فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / من الماضي الى الحاضر

تاريخ المغرب من الماضي الى الحاضر

الرئيس الإسباني فرانسيسكو فرانكو يحيي سلطان المغرب محمد الخامس. زيارة السلطان لإسبانيا جاءت لمناقشة تفاصيل الاعتراف الرسمي باستقلال المغرب و إنهاء السيطرة الإسبانية التي دامت 44 عاما. //Photo Corbis
الرئيس الإسباني فرانسيسكو فرانكو يحيي سلطان المغرب محمد الخامس. زيارة السلطان لإسبانيا جاءت لمناقشة تفاصيل الاعتراف الرسمي باستقلال المغرب و إنهاء السيطرة الإسبانية التي دامت 44 عاما. //Photo Corbis

حظيت المملكة المغربية بموقع جغرافي، هيأ لها القيام بأدوار تاريخية وحضارية وثقافية وعلمية مرموقة على مدى العصور. فكانت جسراً للحضارات بين شمال الأرض وجنوبها، ونافذة الضوء بين شرق الأرض ومغربها.

في هذا القسم، نبحر في تاريخ المغرب من حاضره إلى ماضيه، محاولين بذلك سبر أغوار الأحداث الفاصلة التي رسمت حاضر وهويّة هذه الدولة ككيان من عين المؤرّخ.

المغرب ما بعد الاستقلال (٢٠٢٠-١٩٥٦)

خَلفَ محمد السادس والده، الملك الحسن الثاني، منتصف العام 1999م؛ فأطلق سراح المعتقلين السياسيين، وسمح للمنفيين بالعودة، وأقال إدريس البصري، وزير داخلية والده الراحل. ومع حلول عام 2004م، اشتدت الضغوط السياسية حول انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان ما دفع الملك الشاب إلى تأسيس هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

وبعد اعتلائه عرش المملكة المغربية في فبراير عام 1961م خلفاً لوالده محمد الخامس، أعلن الحسن الثاني ملكية تحكمها سلالة العلويين وأمير المؤمنين. وخلال فترة حكمه التي امتدت لـ 38 عاماً، قمع الحسن خصومه، ونفى بعضهم.

كان محمد الخامس  الذي خَلفَ والده السلطان يوسف إبان فترة الاستعمار الفرنسي، نقطة التقاء رمزية لحركة وطنية حديثة ثبّتت شرعيته. وفاز السلطان بالحكم، بعد تغيير لقبه إلى “ملك” عام 1956م، في الصراع على السلطة بعد الاستقلال.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

من الاستقلال إلى سلالات الأشراف (١٩٥٦-١٥٥٤)

ظلت السلطة خاصية موروثة لنسل مؤسس سلالة العلويين، مولاي الشريف وولده مولاي الرشيد (1666–1672)، الذي استولى على السلطة بعد تفكّك سلالة السعديين بعد نصف قرن من الحرب الأهلية. وادعت السلالتان الكبيرتان أن شرعيتهما مستمدة من تحدّرهما من سلالة النبي محمد.

ورغم انهيار الدولة السعدية في بدايات النصف الثاني من القرن السابع عشر، بقيت العمود الفقري للسلطة المركزية في مراكش. وأصبح التحدر من سلالة الأشراف المصدر الأساسي للشرعية.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

بين الإسبان والمرينيين والموحدين والفاطميين (١٥٥٩-٩٧٢)

بلغت سلطة سلالة المرينيين ذروتها في عهد السلطان أبو عنان فارس، الذي مات خنقاً على يد وزيره، مما أدى إلى نشوب صراع طويل بين السلاطين والوزراء. وفي نهاية المطاف، أصبح المرينيون ضعفاء. وبدأت السلالة المرينية بالانهيار. احتكرت قبيلة بني الوطاس البربرية منصب الوزير. وفي عام 1472م، أعلن أحد أفرادها نفسه سلطاناً.

