فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / الاقتصاد / مستقبل طاقة الرياح في المغرب

مستقبل طاقة الرياح في المغرب

Morocco- wind energy morocco
ملك المغرب محمد السادس (وسط) أثناء افتتاح مزرعة الرياح، ظهر سعدان، 28 يونيو 2010 في طنجة. Photo: ABDELHAK SENNA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA

يُنظر إلى المغرب، وهو واحدٌ من بلدين فقط على المسار الصحيح للوفاء بالأهداف العالمية لتغير المناخ، باعتباره رائداً في مجال الكفاح من أجل خفض انبعاثات الكربون. ففي عام 2016، استضافت البلاد الدورة 22 لمؤتمر الأمم المتحدة لتغير المناخ (كوب 22)، وهو مؤتمرٌ دولي متعدد الأطراف حول تغير المناخ، كما حققت تقدماً في مجال الطاقة الشمسية، لا سيما كجزءٍ من مخطط لتزويد 600 مسجد بأنظمة الطاقة الشمسية. اليوم، تُظهر طاقة الرياح القدرة على المساعدة في تلبية الطلب الداخلي في المغرب وكذلك الطلب من جيرانه.

بيد أنه وعلى الرغم من هذه الصورة الإيجابية، إلا أن مستقبل البلاد الأخضر متوقفٌ على بعض العقبات المهمة والمثيرة للجدل.

تم إنشاء أول مزرعة للرياح في المغرب في الكدية البيضاء في ولاية تطوان الشمالية في عام 2000. ومع ذلك، فإن استكشاف إمكانات طاقة الرياح يعود إلى أواخر الثمانينيات وأوائل التسعينيات. ففي عام 1986، نشر المركز المغربي لتطوير الطاقات المتجددة (كدير) أطلس الرياح في المغرب، وفي عام 1990، أطلق برنامجاً خاصاً لقياس الرياح.

وفي ورقة بحثية لعام 2016، كتب خالد بن حمو، مدير صحارى ويند، أن الجهود المبذولة لتطوير طاقة الرياح كانت محدودة إلى أن “لفتت الرياح التجارية ذات الأهمية التي تهب من المحيط الأطلسي إلى ساحل الصحراء الكبرى، أنظار رئيس البلاد في المغرب،” وتم إدراك القيمة الاستراتيجية لطاقة الرياح في المستقبل.

يوجد حالياً عشرة مزارع للرياح في المغرب، اثنتان منها قيد الإنشاء. وتذكر بوابة الاستثمار الحكومية على أن القدرة الإنتاجية للرياح ستصل إلى 2000 ميجاواط بحلول عام 2020، في ارتفاع من 280 ميجاواط في عام 2010. كما ينتج المغرب الطاقة الشمسية والطاقة الكهرومائية والطاقة المستمدة من الكتلة الحيوية.

يمكن لمزارع الرياح حالياً إنتاج 2 جيجاواط من الطاقة كل عام، وتأمل المملكة في زيادة هذا الرقم إلى 6,600 جيجاواط، مما يمثل 14% من رصيد الطاقة الوطني بحلول عام 2020.

كما أفادت مجموعة أكسفورد للأعمال أنه من المتوقع أن يأتي 42% من الطاقة في المغرب من مصادر متجددة بحلول عام 2020، لترتفع إلى 52% بحلول عام 2030. وادعت جامعة ستانفورد أن البلاد يمكن أن تعتمد على الطاقة الخضراء وحدها بحلول عام 2050.

إن الإمكانات الضخمة لمزارع  الرياح في المغرب – والتي تقدرها وكالة تنمية الاستثمارات المغربية بـ25000 ميجاواط – هي نتيجة لموقعها الجغرافي المحظوظ، ووصلها بالشبكة الإسبانية والساحل الغربي.

وبحسب ما قاله بن حمو لنا في فَنَك، “في الأساس، إذا كنت تريد موارد رياحٍ جيدة، عليك الاقتراب من البحر. في المغرب، يتعرض الجزء الغربي من البلاد لرياح شمال الأطلسي التجارية. تلك الحركات الهوائية الدائرية فوق المحيط الأطلسي تمثل أكبر حركاتٍ لطاقة الرياح في العالم على الأرجح.”

