تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

المغرب: تشريع القنب ولكن الشيطان يكمن في التفاصيل

القنب المغرب
أحد القروين يقف في حقلٍ للقنب بالقرب من بلدة كتامة في منطقة الريف شمال المغرب. Photo: FADEL SENNA / AFP

صوفيا أكرم

وافق المغرب في مارس 2021 على قانونٍ من شأنه أن يشهد ظهور صناعةٍ قانونية للقنب الهندي في دولةٍ تعدّ من أكبر منتجي الحشيش في العالم. ومن المحتمل أن تعود هذه الخطوة بفوائد كبيرة على المغرب، لكن ما تزال هناك تحدياتٌ أمام المزارعين الذين يكسبون معظم دخلهم من مادة راتنج القنب التي ستظل صامدةً في الاقتصاد غير الرسمي وغير القانوني.

لطالما كانت زراعة الحشيش في مملكة شمال إفريقيا غير قانونية، بيد أن نجاح المزارعين في المعاندة والرغبة في احتواء الحرمان الاجتماعي والاقتصادي المتنامي، كان يعني السماح إلى حدٍ ما بزراعة الحشيش.

يتركز إنتاج المغرب في الغالب في منطقة الريف الجبلية، حيث تم استخدام حوالي 136 ألف فدان من الأراضي لزراعة الحشيش في عام 2019، وفقاً لتقارير حول الأرقام الرسمية المغربية. وعليه، تصدر المغرب قائمة أكبر منتج لراتنج القنب في العالم من قبل الأمم المتحدة (2007) وتشير التقديرات الرسمية إلى أن قيمة الصناعة غير المشروعة في البلاد تبلغ 15 مليار دولار.

ومع ذلك، وسط حملةٍ استمرت عقداً من الزمان لإضفاء الشرعية على إنتاج وبيع الحشيش، تراجعت المعارضة طويلة الأمد في فبراير 2021  بعد أن غيّر حزب العدالة والتنمية المحافظ موقفه، مما مهد الطريق لمشروع قانونٍ بشأن إضفاء الشرعية على إنتاج وبيع وتصدير القنب للأغراض الطبية.

ومنذ الإعلان عن ذلك في 25 فبراير 2021، تم بالفعل إعداد مشروع قانون بات يتنقّل اليوم بين أروقة مجلسي النواب والمستشارين في البرلمان مع توقع القليل من المعارضة.

فاجأت هذه الخطوة غير المتوقعة المراقبين مثل جاسبر هامان، محلل السياسة الخارجية في أخبار المغرب العالمي، إذ أخبر فَنَك أنهم كانوا يتوقعون تقريراً يروج لإضفاء الشرعية على الحشيش كجزء من نموذج اقتصادي جديد محتمل للمغرب. فقد شكل تراجع حزب العدالة والتنمية عن معارضته – التي بحسب قوله كانت واحدةً من أكبر العقبات أمام تقنين الحشيش – مفاجئةً كبيرة.

“عندما يكون هناك الكثير من الدعم السياسي في المغرب لقضيةٍ سبق أن اقترحها حزب الأغلبية، فإن ذلك يشير إلى أنه من المحتمل أن يكون هناك بعض التأثير من القمة التي أدت إلى هذا التطور السريع،” على حد تعبير هامان.

علاوةً على ذلك، جاءت الخطوة بعد عدة أشهرٍ من إعطاء الأمم المتحدة الضوء الأخضر لإلغاء تجريم الحشيش، في تصويتٍ على إعادة تصنيفه.

وهنا، يقول مايكل ساسانو، الرئيس التنفيذي ورئيس مجلس إدارة شركة Somai Pharmaceuticals، وهي شركة مقرها أيرلندا تركز على منتجات القنب الصيدلانية، إن تصويت الأمم المتحدة لإلغاء جدولة القنب هو المحرك الرئيسي لتمكين التقنين. فقد كان المغرب من بين 27 دولة في لجنة المخدرات التابعة للأمم المتحدة التي صوتت لرفع التصنيف.

وقال ساسانو لفَنَك في ردٍ مكتوب: “بالطبع، الاتجاهات العالمية في الدول الكبرى لها تأثير أيضاً.”

يغطي مشروع القانون 13-21 الكثير من اللوائح حول عناصر إنتاج القنب للاستخدام الطبي بينما يعتبر الحشيش للاستخدام الترفيهي جريمةً جنائية.

