فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / الاقتصاد / هل تصبح المغرب دولة عظمى في مجال الطاقة الشمسية؟

هل تصبح المغرب دولة عظمى في مجال الطاقة الشمسية؟

محطة الطاقة الشمسية نور المغرب
محطة الطاقة الشمسية المتعددة الجديدة “نور،” التي ستزوّد 1,1 مليون مغربي بالكهرباء بحلول عام 2018 كما هو مقرر.

المغرب، المُباركة بـ3,000 ساعة من أشعة الشمس سنوياً، تتباهى بامتلاكها أحد أعلى معدلات التشميس في العالم، وبالتالي، فإنّ البلاد جادة في استغلال هذه النعمة على أكمل وجه. وتعدّ المنشأة، التي تم تشييدها في محافظة ورزازات في الصحراء المغربية، ما يُمكن اعتباره أضخم محطة متعددة في العالم للطاقة الشمسية المركزة، باسم “نور.” ومن المتوقع أن تزوّد المحطة 1,1 مليون مغربي بالكهرباء بحلول عام 2018، وذلك وفقاً للبنك الدولي. المشروع الضخم، الذي ترأس الملك محمد السادس حفل إعطاء انطلاقة أشغال بناءه، والممول بشكل رئيسي من قِبل البنك الدولي والاتحاد الأوروبي والبنك الافريقي للتنمية، يتضمن بناء خمس محطات للطاقة الشمسية بحلول عام 2019، وسيّكلف 9 مليار دولار. يقود المشروع اتحاد بين القطاعين العام والخاص المغربي، ووكالة الطاقة الشمسية (MASEN)، والذي بدأ بالفعل بدفع المغرب لتصدر قائمة البلدان المنتجة للطاقة الشمسية.

ووفقاً للبنك الدولي، الذي شارك في رعاية المشروع، “سيساهم “نور” في تقليل انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري، وتجنب انبعاث 240,000 طن من غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنوياً على مدى 25 عاماً.” ووفقاً لحكيمة الحيطي الوزيرة المنتدبة لدى وزير الطاقة والمعادن والماء والبيئة المكلفة بالبيئة، ستوّلد المحطة الكهرباء المتجددة التي من شأنها توفير احتياجات نصف السكان المغاربة بحلول عام 2020، مما يشكل ثلث إمدادات الطاقة المتجددة في البلاد بحلول ذلك التاريخ، في حين تشكل طاقة الرياح والطاقة المائية الثُلث الآخر.

وتعتبر هذه مبادرة طيبة في بلد لا يوجد فيه نفط ويستورد حوالي 97% من احتياجات الطاقة، تماماً كما هو الحال عام 2013. “نحن لسنا دولة مُنتجة للنفط. نستورد 94% من الطاقة على شكل وقود أحفوري من الخارج ولهذا الأمر عواقب كبيرة على ميزانيتنا كدولة،” وفقاً لتصريحات وزير البيئة المغربي لصحيفة الجارديان.

سيساعد مشروع الطاقة الشمسية في المغرب البلاد على تقليل الاعتماد على الطاقة الحالية، وسيعزز قدرة الطاقة الشمسية في المغرب، حيث أن الطلب على الطاقة الكهربائية ينمو بمعدل سنوي من ستة إلى ثمانية في المائة. وعن طريق تصدير فائض الطاقة، ستزيد المحطة عائدات التصدير في البلاد. وحتى الآن، يعتمد المغرب اعتماداً كبيراً على الوقود الأحفوري المستورد، الذي يوفر أكثر من 97% من احتياجاتها للطاقة. ستجعل محطة الطاقة الشمسية هذه البلاد أقل عُرضة لتقلبات أسعار الطاقة العالمية.

تأتي الزيادة في الطلب على الطاقة الشمسية نتيجة القلق المتزايد للحفاظ على البيئة وتقلّب أسعار النفط. سيوفر مشروع الطاقة الشمسية 18% من توليد الطاقة الكهربائية سنوياً في المغرب، وسيمنح هذا المغرب الأسبقية في الوقت الذي بدأت فيه القوى الإقليمية الأخرى التفكير بشكل أكثر جديّة بشأن برامجها للطاقة المتجددة.

المشروع المغربي الجديد غاية في الأهمية لسببين آخرين: سيقلل من تغيّر المناخ، وسيساعد في تقليل الفجوة المتنامية بين المناطق الحضرية والريفية. وباعتبارها محطة للطاقة النظيفة، ينبغي أن تخفضّ انبعاثات الكربون بنسبة 700,000 طن سنوياً. سيستخدم المشروع المغربي تكنولوجيا متطورة تسمى “الطاقة الشمسية المركزة (CSP).” على الرغم من أنها أكثر تكلفة من الألواح الشمسية المستخدمة على نطاقٍ واسع، إلا أنها تتمتع بالقدرة على توريد الطاقة حتى في الأيام الغائمة وأثناء الليل. وباستخدام هذه التكنولوجيا، يتم تركيز أشعة الشمس باستخدام المرايا وتسخين المواد الممزوجة بالماء لتصل درجة حرارة تقارب الـ400 درجة مئوية. يُنتج هذا البخار، الذي يحرك توربينات توليد الطاقة الكهربائية.

سيكون للمشروع الجديد أثر إيجابي على حياة المغاربة، وبخاصة سكان المناطق الريفية، التي لا تزال العديد منها تفتقر للكهرباء. وفي المناطق الريفية حيث يتم توفير الكهرباء، غالباً ما يكون التيار الكهربائي غير منتظم ولا يمكن الاعتماد عليه، مما يخلق عقبات يومية لعشرات الآلاف من الناس، بدءاً من الترميش الضوئي، وصولاً إلى عطب معدات المستشفيات.