اجتذب هذا الموقع المتميز الكثير من الاستثمارات الخضراء، فعلى سبيل المثال ، تم إنشاء شركة SIE، وهي شركة استثمار في مجال الطاقة، بهدف تمويل التوسع في طاقة الرياح برأس مال قدره مليار درهم (103,4 مليون دولار)، على الرغم من تحويلها اليوم إلى شركة لخدمات الطاقة، لتقليل تكاليف الطاقة وليصبح توفير الطاقة أكثر كفاءة.

يسعى مشروعٌ واحد- مزرعة للرياح في الصحراء بقيمة 2,5 مليار دولار والذي تم الإعلان عنه في يوليو 2018 من قِبل شركة تعدين العملات الرقمية سولونا- لتوفير مصدر طاقة مخصص ومنخفض التكلفة لتقنية سلسلة الكتل (بلوك شين). كما أن هناك عدد من المانحين متعددي الأطراف، بما في ذلك البنك الدولي وبنك الاستثمار الأوروبي، والمانحون الثنائيون بما في ذلك بنك الإئتمان لإعادة التنمية الألماني.

ومع ذلك، بالنظر إلى طموحاته، يحتاج المغرب إلى استثماراتٍ كبيرة، يقدرها تقرير الوكالة الدولية للطاقة (IEA) بنحو 30 مليار دولار، للوصول إلى هدفه باستخدام الطاقة المتجددة لعام 2030 (طاقة الرياح ومصادر الطاقة المتجددة الأخرى).

ولكن هناك عدد من مشاريع طاقة الرياح قيد الإعداد، مع إمكانية عدم خدمتها للمغرب فحسب، ولكن أيضاً توليد فائض للتصدير إلى أوروبا وأماكن أخرى في إفريقيا. فقد ذكرت وكالة الطاقة الدولية أنه تم وضع خريطة طريق لتجارة الكهرباء المستدامة بين المغرب وألمانيا وفرنسا وإسبانيا والبرتغال في 19 ديسمبر 2018. ويمكن للمغرب أيضاً الاستفادة من مجمع الطاقة في غرب إفريقيا.

تقع أكبر مزرعة رياح في البلاد – والقارة – في طرفاية بجنوب غرب المغرب، والتي تولد طاقة تكفي لـ1,5 مليون منزل. ووفقاً لشركة سيمنز الألمانية، المسؤولة عن 131 توربين في الموقع، “من المتوقع أن تعوض الطاقة المتجددة من توربينات الرياح في طرفاية 900 ألف طن من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون كل عام،” أي ما يعادل وجود 150 مليون شجرة.

وتشمل المزايا الأخرى توفير العمالة المحلية في المزارع نفسها أو في الشركات ذات الصلة، مثل مشروع سولونا للتكنولوجيا. كما تعهدت سولونا بتخصيص 1% من إيراداتها للبرامج التي توفر قيمة ذات معنى للمواطنين المحليين. وبالمثل، تمنح مزرعة الرياح في طرفاية 41,344 دولاراً للمنطقة كل عام، والتي تُستخدم لمشاريع تشمل تركيب إنارة الشوارع ودعم الشباب المحلي.

وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، تسعى إستراتيجية المغرب الخضراء إلى زيادة الدخل بنسبة ثلاثة أضعاف لما يقرب من 3 ملايين شخص يعيشون في المناطق الريفية.

إلا أن الاستثمار الأخضر لا يخلو من التحديات ويتطلب أكثر من المال لتحقيق أهدافه السامية. فعلى سبيل المثال، فإن إقليم الصحراء الغربية الخاضع لإدارة المغرب، حيث من المقرر أن يقع مشروع سولونا، تطالب به جبهة البوليساريو، وهي حركة قومية تمثل الشعب الصحراوي.

ففي بيانٍ صدر عام 2016 من قبل إريك هاجن، من منظمة مراقبة الثروات بالصحراء الغربية، قال إن ترسيخ وجود المغرب في المنطقة سيزيد من عرقلة “تقرير المصير وإنهاء الاستعمار في الصحراء الغربية.”

هذا هو السبب في أن بدء تنفيذ استغلال طاقة الرياح كان أبطأ مما كان متوقعاً، بحسب بن حمو، الذي تابع القول “إن أفضل منطقة غير مُفسدة تهب فيها الرياح في [المغرب] تقع في معتزلٍ حيث لا يمكنها جذب التمويل متعدد الأطراف.” وأضاف أنه كان من الصعب حشد تدخلٍ من شأنه أن يحل مسألة الوضع النهائي للإقليم.

