فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / وُجوه / بسبب أغنية انتقادية، اعتقال أحد مغني الراب في المغرب يُثير الجدل حول حرية التعبير

بسبب أغنية انتقادية، اعتقال أحد مغني الراب في المغرب يُثير الجدل حول حرية التعبير

Gnawi
Photo: AP / M. Elshamy

في بداية نوفمبر 2019، تم إلقاء القبض على مغني الراب المغربي الكناوي بالقرب من مدينة سلا.

تسببت عملية الاعتقال في إثارة ضجةٍ في الدولة الواقعة في شمال إفريقيا حيث حدثت بعد يومين من إصدار الكناوي أغنية “عاش الشعب،” برفقة الفنانين الملقبين بـ”ولد الكرية” و”لزعر،” والتي حصدت أكثر من 13 مليون مشاهدة على موقع يوتيوب، وتنتقد الشرطة والملك وتدين الظروف الاجتماعية التي تؤثر على الشباب المغربي.

من جهتها، قالت السلطات إن اعتقال مغني الراب جاء بعد اتهامه بإهانة الشرطة في مقطع فيديو سابق نشره على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك، شكك البعض في الرواية الرسمية.

وقالت الصحفية سميرة جدير لموقع الأخبار الهولندي Nos.nl: “يعتقد الجميع أنه من قبيل الصدفة أنه تم اعتقاله بعد يومين من [إطلاق الأغنية]،” وأضافت “كان بالفعل مراقباً من الشرطة. أعتقد أنهم كانوا يخططون بالفعل لاعتقاله، ولكنهم كانوا ينتظرون فرصة جيدة.”

كما تعتقد جدير أيضاً أن شعبية الأغنية لعبت دوراً في اعتقاله، إذ قالت “يمكنك التعبير بحرية في المغرب، لكن بمجرد أن ترى السلطات أنك تجذب أتباعاً، بنظرهم، أنت تشكل خطراً على المجتمع.”

وقال المقربون من الكناوي، مثل مغني الراب حمزة، الذين اعتادوا غناء الراب معاً في فرقة باسلين، للموقع الإخباري يا بلادي إن صديقه “كان يواجه بالفعل مشاكل مع الشرطة منذ 15 يوماً.” كما قال أن أغنية الكناوي الأخيرة كانت “صرخة طلباً للمساعدة من شابٍ ترك على الهامش.”

وبالفعل، كان للأغنية صدى واضح، إذ كتب موقع اليوم 24 “نحن نواجه أغنية سياسية لم يسبق أن عرفها المغرب من حيث الوضوح والدقة وقوة الرسالة وسرعة الانتشار.”

وعليه، عبر آلاف الأشخاص عن آرائهم على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، إذ كان رد فعل غالبيتهم إيجابياً. فقد كتب أحد الأشخاص على موقع فيسبوك، “هذا هو، قيل كل شيء في الأغنية.”

تدعي الأغنية، من بين انتقاداتٍ أخرى، أن الحكومة “تزود الناس بالمخدرات” حتى لا يثوروا. كما تحذر من أن المغرب سيصبح “دولة فارغة” في عام 2020 لأن الجميع يهاجرون، وأن الملك “يخدع الجميع.”

كما تستخدم الأغنية كلمة “عاش الشعب،” في رفضٍ واضح لشعار “عاش الملك،” فضلاً عن ذكر “رجل الريف” و”الرجل الحر وراء القضبان،” التي يُعتقد أنها إشارة إلى الاحتجاجات في شمال البلاد الأكثر فقراً وناصر الزفزافي، قائد حراك الريف الذي حُكم عليه بالسجن 20 عاماً في عام 2018.

من جهتها وصفت منظمة العفو الدولية اعتقال الكناوي بـ”الاعتداء المروع على حرية التعبير.”

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن المغرب يتمتع بقوانين حرية تعبير ليبرالية نسبياً، مقارنة بالعديد من البلدان الأخرى في العالم. ومع ذلك، انتقدت جماعات حقوق الإنسان الدولة على نطاقٍ واسع، حيث سجنت عشرات الأشخاص بسبب خطابهم السلمي منذ عام 1999 عندما أصبح محمد السادس ملكاً. ويشمل ذلك الصحفيين المتهمين بالإساءة إلى القضاء، والتشهير ونشر الأخبار الكاذبة، وكذلك مغني الراب لإهانتهم الشرطة.

وبالفعل، تم إجراء إصلاحات، خاصة فيما يتعلق بقانون الصحافة. لكن قانون العقوبات لا يزال يجرم بعض حرية التعبير بما في ذلك التحدث ضد الإسلام والملكية والتحريض على السلامة الإقليمية، أي قضية الصحراء الغربية. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تعتبر هذه القضايا الثلاث “خطوطاً حمراء” لا يمكن للمغاربة تجاوزها من ناحية قانونية.

