فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / من الماضي الى الحاضر / القمع الشرس في المغرب يُشعل الاضطربات

القمع الشرس في المغرب يُشعل الاضطربات

Morocco- Hirak shaabi
إحدى المتظاهرات المغربيات تلف جسدها بعلم الريف في مظاهرةٍ ضد سجن نشطاء الحراك الشعبي في العاصمة الرباط في 15 يوليو 2018. Photo AFP

أصدر الملك محمد السادس، خلال الربيع العربي، إصلاحاتٍ شاملة لقمع المعارضة الشعبية، بما في ذلك التنازل عن بعض السلطة للبرلمان والاعتراف الرسمي باللغة الأمازيغية للأمازيغ، السكان الأصليين لشمال أفريقيا.

ومع ذلك، استمر الاستياء في التفاقم، وبلغ ذروته في انتفاضةٍ استمرت ثمانية أشهر في منطقة الريف المهمشة تاريخياً والأمازيغية في المقام الأول، منطقة الريف. فقد انفجرت الاحتجاجات في أكتوبر 2016 عندما دخل تاجر أسماكٍ، محسن فكري، في شاحنةٍ لجمع القمامة لاسترداد مخزونٍ من سمك أبو سيف صادرته السلطات. سحقت الشاحنة الضاغطة فكري حتى الموت بداخلها، بأمرٍ من الشرطة، على ما يبدو.

وعليه، قامت الشرطة بشن حملة قمعٍ عنيفة بإطلاق قنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع، وضرب المحتجين بالهراوات واعتقال المئات من الأشخاص.

وبحلول نوفمبر 2017، كان من الواضح أن حملة القمع في الريف دفعت مئات الشبان من المنطقة إلى الهجرة غير النظامية إلى أوروبا، على أمل العثور على حياةٍ أفضل. وقد أجرت صحيفة الجارديان، وهي صحيفة بريطانية، مقابلاتٍ مع طالبي اللجوء في مدينتي ألخيسيدراس وطريفة الإسبانية، حيث اتجهوا في الصيف.

إذ قال أحد الرجال للصحيفة “ضربتنا شرطة مكافحة الشغب المغربية خلال الاحتجاجات. هناك آثار للضرب على يدي. نحن خرجنا بحثاً عن عمل. لا يوجد وظائف في الريف.”

استمر القمع القاسي في المغرب حتى عام 2018، ولكن هذه المرة تصدرت مدينة جرادة الجنوبية المهملة عناوين الصحف.

فقبل أكثر من 20 عاماً أغُلق منجم الفحم المغربي، مما ترك معظم السكان في جرادة عاطلين عن العمل. وعلى الرغم من وعود الحكومة بتطوير المدينة، لم يتحقق أي شيء. وبدلاً من ذلك، تُرك عمال المناجم دون خيارٍ آخر سوى استخراج الفحم باليد من “مناجم الموت” في جرادة، لبيعها للمسؤولين الفاسدين مقابل بضع دراهم.

في نهاية المطاف، استفحلت المظالم التي طال أمدها في ديسمبر 2017، عندما توفي رجلان بعد أن حوصرا في مهواة منجم مهجور. استمرت الاضطرابات حتى مارس 2018، إلى أن سحقت قوات الأمن المظاهرات بقوة مفرطة.

فقد أفادت هيومن رايتس ووتش بأن شرطة مكافحة الشغب داست بشاحنةٍ صغيرة صبياً يبلغ من العمر 16 عاماً. كما اقتحم رجال الشرطة المنازل وضربوا عدة رجال قبل نقلهم بعيداً. وأثناء إجراء أبحاثها، قالت هيومان رايتس ووتش إن موظفيها كانوا يتعرضون لمراقبةٍ لصيقة من قبل قوات الأمن، مما أدى إلى تخويف الناشطين من التعاون مع المنظمة.

وقالت المنظمة الحقوقية في تقريرها أن “باحثي هيومن رايتس ووتش الذين زاروا جرادة في الرابع من أبريل أوقفوا وجرى استجوابهم عند نقطتي تفتيش أمنيين ثم قاموا بعمليات تفتيش متواصلة طوال اليوم بسيارة بها ثلاثة رجال يرتدون ملابس مدنية.” وأضافت “لاحظ الباحثون تواجداً كثيفاً لقوات الأمن، حيث تم نشر الشرطة المسلحة النظامية في كل شارع رئيسي وساحة في المدينة الصغيرة، فضلاً عن تواجد أكثر من 100 شاحنة شرطة في المنطقة المجاورة.”