المفارقة هي أن معظم مزارع الرياح في البلاد متصلة بالشبكة، وهذا بحد ذاته ينطوي على عمليات التصنيع.

وقال بن حمو “الفكرة الآن هي معرفة ما إذا كان بالإمكان استخدام الطاقة النظيفة في المنطقة لمعالجة الأسمدة من الفوسفات. إنها عملية تستخدم الطاقة بكثافة، ويمكن القيام بها باستخدام طاقة الرياح، واستبدال الوقود الأحفوري على نطاق واسع،” مضيفاً أن هناك حاجة إلى التخلص من الكربون من صناعات الأسمدة والصلب أيضاً.

من جهتها أشارت وكالة الطاقة الدولية أن المغرب لا يزال أمامه الكثير ليفعله إذا ما أراد الوصول إلى أهداف الطاقة المتجددة، فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكنه تطبيق الإصلاحات وتفعيل سلطة تنظيمية مخططة لحشد الاستثمارات الخاصة. يمكنه أيضاً أن يقدم تقنية متقدمة مثل تخزين البطاريات أو محطات تحلية المياه التي تعمل بالطاقة المتجددة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب تحسين كفاءة الطاقة. فقد زاد استهلاك الطاقة بشكلٍ عام، ووفقاً لوكالة الطاقة الدولية، لن تكون تدابير كفاءة استخدام الطاقة الحالية كافية لتحقيق أهداف الطاقة والمناخ.

من المؤكد أن مكانة المغرب على لوحة متصدري الطاقة النظيفة آخذةٌ في الارتفاع، كما تحرص البلاد وجيرانها على تطوير طاقة الرياح. ومع ذلك، من أجل الوصول إلى المستوى الذي لا يتجاوز فيه الاحترار العالمي، على الأقل، 1,5 درجة مئوية – والتي تعتبر خط الخطر للحياة كما نعرفها – تبرز الحاجة إلى تغييراتٍ مؤسسية وتشغيلية.

في الوقت نفسه، نظراً لأن قدرة طاقة الرياح تعتمد على الوصول إلى الصحراء الغربية المتنازع عليها، تواجه البلاد مشاكل إقليمية وقضايا متعلقة بحقوق الإنسان والتي قد تجعل من الصعب عليها جذب مستثمرين إضافيين.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Morocco / Economy / Morocco’s Windy Future

Morocco’s Windy Future

Morocco- wind energy morocco
King Mohammed VI (c) of Morocco at the inauguration of the wind farm of “Dahr Saadane”, June 28, 2010 in Tangiers. Photo: ABDELHAK SENNA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA

Morocco, one of only two countries on track, the other one being Nigeria to meet global climate change targets, is seen as leading in the fight to reduce carbon emissions. In 2016, it hosted COP 22, a multilateral international conference on climate change, and it has made advances in solar power, notably as part of a scheme to fit 600 mosques with solar energy systems. Now, wind power is showing potential to help meet Morocco’s domestic demands as well as those of its neighbours.

Yet despite this positive picture, the country’s green future hinges on some significant and contentious obstacles.

Morocco’s first wind farm, located in el-Koudia el-Baida in the northern province of Tetouan, was installed in 2000. However, exploration of wind power’s potential goes back to the late 1980s and early ’90s. In 1986, the Moroccan Renewable Energy Development Centre (CDER) published the Wind Atlas of Morocco, and in 1990, it launched a special wind-measuring programme.

In a 2016 research paper, Khalid Benhamou of Sahara Wind wrote that efforts to develop wind energy were limited until ‘the significant Atlantic trade winds potential blowing over the Sahara desert coastline were brought to the attention of Morocco’s head of state’, and wind power’s strategic value for the future was realized.

There are currently ten wind farms in Morocco, two of which are under construction. The government’s investment portal states that wind capacity will reach 2,000 megawatts (MW) by 2020, up from 280MW in 2010. Morocco also produces solar, hydroelectric and biomass energy.

Wind farms can currently produce 2 gigawatts (GW) of power each year, and The kingdom is hoping to achieve 6,600GW energy production each year from its 2GW turbines, making up 14 per cent of the national energy balance by 2020.