ستتم معالجة النقص الحاد في الطاقة الكهربائية في المناطق الريفية في المغرب بنجاح بما يكفي من الطاقة النظيفة المتنوعة التي من المتوقع توفيرها بحلول عام 2020 (42%). ومن خلال معالجة الاحتياجات الوطنية، وخاصة في المناطق الريفية الأكثر فقراً، سيساعد مشروع الطاقة الشمسية المغربي الجديد على تطوير الصناعة المحلية، وخلق فرص العمل، وتعزيز البحوث في هذا المجال.

فعلى مدى عقود، عانت المناطق الريفية في المغرب من الجفاف المتعاقب الذي أدى إلى الفقر والهجرة إلى المناطق الحضرية بحثاً عن فرص عمل. ومن المتوقع أن يحسّن برنامج الطاقة الشمسية هذا الوضع، مما سيساعد على تقليل الفجوة الهائلة بين المناطق الحضرية والريفية في المغرب.

ومع ذلك، ومن أجل تحقيق هذه التوقعات على أرض الواقع، تبرز الحاجة إلى التزام جاد من الحكومة، والإرادة السياسية المستمرة من صناع القرار، والتنسيق الفعال بين جميع أصحاب المصلحة من أجل بناء الأساس المؤسسي الذي يعتمد عليه المشروع.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FADEL SENNA ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Morocco / Economy / Is Morocco Becoming a Solar Superpower?

Is Morocco Becoming a Solar Superpower?

morocco economy energy noor new solar plant
The new solar multiple power station plant, called Noor (light), which will supply electricity to 1.1 million Moroccans by 2018, as planned. Source: http://www.csp-world.com/

Blessed by 3,000 hours of sunshine per year, Morocco boasts one of the highest rates of insolation in the world, and the country is serious about using it. It is building, in the Saharan province of Ouarzazate, what may be the world’s largest concentrated solar multiple power station plant, called Noor (light). The plant is expected to supply electricity to 1.1 million Moroccans by 2018, according to the World Bank. Launched by King Mohammed VI in 2013 and funded mainly by the World Bank, the European Union, and the African Development Bank, this huge project will construct five solar power stations by 2019 and will cost $9 billion. The project is led by the Moroccan public-private consortium, the Agency for Solar Energy (MASEN) and is already propelling Morocco to the forefront of solar-energy-producing countries.

According to the World Bank, which co-sponsored the project, Noor “will help reduce greenhouse gas emissions, avoiding the emission of 240,000 tons of carbon dioxide per year over a 25-year period.” According to Hakima El-Haiti, Minister of Energy and Environment, the plant will generate renewable electricity that will supply the needs of half of the Moroccan population by 2020, thus constituting one-third of the country’s renewable-energy supply by that date, with wind and hydro each accounting for another third.

This is a welcome initiative in a country that has no oil and that imports almost 97 percent of its energy, as of 2013. “We are not an oil producer. We import 94% of our energy as fossil fuels from abroad and that has big consequences for our state budget,” Morocco’s environment minister told the Guardian.

Morocco’s solar-energy project will help the country reduce its current energy dependence, and it will enhance Morocco’s solar-energy capacity, as the demand for electric energy grows at an annual rate of six to eight per cent. By generating an energy surplus for export, the plant will increase the country’s export revenues. Up to now, Morocco has depended heavily on imported fossil fuels, which provide over 97 percent of its energy. The solar-energy plant will make the country less susceptible to fluctuating world prices of energy.

The increase in the demand for solar energy is a consequence of the growing concern for the preservation of the environment and the fluctuation of oil prices. The solar project will provide 18 per cent of Morocco’s annual electricity generation. This will give Morocco a head start at a time when other regional powers are beginning to think more seriously about their own renewable-energy programs.

Morocco’s new project is important for two other reasons: it will mitigate climate change, and it will help reduce the development gap between urban and rural areas. As a clean-energy plant, it should reduce carbon emissions by 700,000 tons per year. The Moroccan project will use a sophisticated technology called “concentrating solar power” (CSP). Although more expensive that the widely used photovoltaic panels, it has the benefit of supplying power even on cloudy days and at night. The sun’s light is focused by mirrors and heats up substances mixed with water and reaches a temperature near 400°C. This produces steam, which drives a turbine to generate electrical power.

The new project will have a positive impact on the lives of Moroccans, especially inhabitants of rural areas, many of whom still lack electricity. In rural regions where electricity is provided, the supply is often unreliable and irregular, creating daily obstacles for tens of thousands of people, ranging from flickering lights to malfunctioning hospital equipment.

The serious lack of electrical power in rural areas of Morocco will be addressed successfully with enough diverse clean energy that plant is expected to provide by 2020 (42%).  By addressing national needs, especially in the poorer rural areas, Morocco’s new solar-energy project will help develop local industry, create jobs, and boost research in the field.

For decades, rural areas in Morocco have suffered successive droughts that have led to poverty and migration to urban areas in the search for jobs. The solar energy program is expected to improve this situation, thus helping to reduce the huge gap between urban and rural areas in Morocco.

In order for these expectations to be realized, however, the serious commitment of the government, the continuing political will of decision-makers, and efficient coordination amongst all the stakeholders is needed in order to build the institutional foundation on which the project depends.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.