بعد سقوط غرناطة (1492م)، استولى الأسبان على مليلية في أقصى الشمال الشرقي عام 1497م، وصخرة الحسيمة وجزيرتين صغيرتين قريبتين منها عام 1559م، وصخرة قميرة في الغرب عام 1564م. في حين سيطر البرتغاليون على الساحل الأطلسي باحتلالهم لأرغين (موريتانيا الحالية، 1499) وآنفا (الدار البيضاء الحالية، 1458) وأغادير (1505) وآسفي (1507) وأزمّور (1513) ومازاغان (الجديدة) (1515).
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

كان بنو مرين قبيلة بربرية في جيش الموحدين. ومع تداعي سلطة الموحدين، احتلوا مكناس عام 1245م. وبحلول عام 1269م، كان بنو مرين قد احتلوا معظم المغرب الحالية. وعلى خلاف المرابطين  والموحدين، لم تكن المرينية حركة دينية إصلاحية، وإنما صادقوا العلماء وشددوا على التعاليم الدينية.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

مطلع القرن الحادي عشر، توحدت الدويلات المغربية تحت لواء أولى الإمبراطوريتين الإسلاميتين المغربيتين المرابطين  والموحدين. وخلال القرنين التاليين، توحدت إفريقيا الشمالية الشرقية بفعل الحركات السياسية الناشئة.

وبنهاية القرن التاسع، دخلت حركة أخرى شمال غرب إفريقيا، وهذه المرة من الشرق مباشرة: حركة الفاطميين الشيعة الذين أسسوا سلالة جديدة في تونس.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

من الفاطميين إلى وصول الإسلام (٩٧٢-٧٠٤)

حلّ العباسيون السنّة محل الأمويين وحكموا العالم الإسلامي من بغداد، وتحولت فاس إلى وجهة للاجئين من الأندلس والقيروان، مما زاد من غناها وتقدمها الفكري.

كانت الحركة الأهم هي الشيعية، مركزها قرب “وليلي”، حيث التجأ إدريس بن عبد الله، (من نسل علي والحسن بن فاطمة). أقام إدريس مستوطنة صغيرة على ضفاف نهر فاس. وبعد مقتله، خلفه ابنه إدريس الثاني، فحكم منطقة امتدت من جبال الريف إلى بلاد سوس، وتوفي إدريس الثاني عام 828م.

قاد القائد الأمازيغي طارق بن زياد، حاكم طنجة، الجيش الإسلامي الأول، والذي كان بمعظمه من البربر، عبر مضيق جبل طارق عام 715م. غير أن العديد من البربر احتجوا على سلوك النخبة من العرب الذين عاملوا البربر بدونية.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

بدأ الفتح الإسلامي الحقيقي لشمال غرب إفريقيا في ظل الخلافة الأموية. فأسس عقبة بن نافع قاعدة في القيروان، وفي عام 704م، تم إنشاء إقليم جديد في القيروان، وأطلق حاكمه الأول موسى بن نصير الغزوة الحقيقية لشمال غرب إفريقيا. وبحلول عام 710م، استولى على سبتة وطنجة.

في ظل الإمبراطورية الرومانية، كانت المغرب نقطة حدودية نائية. وفي أولى سنوات حكم الإمبراطورية الإسلامية، تأثرت بشدة بالأحداث السياسية الكبيرة في الشرق الإسلامي، خصوصاً الانقسامات الإيديولوجية والدينية.

الفاندال والبيزنطيون (٧٠٤-٤٢٩)

أواخر القرن الرابع، هاجم الفاندال الجرمانيون حدود الإمبراطورية الرومانية، وعبروا أوروبا إلى إسبانيا، وغزَوا شمال إفريقيا عام 429م.

لم يدم حكم الفاندال طويلاً في المناطق التي استولوا عليها، فقد تم إعادة بناء الإمبراطورية الرومانية، ومحاولة فرض السيطرة الرومانية على شمال إفريقيا. لكن أقصى الشمال الغربي كان نائياً، فاقتصرت السيطرة البيزنطية على سبتة وطنجة.
لقراءة المزيد أنقر هنا

وكانت موريتانيا الطنجية إحدى الأقاليم الرومانية على طول الساحل الشمالي للقارة الإفريقية، غير أنّ السيطرة الرومانية لم تتوسع عميقاً في القارة. وتميزت هذه السيطرة بشريط من المعاقل العسكرية الممتدة في الداخل اعتباراً من ساحل المحيط الأطلسي في سلا. وكانت الحدود شبكة من القلاع والقنوات التي حمت المناطق الواقعة تحت السيطرة الرومانية المباشرة.