ووفق مشروع القانون، الذي يتوفر شرحٌ له بالإنجليزية على أخبار المغرب العالمي، يُشترط على مزارعي القنب تشكيل تعاونيات لإنتاج وبيع القنب، تحت إشراف وكالة وطنية تقدم التصاريح، وتشرف على معايير العمل، وتتواصل مع المستثمرين الأجانب وتوزع على الأسواق المحلية والأجنبية.

كما يحدد القيود المفروضة على مناطق الإنتاج، والحدود العليا لجزيء رباعي هيدرو كانابينول الذي يعرف اختصاراً بـTHC، والحصص. هناك أيضاً إرشاداتٌ صارمة حول المعايير والإبلاغ والعقوبات المنصوص عليها التي تنطوي على أحكام بالسجن تصل إلى عامين وغرامات تصل إلى 11,100 دولار في حال التحايل على قوانين معينة.

علاوةً على ذلك، تؤدي هذه الجهود أيضاً في نهاية المطاف إلى إزالة المحرمات المرتبطة بالقنب والتهديد باعتقال المزارعين الذين يهجرون قراهم.

ووفقاً للأرقام التي يُزعم أن وزارة الداخلية أشارت إليها، فإن حوالي 90 ألف أسرة أو 760 ألف مغربي يعتمدون في سبل عيشهم على إنتاج القنب، ويحتمل أن يتمكنوا الآن من الوصول إلى السوق العالمية بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب قدره 17,8% بين عامي 2020 و2027.

وفي هذا الصدد، يقول هامان إن مشروع القانون يوفر أيضاً مستوى من الحماية للمزارعين الذين غالباً ما يكونون ضحايا في هذه العملية.

وبحسب قوله، “القنب غير القانوني مفيد للغاية لبعض الأطراف، وذلك في المقام الأول لجماعات الجريمة المنظمة والمهربين والأشخاص الذين يكسبون من هذه العمليات.”

ويضيف هامان، إن إشراك العمّال غير الرسميين في الأسواق الرسمية يعزز طموحات المغرب في الحصول على رعاية صحية شاملة ونظام ضمان اجتماعي موسع يغطي جميع المواطنين، والذي يحمي العمال من مخاطر مكان العمل وكذلك الاستغلال من قبل تجار المخدرات.

ففي الشهر الماضي، غمرت المياه مصنعاً “غير قانوني للمنسوجات” في طنجة، مما أدى إلى مقتل 28 شخصاً وأشعل الغضب بسبب الافتقار إلى التنظيم فضلاً عن الاستغلال القائم في صناعة النسيج المغربية غير الرسمية.

“هناك عدة عوامل مجتمعة – من ناحية، يحمي مشروع القانون صراحة المزارعين والمناطق التقليدية المنتجة للقنب في المغرب والتي تقع في جبال الريف في الشمال – ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، يحاول خرق هذه الشرعية. هناك أيضاً الوعود بتحقيق ثرواتٍ سريعة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإيرادات الضريبية،” كما يقول هامان، الذي أضاف “أدت هذه العوامل مجتمعة إلى هذا التطور السريع للغاية.”

توجد أيضاً ضماناتٌ في مشروع القانون لمنع الاستغلال المحتمل من قبل الأجانب الذين يفكرون في استغلال موارد المغرب، بما في ذلك الموارد المائية الشحيحة، مع منح التصاريح فحسب للمواطنين المغاربة الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 18 عاماً والسماح بالزراعة فحسب في مناطق محددة.

ومع ذلك، آراء مزارعي الحشيش في الريف منقسمة، إذ يأسف بعضهم لحقيقة أن إنتاج راتنج القنب سيظل مجرماً، مما يؤثر على تجارتهم.

ووفقاً لرويترز، فإن القنب غير المعالج للاستخدام الصناعي سيمنح المزارعين ثلث نفس الكمية التي ستنتجها بمجرد معالجتها إلى حشيش.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ما زالت مذكرات الاعتقال تلوح في الأفق لحوالي 30 ألف شخص حول كتامة، المعروفة باسم “عاصمة الحشيش” المغربية. ويقول البعض أنه يجب أن يكون هناك اقتصادٌ بديل للمنطقة حيث لطالما كان إنتاج الكيف (مسحوق القنب) هو النشاط الاقتصادي الرئيسي.

