الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب / حقوق الإنسان في المغرب / المغرب: قانون الوزيرة الحقاوي الجديد الذي يجرّم العنف ضد النساء غير كافٍ

المغرب: قانون الوزيرة الحقاوي الجديد الذي يجرّم العنف ضد النساء غير كافٍ

Morocco- Bassima Hakkaoui
وزيرة الأسرة والتضامن المغربية، بسيمة الحقاوي، تصل إلى وزارتها في الرباط. كانت الحقاوي القوة الدافعة وراء القانون الجديد الذي يهدف إلى محاربة العنف ضد المرأة. Photo AFP

تبنت الحكومة المغربية، رسمياً، في 14 فبراير 2018، مشروع القانون رقم 103-13 (الذي أصبح اليوم يُعرف بقانون الحقاوي). ويهدف القانون، الذي سُمي بإسم بسيمة الحقاوي، وزيرة الأسرة والتضامن المغربية والتي كانت القوة الدافعة وراء التشريع، إلى محاربة العنف ضد المرأة. واعتمد القانون بعد أن بقي معلقاً في الدائرة التشريعية منذ وصول حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية الإسلامي إلى السلطة في يونيو 2016.

وشددت الحقاوي على أن القانون جزءٌ من عملية “توطيد الديمقراطية والتكافؤ، وفقاً لأحكام الدستور التي تهدف إلى مكافحة جميع أشكال التمييز على أساس الجنس.” ومن الناحية العملية، يوفر القانون بعض الحماية ضد العنف، مثل التحرش في الشوارع وإجبار القاصر على الزواج، ويُعاقب عليه بالحبس ما بين 6 إلى 12 شهراً. كما ينص القانون على رعاية النساء من ضحايا العنف، فضلاً عن وضع آلياتٍ للتنسيق بين أصحاب المصلحة لمكافحة العنف ضد المرأة، مع إبراز الدور الهام الذي تلعبه جمعيات المجتمع المدني في هذا المجال.

ومع ذلك، رافق اعتماد القانون عدم اكتراثٍ عام من جانب أعضاء البرلمان وغضب الجمعيات النسائية والمجتمع المدني ككل. فقد ناقش مشروع القانون أقل من ثلث أعضاء مجلس المستشارين (38 بالمجمل)، وفي الجلسة العامة، وافق 25 منهم فقط على القانون. فمنذ أن تولى الإسلاميون زعامة ائتلاف ما بعد الربيع العربي، تنامى الخوف من رد فعلٍ عنيف ضد حقوق المرأة.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، قوبل القانون بانتقاداتٍ شديدة من قِبل المنظمات النسوية غير الحكومية، الذين جادلوا أن ملاحظاتهم واقتراحاتهم فيما يتعلق بتجريم العنف المنزلي والاعتراف بالعنف المنزلي ضد الأولاد والذي قدمت إلى وزارة الحقاوي قبل سن القانون لم تؤخذ بعين الاعتبار، ونتيجةً لذلك، فإن القانون الجديد لا يفي بالمعايير الدولية. فالعديد من جمعيات حقوق النساء القوية، لا سيما الجمعية الديمقراطية لنساء المغرب، لم توافق على قانون الحقاوي. وصرحت سعيدة الإدريسي، رئيسة الجمعية بقولها “إنه عدم احترام للعمل الطويل الذي قامت به الجمعيات والمجتمع المدني لجعل هذا المشروع إنجازاً حقيقياً للمرأة.” وأضافت ” “إن السرعة التي نوقش بها [القانون] في الجلسة العامة لمجلس المستشارين تعكس مرةً أخرى عدم اهتمام الممثلين المنتخبين بحقوق المرأة.”

كما أن لجمعية التعبئة من أجل الحقوق نفس الرأي، إذ أشارت في بيانٍ صدر قبل بضعةٍ أسابيع، إلى أوجه القصور في مشروع القانون هذا الذي غض الطرف عن العديد من التوصيات الصادرة عن المجتمع المدني لتحسينها. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يزال تجريم الاغتصاب الزوجي، الذي تتم المطالبة به منذ سنوات، مفقوداً.

فما سبب اللامبالاة هذه وعدم التوافق؟ تكمن جذور المشكلة في الزيادة الهائلة في العنف ضد المرأة في المغرب. ففي عام 2016، تم توثيق 622 حالة عنف جنسي، بما في ذلك 184 حالة اغتصاب و148 حالة إكراه جنسي؛ كما ذكرت التقارير وجود 5037 حالة عنف جسدي، بما في ذلك 237 حالة لمحاولة القتل و241 حالة احتجاز رهائن؛ و119 حالة من حالات الاغتصاب الزوجي؛ و6039 حالة من حالات الإيذاء النفسي، والتي تعادل 40% من مجموع أعمال العنف المرتكبة ضد المرأة، منها 840 حالة تضمنت الإساءة اللفظية، و200 حالة من التهديدات بالقتل، و903 حالات من التهديد بالعنف الجسدي، و206 حالة من التهديدات بالطرد من بيت الزوجية. وعلاوة على ذلك، ووفقاً لأحدث الأرقام، أفادت 6 ملايين امرأة في المغرب بتعرضهنّ للعنف، في حين أن 3,7 مليون منهن يتعرضن للعنف من أزواجهن.