وبحلول الألفية الثالثة قبل الميلاد، توسعت الصحراء لتفصل المغرب عن بلدان إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى وتربطه بحوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وبحلول نهاية الألفية الأولى قبل الميلاد، كانت الظروف المناخية في المغرب شبيهةً بما هي عليه اليوم.
لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

من الممالك الأولى في المنطقة: مملكة المور، وهي اتحاد قبائل في القرن الرابع قبل الميلاد؛ ومملكة “الماسيلاس” في القرن الثالث قبل الميلاد بين نهر ملوية ومدينة قسنطينة.

بعد القرن الثامن قبل الميلاد، انتقل الفينيقيون من صور، جنوب لبنان  الحالية، إلى غرب البحر الأبيض المتوسط وأقاموا شريطاً من المدن الساحلية، وكانت قرطاج التونسية أهم هذه المدن، وفي المغرب روسادير (مليلية الحالية)، وليكسوس القريبة من مدينة العرائش في القرن السابع قبل الميلاد.

هناك بعض الآثار المادية لسكان المغرب القدامى، تعود لنحو (12,000 قبل الميلاد) حيث الثقافة الأورانية غرب المغرب.
لقراءة المزيد أنقر هنا.

إقرأ المزيد

هناك بعض الآثار المادية لسكان المغرب القدامى، مثل الأدوات التي كان يستعملها "السكان البدائيون" في سيدي عبد الرحمن قرب الدار ال...
استقلالها حتى عام 1956، بعد 11 سنة من انتهاء الحرب العالمية الثانية.
أشرف الحسن الثاني (1961-1999) على الدستور المغربي والانتخابات التشريعية الأولى. فتلاعب بالأحزاب السياسية، وحكم المناطق الريفية من...
فتح الملك الحسن مفاوضات مع إسبانيا وموريتانيا، وأوقف المطالب المغربية بضم سبتة ومليلية، ووقّع اتفاقات مع إسبانيا تمنح المغرب...
من منظورٍ وطني ودولي، تؤكد نتائج الانتخابات على صورة المغرب كبلدٍ قادرٍ على دمج مختلف القوى السياسية والقوى المحركة التي تولد...
أدى هذا الجو الجديد إلى انتخابات عام 1996، التي كانت أكثر إنصافاً من الانتخابات السابقة. عام 1998، قام زعيم الاتحاد الاشتراكي للقو...
حضر جنازة الحسن الثاني عام 1999 الملك الأردني الجديد، والأمير البحريني الجديد، والرئيس الجزائري الجديد، ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائ...
لا ينبغي المبالغة بالتصفيق لنجاحات حزب العدالة والتنمية النسبية في المناوارات السياسية على الساحة المغربية، على الرغم من الت...
الأراضي الإسبانية السابقة موضع نزاعٍ مستمر منذ عقود بين المغرب وجبهة البوليساريو...
في 4 سبتمبر 2015، توجب على المواطنين المغاربة إنتخاب مرشحين لشغل 30,000 معقداً في المجالس المحلية و700 مقعداً في المجالس الإقليمية م...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Morocco / Past to Present

The History of Morocco from Present to Past

Francisco Franco (left), Spain's Chief of State, is greeting Sultan Mohamed V of Morocco. The Sultan came to Madrid to discuss details of Spain's formal recognition of the independence and "full sovereignty" of Morocco and the abolition of the 44-year-old Spanish protectorate. //Photo Corbis
Francisco Franco (left), Spain’s Chief of State, is greeting Sultan Mohamed V of Morocco. The Sultan came to Madrid to discuss details of Spain’s formal recognition of the independence and “full sovereignty” of Morocco and the abolition of the 44-year-old Spanish protectorate. //Photo Corbis

The Moroccan Kingdom enjoys a geographic location that enabled it to play prestigious historic, civil, cultural and scientific roles over time. This country was a bridge for civilizations between north, south, east and west of the earth.

