فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الحياة في ظل تنظيم الدولة: رواية أحد الشهود

الحياة في ظل تنظيم الدولة: رواية أحد الشهود

Translation- Islamic state
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Fadel SENNA

بقلم: أم إلياس – حقوق النشر فَنَك.com

يتم نشر العديد من الروايات عن الحياة في ظل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش)، إلا أنه نادراً ما تسنح الفرصة أمام أولئك الذين عاشوا تلك التجربة فرصة الكتابة عنها.

أريد أن أحكي قصة قريتي، تلك القرية المعروفة كحال الموصل والرقة إلا أنها وقعت تحت حكم تنظيم الدولة لأكثر من ثلاث سنوات.

اسم قريتي هو كويا، وتقع في حوض اليرموك في جنوب غرب سوريا وتحد كلاً من الأردن ومرتفعات الجولان التي تحتلها إسرائيل. يعتمد معظم أفراد قريتي – بمن فيهم عائلتي – على الزراعة في كسب قوت يومهم، وذلك من خلال زراعة البندورة، والفاصوليا، والقرع، والبامية، والشعير. وكحال المناطق الأخرى في المنطقة، فإن مفهوم الحمولة (القبائل / العشائر) غاية في الأهمية في قريتي. أكبر العشائر هي صبابحة والشريدة.

على الرغم من أن الأمر اليوم بات من الماضي، إلا أني أذكر أن الحياة كانت في السابق جيدة. فقد كانت الأسعار منخفضة وكان هناك أمن، ولم نشهد انقطاعاً بالتيار الكهربائي وكانت المياه متوفرةً دائماً.

تراجعت الأمور بعد أن فقدت الحكومة سيطرتها على القرية في أوائل عام 2013. في البداية، كانت القرية تسيطر عليها جماعاتٌ حملت راية الجيش السوري الحر. كان يقود الجماعة الرئيسية رجلٌ من القرية يدعى محمد جزوان. كان هناك أيضاً جماعة من المتمردين من مدينة نوى إلى الشمال. في البداية، كانت جماعة جزوان، التي اعتمدت اسم الصابرين في نهاية المطاف، على صلةٍ بفصيلٍ يسمى لواء شهداء اليرموك. انبثق لواء شهداء اليرموك من قريةٍ أخرى في حوض اليرموك تدعى جَملة وكان يقودها محمد سعد الدين البريدي (المعروف باسم الخال).

أصبح انقطاع المياه والكهرباء متزايداً. في هذه الأثناء، كان جزوان يسرق، كما يُقال، رواتب أعضاء جماعته ولا يشارك في المعارك. كانت هناك ادعاءاتٌ أخرى بأنه متورطٌ في تهريب الآثار والأغنام.

في نهاية عام 2014، سمعنا أولاً شائعاتٍ عن وجود داعش في منطقتنا. جبهة النصرة، التابعة لتنظيم القاعدة في سوريا، اتهمت لواء شهداء اليرموك بتحالفه مع داعش، واندلعت الاشتباكات بين الجانبين. القصة الدقيقة لما حدث غير واضحة للمدنيين الذين لم يشاركوا في الجماعات المتمردة، إلا أن الخال أنكر في ذلك الوقت أن جماعته كانت متحالفةً مع داعش.

على الرغم من التوصل إلى هدنةٍ بين الجانبين، إلا أن المعارك استأنفت بعد حين، في عام 2015، وانتهى الأمر باستيلاء لواء شهداء اليرموك على قريتي. قطع جزوان علاقاته مع لواء شهداء اليرموك أنذاك ورفض أي تحالفٍ معها لأنه رأى أن الأفضل تحالف جماعته مع داعش. أذكر أنه كانت هناك أقاويل عن تسليمه قريتي إلى جبهة النصرة، إلا أني لا أذكر ذلك على وجه التحديد. على أي حال، بمجرد سيطرة لواء شهداء اليرموك على كويا في ربيع عام 2015، فرّ جزوان، ورفض الخال فكرة السماح له بالعودة مجدداً.

بينما كان الخال لا يزال على قيد الحياة، ظهرت المزيد من الدلالات الواضحة على تحالف لواء شهداء اليرموك مع داعش، على الرغم من أن التجربة لم تكن مشابهة لتجربة أولئك الذين يعيشون في الموصل والرقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، لم يكن ارتداء النقاب مفروضاً بقوة على النساء، إلا أن لواء شهداء اليرموك روجوا له بتوزيع النقاب والتشجيع على الدعوة. حادثان آخران عززا فرض الحكم على طراز داعش؛ الأول كان اغتيال الخال ونائبه أبو عبد الله الجعوني على يد انتحاري من جبهة النصرة في نوفمبر 2015. والثاني هو اندماج لواء شهداء اليرموك مع جماعاتٍ متطرفة أخرى لتشكيل جيش خالد بن الوليد في مايو 2016.