وفي هذا السياق، فمن المحتمل أن قانون الحقاوي الذي طال انتظاره غير كافٍ لإنهاء غياب التشريع وتجريم جميع أشكال العنف ضد المرأة، سواء في المنزل أو في الشارع أو في أي مكانٍ آخر، كما وعدت الحقاوي. إن حقيقة عدم ذكره للاغتصاب الزوجي يحمل في طياته دلالاتٍ كبيرة حول موقف الإسلاميين من حقوق المرأة. ووفقاً لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز، “معظم [ضحايا القانون] إما من الأميين أو من أصحاب التعليم الإبتدائي، ونحو نصفهم ربات بيوت […] يجب أن يعرفوا أن بإمكانهم كسر قيود الخضوع ومطالبتهنّ بحقوق أجسادهنّ.”

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Morocco / Human Rights in Morocco / Morocco’s New Hakkaoui Law On Violence Against Women Falls Short

Morocco’s New Hakkaoui Law On Violence Against Women Falls Short

Morocco- Bassima Hakkaoui
Moroccan Minister of Solidarity, Women, Family and Social Development, Bassima Hakkaoui, arrives at her ministry in Rabat. Hakkaoui has been a driving force behind the new law aims to fight violence against women. Photo AFP

Bill 103-13 (now called the ‘Hakkaoui Law’) was officially adopted by the Moroccan government on 14 February 2018. Named after Bassima Hakkaoui who heads the Ministry of Solidarity, Women, Family and Social Development and has been a driving force behind the legislation, the law aims to fight violence against women. The law was adopted after having been stuck in the legislative circuit since the Islamist PJD government came to power in June 2016.

Hakkaoui stressed that the law is part of a process of “consolidating democracy and parity, in accordance with the provisions of the constitution aimed at combatting all forms of discrimination on the grounds of sex”. In practice, the law provides some protections against violence, for example street harassment and forcing a minor to marry, punishable by between 6-12 months in prison. The law also provides for the care of women victims of violence as well as coordination mechanisms between stakeholders to combat violence against women, highlighting the important role played by civil society associations in this area.

However, the adoption of the law was accompanied by general indifference from MPs and anger from women’s associations and civil society at large. Less than a third of the members of the Chamber of Counsellors (38 in total) debated the bill, and in the plenary session, the law was approved by only 25 of them. Ever since the Islamists took over as the leaders of a post-Arab Spring coalition, the fear of a backlash on women’s rights has been growing.

The law met with severe criticism from feminist non-governmental organizations (NGOs), who believe that their observations and suggestions regarding criminalizing domestic violence and acknowledging domestic violence against boys made to Hakkaoui’s ministry prior to the enactment of the law have not been taken into account, and that, as a result, the new law does not meet international standards. Many powerful women’s rights associations, notably the Association Démocratique des Droits de Femmes (ADFM), did not approve of the Hakkaoui Law. The association’s president, Saida Drissi Amrani, stated, “It is disrespectful of the long work that associations and civil society [have done] to make this project a real breakthrough for women.” She added, “The speed with which [the law] was debated in the plenary session of the Chamber of Counsellors once again reflects the lack of importance given by elected representatives to the rights of women.”

Mobilizing for Rights Associates (MRA) is of the same opinion and pointed out, in a statement issued a few weeks ago, the shortcomings of this bill that has turned a blind eye to many recommendations from civil society to improve it. The criminalization of marital rape, for example, which has been demanded for years, is still missing.

What caused the indifference and lack of consensus? The root of the problem is the dramatic increase in violence against women in Morocco. In 2016, 622 instances of sexual violence, including 184 cases of rape and 148 cases of sexual coercion, were documented; also reported were 5,037 cases of physical violence, including 237 cases of attempted murder and 241 cases of hostage taking; 119 instances of marital rape; 6,039 instances of psychological abuse, equivalent to 40 percent of the total violent acts committed against women, of which 840 consisted of verbal abuse, 200 instances of death threats, 903 instances of threats of physical violence, and 206 cases of threats of expulsion from the marital home. Further, according to the latest figures, 6 million women in Morocco reported having experienced violence, and 3.7 million of them experience violence from their spouses.

Within this context, the long-awaited Hakkaoui Law is likely to fall far short of ending the lack of legislation and punishment of all forms of violence against women, whether at home, on the street or elsewhere, as Hakkaoui herself promised it would. The fact that it does not mention marital rape speaks volumes about the Islamist attitude towards women’s rights. According to The New York Times, “Most [victims of the law] are either illiterate or have a primary school education, and about half are housewives […] They need to know that it is possible to break from subservience and claim their rights over their bodies.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.