Fanack dives in this section into Morocco’s history from present to past. By this, we attempt to get through the conclusive events that laid out this country’s present and identity from a historian’s perspective.

Post-Independence Morocco (2020 – 1956)

After succeeding his father King Hassam II mid-1999, Mohamed VI released the political prisoners and allowed the exiled to return to their country. Furthermore, he dismissed the minister of interior Idriss Basri. By 2004, political pressures over human rights violations intensified, forcing the young king to establish the Equity and Reconciliation Commission.

To read more, click here.

In February 1961, King Hassan II succeeded his father Muhammad V. In addition to changing the Alaouite dynasty into a royalty, King Hassan created a new position for himself: he became the Amir al-Mu’minin (Prince of believers). During a reign that lasted for 38 years, King Hassan oppressed his opponents and exiled some of them.

During the French occupation, Mohammed V’ Sultan Yousef, who succeeded his father, was considered as a symbol for the new national movement that anchored his legitimacy. After changing the title to “King” in 1956, Mohammed V won in the struggle over authority after independence.
To read more, click here.

From the Independence to the Sharifian Dynasties (1956 – 1554)

Authority remained an inherited quality passed by genealogical descent from the founder of the Alaouite dynasty Moulay al-Cherif and his son Moulay al-Rashid (1666 -1672) who seized power when the Saadi dynasty disintegrated in half a century of civil war. Both dynasties claimed their legitimacy ultimately from descent from the Prophet Muhammad. Despite the Saadi collapse, the skeleton of a central power survived in Marrakesh. The idea of sharifian descent became a principal source of legitimacy.

To read more, click here.

The Spanish, Marinids, Almohads and the Fatimids (1559 – 972)

The Marinids Dynasty’s power was at its prime during the reign of Sultan Abu Inan Faris, who died strangled by his vizier. As a result, a prolonged conflict erupted between sultans and viziers. In the end, the Marinids became weak, and their dynasty began deteriorating. The Banu Wattas tribe monopolized the position of vizier and, in 1472, one of them declared himself Sultan.

After the fall of Granada (1492), the Spanish took Melilla in the far north-east in 1497, Peñon de Alhucemas and two nearby islets in 1559, and Peñon de Vélez in the west in 1564. The Portuguese seized control of the Atlantic coast by occupying Arguin (in modern Mauritania, 1499), Anfa (modern Casablanca, 1458), Agadir (1505), Safi (1507), Azemmour (1513), and Mazagan (al-Jedida) (1515).

The Banu Marin was a Berber tribe in the Almohad army. As Almohad power faltered, they occupied Meknes in 1245. By 1269, Banu Marin had conquered most of what would become Morocco. Unlike the Almoravids or Almohads, the Marinids were not a reformist religious movement. Instead, they befriended the scholars and emphasized religious orthodoxy and scholarship.

At the start of the 11th century, the Moroccan statelets were united by the first of two great Moroccan Muslim empires; Almoravids or Almohads. For the next two centuries north-west Africa was united by emerging political movements.

At the end of the 9th century, a new heterodoxy entered north-west Africa, this time directly from the east, in the form of the Shiite Fatimids who founded a new dynasty based in Tunisia.

To read more, click here.

From the Fatimids to the Coming of Islam (972 – 704)

The Sunni Abbasids replaced the Umayyads and ruled from Baghdad. Fez became a destination for migrants from Andalusia and Kairouan and this added to its wealth and intellectual sophistication.

The most important movement was Shiite and was centred near Volubilis, where Idris ibn Abdullah, who was descended from Ali and Fatima’s son Hasan, found refuge. He built a small settlement on the banks of the River Fez. After he was murdered, his son (Idris II) succeeded him and ruled over an area from the Rif Mountains to Sous, then he died in 828.

