فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / السكان في المغرب / تهميش البربر في شمال افريقيا يؤجج حركات الهوية

تهميش البربر في شمال افريقيا يؤجج حركات الهوية

Morocco-Berbers
أفراد من المجتمع البربري الأمازيغي المغربي يغنون أثناء احتفالهم برأس السنة الأمازيغية، في الرباط. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

البربر، أو الأمازيغ (الإنسان الحر باللغة الأمازيغية) كما يُشيرون إلى أنفسهم، هم السكان الأصليون لشمال افريقيا، إذ يعود وجودهم إلى آلاف السنين. ينتشر البربر جغرافياً في المناطق الممتدة من غرب وادي النيل إلى المحيط الأطلسي، ومن البحر الأبيض المتوسط إلى نهر النيجر الذي يغطي مساحات واسعة من الأراضي المتقطعة التي تشمل مصر وليبيا وتونس والجزائر والمغرب وموريتانيا، والنيجر، ونيجيريا، ومالي، وبوركينا فاسو.

يعيش غالبية البربر في المغرب، حيث يتواجدون في الغالب في المناطق الجبلية والصحراوية. لا يشكل البربر مجموعةً عرقية متجانسة، إذ يمكن تحديد ثلاث مناطق رئيسية هي: الشمال، والمركز، والجنوب، حيث تدعي كل منطقة انحدارها من قبيلة رئيسية معينة. وبالتالي، ينحدر البربر في الشمال من قبيلة زناتة، وفي الوسط من قبيلة صنهاجة، وفي الجنوب من قبيلة مصمودة. ومع ذلك، يتحد البربر في المغرب باللغة – الأمازيغية – والوطن، والإجماع على تحديد الهوية إلى جانب التراث والتاريخ المشترك.

فقد كانت أصول البربر موضع جدل، إذ أولى المؤرخون الغربيون والعرب على حد سواء، ممن يحمل كلٌ منهم أجندته الأيديولوجية، أهميةً خاصة لهذا الموضوع. فبالنسبة للمؤرخين الغربيين، أمثال هنري فورنيل وجورج مارصي وموريس بيغاس، يعود أصل البربر إلى الحروب البونيقية الثلاث التي دارت بين روما وقرطاج وانتهت بسقوط قرطاج عام 146 قبل الميلاد. وبعبارةٍ أخرى، ربط المؤرخون الغربيون البربر بفترة مجد الإمبراطورية الرومانية، أي نسبهم ضمنياً لأصولٍ غربية. وفي الوقت نفسه، قام المؤرخون العرب في العصور الوسطى (منهم على سبيل المثال عبد الدايم الزموري ومحمد الإدريسي) بتتبع أصول البربر إلى اليمن، وبالتالي إلى العرب.

وبعد استقلال المغرب عام 1956، استخدمت الأدوات الأثرية والأنثروبولوجية (المتعلقة بعلم الإنسان) واللغوية لمواصلة البحث في هذه الاستفسارات. عارضت الأدلة النتائج السابقة، مما يُشير بدلاً من ذلك أن السكان الحاليين لشمال افريقيا، على امتداد منطقةٍ واسعة تغطي المنطقة الساحلية من مصر إلى موريتانيا، ينحدرون من الشعوب التي عاشت على هذه الأرض منذ عصور ما قبل التاريخ (وهي فترة تقدر بحوالي تسعة آلاف عام) وأن الهجرة لطالما كانت من الشرق إلى الغرب. وبالتالي، لا يمكن أن تكون منطقة البربر سوى تلك الأرض التي لطالما عاش عليها البربر، وعليه فإن الآراء حول أصول البربر تتغير.

أدى الفتح العربي الإسلامي لشمال افريقيا في القرن الثامن إلى مزيجٍ من أسلمة وتعريب شعب البربر. أنهى هذا الكتابة باللغات الأمازيغية في كلٍ من المخطوطات الليبية القديمة والعربية الحديثة، لتقتصر بالتالي على اللغات الشعبية. وفي الوقت نفسه، أقصى تدفق المحاربين العرب البدو من الشرق منذ القرن الحادي عشر البربر من السهول إلى الجبال. حولت هذه العوامل مجتمعة السكان من ناطقين باللغة البربرية إلى ناطقين باللغة العربية، مما أدى إلى فقدان الهويات الأصلية. ومنذ القرن السادس عشر، استمرت العملية في ظل غياب السلالات البربرية، التي حل محلها العرب في المغرب الذين يدعون النسب إلى النبي محمد، والأتراك في الجزائر وتونس وطرابلس.

واليوم، يُعرف البربر بأنهم نسل السكان ما قبل العرب في شمال افريقيا. ومع بزوغ فجر القرن الواحد والعشرين، كان هناك حوالي 14 مليون من البربر في المغرب، و9 ملايين في الجزائر، و6 ملايين في ليبيا، وأعداد أقل بكثير في تونس ومصر وموريتانيا. وفي الصحراء الكبرى جنوب الجزائر وليبيا، ومالي والنيجر، تبلغ أعداد الطوارق البربر حوالي مليون نسمة. وقبل قرنٍ من الزمان، كان البربر لا يزالون يشكلون أغلبيةً جوهريةً من سكان المغرب وأقليةً ذات أهمية من السكان المسلمين في الجزائر الفرنسية. وكانت أعدادهم أصغر في ليبيا العثمانية وأصغر حجماً في تونس إبان الحماية الفرنسية.

