فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / الاقتصاد / ما أسباب ازدهار السياحة في المغرب؟

ما أسباب ازدهار السياحة في المغرب؟

Morocco- Tourism morocco
مغاربة يستمتعون بالشاطىء بالقرب من الأسوار الأثرية لقلعة الوداية في الرباط. Photo: PATRICK BAZ / AFP ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ

لطالما كان المغرب بوابةً إلى إفريقيا من أوروبا، إذ شهد خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية طفرةً سياحية، ومن المتوقع أن تتزايد أعداد الزائرين الأجانب إلى مملكة شمال إفريقيا حيث تقوم الحكومة بتنفيذ برنامجٍ لتحقيق أهداف السياحة الطموحة كجزءٍ من رؤيتها لعام 2020. تعتبر الصحاري والشواطىء والجبال والتراث الثقافي المتميز في البلاد جذاباً على نحوٍ خاص للسائحين والمغامرين، جالبين معهم إيراداتٍ مرجوة. لكن وفقاً لما ذكره العاملون في مجال السياحة، ينبغي إدارة التدفقات المالية بعناية من أجل تجنب الآثار السلبية للسياحة، والتي أثر بعضها بالفعل على الأحياء المحيطة بالمدن الشعبية مثل مراكش.

لطالما كانت السياحة ركيزة اقتصادية أساسية في المغرب وهي حاسمة لأي استراتيجية مالية، كما يتضح من هدف الحكومة لعام 2020 المتمثل في توليد قطاع السياحة 140 مليار درهم مغربي (14,59 مليار دولار). ففي عام 2018، ارتفعت الإيرادات من السياحة إلى 73,15 مليار درهم من 69,7 مليار درهم في عام 2017، مما يجعلها مصدراً مهماً للعملة الصعبة.

إلا أنه في السنوات الأخيرة، تراجع السفر إلى المنطقة بسبب عدم الاستقرار بشكلٍ عام على الرغم من أن المغرب نفسه كان آمن نسبياً. كما ساهم عدم الاستقرار الاقتصادي في بعض البلدان التي كانت تزود المغرب تقليدياً بالسائحين في هذا الاتجاه المتراجع.

واليوم، عاد هذا النمو ببطء. ووفقاً لمجموعة أكسفورد للأعمال، في عام 2016، شكلت السياحة 8,1% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي و7,1% من العمالة، حيث زاد إجمالي عدد الزوار بنسبة 1,5% مقارنة بالعام السابق. وفي عام 2017، في الربع الأول وحده، كان هناك معدل نمو سنوي بلغ 7,9%. وبحلول نوفمبر 2017، كان التحسن بنسبة 10% مقارنةً بالعام السابق. وفي عام 2018، استمر هذا النمو حيث قيل إن المغرب استقبل 12 مليون سائح، أي بزيادة نسبتها 8,5% عن العام السابق. وفي الأشهر الأربعة الأولى من عام 2019، زار 3,6 مليون شخص المغرب، بزيادة نسبتها 6% مقارنة بنفس الفترة من عام 2018، ومن المتوقع أن يستمر هذا النمو.

تعد أكادير ومراكش أكثر الوجهات الشعبية للإقامة في الفنادق، وفقاً للمرصد المغربي للسياحة، حيث تمثل ما نسبته 59% من ليالي المبيت في الفنادق في الربع الأول من عام 2019، كما ارتفع عدد السياح الوافدين إلى هذه الوجهات بنسبة 4% و8% على التوالي. وشهدت طنجة زيادةً في عدد السياح بنسبة 9%. بينما تقع أكادير وطنجة على الساحل، فإن مراكش هي مدينة داخلية تشتهر بأسواقها الصاخبة والمدينة القديمة المسورة، على الرغم من أنه يمكن الوصول إلى سلاسل جبال الريف أو أطلس عبر المدن الثلاث.