من جهته، يقول ساسانو إن هناك دروساً يمكن تعلمها من بقية العالم مثل كندا وأوروبا وإسرائيل والولايات المتحدة:

“شيّدت كندا الكثير بسرعةٍ كبيرة وتواجه اليوم إغلاقاتٍ للمنشآت الزراعية، ومع ذلك، سُمح بمنافذ البيع، مثل المستوصفات، في وقتٍ لاحق بالإضافة إلى المأكولات، مما زاد من إعاقة السوق. في حين درست أوروبا صناعة الأدوية وتوزيعها من خلال شبكات ضخمة من الصناعات الدوائية، إلا أن التكلفة المرتفعة ومتطلبات الأطباء للوصفات الطبية أبطأت الوصول إلى المرضى. أما في إسرائيل فيوجد مزيجٌ من التوزيع الصيدلاني ومتطلبات تصنيع المكملات [منتجات ذات منافع فسيولوجية/ طبية]، مما يسمح بالتوزيع الشامل للمنتجات بشكل مُجدٍّ اقتصادياً على نحوٍ أكبر. كما طورت الولايات المتحدة مستوصفات ترفيهية وخفضّت معايير متطلبات التصنيع على نحوٍ كبير جداً في الوقت الذي كان بإمكانهم الالتزام بالحد الأدنى لممارسات التصنيع الجيد للأغذية، إلى جانب انفتاحهم على شبكات الصيدليات لتسريع تبني الفكرة.”

“يمكن للمغرب أن ينطلق بنجاح إذا ما سمح بإنتاج المكملات ذات الممارسات التصنيعية الجيدة وإنشاء المستوصفات/ الصالات المتخصصة، بالإضافة إلى شبكات البيع الصيدلانية المفتوحة والبيع المباشر.”

ومن المتوقع إصدار المزيد من التفاصيل حول توزيع القنب في تشريعاتٍ أخرى. وهنا، يكرر ساسانو أن إلغاء تجريم القنب أمرٌ لا غنى عنه بالنسبة لمعظم الاقتصادات والتي تعود بفوائد متعددة على نطاق أوسع، بما في ذلك الاعتماد الأقل على الكحول والمخدرات الأخرى.

وأضاف “انتهى النقاش، ينبغي على الحكومات الاستجابة للاقتصادات المتعثرة والأموال المهدورة بإيجاد بديلٍ صحي لصناعات الأدوية.”

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: Cannabis Legislation but the Devil in the Details

cannabis morocco
A villager stands in a field of cannabis near the town of Ketama in Morocco’s northern Rif region. Photo: FADEL SENNA / AFP

By: Sophia Akram

Morocco approved in March 2021 a law that will see a legal cannabis industry emerge in one of the highest marijuana producing countries in the world. The move could bring significant benefits to Morocco but challenges remain for farmers who make most of their income from the resin that will linger in the informal and illegal economy.

Cultivating cannabis in the North African kingdom has been strictly illegal but successful resistance from farmers and the desire to contain escalating social and economic disenfranchisement has meant growing the crop has been tolerated.

Morocco’s production is concentrated mostly in the mountainous Rif region, where around 136,000 acres of land was used to grow hashish in 2019, according to reports on Morocco’s official figures. It has been cited as the world’s largest cannabis resin producer by the UN (2007) and official estimates show the country’s illicit industry to be worth in the region of $15 billion.

Amid a decade-long campaign to legalise the production and sale of the plant, long-term opposition fell away هin February 2021 after the Conservative Justice and Development Party (PJD) changed stance, clearing the path for the draft bill on legalising the production, sale and export of cannabis for medical use.

Since the announcement on 25 February 2021, a draft bill has already been produced, now moving through both the lower and upper chambers of parliament with little resistance expected.

The sudden move has surprised observers like Jasper Hamann, foreign policy analyst at Morocco World News. He told Fanack they had been expecting a report touting cannabis legalisation as part of a potential new economic model for Morocco. The PJD dropping its opposition — which he says has been one of the largest obstacles to cannabis legalisation — came out of the blue.

“When, in Morocco, there’s so much political support for an issue previously proposed by the majority party, that does indicate that there is likely some influence from the top that has driven this rapid evolution”, says Hamann.

