تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

المغرب: الموحّدون (1121 – 1269)

الموحدون المغرب
المصدر: @Fanack

كان أبو عبدالله محمد بن تومرت، “المهدي” والقائد عبد المؤمن بن علي الكومي من البربر، غير أن أصلهما من الجبال وليس الصحراء. جاء بن تومرت من المنطقة الشمالية للأطلس الصغير. حوالي عام 1106، بدأ رحلة حج إلى مكة، ولكن بدلاً من إتمامها، درس في بغداد أو دمشق. واحتك بالتيار السائد للعقيدة السنّية والصوفية، وعاد إلى موطنه وهو يفكر في إصلاح الدين والأخلاق في المغرب. وفي طريق عودته، التقى عبد المؤمن وانضم إليه في مهمته الإصلاحية. ووصل إلى مراكش، غير أن المرابطين استاءوا من نقده الاجتماعي، ففر إلى تينمل في أعالي الأطلس الكبير حيث جمع أتباعاً له.

كانت تعاليم بن تومرت أكثر روحانية من تعاليم المرابطين: كان يقول إنّ الله روح بسيط ومطلق ووحداني. وأطلق أتباعه على أنفسهم اسم الموحدين (أي المؤمنين بوحدوية الله). وقال عن المرابطين إنهم مشركين لأنهم آمنوا بالطبيعة المادية التي خلقها الله، إلا أنه تبنى الإسلام المتشدد القائم على الأفكار الشيعية للإمام المهدي. أعلن بن تومرت أنه المهدي المنتظر الذي سيأتي في آخر الأزمان قبل يوم الحساب. وتحمس أتباعه للتبشير بهذه الفكرة. وفي عشرينيات القرن الثاني عشر، بسط بن تومرت سيطرته من تينمل، غير أنّه لم يستطع دخول مراكش قبل وفاته عام 1130. عام 1133، تولى عبد المؤمن القيادة، فاحتل الجبال أولاً ومن ثم المدن في السهل. وفي أوائل أربعينيات القرن الثاني عشر، استولى المرابطون على المدن الشمالية، بما فيها تازة وسبته ومكناس وسلا. عام 1147، وبعد حصار دام طويلاً، سقطت مراكش أخيراً. فتعرضت للنهب، وأعلن عبد المؤمن أن المباني الدينية لم تكن متّجهة إلى مكة بشكل صحيح وبالتالي يجب استبدالها.

بعد احتلال المغرب، طلب مسلمو شبه جزيرة أيبيريا المساعدة من عبد المؤمن لمواجهة التقدم المسيحي الذي تجدد. عام 1145، أرسل عبد المؤمن فرقاً عسكرية لاحتلال الجزء الأكبر من إسبانيا الإسلامية فأوقف الزحف المسيحي. كما تحرك شرقاً إلى الجزائر وتونس. وتوفي عام 1163 بينما كان يستعد لإرسال فرق عسكرية أخرى إلى إسبانيا. وفي نهاية الحرب الأهلية التي تلت وفاته، هزم أبو يعقوب يوسف (ابن عبد المؤمن) أعداءه واحتل الأجزاء المتبقية من شبه جزيرة أيبيريا الإسلامية. وعام 1195، هزم جيش قشتالة في معركة الأرك، الواقعة اليوم في مدينة ثيوداد ريال، هزيمة ساحقة وأوقف زحف الاسترداد.

كانت تلك ذروة قوة النظام وثقافته. اجتذبت الحياة الفكرية المزدهرة في المغرب علماء من أنحاء العالم: محمد ابن رشد؛ وأبي بكر محمد بن طفيل، كاتب الرواية الفلسفية “حي بن يقظان”. اتصف فن العمارة عند الموحدين بالضخامة والجوامع الهائلة والحصون القوية؛ بلغ طول مئذنة جامع الكتبية، الذي شُيد على أنقاض قصر المرابطين، 67,5 م. كانت المآذن المربّعة في إشبيلية والخيرالدا وصومعة حسان في الرباط، التي بدء العمل في بنائها لكن لم تستكمل، أضخم من حيث الحجم، وأصبحت النمط الشائع في شمال إفريقيا. كما بنى مهندسو الموحدين الأندلسيين حصوناً ضخمة، مثل قصبة الوداية في الرباط.