هناك العديد من مشاريع البناء قيد التنفيذ لمحاولة زيادة عدد غرف الفنادق – هدف رؤية 2020 هو زيادة سعة الغرفة إلى 375 ألف أو 200 ألف سرير جديد – ولكن أيضاً لتشجيع الناس على البقاء لفترة أطول من خلال بناء المنتجعات وكذلك الإقامة الفاخرة. فعلى سبيل المثال، مشروع إم أفنيو في مراكش هو مشروع قيمته 100 مليون دولار ويتضمن حوالي 2700 متر مربع من الحدائق والمناظر الطبيعية والمتاجر والمقاهي والمعارض المصاحبة للمساكن الفاخرة من علاماتٍ تجارية مثل فور سيزونز.

Morocco- Gallops of Morocco
إبل تسير على الرمال أثناء سباق “Gallops of Morocco” للفروسية في صحراء مرزوقة في جنوب الصحراء المغربية في الأول من مارس 2018. Photo: FADEL SENNA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

من بين العوامل التي تعزز السياحة، وفقاً لمجموعة أكسفورد للأعمال، تنويع أسواق المصادر، مما يعني أن الزوار إلى المغرب يأتون من بلدانٍ مختلفة. يشير أحد التقارير إلى أن معظم هؤلاء السياح الجدد قادمون من الولايات المتحدة – تشير أرقام الأشهر الأربعة الأولى من عام 2019 إلى أن عدد الزوار الأميركيين ارتفع بنسبة 14%. كما أتاح استضافة مؤتمر الأطراف في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ (COP22) في عام 2016 فرصةً للحكومة لزيادة فرصها السياحية إلى أقصى حد، وقام المسؤولون بحملةٍ قصيرة تجلت في عدد من الأنشطة الترويجية ورحلات طيران جديدة. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد يمثل المسار الجديد بين الدار البيضاء وكوالالمبور في ماليزيا “إمكاناتٍ هائلة،” كما قال السفير المغربي لدى ماليزيا محمد رضا بن خلدون في يوليو 2019. فقد ارتفع عدد الزوار الماليزيين إلى البلاد من 3000 زائر سنوياً إلى 5000 منذ إلغاء شرط التأشيرة بين البلدين في عام 2017. وقد يؤدي المسار الجديد إلى زيادة هذا الرقم. كما تتطلع الحكومة إلى الأسواق الروسية والصينية للمساعدة في تحقيق أهداف رؤية 2020 الطموحة.

ستؤدي هذه الأهداف إلى مضاعفة حجم الصناعة، والتي تنوي الحكومة تحقيقها من خلال تأسيس المغرب كواحدة من أفضل 20 وجهة سياحية في العالم من خلال برامج في ستة مجالات: التطوير حول الساحل، والسياحة والثقافة والتراث، والترفيه، والرياضة والاستجمام، والسياحة المستدامة والسياحة الداخلية.

هناك العديد من البرامج قيد التنفيذ بالفعل، بما في ذلك استثمار 14 مليون درهم حول كورنيش الداخلة الشمالي في منطقة الصحراء، وهي منطقة يتم أخذها بعين الاعتبار لإنشاء عدد من مشاريع التطوير لاستغلال مواقعها الطبيعية.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، يتم التركيز بشكلٍ خاص على السياحة الداخلية، التي تشهد تراجعاً بسبب خياراتٍ أرخص في الخارج مثل كوستا ديل سول في إسبانيا. إن تشجيع المغاربة على قضاء العطلات في ديارهم من خلال تقديم خيارات أكثر بأسعار معقولة يمكن أن يبشر بخيرٍ كبير لصناعة السياحة. فقد قال كامل سلامي، المدير العام في فندق لو دوج، لـمجموعة أكسفورد للأعمال: “إننا نشهد المزيد والمزيد من السياحة الداخلية مع تنامي الطبقة الوسطى داخل البلاد.”