استمرت الظروف المعيشية في التدهور: انقطعت الكهرباء بالكامل وكان علينا الاعتماد إلى حدٍ كبير على الألواح الشمسية لتوليد الكهرباء، والتي يمكنها أن توفر الكهرباء لشحن الهاتف والإنارة ليس إلا. وفي هذه الأثناء، حاصرت فصائل الجيش السوري الحر المدعومة من الأردن والغرب حوض اليرموك. دفع المدنيون ثمن الحصار وليس جيش خالد بن الوليد، الذي كان يحصل على دعمٍ مالي من داعش لتأمين احتياجاته واحتياجات مقاتليه. لم نكن نملك مثل هذا الدعم.

كان هناك حوالي 82 شخصاً من قريتي أعضاء في جيش خالد بن الوليد، لكن لا أعتقد أن جميعهم امتلكوا الدافع للانضمام لإيمانهم بفكرهم. بالتأكيد انضم أفراد من عائلة خليفة لأنهم كانوا مقتنعين بأن داعش كان على المنهاج الصحيح. لكن معظم حمولة عشواشة التابعة لعشيرة صبابحة انضمت إلى الجماعة لأنهم كانوا معاديين لجبهة النصرة، التي قتلت أحد رجالها. انضم آخرون بسبب الظروف المعيشية الصعبة في حوض اليرموك: عرض جيش خالد بن الوليد رواتب جيدة يمكن أن توفرها للزوجات والأطفال وغيرهم من المعالين.

بيد أنه، وبشكلٍ عام، عانى أبناء قريتي، وكانوا مستائين، من القيود التي فرضها جيش خالد بن الوليد. لم تستطع جميع الأسر تحمّل قانون اللباس الصارم الذي فرضته الجماعة على نسائهم. فقد كان حظر التدخين يعني أيضاً أن السجائر يتم تهريبها وبيعها بأسعار مبالغ بها. الأمر الوحيد الذي بقيّ على حاله هو التعليم: كانت المدارس لا تزال تابعةً للحكومة السورية، إلا أنه في بداية عام 2018 أجبرهم جيش خالد بن الوليد على تغيير انتمائهم وتعديل المنهاج. أدى ذلك إلى فرار بعض الأشخاص من حوض اليرموك ليتمكن أطفالهم من مواصلة دراستهم. أما الآخرون الذين لم يتمكنوا من تحمل تكاليف استئجار منزلٍ خارج حوض اليرموك، ظلوا في المنطقة لكنهم أخرجوا أطفالهم من المدرسة.

لفترةٍ طويلة، كانت خطوط القتال بين جيش خالد بن الوليد والمتمردين (معظمهم من الجيش السوري الحر) ساكنة بشكل أساسي. اشتبه الكثيرون منا في أن المعارك كانت لعبة وأن المتمردين، على وجه الخصوص، أرادوا أن يروا استمرار الحرب إلى أجلٍ غير مسمى، وبالتالي إطالة الدعم من مؤيديهم في الأردن وإسرائيل. في صيف عام 2018 فحسب تم تحرير قريتي من قبل الجيش السوري. كما شارك بعض المتمردين الذين تصالحوا مع الحكومة في عمليات التحرير.

اليوم، لا تزال الحياة صعبة في كثير من النواحي. يتم توفير المياه من مكان يسمى عين ذكر في الشمال، لكن لا زلنا نعاني من انقطاع الكهرباء وعلينا أن نواصل استخدام الألواح الشمسية لتوليد الطاقة في الوقت الحالي. يعني وجود جيش خالد بن الوليد أيضاً أن بعض المنازل والمباني الأخرى كانت مفخخة بالمتفجرات. وكحال المناطق الأخرى في سوريا، تأثرنا بأزمة الوقود الناجمة عن العقوبات الأمريكية.

أما بالنسبة للنسيج الاجتماعي، فالمبدأ القائم هو أنه ينبغي السماح لأولئك الذين تورطوا مع جيش خالد بن الوليد بالعودة والعيش معنا وأن الأسر والعشيرة لا يتحملون بشكلٍ جماعي خطايا أفرادهم. فعلى سبيل المثال إن لم يكن لأحد الأباء أي علاقةٍ تورطه مع جيش خالد بن الوليد إلا أن ابنه فعل ذلك، فعندها ينبغي أن يسمح للأب بالعودة للعيش في قريته. أما أولئك الذين انخرطوا في صفوف جيش خالد بن الوليد إما قتلوا أو فرّوا من المنطقة. ولا يزال المصير الدقيق لبعضهم غير معروف.