The Oxford Business Group reported that 42 per cent of Morocco’s energy is predicted to come from renewable sources by 2020 and 52 per cent by 2030. Stanford University claimed the country could rely on green power alone by 2050.

Morocco’s huge wind farm potential – which the Moroccan Investment Development Agency estimates to be 25,000MW – is the result of its fortuitous geographic position, its connection to the Spanish grid and a western coastline.

“Essentially, if you want good wind resources you have to get close to the sea. In Morocco, the westernmost part of the country is exposed to the North Atlantic trade winds. Those circular air movements over the Atlantic represent the biggest wind energy movements probably in the world,” Benhamou told Fanack.

This premium position has attracted plenty of green investment. For example, SIE, an energy investment company, was created especially for the purpose of funding expansion of wind energy with 1 billion dirhams ($103.4 million) of capital, although that has now been converted into an energy service company, to reduce energy costs and make energy provision more efficient.

One project – a $2.5 billion desert wind farm announced in July 2018 by cryptocurrency mining company Soluna – is looking to provide a dedicated, low-cost power source for blockchain technology. Then there are a number of multilateral donors, including the World Bank and European Investment Bank, and bilateral donors including Germany’s KfW Development Bank.

Considering its ambitions, however, Morocco needs substantial investment, which an International Energy Agency (IEA) report estimated to be $30 billion, in order to reach its renewable target for 2030 (wind power and other renewable sources).

A number of wind power projects are nonetheless in the pipeline, with the potential of not only servicing Morocco but also generating a surplus for export to Europe and elsewhere in Africa. The IEA reported that a roadmap for sustainable electricity trade was established between Morocco and Germany, France, Spain and Portugal on 19 December 2018. Morocco could also tap into the West African power pool.

The country’s – and the continent’s – largest wind farm is located in Tarfaya, south-western Morocco, which generates enough power for 1.5 million homes. According to German company Siemens, which is responsible for 131 turbines on the site, ‘the renewable power from Tarfaya’s wind turbines is expected to offset 900,000 tons of CO2 emissions each year’, equivalent to 150 million trees.

Other benefits include providing local employment on the farms themselves or at related businesses, such as Soluna’s tech enterprise. Soluna has also pledged to allocate 1 per cent of its revenue to programmes that provide meaningful value to local citizens. Similarly, the wind farm in Tarfaya gives $41,344 to the area each year, which is used for projects including the installation of street lighting and supporting local youth.

More widely, Morocco’s green strategy endeavours to increase threefold the income of nearly 3 million people living in rural areas.

However, green investment is not without its challenges and requires more than money to realize its lofty targets. For instance, the Morocco-administered territory of Western Sahara, where the Soluna facility is due to be located, is claimed by the Polisario Front, a nationalist movement that represents the Sahrawi people.

A 2016 statement by Erik Hagen of Western Sahara Resource Watch said that anchoring Morocco’s presence in the area will further hinder “self-determination and decolonization in Western Sahara”.

This is why wind power rollout has been slower than hoped, said Benhamou. “[Morocco’s] pristine best wind-blown region is located in a retreat where it cannot attract multilateral funding.” He added that it has been difficult to mobilize an intervention that would resolve the question of the territory’s final status.

The irony is that with most of the wind farms in the country connected to the grid, this itself involves industrialization processes.

“Now the idea is to see whether in the region you can then use clean energy to process fertilizer from phosphate. It’s an energy-intensive process, which can be done using wind energy, displacing fossil fuels on a massive scale,” said Benhamou, adding that there is a case to be made for decarbonizing the fertilizer and steel industries as well.

The IEA noted that Morocco still has a lot to do if it is to reach its renewable energy targets. For instance, it can put in place reforms and operationalize a planned regulatory authority to mobilize private investment. It could also introduce advanced technology such as battery storage or desalination plants that are powered by renewables.

In addition, energy efficiency needs to be improved. Energy consumption overall has increased and, according to the IEA, current energy efficiency measures will not be enough to meet energy and climate objectives.

Morocco’s place on the clean energy leaderboard has certainly been rising, and the country and its neighbours are keen to develop wind power. However, reaching at least the level where global warming does not exceed 1.5 degrees Celsius – considered the danger line for life as we know it – institutional and operational changes are needed.

At the same time, with wind power capacity dependent on access to the disputed Western Sahara, the country faces territorial and human rights issues that may make it hard to attract additional investors.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA | ©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.