وبحلول الصيف، تم الإعلان عن الأحكام الصادرة بحق زعماء الحراك الشعبي المسجونين، وهي حركة شعبية ظهرت في منطقة الريف بعد وفاة فكري. وفي 26 يونيو 2018، حكم على ناصر الزفزافي بالسجن لمدة 20 سنة بتهمة “تقويض النظام العام وتهديد الأمن القومي.” كما صدر نفس الحكم على نبيل أحمجيق ووسيم البستاني وسمير إغيد بالسجن 20 سنة. وحكم على ثلاثة معارضين آخرين بالسجن لمدة 15 سنة. وبالمجمل، حكم على 53 شخصاً بالسجن بعد محاكمة استمرت تسعة أشهر.

أشعلت الأحكام المزيد من الاحتجاجات في أرجاء المغرب. وفي العاصمة الرباط، كانت عائلات المعتقلين من بين عشرات الآلاف من الأشخاص الذين نزلوا إلى الشوارع حاملين لافتات كتب عليها “العدل” و”حرروا النشطاء.”

وقال والد الزفزافي، أحمد، للصحفيين إن ابنه كان في السجن عندما تم إبلاغه بإدانته. وأضاف أحمد أن ابنه لم يكن يهتم إذا ما تم سجنه لمدة 20 أو 30 عاماً، إلا أنه أراد أن يدافع الآخرون عن قضيته. كما أخبر الناشط المسجون والده أن سماع الناس الذين يحتجون على عقوبته جعله فخوراً.
ومنذ صدور الحكم، اتخذت العديد من الخطوات الكمالية لتحديث البلاد. ففي 15 نوفمبر 2018، كشف المغرب عن أول خط سكة حديد فائق السرعة في أفريقيا بحضور الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون. ومع ذلك، لم يُثر الأمر إعجاب النشطاء.

وقالت كريمة نادر، وهي رئيسة مؤسسة صحفية وناشطة، لراديو فرانس إنترناشيونال: “نحن نشتري قطاراً فائق السرعة ليقول العالم أن المغرب بلدٌ متطورٌ للغاية.” وأضافت “نحن بحاجة إلى إصلاح البنية التحتية للقطارات العادية أولاً. نحن بحاجة إلى وسائل نقل عامة في دولةٍ محترمة، ونحتاج إلى المستشفيات والمدارس والوظائف.”

يتفق محمد مصباح، وهو زميل مشارك في تشاتام هاوس، مع ذلك، فقد كتب أن السلطات تستطيع تهدئة المتظاهرين من خلال الحوار وإلغاء المرسوم الملكي الذي اعتبر منطقة الريف منطقةً عسكرية منذ عام 1958. ولكن على المدى الطويل، يكمن الحل فحسب، بحسب مصباح، بالحد من الفساد والحد من الفقر في الريف، وغيرها من المناطق الفقيرة.

ولكن، لا يبدو أن السلطات مهتمة بالحوار، فقد وضع المسؤولون المتظاهرين في الريف ضمن قالب العملاء الأجانب أو الانفصاليين الذين يريدون استعادة جمهورية الريف، التي أعلنها في عام 1921 المناضل المناهض للاستعمار عبد الكريم الخطابي بعد أن قاد بنجاحٍ ثورةً ضد الإسبان.

وبعد خمس سنواتٍ فقط، استخدمت القوات الإسبانية والفرنسية أسلحةً كيميائية ألمانية الصنع لإرهاب المدنيين في المنطقة وتدمير الجمهورية. في ذلك الوقت، لم تثر جمهورية الريف غضب القوى الاستعمارية فحسب، بل أرعبت أيضاً المخزن، السلطة الحاكمة للمغرب وتونس.

انتفض شعب الريف مرةً أخرى في أواخر خمسينيات القرن الماضي، إلا أن الأمير الحسن الثاني، الملك المستقبلي ووالد محمد السادس، شنّ حملةً عنيفة ضد المتظاهرين. كما قام بالتمييز الهيكلي ضد الريف من خلال رفض الاستثمار في الخدمات والبنية التحتية المناسبة لأكثر من 40 عاماً. ألغى محمد السادس تلك السياسة، بيد أن استثماراته فشلت في تحسين مستوى معيشة معظم الناس.

وعلى الرغم من ذلك، كتبت أورسولا لينسي في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز أن هذه شهادة على الانفتاح النسبي للمغرب الذي اعتقد المتظاهرون في الريف أن بمقدورهم التمرد دون عواقب وخيمة. بالطبع، كانوا مخطئين. وكما أثبت التاريخ، فإن قمع المظاهرات لن يقضي على المظالم التي تعد بالاشتعال مرةً أخرى.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Morocco / Past to Present / Harsh Repression in Morocco Fuels Unrest

Harsh Repression in Morocco Fuels Unrest

Morocco- Hirak shaabi
A Moroccan demonstrator draped in the “Rif flag” marches in a protest against the jailing of Al-Hirak al-Shaabi or “Popular Movement” activists in the capital Rabat on July 15, 2018. Photo AFP

During the Arab Spring, King Mohammed VI  passed sweeping reforms to quell popular dissent, including ceding some power to parliament and officially recognizing the Tamazight language of the Amazigh, a people indigenous to North Africa.

