فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / الجريمة

الجريمة

محاكمة بوزيد دوردة، الرئيس السابق لجهاز الأمن الخارجي في نظام القذافي، عام 2012
محاكمة بوزيد دوردة، الرئيس السابق لجهاز الأمن الخارجي في نظام القذافي، عام 2012

في عهد القذافي، كانت الأجهزة الأمنية تقمع الجريمة. عام 2008، بلغ معدل جرائم القتل 2,9 لكل 100,000 شخص، وهي نسبة غير منخفضة (مقارنة مع مصر 1,0 والمغرب 1,4 وتونس 1,1)، مع أنها كانت أدنى بكثير من لبنان (6,1). كان هناك 9 حالات إعدام في ليبيا عام 2007 (مقارنة بـ 42 في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية و 48 في مصر وصفر في المغرب وتونس). عام 2013 احتلت ليبيا المركز 47 (من أصل 173) من حيث عدد السجناء لكل 100,000 شخص.

ازدادت الجريمة بشكل كبير في طرابلس بعد ثورة عام 2011. أفادت التقارير عن سطو مسلح وخطف كتصفية حسابات وسرقة سيارات وسرقة بيوت وجرائم مع استخدام السلاح. وهناك تقارير عن سرقة أجور العمال الأجانب وهواتفهم النقالة. وقبيل سقوط طرابلس في أيدي قوات المجلس الوطني الانتقالي، أفرج نظام القذافي عن 15,000 إلى 16,000 مجرم، بقي معظمهم أحراراً عام 2013. ومن غير الواضح درجة تورطهم الفعلي في الأعمال الإجرامية لأنهم لم يحصلوا على محاكمات عادلة، كما تفتقر ليبيا إلى جهاز قضائي مستقل وموثوق. تم نهب مئات آلاف الأسلحة الخفيفة من المنشآت الحكومية وهي الآن في يد السكان المحليين، مما ساهم في ارتفاع معدل جرائم العنف. أطلقت الحكومة حملات لتسليم الأسلحة، ولكن نتائجها لم تكن مقنعة. غالباً ما كان السجناء المدانون يفرون من السجن. ففي تموز/يوليو عام 2013، نظم حوالي 1200 سجين عملية فرار جماعي من سجن كويفية في بنغازي، أعيد القبض على قلة منهم.

إحصاءات الجريمة ليست موثوقة، ولكن وزارة الداخلية أعلنت في كانون الأول/يناير عام 2013 أن عدد جرائم القتل ارتفع بين العامين 2010 و 2012 من 87 إلى 525 (503%)، كما ازدادت السرقات من المحال والمكاتب من 143 إلى 783 (448%) وسرقة البيوت الخاصة من 1,842 إلى 2,387 (30%) (ليبيا هيرالد، 9 كانون الثاني/يناير 2013).

بعد ثورة عام 2011، حلت ميليشيات متنوعة محل الشرطة في الحفاظ على الأمن الداخلي. ويقيم أعضاء هذه المليشيات حواجز داخل المدن الرئيسية وبينها. أفراد الميليشيات الليبية غير مدربين وغير تابعين للحكومة. كما تحدث اشتباكات بين هذه الميليشيات ترافقها عمليات قتل بدافع الانتقام.

تشكل حوادث السير التهديد الأكثر شيوعاً للزوار، وحوادث السطو المسلح في المناطق المدنية والريفية في ازدياد.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Crime

Crime

Bouzaid Dorba, former head of Muammar Gaddafi's external security organization on trial, June 2012
Bouzaid Dorba, former head of Muammar Gaddafi’s external security organization on trial, June 2012

During the Gaddafi period, crime was suppressed by the security apparatus. In 2008 the homicide rate was 2.9 per 100,000 people, which is not particularly low (compared with Egypt 1.0, Morocco 1.4, and Tunisia 1.1), though it was much lower than Lebanon (6.1). There were nine judicial executions in Libya in 2007 (compared with 42 in the US, 48 in Egypt, and none in Morocco or Tunisia). In 2013 Libya was ranked 47th (out of 173 countries) in the number of prisoners per 100,000 people.

Crime in Tripoli increased significantly after the 2011 revolt. There have been increased reports of armed robbery, kidnapping to settle scores, carjacking, burglary, and crimes involving weapons. Theft of guest workers’ wages and mobile phones is also reported. Just before Tripoli fell to the NTC forces, the Gaddafi regime released between 15,000 and 16,000 criminals, most of whom remained free in 2013. It is unclear to what extent these criminals really have been involved in crimes, as the accused did not receive fair trials and Libya lacked a reliable, unbiased judicial apparatus. Hundreds of thousands of small arms looted from government facilities are now in the hands of the local population, which has contributed to the rise in violent crime. The government has initiated campaigns to hand in weapons, but the results are not yet convincing. Prisoners who were convicted did not always stay in jail. In July 2013 around 1,200 prisoners staged a mass jailbreak from Kuwafiya prison in Benghazi, and only a few were recaptured.

Crime statistics are unreliable, but in January 2013, the Ministry of the Interior announced that over the period 2010 to 2102 murders increased from 87 to 525 (up 503 percent), thefts from shops and offices from 143 to 783 (up 448 percent), and thefts from private homes from 1,842 to 2,387 (up 30 percent) (Libya Herald, 9 January 2013).

After the 2011 revolt, various militias supplanted the police in maintaining internal security. Militia members operate checkpoints within and between major cities. Libyan militia members are poorly trained and often are affiliated only loosely with the government. Clashes between rival militias and revenge killings do occur. Traffic accidents are the most common safety threat for visitors, and reports of armed highway robberies in both urban and rural areas have increased.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.