باختصار، نأمل أن تعود الحياة إلى سابق عهدها قبل الحرب، إلا أننا ندرك أن الطريق أمامنا لا يزال طويلاً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fadel SENNA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • صفقة القرن: 17 درساً تعلمناه

    إن الوثيقة لم تأت على ذكر احتلال إسرائيل للأراضي الفلسطينية الممتد منذ عقود طويلة ولو لمرة واحدة. بل إن أقرب شيءٍ لهذا المعنى نجده في استخدام المفردة الإنجليزية "occupations" بمعنى "وظائف"، وقد تعني في سياقات أخرى "الاحتلال"، وهو ما يحمل معنىً أبعد ما يكون عمّا يفهمه معظم الناس من هذا المصطلح في السياق الفلسطيني.
  • الحرب ليست حلاً للصراع بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران

    إن المحادثات المباشرة هي الحلّ الوحيد والكفيل بتزويد إيران بفرصة للتغلّب على مشاكلها الاقتصادية، ناهيك عن إتاحته للولايات المتحدة التوصل لاتفاقٍ أكثر شمولية من الاتفاق النووي. وعلى الرغم من أن المواجهة الحالية بين إيران والولايات المتحدة قد تزداد سوءاً، فإن الطرفين يعلمان علم اليقين أنه لا مفر من اللجوء إلى المحادثات حتى وإن جاء ذلك في أعقاب أي حالة تصعيد تؤدي إلى خسائر في الأرواح ووقوع دمارٍ لا طائل منه.
  • الحرب السورية: الآثار تدفع الثمن أيضاً

    يتطلب إجراء البحوث الأثرية اتصالاً مباشراً بالمواقع والمواد القديمة. إلا أنّ العنف المسلح المتصاعد في سوريا يحول دون استكمال علماء الآثار لعملهم. كما حوّلت معظم المؤسسات الدولية تركيزها عن سوريا ونقلت بعثاتها ومشاريعها إلى البلدان المجاورة.

Fanack Home / Life Under Islamic State: A First-Person Account

Life Under Islamic State: A First-Person Account

Translation- Islamic state
Photo AFP

By: Umm Elias – Copy Rights Fanack.com

So many articles are published about life under the Islamic State (IS), but rarely do people who lived through that experience have the chance to write about it.

I want to tell the story of my village. It is not as well-known as places like Mosul and Raqqa but was ruled by IS for more than three years.

My village is called Koaiya, which is located in the Yarmouk Basin in south-western Syria and borders both Jordan and the Israeli-occupied Golan Heights. The people of my village – my family included – mostly depend on agriculture for a living, growing tomatoes, beans, summer squash, okra, wheat and barley. Like other areas in the region, the concept of hamula (tribes/clans) is important in my village. The biggest clans are the Sababiha and the Sharayida.

Though it now seems like a distant memory, I remember that life before the war was good. Prices were low and there was security. The electricity did not cut off and water was always available.

Things went downhill after the government lost control of the village in early 2013. Initially, the village was controlled by groups that went under the banner of the Free Syrian Army (FSA). The main group was led by a local man called Muhammad Jazwan. There was also a group of rebels from the city of Nawa to the north. At first, Jazwan’s group, which eventually adopted the name al-Sabireen, had links with a faction called the Yarmouk Martyrs Brigade (YMB). The YMB originated from another village in the Yarmouk Basin called Jamla and was led by Muhammad Saad al-Din al-Baridi (commonly known as al-Khal).

Water and electricity cuts became increasingly frequent. Meanwhile, Jazwan was reputedly stealing the salaries of members of his group and not participating in battles. There were other claims that he was involved in smuggling antiquities and sheep.

It was at the end of 2014 that we first heard rumours of an ISIS presence in our area. Jabhat al-Nusra, Syria’s al-Qaeda affiliate, accused the YMB of being aligned with ISIS, and clashes broke out between the two sides. The exact story of what went on is unclear to the civilians who were not involved in the rebel groups, but al-Khal denied at the time that his group was aligned with ISIS.

Though a truce was brokered between the two sides, the battles resumed soon after, in 2015, and the YMB ended up seizing control of my village. Jazwan had broken ties with the YMB by then and rejected any allegiance with it as he saw the group as aligned with IS. I recall there were some claims that he handed over my village to Jabhat al-Nusra, though admittedly I do not remember for sure. In any event, once the YMB gained control of Koaiya in the spring of 2015, Jazwan fled, and al-Khal rejected the idea that he should be allowed to return.