إن تحقيق أقصى قدرٍ من هذه الفرص لن يجلب الدخل للدولة فحسب، ولكن يعتقد أن الفوائد ستتضاعف عن طريق خلق فرص عمل، على سبيل المثال. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قال صندوق التراث العالمي لفَنَك إنه إذا ما تمت إدارة القطاع بشكلٍ جيد، يمكن للسياحة أيضاً أن تساهم في حماية المواقع التاريخية وتوفير الدعم الاقتصادي الذي تحتاجه الشركات المحلية.

وقال صندوق التراث العالمي، وهي منظمة تدعم المجتمعات التي تمتلك برامج لبناء القدرات والمبادرات المحلية التي تقول إنها توازن بين حماية المواقع ومصالح الزوار الحديثة، “يمكن أن تكون السياحة المتزايدة سيفاً ذو حدين للمواقع التاريخية.”

من الأمثلة التي ذكرها صندوق التراث العالمي مخازن الحبوب الجماعية في المغرب، التي لا يزال بعضها قيد الاستخدام والذي وصفها أحد كتّاب السفر بأنها واحدة من الأكثر جاذبية في شمال إفريقيا.

“سواء كانت تستخدم من قبل المجتمعات أم لا، لكنها تتمتع بالقدرة على جذب السياح إلى المناطق النائية خارج الوجهات المعروفة – إلا أنها بحاجة إلى إعادة تأهيل عاجلة،” كما أوضح صندوق التراث العالمي. “إذا سمحنا بانهيارها، فلن تقوم مخازن الحبوب بعد ذلك بجذب المسافرين، مما يؤثر على الإيرادات السياحية التي تشتد الحاجة إليها والتي تعتمد عليها بعض المجتمعات.”

بصرف النظر عن الفوائد السياحية، لا سيما السياحة المستدامة، يشير صندوق التراث العالمي إلى أن السياحة التي تُساء إدارتها يمكن أن تؤدي إلى ضررٍ، سواء كان مادي في المواقع أو الضرر الذي ستتعرض له القيم والتقاليد الثقافية التي يجب على المسافرين تحمل مسؤوليتها وكذلك تقليل أي أثر سلبي. تشمل الطرق التي يمكنهم من خلالها القيام بذلك تخطيط الرحلات خارج موسم الذروة أو التوجه إلى المزيد من الوجهات خارج المسار المألوف.

وبحسب صندوق التراث العالمي، “يشتمل هذا على إثراءٍ إضافي ذلك أن المسافرين لا يقومون بأمرٍ اعتيادي فحسب، بل يكتشفون العالم بطريقة مرتبطة بواقع الأشخاص وثقافتهم.”

كما أثرت البشائر الاقتصادية الواعدة من السياحة على الأمن حيث قامت الشرطة باتخاذ إجراءاتٍ صارمة ضد الإجرام. فعلى سبيل المثال، في ديسمبر 2018، أدى مقتل سائحتين كانتا تتسلقان جبل توبقال إلى إنفاذ القانون لزيادة العمليات في المنطقة التي شهدت أعداداً متزايدة من السياح والمتنزهين الذين يستمتعون بمسارات الجبل. تقوم شرطة السياحة الآن بدورياتٍ في المناطق الشعبية، والتحقق من بطاقات الهوية، والقبض على المغاربة بسبب السكر في الأماكن العامة، والسرقة، والتسول، والعمل دون ترخيص كدليل.

الجانب السلبي الآخر للازدهار السياحي هو الإرتقاء بمستوى الأحياء، التي يغذيها على وجه التحديد ارتفاع أعداد الزوار والاستثمار الأجنبي. كما ذكرت مجموعة أكسفورد للأعمال، فإن الرياض- المنازل التقليدية التي بنيت حول حديقة داخلية- تعدّ من بين الأشكال الأكثر شعبية للسكن السياحي، حيث تمثل 51% من قوائم الإقامة في عام 2015، ولكن أصبح اليوم يتم شراؤها بشكلٍ متزايد من قبل المستثمرين الأوروبيين. يتم الإعلان عن بعض الرياض على موقع Airbnb، على الرغم من أن السلطات المغربية تتخذ إجراءاتٍ صارمة ضد مواقع الإقامة العالمية على الإنترنت مثل موقع المبيت في المنازل وBooking.com عن طريق فرض ضرائب عليها في محاولة لحماية الشركات والأسواق المحلية.

