Family in Libya
سجّلت ليبيا رقماً عالياً في مؤشر عدم المساواة بين الجنسين المتعلق بمؤشر التنمية البشرية، وهو مقياس مركّب يمثّل عدم المساواة ف...
كان التعليم إحدى نجاحات نظام القذّافي. في ليبيا أقلّ معدّل أمية أساسية في شمال أفريقيا، ولكن قبل انقلاب 1969، كان أكثر من 80% من ال...
لكن النظام الصحي يفتقر إلى الاستثمار. فقد انخفض الإنفاق الحكومي على الصحة العامة من 5,5% عام 1995 إلى 4% عام 2010، ومن 3,5% من الناتج الم...
شهدت ليبيا نمواً سريعاً فائق الوصف منذ اكتشاف النفط. وهذا جلب معه تطوراً سريعاً، لكن لا يزال هناك اختلالات اجتماعية واقتصادية ...
معدل جرائم القتل 2,9 لكل 100,000 شخص، وهي نسبة غير منخفضة (مقارنة مع مصر 1,0 والمغرب 1,4 وتونس 1,1)، مع أنها كانت أدنى بكثير من لبنان (6,1). ك...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Society, Media & Culture / Society

Society of Libya

The Former Green Book Centre in Benghazi
The Former Green Book Centre in Benghazi

The Former Green Book Centre in Benghazi

Libya’s population of just over six million is one of the smallest of the Arab states, but it is spread thinly over one of the geographically largest countries.

The Libyan population is almost entirely Sunni Muslim. Christianity is now limited to expatriate residents. There was once a historically important Jewish community, but it has entirely disappeared. The distinctions between Arab and Berber that are so noticeable in Morocco and Algeria are absent in Libya: only since the fall of Gaddafi has the numerically small Berber community made itself felt.

Libya’s government under Gaddafi was extremely authoritarian and repressive. The revolution of 2011 has provided a political opening. Many Libyans characterize their society as ‘conservative’. Gaddafi’s rule reinforced this characteristic, as families focused on their closest inner circle for trust and loyalty. He used tribal animosities and loyalties to rule and divide, and the 2011 revolt reinforced awareness of tribal identities but also a sense of unity among the population.

Gaddafi dominated Libyan society for more than forty years. His dictatorship has influenced the population’s collective mentality and culture, and the media. His writings and speeches prescribed how Libyans should behave and think in every area of life: expression, education, leisure, sport, arts, and culture.

It was difficult to educate school children and university students to think independently in these circumstances. A general lack of trust meant that daily life was governed by the fear that an ‘antenna’ might identify a person as being ‘disloyal to Gaddafi’s revolution’. Some Libyans characterized Libyans as ‘being all prisoners of Gaddafi’.

This was against a background of extraordinary economic growth. After the exploitation of oil began in the 1960s, the characteristics of Libyan society changed drastically. It evolved from an impoverished country to a more prosperous society, and it changed demographically. Relations within Libyan society have been affected by the arrival of large numbers of migrant workers from the Arab world, Africa, and Asia. Libya is presently the most prosperous country from the African continent.

After the embargo was lifted, the country witnessed an economic boom and an increase in consumerism. After the 2011 revolution, many private initiatives popped up, and small and middle-sized enterprises grew in number.

Further Reading

Human Development
After the 1969 coup especially, Gaddafi crushed all expression of a Berber identity, but since the 2011 revolution, in which Berber communities played a leading role, the use of the Berber language and cultural expression has incr...
Historically, Libyan society has revolved around the family, with grandparents, parents, married sons with families, and unmarried relatives living often together in one house. This was a concomitant of the tribal structure of rur...
Libya scored high in the Gender Inequality Index of the Human Development Index, a composite measure accounting for inequality in achievements between women and men in reproductive health, empowerment, and the labour market. In 20...
Education was one of the successes of the Gaddafi regime. Libya has the lowest basic illiteracy rate in North Africa, but before the 1969 coup more than 80 percent of the population was illiterate. In 2009 89.2 percent of the popu...
the health system lacked investment. Public-health spending decreased from 5.5 percent of government expenditure in 1995 to 4 percent in 2010 and from 4.4 percent of GDP to 3.5 percent over the same period. The embargo contributed...
Libya has developed extraordinarily quickly since the discovery of oil. This has brought rapid development, but there are still huge social and economic imbalances.
During the Gaddafi period, crime was suppressed by the security apparatus. In 2008 the homicide rate was 2.9 per 100,000 people, which is not particularly low (compared with Egypt 1.0, Morocco 1.4, and Tunisia 1.1), though it was ...

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.