While al-Khal was still alive, more open signs began to emerge of the YMB’s alignment with IS, though it was not quite the same experience as for those living in Mosul and Raqqa. For instance, wearing the niqab was not forcefully imposed on women, but the YMB did promote it by distributing niqabs and encouraging dawah (issuing an invitation to worship God). Two events further cemented the imposition of IS-style rule. The first was the assassination of al-Khal and his deputy Abu Abdullah al-Jaouni by a Jabhat al-Nusra suicide bomber in November 2015. The second was the merger of the YMB with other extremist groups to form Jaysh Khalid bin al-Waleed (JKBW) in May 2016.

Living conditions continued to deteriorate: electricity was completely cut off and we had to rely largely on solar panels to generate electricity, which could charge a phone and provide lighting but not much else. Meanwhile, the FSA factions backed by Jordan and the West besieged the Yarmouk Basin. Civilians paid the price of the siege and not the JKBW, which had the financial support from ISIS to secure its needs and the needs of its fighters. We had no such support.

Around 82 people from my village were members of the JKBW, but I do not think that all of them were motivated to join because they believed in the ideology. Members of the Khalayafa family certainly joined because they were convinced that IS was on the correct manhaj. But most of the Ashawasha sub-clan affiliated with the Sababiha joined the group because they were hostile to Jabhat al-Nusra, which had killed one of their own men. Others joined because of the difficult living conditions in the Yarmouk Basin: the JKBW offered good salaries that could provide for wives, children and other dependents.

In general, however, the people of my village suffered from and resented the extreme restrictions that the JKBW imposed. Not all families could afford the strict dress code that the group imposed on their women. The ban on smoking also meant that cigarettes had to be smuggled into the area and were sold at inflated prices. The only thing that had remained as it was before was education: the schools were still affiliated with the Syrian government, but at the beginning of 2018 the JKBW forced them to change their affiliation and modify the curriculum. This led some people to flee the Yarmouk Basin so that their children could continue studying. Others who could not afford to rent property outside the Yarmouk Basin stayed in the area but withdrew their children from school.

For a long time, the battle lines between the JKBW and the rebels (mostly FSA) were essentially static. Many of us suspected the battles were a game and that the rebels, in particular, wanted to see the war continue indefinitely, thereby prolonging the support from their backers in Jordan and Israel. It was only in the summer of 2018 that my village was finally liberated by the Syrian army. Some rebels who had reconciled with the government also participated in the liberation operations.

Today, life is still difficult in many respects. Water is supplied from a place called Ain Dhikr to the north, but we still have no electricity and must continue to use solar panels to generate power for the time being. The JKBW’s presence also meant that some houses and other buildings were booby-trapped with explosives. Like other areas in Syria, we have been impacted by the fuel crisis caused by American sanctions.

As for social cohesion, the principle is that those who were not involved with the JKBW should be allowed to return and live and that families and clans are not held collectively responsible for the sins of their members. If a father had no involvement with the JKBW but his son did, for example, then the father should still be allowed to return and live. Those who were involved with the JKBW have either been killed or fled the area. The exact fate of some of them remains unknown.

In shorth, we have hope that life can return to what it was before the war, but we know there is a long way to go.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Mounting Tension with Iran sheds a Light on Dynamics of US Geopolitics

    The question is also whether the evolution of the North Korea crisis suggests that other crises like Iran could evolve similarly even if there are no indications as yet of that potentially being the case and despite the fact that Mr. Trump at one point declared his willingness to meet with Iranian president Hassan Rouhani.
  • Is Tunisia Really Democratising? Progress, Resistance, and an Uncertain Outlook

    Tunisia is tending towards a hybrid system. The crucial point here is that such a hybrid system would probably not be able to carry out the key reforms which both the international com­munity and the Tunisian population ex­pect. Reforming the state apparatus and highly corrupt economic structures is im­perative to ensure sustainable social and political stability in Tunisia. Preventing hybrid political structures from becoming entrenched is therefore of critical importance.
  • Life Under Islamic State: A First-Person Account

    Today, life is still difficult in many respects. Water is supplied from a place called Ain Dhikr to the north, but we still have no electricity and must continue to use solar panels to generate power for the time being. The JKBW’s presence also meant that some houses and other buildings were booby-trapped with explosives. Like other areas in Syria, we have been impacted by the fuel crisis caused by American sanctions.