ما دامت الكيانات المغربية المكلفة بالإشراف على التنمية السياحية تمارس مسؤولياتها وتدير المخاطر المحتملة التي يمكن أن يجلبها الزوار الأجانب والاستثمار، يمكن أن تستعد البلاد للتربع على قائمة الأماكن الأكثر بروزاً على خرائط السفر العالمية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ | ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Morocco / Economy / What is Behind Morocco’s Tourism Boom?

What is Behind Morocco’s Tourism Boom?

Morocco- Tourism morocco
Moroccans enjoy the beach near the ancient walls of Oudaya castle in Rabat on June 29, 2012. Photo: PATRICK BAZ / AFP ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ

Morocco has long been the gateway to Africa from Europe, and over the last few years it has experienced a tourism boom. Growing numbers of foreign visitors to the North African kingdom are expected as the government rolls out a programme to meet ambitious tourism targets as part of its Vision 2020. The country’s deserts, beaches, mountains and distinct cultural heritage are naturally attractive to holidaymakers and adventurers, bringing in welcome revenue. But according to those in the industry, inflows should be carefully managed in order to guard against the negative effects of tourism, some of which have already impacted neighbourhoods around popular cities like Marrakech.

Tourism has long been a fundamental economic pillar in Morocco and crucial to any fiscal strategy, as demonstrated by the government’s Vision 2020 target of Moroccan dirhams (MAD) 140 billion ($14.59 billion) to be derived from the sector. In 2018, revenue from tourism rose to MAD 73.15 billion from MAD 69.7 billion in 2017, making it a significant source of hard currency.

In recent years, however, travel to the region waned due to general instability even though Morocco itself has been relatively secure. Economic instability in some of the countries that have traditionally provided Morocco with tourists also contributed to this downward trend.

Now growth has slowly returned. According to the Oxford Business Group (OBG), in 2016, tourism accounted for 8.1 per cent of gross domestic product and 7.1 per cent of employment, as total arrivals grew by 1.5 per cent compared to the previous year. In 2017, in the first quarter alone there was a year-on-year growth rate of 7.9 per cent. By November 2017, the period’s upturn was 10 per cent compared to the previous year. In 2018, this growth continued as Morocco reportedly received 12 million tourists, another 8.5 per cent jump on the previous year. In the first four months of 2019, there were 3.6 million visitors to Morocco, a 6 per cent increase from the same period in 2018, and this growth is expected to continue.

Agadir and Marrakech are the most popular destinations for hotel stays, according to the Moroccan Tourism Observatory, accounting for 59 per cent of hotel nights in the first quarter of 2019, and tourist arrivals to these destinations rose by 4 and 8 per cent respectively. Tangier also saw tourist arrivals increase by 9 per cent. While Agadir and Tangier are on the coast, Marrakech is an inland city famous for its bustling souks and walled medina, although all three offer access to the Rif or Atlas mountain ranges.

Several construction projects are underway to try and increase the number of hotel rooms – the Vision 2020 target is to expand room capacity to 375,000 or 200,000 new beds – but also to encourage people to stay for longer by building resorts as well as luxury accommodation. For example, M Avenue in Marrakech is a $100 million project that will see around 2,700 square metres of gardens and landscaping, shops, cafes and galleries accompany luxury lodgings from brands like the Four Seasons.

