فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / المرأة

المرأة

القذافي ليبيا
احد الليبيات تهتف ضد القذافي في مظاهرة نسائية
مظاهرة نسائية عام 2011
مظاهرة نسائية عام 2011

مظاهرة نسائية عام 2011 لم ينص دستور عام 1951 الملكي على حماية المرأة. فقد نصت المادّة 11 ببساطة على أنّ “جميع الليبيين متساوون أمام القانون ويتمتعون بحقوق مدنية وسياسية متساوية ويملكون الفرص ذاتها ويخضعون للالتزامات والواجبات العامة ذاتها بدون أي تمييز فيما يتعلق بالدين أو العقيدة أو العرق أو اللغة أو الثروة أو النسب أو الآراء الاجتماعية أو السياسية”.

ليبيا نساء
نساء ليبيات في مظاهرة تأييداً للوحدة الوطنية

تم إلغاء هذا الدستور بعد انقلاب عام 1969 ولم يتم استبداله. فالجزء الثالث من الكتاب الأخضر يتضمن فصلاً مطولاً بشأن المرأة، مقدمته: “المرأة والرجل متساويان إنسانياً بداهة” – الأمر الذي يشدد على الفروقات بين الرجال والنساء. ونصّ على أنّ “هناك فرق طبيعي بين الرجل والمرأة ، والدليل عليه وجود رجل وامرأة بالخليقة..وهذا يعني طبعاً وجود دور لكل واحد منهما يختلف وفقاً لاختلاف كل واحد منهما عن الآخر”. وقد خلص إلى القول “ليس هناك فرق في الحقوق الإنسانية بين الرجل والمرأة، والكبير والصغير. ولكن ليست ثمة مساواة تامة بينهم فيما يجب أن يقوموا به من واجبات”.

على خلفية هذه البيانات المحافظة، كانت ليبيا البلد العربي الأوّل الذي وقّع اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة، على الرغم من تحفظاتها حول أجزاء منها تشير إلى المساواة أمام القانون (الميراث) والزواج والعلاقات العائلية. كانت ليبيا واحدة من بين عدة دول عربية وقّعت اتفاقية منظمة العمل الدولية بشأن المساواة في الأجور.

سجّلت ليبيا رقماً عالياً في مؤشر عدم المساواة بين الجنسين المتعلق بمؤشر التنمية البشرية، وهو مقياس مركّب يمثّل عدم المساواة في الإنجازات بين الرجل والمرأة في الصحة الإنجابية والتمكين وسوق العمل. عام 2005 أحرزت ليبيا 0,375 مقارنة مع تونس 0,335 والكويت 0,359.

حرّر نظام القذافي وضع المرأة القانوني على وجه التحديد. العمر الأدنى للزواج 20 سنة. ويحظّر الزواج بالوكالة أو بالإكراه، ومُنحت المرأة حقّ الطلاق تماماً مثل الرجل. وتمّ إلغاء تعدّد الزوجات بفعالية: يجوز للرجل أن يتزوج بثانية فقط لأسباب محدّدة شرط موافقة الزوجة الأولى. كما صدر أمر قانوني بالمساواة في الرواتب بين الجنسين. والمرأة ملزمة بتأدية الخدمة العسكرية لمدّة سنة عند بلوغ سنّ 18 من عمرها. وفُتح الباب للمرأة رسمياً بممارسة مهن الرجل التقليدية، مثل الجيش والطيران والهندسة.

أفاد تقرير التنمية البشرية العربية لعام 2005 أنّ ليبيا حقّقت المساواة بين الجنسين في التعليم العالي؛ التحاق المرأة العربية في التعليم العالي مختلف: الأعلى في ليبيا والإمارات العربية المتحدة. كما أشار إلى حظر المهن التي لا تناسب النظرة الليبية التقليدية تجاه المرأة. في الواقع، قلة من النساء يدخلن إلى القوة العاملة بعد التخرج. ويظهر بيانات مؤشر Mundi أنّ 28,2% من النساء في ليبيا يشاركن في القوى العاملة.

من جهة أخرى، واعتباراً من عام 2005، أفادت منظمات حقوق الإنسان عن سجن عدد غير معروف من النساء والفتيات للاشتباه بأنهنّ انتهكن قواعد السلوك الأخلاقي. تم احتجازهن فيما يُسمّى مرافق “إعادة التأهيل الاجتماعي” بسبب رفض الأهل لهن. ووقع بعضهنّ ضحية الاغتصاب وسجنّ لأنّ أهلهن يشعرون بالعار من فعلتهنّ.

حتى الدستور المؤقت الصادر عن المجلس الوطني الانتقالي عام 2011 لم يخصّ النساء بالذكر. تنص المادة 6 على أنّ “الليبيين متساوون أمام القانون. فهم يتمتعون بحقوق مدنية وسياسية متساوية ويملكون الفرص ذاتها ويخضعون للواجبات والالتزامات ذاتها بدون أي تمييز بسبب الدين أو العقيدة أو اللغة أو الثروة أو العرق أو النسب أو الآراء السياسية أو القبيلة أو الأمانة العائلية”. ولكنها التزمت بحزم بالرأي التقليدي بشأن العلاقات بين الجنسين. وتنص المادة 5 على ما يلي: “إنّ العائلة هي أساس المجتمع ويحقّ لها أن تتمتّع بحماية الدولة. وعلى الدولة أيضاً أن تحمي الزواج وتشجّعه. عليها أن تضمن حماية الأمومة والطفولة والشيخوخة. كما عليها أن تهتمّ بالأولاد والشباب والمعوّقين”.

