فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / من الماضي الى الحاضر / نهاية الحكم الإسباني في الصحراء الكبرى / وساطة جيمس بيكر

وساطة جيمس بيكر

جيمس بيكر تاريخ المغرب
جيمس بيكر

في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1997، عيّن الأمين العام الجديد كوفي أنان الوزير السابق للخارجية الأمريكية جيمس بيكر كمبعوث شخصي للتوسط بين الطرفين. استطاع بيكر إقناع المغرب وجبهة البوليساريو باستئناف عملية التحديد، والتي اكتملت بشكل شبه كامل مع حلول شهر أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1998، باستثناء ثلاث مجموعات قبلية. وتوقفت العملية بعد ذلك، ولم تستأنف مجدداً إلا في منتصف عام 1999، بعد موافقة الحكومة المغربية وجبهة البوليساريو على اقتراح الأمم المتحدة بشأن هذه المجموعات المتبقية. واستكملت العملية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1999، ولكن الطرفين اعترضا على عمليات الاستئناف وعودة اللاجئين.

توقفت العملية منذ ذلك الحين، على الرغم من الاجتماعات الكثيرة التي عقدها بيكر. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر عام 2000، لمّح الطرف المغربي إلى إمكانية التوصل إلى حل نهائي على أساس الحكم الذاتي في حال اعترفت جبهة البوليساريو بسيادة المغرب وسلامة أراضيه. ولكن جبهة البوليساريو رفضت هذه الفكرة على الفور، وأصرت على خطة التسوية الأصلية. وعندما فشلت الحكومة المغربية في تقديم اقتراحات تفصيلية، قام بيكر بإعداد اتفاق نموذجي: خلال فترة أولية من خمس سنوات، تحصل الصحراء الغربية على حكم ذاتي محدود بإدارة منتخبة محلياً؛ وتشرف الحكومة المغربية على العلاقات الخارجية والأمن القومي والدفاع الخارجي والعملة وأنظمة البريد والاتصالات، بالإضافة إلى رفع العلم المغربي؛ وبعد فترة الخمس سنوات، يتم إجراء استفتاء شعبي. رفضت جبهة البوليساريو هذا الاتفاق. فأعد بيكر “خطة السلام لتقرير مصير الشعب الصحراوي” التي كانت تشبه الاتفاق إلى حد كبير، غير أنها صيغت بطريقة منحت الطرفين فرصة عادلة للفوز في الاستفتاء. عام 2003، عرض بيكر الخطة أمام مجلس الأمن، غير أن الحكومة المغربية رفضتها لأنها تمنح الصحراء فرصة الاستقلال. وافقت جبهة البوليساريو على الخطة واعتمدها مجلس الأمن الدولي (القرار 1495). وكررت الاقتراحات المضادة التي قدمتها المغرب في أواخر عام 2003 وأوائل عام 2004 عرض الحكم الذاتي ولم تذكر أي شيء حول الحق في تقرير المصير. بالتالي، فقد الأمين العام الأمل في نيسان/أبريل عام 2004 وهدد الطرفين بإنهاء البعثة في حال لم يوافقا على خطة السلام. واستقال بيكر في حزيران/يونيو عام 2004.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن المغرب يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
حظيت المملكة المغربية بموقع جغرافي، هيأ لها القيام بأدوار تاريخي...
فتح الملك الحسن مفاوضات مع إسبانيا وموريتانيا، وأوقف المطالب الم...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: S. MITHOU ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Morocco / Past to Present / The End of Spanish Rule in the Sahara / James Baker’s mediation

James Baker’s mediation

James Baker
James Baker

In December 1997, a new Secretary General, Kofi Annan, appointed a personal envoy, the former US secretary of state James Baker, to mediate. Baker persuaded Morocco and POLISARIO to restart the identification process, and this was largely completed by September 1998, except for three tribal groups. The process then stalled and restarted only in mid-1999, after POLISARIO and the Moroccan government accepted a UN proposal on these remaining groups. That was completed in December 1999, but both parties then disagreed on the appeals process and the repatriation of refugees.

The process has been stalled ever since, despite Baker’s numerous meetings. In September 2000, the Moroccan side hinted that, provided POLISARIO acknowledged Moroccan sovereignty and territorial integrity, there could be a definitive solution on the basis of autonomy. POLISARIO rejected this idea outright and insisted on the original settlement plan. When the Moroccan government failed to come up with detailed proposals, Baker prepared his own Framework Agreement. During an initial five-year period, the Western Sahara, with a locally elected administration, would have limited autonomy. The Moroccan government would control foreign relations, national security, external defence, currency, and postal and telecommunications systems, and the Moroccan flag would fly. After five years, there would be a referendum. POLISARIO rejected this. Baker then prepared a Peace Plan for Self-Determination for the People of Western Sahara, which was much the same, except that it was reformulated so that each side would have a fair chance to win the referendum. In 2003, Baker presented the plan to the Security Council, but the Moroccan government refused it, because it offered the chance of Saharan independence. POLISARIO accepted the plan, and the UN Security Council adopted it (Resolution 1495). Moroccan counter-proposals, in late 2003 and early 2004, simply repeated the offer of autonomy and made no mention of self-determination. So, in April 2004, the Secretary General gave up and threatened that, if both parties failed to accept the peace plan, MINURSO would be shut down. Baker resigned in June 2004.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Morocco country file provides a comprehensive overview about Morocco, its history, politics, culture, economy...
The Moroccan Kingdom enjoys a geographic location that enabled it to play prestigious historic, civil, cultural and scie...
King Hassan opened negotiations with Spain and Mauritania, froze the Moroccan claims to Ceuta and Melilla, and signed ac...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!