Yet discontent continued to fester, culminating in an eight-month uprising in the historically marginalized and mainly Amazigh Rif region. Protests exploded in October 2016 when a fishmonger, Mouhcine Fikri, lunged into a garbage truck to retrieve a stock of swordfish that authorities had confiscated. The compactor then crushed Fikri to death, seemingly at the order of the police. The police cracked down by firing teargas, beating protestors with batons and arresting hundreds of people.

By November 2017, it was clear that the crackdown in Rif was pushing hundreds of young men from the region to migrate irregularly to Europe, in hopes of finding a better life. The Guardian, a British Daily, interviewed asylum seekers in the Spanish cities of Algeciras and Tarifa who had fled in the summer.

“The Moroccan riot police beat us up during the protests. I have marks on my hand. [And] we left for work. There are no jobs in Rif,” one of the men told the newspaper.

Harsh repression in Morocco continued into 2018. But this time, it was the neglected southern town of Jerada that was making headlines.

More than 20 years ago, the Morocco Coal Mine shut down, leaving most residents in Jerada unemployed. Despite government promises to develop the town, nothing materialized. Miners were instead left with little choice but to extract coal by hand from Jerada’s ‘death mines’, only to sell it to corrupt officials for a few dirhams.

Long-standing grievances finally boiled over in December 2017, when two men died after they became trapped in the shaft of an abandoned mine. Unrest continued until March 2018, when security services crushed the demonstrations with excessive force.

Human Rights Watch (HRW) reported that riot police even drove a van into a 16-year-old boy. Police agents also broke into houses and beat several men before hauling them away. While carrying out its research, HRW said that its employees were closely monitored by security services, effectively scaring activists from cooperating with the organization.

‘Human Rights Watch researchers who visited Jerada on 4 April were stopped and interrogated at two security checkpoints, then closely followed all day by a car containing three men in civilian clothes,’ the rights group stated in its report. ‘The researchers observed a heavy presence of security forces, with armed uniformed police posted in every major street and square of the small city, and more than 100 police vans in the vicinity.’

By the summer, the verdicts of the imprisoned leaders of Hirak Chaabi, a grassroots movement that emerged in Rif following Fikri’s death, were announced. On 26 June 2018, Nasser Zefzafi was sentenced to 20 years in prison for ‘undermining public order and threatening national security’. The same verdict sentenced Nabil Ahmijeq, Wassim el-Boustani and Samir Aghid to 20 years in jail. Three other dissenters were handed 15-year prison sentences. In total, 53 people were sentenced to jail following a nine-month trial.

The sentences ignited more protests across Morocco. In the capital Rabat, the families of detainees were among tens of thousands of people who took to the streets carrying signs that read ‘Justice’ and ‘Free the Activists’.

Zefzafi’s father, Ahmad, told reporters that his son was in prison when he was informed of his conviction. Ahmad added that his son did not care if he was imprisoned for 20 or 30 years but wanted others to champion his cause. The imprisoned activist also told his father that hearing people protesting his sentence made him proud.

Since the verdict, several cosmetic steps have been taken to modernize the country. On 15 November 2018, Morocco unveiled Africa’s first high-speed rail line, with French President Emanuel Macron in attendance. However, activists were not impressed.

“We are buying a high-speed line, so the rest of the world will say Morocco is a very modern country,” Karima Nadir, a publisher and activist, told Radio France International. “We need to fix the infrastructure for the normal trains first. We need public transport in a decent state, and we need hospitals, schools and jobs.”

Mohammad Masbah, an associate fellow at Chatham House, agrees. He wrote that the authorities can appease protestors through dialogue and by reversing a royal decree that has designated Rif a military zone since 1958. But in the long term, said Masbah, limiting corruption and reducing poverty in Rif, and other impoverished regions, is the only solution.

However, the authorities do not seem interested in dialogue. Officials have framed Rif protestors as foreign agents or separatists who want to restore the Rif Republic, which was proclaimed in 1921 by the anti-colonial fighter Abdelkrim al-Khattabi after he successfully lead a revolt against the Spanish.

Just five years later, Spanish and French forces used German-made chemical weapons to terrorize civilians in the region and destroy the republic. At the time, the Rif Republic not only angered the colonial powers, it also contested the Makhzen, the ruling authority of Morocco and Tunisia.

The people from Rif rose up again in the late 1950s. But Prince Hassan II, future king and father of Mohammed VI, violently cracked down on demonstrators. He also structurally discriminated against Rif by refusing to invest in services and adequate infrastructure for more than 40 years. Mohammed VI reversed that policy, but his investments have failed to improve the standard of living of most people.

Nevertheless, Ursula Linsey wrote in The New York Times that it is a testament to the relative openness of Morocco that Rif protestors believed they could revolt without major consequences. They were wrong, of course. And as history has proven, repressing the demonstrations will not eliminate grievances that promise to boil over again.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.