It has also come several months after the UN greenlit the decriminalisation of cannabis, in a vote for its reclassification.

The UN vote to de-schedule cannabis is the main mover of enabling legalisation, says Michael Sassano, CEO and Chairman of the Board for Somai Pharmaceuticals, an Ireland-based company focused on cannabinoid pharmaceutical products. Morocco was among the 27 countries of the Commission on Narcotic Drugs that voted for declassification.

“Of course, global trends in major countries are also having an effect”, Sassano told Fanack in a written response.

Bill 13-21 covers much of the regulation around production elements of cannabis for medical use while leaving cannabis for recreational use a criminal offence.

According to the Arabic text — an English explainer is available at Morocco World News — cannabis farmers will need to form cooperatives to produce and sell cannabis, overseen by a national agency that will provide permits, oversee labour standards, liaise with foreign investors and distribute to domestic and foreign markets.

It also outlines restrictions on areas of production, upper THC (Tetrahydrocannabinol) limits, and quotas. There are also tight guidelines around standards, reporting and prescribed sanctions involving prison sentences up to two years and fines of up to $11,100 for circumventing certain rules.

These efforts also ultimately remove the taboo associated with cannabis and the threat of arrest for farmers who travel away from their villages.

According to figures purportedly referenced by the interior ministry, around 90,000 households or 760,000 Moroccans have livelihoods dependent on cannabis production and now potentially have access to a global market with a compound annual growth rate of 17.8 percent between 2020 and 2027.

The bill also gives a level of protection for farmers who are often the victims in the process, says Hamann.

“Illegal cannabis is very much beneficial to some parties, primarily organised crime groups, smugglers, people who take a little off the side with these processes”, he says.

Driving informal participants into the formal markets enables Morocco’s ambitions for universal health care and an expanded social security system that covers all citizens, adds Hamann, that protects workers from workplace hazards as well as exploitation by drug traffickers.

Last month a Tangier factory with an “illegal textiles operation” was flooded, resulting in the death of 28 people and outrage over the lack of regulation and exploitation in Morocco’s largely informal textile industry.

“There are several factors combining — on the one hand, the bill very explicitly protects farmers and traditional cannabis-producing regions of Morocco that are located in the Rif mountains in the north — on the other hand, trying to break this legality. There’s also the promise of fast riches when it comes to tax revenue”, says Hamann, “Those factors combined have led to this very rapid evolution”.

Safeguards also exist in the bill to prevent potential exploitation from foreigners thinking about exploiting Morocco’s resources, including scarce water resources, with permits only available for Moroccan nationals over 18 and farming only permitted in designated zones.

Opinion is divided, however, in Rif among cannabis farmers, some of whom lament the fact that production of the resin hashish will still be criminalised, impacting their trade.

According to Reuters, unprocessed cannabis for industrial use will give farmers a third of what the same amount would yield once processed into hash.

In addition, arrest warrants still loom for around 30,000 people around Ketama, known as Morocco’s “hash capital“. Some reportedly have mused there should be an alternative economy for the region where kif (cannabis powder) production has been the main economic activity.

Commercially, Sassano says there are lessons to be learned from the rest of the world like Canada, Europe, Israel, and the US:

“Canada built too much too quickly and is now facing closures of cultivation facilities. Sales outlets like dispensaries came later, as well as edibles, further hampering the market. Europe is perusing pharmaceutical and distribution through the large pharmaceutical networks, but high costs and doctors’ prescription requirements have slowed the outreach to patients. Israel has a combination of pharmaceutical distribution with nutraceutical [products with physiological/medicinal benefits] manufacturing requirements allowing for mass distribution of more economical products. The US developed recreational dispensaries and very low bar manufacturing requirements in tandem when they could have required food grade-GMP [good manufacturing practices] at a minimum and also opened up to pharmacy networks to further speed[up] adoption.

“Morocco could have a successful launch if they allow for nutraceutical GMP products and specialized dispensaries/lounges, plus open pharmaceutical network sales and delivery straight away”.

Further details are expected on cannabis distribution in further legislation. Sassano iterates that cannabis decriminalisation is inevitable for most economies that has multiple benefits more broadly, including less dependence on other narcotics and alcohol.

“The train has left the building”, he said, “governments need to respond to ailing economies and wasted money combating a healthy alternative to big pharma”.