انعكست هذه النظرة المحافظة في قرار المجلس الوطني الانتقالي الصادر في كانون الثاني/يناير 2012 الذي يدعو إلى إسقاط اقتراح تخصيص 10% كحدّ أدنى من الحصص للنساء في المجلس النيابي. وفي انتخابات تموز/يوليو 2012 اقترعت 1,3 مليون امرأة وترشحت 540 امرأة على لوائح الأحزاب وخاضت 85 امرأة الانتخابات كمرشحات مستقلات (2415 رجل خاضوا الانتخابات كمرشحين مستقلين). حققت المرشحات نتيجة جيّدة في لوائح الأحزاب وفزن بـ 32 مقعداً من أصل 80، وفازت مرشحة مستقلة واحدة بمقعد (من أصل 120 مقعداً) (ليبيا هيرالد، 20 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2012).

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Women

Libyan Women

Women's protest in Libya, 2011
Women’s protest in Libya, 2011
The royal Constitution of Libya of 1951 provided no specific protections for women. Article 11 simply stated that ‘Libyans shall be equal before the law. They shall enjoy equal civil and political rights, shall have the same opportunities, and be subject to the same public duties and obligations, without distinction of religion, belief, race, language, wealth, kinship, or political or social opinions’.

This Constitution was abolished after the 1969 coup and not replaced. The third volume of the Green Book contains a long section on women, beginning: ‘It is an undisputed fact that both man and woman are human beings’ – which emphasized the differences between women and men. It stated: ‘A woman, whose created nature has assigned to her a natural role different from that of man, must be in an appropriate position to perform her natural role.’ It concluded that ‘there is no difference in human rights between man and woman, the child and the adult, but there is no absolute identity between them as regards their duties’.

Against the background of these conservative pronouncements, Libya was the first Arab state to sign the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), although it made reservations about parts of it referring to equality before the law (where it referred to the rules of inheritance), marriage and family relations. Libya was also one of several Arab states that signed the International Labour Organization’s Equal Remuneration Convention.

Libya scored high in the Gender Inequality Index of the Human Development Index, a composite measure accounting for inequality in achievements between women and men in reproductive health, empowerment, and the labour market. In 2012 Libya received a score of 0.216, compared to Tunisia’s 0.261 and Kuwait’s 0.274.

Specifically, the Gaddafi regime liberalized the legal position of women. The minimum age of marriage is twenty years. Marriage by proxy or coercion is prohibited, and Libyan women were given the same right to divorce as men. Polygamy was effectively abolished: a man may marry only one additional wife, for specific reasons only and on the condition that his first wife gives permission. Equality of salary was legally mandated. Women were obliged to perform one year of military service at the age of eighteen. Traditional male professions such as the military, aerospace, and engineering were formally opened to women.

The Arab Human Development Report 2005 reported that Libya had achieved equality between the two sexes in higher education; enrolment of Arab women in higher education varies, being highest in Libya and the UAE, although it also pointed out that professions that did not fit the traditional Libyan view of women were prohibited. In fact, few women actually enter the labour force after graduation. Data from Index Mundi show that 28.2 percent of women participate in Libya’s labour force in 2011.

On the other hand, from 2005 onwards, human-rights organizations reported unknown numbers of women and girls imprisoned on suspicion of violating codes of moral conduct. They were confined in so-called ‘social rehabilitation’ facilities, after their families rejected them. Some were victims of rape and were imprisoned because families felt dishonoured by the women’s supposed crimes.

The interim constitution promulgated by the National Transitional Council (NTC) in 2011 did not specifically mention women. Article 6 stated that ‘Libyans shall be equal before the law. They shall enjoy equal civil and political rights, shall have the same opportunities, and be subject to the same public duties and obligations, without discrimination due to religion, doctrine, language, wealth, race, kinship, political opinions, and social status, tribal or eminent or familial loyalty.’ But it also firmly committed itself to a traditional view of gender relations. Article 5 said: ‘The family is the basis of society and shall be entitled to protection by the State. The State shall also protect and encourage marriage. The State shall guarantee the protection of motherhood, childhood, and the elderly. The State shall take care of children, youth, and the handicapped.’

This conservative outlook was reflected in the NTC’s decision in January 2012 to drop a proposal to create a 10 percent minimum quota for women in Parliament. In the elections of July 2012, 1.3 million women registered to vote, 540 women registered as candidates on party lists, and 85 females ran as independent candidates (2,415 men ran as independent candidates). Women candidates did well in party lists and won 32 out of 80 seats, but only one female candidate won an independent seat (out of 120 possible seats) (Libya Herald, 20 October 2012).

Women's protest in Libya, 2011
Women’s protest in Libya, 2011
Women's protest in Libya, 2011
Women’s protest in Libya, 2011

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.