ومع ذلك، في عام 2018، احتلت البلاد المرتبة 135 على مؤشر حرية الصحافة العالمي. وفي عام 2019، أعربت جمعية عدالة من أجل الحق في محاكمة عادلة والشبكة الأورو-متوسطية للحقوق عن قلقها إزاء الاعتداءات والمحاكمات المتكررة ضد الصحفيين والأفراد والجمعيات التي تمارس حقوقهم في حرية التعبير وتكوين الجمعيات والتظاهر.

وفيما يتعلق بالهيب هوب المغربي، جادل بعض المعلقين بأن مساحة تعبير أغاني الراب عن المظالم والأفكار المتعلقة بالشواغل الاجتماعية والسياسية قد تضاءلت.

ووفقاً لمجلة TelQuel، ولد الكناوي، واسمه الحقيقي محمد منير، في حي الإنبعاث الفقير في سلا وبدأ حياته المهنية في موسيقى الراب في عام 2011 بأغنية “مافيوزي” حول الجريمة في الأحياء الفقيرة الحضرية والنزاع بين الشرطة والشباب. اكتسب شعبية مع أغنية “العسكر” التي أطلقها برفقة مغني الراب Larmy Sla، التي تحاكي أغنية Gangster’s Paradise لمغني الراب الأمريكي كوليو عن المرؤوسين في الجيش، إذ أدى الكناوي الخدمة العسكرية بين عامي 2007 و2013.

وبالرغم من أنه صنع اسمه بنفسه، إلا أنه فضل البقاء ضمن المغنيين المستقلين. فبعد أن فقد والديه، أصدر في عام 2017 واحدة من أنجح أغانيه بعنوان “شتي ديب،” التي عكست أسلوباً معاصراً مع الاستمرار في معالجة القضايا الاجتماعية والسياسية الكبيرة.

على العكس، انتقل مغنوا الراب الآخرون في المغرب من عالم الأندرجراوند ليعبروا عن أفكارهم السياسية صراحةً. ففي مقالٍ حول جانبي مشهد الراب المغربي، كتبت كريستينا مورينو الميدا، زميلة في كلية كينجز كوليدج لندن، “يُنظر غالباً إلى ثقافة الهيب هوب وموسيقى الراب على أنها إما أمثلة على خيارٍ مشترك وتسويق من جهة، أو كجزءٍ من حركة تمرد سرية من ناحية أخرى.”

ومع ذلك، حتى أولئك الذين يختارون الانضمام إلى التيار السائد يمكنهم تجاوز الموضوعات الحساسة. ويمكن مقارنة اعتقال الكناوي بقضية سابقة لمغني الراب الملقب بـ”الحاقد،” والذي تم اعتقاله في 11 مايو 2012، حيث اتُهم باستخدام صور مسيئة في مقطع الفيديو الخاص بأغنية أصدرها عام 2010 بعنوان “كلاب الدولة” التي تدين تحيز الشرطة بحسب خلفية الشخص الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

وبالمثل، كان هناك شكوك في أن اعتقاله مرتبطٌ بالأغنية، التي تم إصدارها قبل عامين وكانت معتدلة مقارنةً بإدانة مغني الراب الآخرين لاعتداءات الشرطة، ولا سيما الأغنية المصورة لمغني الراب “دون بيغ” التي حملت عنوان “ما بغيتش،” التي تظهر فيها عبارة “تباً للشرطة” بوضوح على الحائط.

وقالت مورينو الميدا إنه من المرجح أن يكون الاعتقال مرتبطًا بدعم “الحاقد” للربيع العربي. وفي سياق مشابه، قالت إن اعتقال الكناوي يرسل رسالة إلى شباب آخرين ممن يرغبون في معالجة القضايا المماثلة من خلال الموسيقى بأنهم قد يتعرضوا للمشاكل دون ما يُشير إلى وجود أي مشاكل في حرية التعبير.

وبالرغم من الأصداء الإيجابية التي حظيت بها أغنية “عاش الشعب،” إلا أن مشهد موسيقى الأندرجراوند لا يحظى دوماً بنفس الإيجابية.

وفي هذا السياق، قالت مورينو الميدا: “إن النقد الرئيسي الذي تسمعه من عشاق الراب والجمهور عموماً في المغرب هو أن مغنيّ الراب هؤلاء كانوا يعرفون ما سيتعرضون له، [عرفوا أنه] سيضعهم في دائرة الضوء لأن الخطوط الحمراء واضحة جداً.” وأضافت “لهذا السبب نتحدث عن الكناوي اليوم.”

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Morocco / Faces / In Morocco, Arrest of Rapper for Critical Song Sparks Freedom of Expression Debate

In Morocco, Arrest of Rapper for Critical Song Sparks Freedom of Expression Debate

Gnawi
Photo: AP / M. Elshamy ©AP ⁃ M. Elshamy

At the beginning of November 2019, Moroccan rapper Gnawi was arrested near the city of Salé.

The arrest caused a stir in the North African country as it occurred two days after Gnawi released the song ‘Aacha el-Chaab’ (‘long live the people’) with artists Weld l’Griya and LZ3ER. The song, which has been viewed more than 13 million times on YouTube, criticizes the police and the king and denounces the social conditions affecting Moroccan youth.