Morocco- Gallops of Morocco
Camels walk on the sand during the “Gallops of Morocco” equestrian race in the desert of Merzouga in the southern Moroccan Sahara desert on March 1, 2018. Photo: FADEL SENNA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

One of the factors boosting tourism, according to the OBG, is the diversification of source markets, meaning visitors to Morocco are coming from different countries. One report cites most of these new tourists as coming from the United States – figures for the first four months of 2019 show that the number of American visitors increased by 14 per cent. Hosting the COP22 climate change conference in 2016 also gave the government a chance to maximize its tourism opportunities, and officials ran a short-term campaign that manifested in a number of promotional activities and new flight routes. A new route between Casablanca and Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia, for instance, could present “huge potential”, as Moroccan ambassador to Malaysia Mohamed Reda Benkhaldoun said in July 2019. The number of Malaysian visitors to the country has increased from an average of 3,000 per year to 5,000 since the visa requirement between the two countries was abolished in 2017. A new route could boost that number further. Russian and Chinese markets are also in the government’s sights to help meet the ambitious Vision 2020 targets.

These targets would see the industry double in size, which the government intends to achieve by establishing Morocco as one of the top-20 tourist destinations in the world through programmes in six areas: development around the coast, culture and heritage tourism, entertainment, sport and leisure, sustainable tourism and domestic tourism.

Several programmes are already underway, including a MAD 14 million investment around the northern Dakhla Corniche in the Sahara region, an area that is being eyeballed for a number of development projects to exploit its natural sites.

Domestic tourism, which has been declining due to cheaper options abroad such as Spain’s Costa del Sol, is a particular focus area. Encouraging Moroccans to vacation at home by offering them more affordable options could show significant promise for the tourism industry. “We are seeing more and more domestic tourism with a growing middle class travelling within the country,” Kamil Sellami, director general at Hotel Le Doge told OBG.

Maximizing these opportunities will not only bring in state income, but benefits are thought to trickle down by creating jobs, for instance. In addition, the Global Heritage Fund (GHF) told Fanack that if well managed, tourism can also help protect historic sites and provide the economic support that local businesses need.

“Increased tourism can be a double-edged sword for historic sites,” said GHF, an organization that supports communities with capacity-building programmes and local initiatives that it says balances site protection with modern visitor interests.

GHF gave the example of Morocco’s communal granaries, some of which are still in use and which one travel writer described as some of the most attractive in North Africa.

“Whether they are in use by communities or not, they have the potential to draw tourists to remote areas outside of the well-known destinations — but they are in need of urgent rehabilitation,” explained GHF. “If we let them collapse, the granaries will no longer attract travellers, which affects the much-needed tourism incomes some communities depend on.”

Aside from the benefits of tourism, particularly sustainable tourism, GHF points out that mismanaged tourism can lead to damage, both physically at sites and also to cultural values and tradition for which travellers must take responsibility as well as to reduce any negative impact. Ways in which they can do this include planning trips out of peak season or heading to more destinations off the beaten path.

“It is also more enriching since travellers are not just ticking a box; rather, they are discovering the world in a way that is authentically connected to people and cultures,” said GHF.

The economic promise of tourism has also affected security as police crack down on criminality. For instance, in December 2018, the murder of two tourists who were climbing Mount Toubkal prompted law enforcement to ramp up operations in the area that had seen increasing numbers of tourists and hikers enjoying the mountain’s trails. Tourist police now patrol popular areas, checking ID cards, arresting Moroccans for public drunkenness, theft, begging and working without a guide licence.

The other downside of the tourism boom is the gentrification of neighbourhoods, specifically fuelled by rising visitor numbers and foreign investment. As OBG reported, riads – traditional houses built round an internal garden – are among the most popular forms of tourist accommodation, accounting for 51 per cent of accommodation listings in 2015, but they are being increasingly bought by European investors. Some riads are advertised on Airbnb, although Moroccan authorities are cracking down on global online accommodation portals like the homestay listing site and Booking.com by levying taxes against them in an effort to protect local businesses and markets.

As long as Moroccan entities charged with the oversight of tourism development exercise responsibility and manage the potential pitfalls that foreign visitors and investment can bring, the country could be setting the stage for a more prominent spot in the world travel charts.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ | ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ | ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.