The Amazigh commander, Tariq ibn Ziyad, the governor of Tangier, led the first Muslim army, which was also largely Amazign, across the Strait of Gibraltar in 715. However, many Amazigh resented the way the Arab elite behaved, treating the Berbers unequally.

The real Islamic conquest of north-west Africa was launched during the era of the Umayyad Caliphate. Uqba ibn Nafi founded a new base at Kairouan. In 704, a new province was established at Kairouan. Musa bin Nusayr, the first governor, launched the real conquest of north-west Africa. By 710, he had taken Ceuta and Tangier.

Under the Roman Empire, Morocco had been an outpost. In the early years of the Islamic empire, it was greatly affected by the major political events in the Islamic east, particularly the ideological and religious schisms.

To read more, click here.

The Vandals and the Byzantines (704 – 429)

Late in the 4th century the Germanic Vandals attacked the borders of the Roman Empire. They crossed Europe into Spain, and in 429 invaded North Africa.

Vandal rule did not last long in the areas they conquered. The Roman Empire was rebuilt and attempted to reimpose its control over North Africa. However, the far north-west was peripheral: Byzantine occupation was limited to Ceuta and Tangier.

Mauritania Tingitana was one of the Roman provinces along the north coast of Africa. However, the Roman control did not extend far into the continent. This control was marked by a string of military strongholds stretching inland from the Atlantic coast at Salé. The border was a network of forts and tunnels that protected the areas under direct Roman control.

By the third millennium BC, the Sahara expanded, splitting the Maghreb off from sub-Saharan Africa, and connecting it to the Mediterranean basin. By the end of the first millennium BCE, the climatic conditions in Morocco were roughly those of today.

The first indigenous kingdoms were that of the Mauri, a tribal federation in the 4th century BCE, and the Maesulians, in the 3rd century BCE, between the River Moulouya and the present-day city of Constantine.

After the 8th century BCE, Phoenicians from Tyre, in what is now southern Lebanon, moved into the western Mediterranean and established a line of coastal settlements. Carthage, in Tunisia, was the most important, and in Morocco there were settlements at Rusaddir (now Melilla) and Lixus, near present-day Larache in the 7th century BCE.

There are some physical remains of the early inhabitants of Morocco, dating back to 12,000 BCE where the Oranian culture in western Morocco once existed.

To read more, click here.

Further Reading

There are some physical remains of the early inhabitants of Morocco, such as the tools of the 'pebble people' at Sidi Abderrahman, near Casablanca, and the later flint tools (12,000 BCE) of the Oranian culture in western Morocco. ...
Morocco did not achieve independence until 1956, eleven years after World War II.
Hassan II (r. 1961-1999) oversaw the Moroccan Constitution and the first legislative elections. He manipulated the political parties, ruled the countryside through rural qaids (administrators), and controlled the army personally. ...
King Hassan opened negotiations with Spain and Mauritania, froze the Moroccan claims to Ceuta and Melilla, and signed accords with Spain giving Morocco control over the northern part of the colony and Mauritania control over the s...
Seen from both a national and international perspective, the election results confirm Morocco’s image as a country that is capable of integrating the various political forces and the dynamics they generate. This fact is of extre...
The new mood led to elections in 1996, which were much fairer than earlier ones. In 1998 Abderrahman al-Youssoufi, the leader of the Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP), who had long been an exile in France, formed a coalitio...
Hassan II's funeral in 1999 was attended by a new Jordanian King, a new Emir of Bahrain, a new President of Algeria, and a new Prime Minister of Israel. Shortly afterwards, President Hafiz al-Assad of Syria died and was succeeded ...
The PJD’s relative success in manoeuvring Morocco’s politics should not be overstated, despite the economic progress that has been reached; nor should it be overshadowed by the difficulties that are arising.
In late 2014, Kosmos Energy began drilling in the offshore of Western Sahara; the drilling has both negative and positive aspects for Morocco and beyond.
On 4 September 2015, Morocco’s citizens had to elect people to fill 30,000 local council seats and 700 regional council seats from among 140,000 candidates representing at least 30 parties. This was the first time Moroccans had ...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Corbis

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.