The authorities said the rapper was arrested for insulting the police in a previous video he posted on social media. However, some have questioned the official line.

“Everyone thinks it’s a coincidence that he was arrested two days after [the release of the song],” journalist Samira Jadir told the Dutch news site Nos.nl. “He was already on the police’s radar. I think they were already planning to arrest him but were waiting for a good opportunity.”

Jadir also believes that the song’s popularity was a factor. “You can say a lot in Morocco, but as soon as the authorities see that you are attracting a following, you are a danger to society in their eyes,” she said.

Those close to Gnawi, such as rapper Hamza L’BS who used to rap alongside him in the collective Bassline, told news outlet Yabiladi that his friend “has already had problems with the police for 15 days.” He also said Gnawi’s latest track was a “cry for help from a youth left on the sidelines”.

The song has clearly resonated. ‘We are faced with a political song the likes of which Morocco has never known in terms of clarity, directness, strength of message and speed of spread,’ wrote the Al Youm 24 website.

Thousands of people have responded on social media, mostly positively. “That’s it, everything is said in this video,” said one person on Facebook.

The song, among other criticisms, alleges that the government ‘fills people with drugs’ so that they do not revolt. It also warns that Morocco will become an ‘empty country’ in 2020 because everyone is leaving, and that the king ‘fools everyone’.

The song also uses the word n’ayyish, a disapproving response to the traditional call of ‘long live the king’, and mentions ‘the man from the Rif’ and ‘the free man behind bars’, thought to be a reference to protests in the poorer north of the country and Nasser Zefzafi, the leader of the Rif movement who was handed a 20-year jail term in 2018.

Amnesty International called Gnawi’s arrest ‘an outrageous assault on free speech’.

Morocco enjoys relatively liberal freedom of speech laws, compared to many other countries in the world. However, human rights groups have widely criticized the state, which has imprisoned dozens of people for nonviolent speech since 1999 when Mohammed VI became king. This includes journalists charged with denigrating the judiciary, defamation and disseminating fake news as well as rappers for insulting the police.

Reform has taken place, especially of the press code. But the penal code still criminalizes some free speech including speaking against Islam, the monarchy and inciting against territorial integrity, i.e. the Western Sahara issue. In particular, these three issues are considered ‘red lines’ that Moroccans cannot legally cross.

Still, in 2018, the country was ranked 135th in the World Press Freedom Index. In 2019, the Adalah Association for Fair Trial and EuroMed Rights expressed concern about the frequent attacks on and trials against journalists, individuals and associations that exercise their rights of freedom of expression, association and demonstration.

As far as Moroccan hip-hop is concerned, some commentators have argued that space occupied by rap to air grievances and thoughts relating to societal and political concerns has diminished.

According to TelQuel magazine, Gnawi, real name Mohamed Mounir, was born in the poor neighbourhood of Hay Inbiaat in Salé and started his rap career in 2011 with the song ‘Mafioze’ about crime in urban slums and the conflict between police and young people. He gained popularity with the song ‘L3askar’ that he released with Larmy Sla, sampling American rapper Coolio’s hit ‘Gangster’s Paradise’ about subordinates in the army, he himself having served between 2007 and 2013.

Despite making a name for himself, he has preferred to remain underground. After losing both his parents, in 2017 he released his biggest hit ‘Chti Dib’, which has a more contemporary sound while continuing to address big social and political issues.

Conversely, other rappers in Morocco have moved on from remaining underground and strictly political. In a paper about the two sides of the Moroccan rap scene, Cristina Moreno Almeida, a fellow at King’s College London, wrote, ‘Hip-hop culture and rap music are frequently seen as either examples of co-option and commercialization on the one hand, or as part of a rebellious underground on the other hand.’

Yet even those who choose to join the mainstream can encroach on critical subjects. A previous case that has been compared to Gnawi’s concerned the rapper L7a9ed who was arrested on 11 May 2012, accused of using offensive images in the video for his 2010 song ‘Klab Dawla’ (‘dogs of the state’) that denounces police profiling based on a person’s socio-economic background.

Similarly, there was doubt that the arrest was linked to the song, which was released two years earlier and was mild in comparison to other rappers’ condemnation of the police, notably the video for Don Bigg’s ‘Mabghitch’24’, in which the words ‘Fuck the police’ are visible on a wall.

Moreno Almeida said it is more likely the arrest was linked to L7a9ed’s support of the Arab Spring. In a similar vein, she said Gnawi’s arrest sends the message to other young people wanting to address comparable issues through music that they can get into trouble without signalling there is anything wrong with freedom of expression.

While ‘Aacha el-Chaab’ has clearly resonated with the public, the underground rap scene has not always been viewed positively.

“The main criticism you hear from rap fans and the audience in general in Morocco is that these rappers knew exactly what they were getting into, [knew it would] get them into the spotlight because the red lines are very clear,” said Moreno Almeida, adding, “It’s why we are talking about Gnawi today.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AP ⁃ M. Elshamy | ©AP ⁃ M. Elshamy

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.