كان بناء هذه المباني مكلفاً، غير أن الموحدين كانوا أغنياء لأنهم طوّروا الاقتصاد، وخصوصاً الزراعة، كما ازدهرت التجارة في الصحراء. كما شاع صك القطع النقدية الذهبية ذات الجودة العالية والتي كانت مستخدمة على طرفي البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ولكن الاقتصاد كان أكثر ضعفاً مما كان يبدو. ففي عهد محمد الناصر (1199-1213)، نشبت حرب على جبهتين، مع بقايا المرابطين من جهة، وفي إسبانيا مع ملوك المسيحيين المتوحدين والذين سحقوا جيش الناصر في معركة لاس نافاس دي تولوسا عام 1212. بحلول عام 1266، كانت كافة شبه الجزيرة قد سقطت في يد المسيحيين، باستثناء غرناطة. وتشتت جيش الموحدين العظيم، فتعذر جمع الضرائب. وبدأت النزاعات ضمن سلالة الموحدين، وثارت اتحادات قبلية، مثل بني مرين، على النظام الذي قاوم في مراكش حتى عام 1269.

في هذه المقالة: المغرب | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: The Almohads (1121 – 1269 CE)

Al mohads morocco
Photo: @Fanack

Both Abu Abd Allah Muhammad ibn Tumart, the ‘Prophet’, and his general, Abd al-Mumin ibn Ali al-Goumi, were Berbers, but they came from the mountains, not the desert. Ibn Tumart came from the northern side of the Anti-Atlas. In about 1106 he began a pilgrimage to Mecca but, instead of completing it, studied in Baghdad or Damascus. He came into contact with both mainstream Sunni theology and Sufism and returned home with the idea of reforming the religion and the morals of the Maghreb. On the way, he met Abd al-Mumin and joined him in a mission of reform. He arrived in Marrakesh, but the Almoravids disliked his social criticism, and Ibn Tumart fled to Tinmel, high in the High Atlas where he built a following.

Ibn Tumart’s teaching was more spiritual than the Almoravids’: he said God was pure spirit, absolute, and unitary. His followers called themselves al-Muwahhidun (unitarians, or believers in the oneness or unity of God), anglicized as ‘Almohads’. The Almoravids, he said, were polytheists because they believed in God’s corporeal nature, but like them, he proposed an austere and moralistic Islam that drew on Shiite ideas of the hidden imam. Ibn Tumart announced that he was the Mahdi, the eschatological redeemer who will return before the Day of Judgment. His followers were highly motivated by the idea of proselytizing for this idea. During the 1120s, Ibn Tumart extended his authority from Tinmel but could not take Marrakesh before he died, in 1130. In 1133, Abd al-Mumin took over the leadership, occupying first the mountains and then the cities on the plain. In the early 1140s, the Almoravids took northern cities, including Taza, Ceuta, Meknes, and Salé. Marrakesh fell last, after a long siege, in 1147. Once the city fell, it was plundered, and Abd al-Mumin declared that all the religious buildings were incorrectly oriented towards Mecca and must be replaced.

Once Morocco had been conquered, Muslims in the Iberian Peninsula turned to them for help against the renewed Christian advance. In 1145, Abd al-Mumin sent troops to occupy most of Islamic Spain and began to turn the Christian tide. He also moved east into Algeria and Tunisia. He died in 1163, preparing to embark another army for Spain. At the end of the civil war that followed, Abu Yaqub Yusuf (Abd al-Mumin’s son) beat off his rivals and occupied the remaining portions of Muslim Iberia. In 1195, he won a great victory over the Castilians at Alarcos, in the modern province of Ciudad Real, and stopped the Reconquista in its tracks.

This was the highpoint of the regime’s power and culture. The vigorous intellectual life in Marrakesh attracted international scholars, such as Muhammad ibn Rushd (known in the West as Averroës) and Abu Bakr Muhammad ibn Tufail, author of a philosophical novel, Hayy ibn Yaqzan. Almohad architecture was massive, with huge mosques and impregnable fortifications. The Kutibiyya (Koutoubia) mosque, built on the ruins of the Almoravids’ palace, had a minaret 67.5 metres tall. The minarets at Seville, the Giralda, and the Tour Hassan in Rabat, begun but never completed, had even larger square minarets, which became the style in North Africa. Their Andalusian architects also built huge fortresses, such as the Kasba of the Udayas at Rabat.

All this building was expensive, but the Almohads were rich because they developed the economy, particularly agriculture, the desert trade was extremely important, and the gold coinage was of such high quality that it was used on both sides of the Mediterranean. But the economy was more fragile than it appeared. During the reign of Mohammed al-Nasir (r.1199-1213) there was war on two fronts, with remnants of the Almoravids and, in Spain, with the united Christian kings who inflicted a crushing defeat on al-Nasir’s army at Las Navas de Tolosa in 1212. By 1266, the whole peninsula was in Christian hands, except Granada. The great Almohad army was dismembered, so taxes could no longer be collected. The dynasty began to squabble amongst itself, and tribal confederations such as the Banu Marin challenged its authority, although it struggled on in Marrakesh until 1269.