فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / اختلالات التوازن

اختلالات التوازن

طرابلس
طرابلس

شهدت ليبيا نمواً سريعاً فائق الوصف منذ اكتشاف النفط. وهذا جلب معه تطوراً سريعاً، لكن لا يزال هناك اختلالات اجتماعية واقتصادية كبيرة. فعلى سبيل المثال، كانت نسبة التعليم 82,69% للإناث و 95,61% للرجال (البنك الدولي)، مع أن الهوة تقلصت بشكل كبير في عهد القذافي (كانت 42,3%، مقارنة بـ 77% عام 1984) ونسبة الفتيات المتعلمات في الفئة العمرية 15-24، 99,9% عام 2010). الذكور أكثر من الإناث في القوة العاملة الليبية: عام 2011 كان معدل مشاركة الإناث 30% والرجال 76,8%. يصعب إحصاء الاختلالات الإقليمية وتوزيع الثروة: لم توفر حكومة القذافي الإحصاءات الضرورية.

تسببت الطفرة النفطية في الستينيات بالهجرة إلى طرابلس وبنغازي. عام 1964، 27% من الأراضي كانت حضرية، وارتفعت هذه النسبة إلى 40% بعد 20 عاماً. أثر هذا التغير السكاني على التماسك الاجتماعي التقليدي في بعض الأحياء المدنية التي فاضت بالمهاجرين، ونضبت المناطق الريفية من السكان. ورغم محاولات الحكومة عكس هذه العملية من خلال منح الأراضي لعشرات آلاف عائلات الفلاحين، فضّل الناس الانتقال إلى المناطق التي تقطن فيها قبائلهم. يبدو أن رفع الحظر عام 2003 لم يأت إلا بالمزيد من التفاوت الاجتماعي، ولم يستفد من فوائده سوى أفراد النخبة التجارية الذين لهم ارتباطات مع عائلة القذافي. وهي المشاكل التي تواجهها حكومة ما بعد الثورة. عام 2003، بلغ متوسط الرواتب في القطاع العام 250 دينار ليبي (196 دولار)، وكان للكثير من الليبيين وظائف ثانية.

زادت ثورة عام 2011 من انهيار التماسك الاجتماعي. ورغم التركيز على “تماسك” ليبيا إيديولوجياً، إلا أن انعدام الأمن وانتشار الميليشيات والافتقار إلى الوكالات الحكومية الناشطة وشبكات الضمان الاجتماعي وضع ضغطاً على التماسك الاجتماعي. وفي ظل هذه الظروف، يوفر الانتماء القبلي والإسلام شعوراً قوياً بالأمن والهوية. وفق تقرير التنمية البشرية العربية لعام 2005، بلغت تغطية المعاشات التقاعدية في ليبيا، حيث يعمل غالبية المواطنين في القطاع العام، 70%.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Imbalances

Imbalances in Libya

Tripoli
Tripoli

Libya has developed extraordinarily quickly since the discovery of oil. This has brought rapid development, but there are still huge social and economic imbalances. In terms of gender, for instance, literacy of women in 2010 was 82.69 percent and 95.61 percent for men (World Bank), although the gap narrowed greatly under the Gaddafi regime (it was 42.3 percent for women, compared to 77 percent for men in 1984) and the ratio of young literate females to males aged 15-24 in 2010 was 99.9 percent). Far more men than women are part of the labour force: the participation rate for women in 2011 was 30 percent but 76.8 for men. Regional imbalances and the distribution of wealth are difficult to quantify: the Gaddafi government did not provide the necessary statistics.

The Libyan oil boom in the 1960s caused a large-scale migration into Tripoli and Benghazi. In 1964, 27 percent of the land was urban, twenty years later it had risen to 40 percent. This demographic change tested traditional social cohesion in some urban neighbourhoods that were flooded with migrants, and rural areas were depleted of population. Despite government attempts to reverse this process by granting land to tens of thousands of peasant families, people tended to want only to relocate close to their tribal territory. It seems certain that the lifting of the embargo in 2003 increased social inequality, with the benefits going only to the business elite with Gaddafi-family connections. The post-revolt government is confronted with these problems. In 2003 public-sector salaries averaged 250 Libyan dinars (USD 196), and many people took a second job.

The 2011 revolution increased the breakdown of social cohesion. Although Libya’s ‘oneness’ was stressed ideologically, the lack of security, the prevalence of militias, and the lack of functioning government agencies and social-security networks put pressure on social cohesion. In these circumstances, tribal affiliation and Islam provide a strengthened sense of security and identity. According to the Arab Human Development Report 2005, pension coverage in Libya, where the great majority work in the public sector, had reached 70 percent.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.