وعلى الرغم من أن السكان البربر كانوا محوريين في مزيج الصفات السياسية والاجتماعية والثقافية واللغوية التي تُميّز شمال أفريقيا، إلا أنه تم تهميشهم تاريخياً وسياسياً واجتماعياً واقتصادياً. فقد شاركوا بنشاطٍ في الكفاح من أجل الاستقلال في جميع أنحاء شمال أفريقيا، وخاصة في المغرب والجزائر، بيد أنه تم تهميشهم في الروايات الوطنية حول القومية، التي تضع العناصر العربية والإسلامية لهويات المنطقة في المقدمة. وخلال العقود التي أعقبت الاستقلال، أصبح تهميش اللغة البربرية وثقافتها منهجياً. وقد أدى تعريب النظام التعليمي والحياة العامة بشكلٍ عام إلى نقل الأمازيغية إلى عالم التراث الشعبي.

ومن الناحية السياسية، قسّم المستعمرون الفرنسيون في الجزائر والمغرب السكان المحليين على أسسٍ عرقية، فعلى سبيل المثال، تم فرض المرسوم البربري لعام 1930 في المغرب، والذي تم بموجبه عزل الشريعة الإسلامية عن التقاضي بين البربر في المناطق الريفية. وفي الجزائر، حاول الفرنسيون “فرنَسة” قبائل البربر من خلال الإدعاء أن ثقافة البربر أقرب ما تكون إلى الثقافة الغربية منها إلى الثقافة العربية. ومن المفارقات أن البربر تحالفوا مع باقي السكان لأنهم عرفوا بأنهم مسلمون. وعليه، يُشكل هذا الاتحاد بداية الحركة القومية في المغرب.

وبعد الاستقلال، بات يُشار إلى البربر بـ”عناصر الشقاق،” وتم تهميشهم سياسياً واجتماعياً لأن النخب الحضرية المُعرّبة أرادت تولي السلطة. وفي المغرب، اعتبرت مناطق البربر “غير مناسبة للحداثة” (المغرب غير المفيد) ونتيجةً لذلك، أصبح التخلف يُنسب إلى البربر.

ومع استمرار انخفاض أعداد المتحدثين بالبربرية، ظهرت حركات الهوية البربرية في الجزائر والمغرب. وفي الجزائر، طالبت الحركة بالحقوق اللغوية والثقافية، واستخدمت في بعض الأحيان العنف لتحقيق أهدافها، كما حدث في الربيع البربري عام 1980، الذي قتل فيه العشرات.

وفي المغرب، كان لدى حركة الهوية البربرية مطالب مماثلة، بالإضافة إلى حقوق استخدام الأرض، إلا أنها كانت سلمية إلى حدٍ كبير. ولربما يعود السبب في ذلك إلى أن السكان البربر في المغرب هم الأكبر عدداً في شمال افريقيا، فضلاً عن النظام السياسي الأكثر تحرراً في المغرب والأكثر ودية، نسبياً، تجاه البربر. أما في ليبيا، فقد تعرض البربر لقمعٍ وحشي في ظل نظام القذافي الذي استمر 40 عاماً. واليوم، تبرز حركة البربر الليبية كعنصرٍ رئيسي في حقبة ما بعد الربيع العربي. وبالإضافة إلى الاعتراف السياسي، يُطالب البربر في ليبيا بالمساواة والحقوق المدنية.

وضع البربر استراتيجيةً وردوا على تهميشهم بطرقٍ مختلفة، وفقاً لواقع بيئتهم المحلية والوطنية. ومع ذلك، يسعون بوجهٍ عام إلى إعادة النظر في ما يشكل الهويات الجماعية لبلدانهم وكيفية إبراز الأدوار التاريخية والاجتماعية- السياسية للبربر في بناء شمال أفريقيا. كما يطالبون بالعدالة الاجتماعية وتحسين وضعهم الاجتماعي، وبخاصة في المناطق الريفية، التي تتسم بارتفاع معدلات الفقر. وفي أعقاب الربيع العربي، أصبحت القضية البربرية أكثر وضوحاً في ظل الجدل القائم حول الحصة في الفرص الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

وعلى الرغم من أن مطالب البربر لا تشكل تهديداً حقيقياً سواء للتكامل الإقليمي لدول شمال افريقيا أو حتى لاستقرار نخب هذه البلدان، إلا أن قضية البربر باتت اليوم جزءاً لا يتجزأ، على نحوٍ متزايد، من الطيف السياسي والاجتماعي الأوسع في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. إن الهوية العرقية المستجدة، إلى جانب الطرق الجديدة لتصور الإنتماء الجماعي، وبالتحديد القبلي والوطني والديني، تستميل العديد من الشباب البربر المحرومين، ويتم توطيدها على جناح السرعة باعتبارها عنصراً رئيسياً في العلاقات المستقبلية بين الدولة والمجتمع في شمال افريقيا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA | ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Home / Morocco / Population / Berber Marginalization in North Africa Fuels Identity Movements

Berber Marginalization in North Africa Fuels Identity Movements

Morocco-Berbers
Members from the Moroccan Amazigh Berber community sing as they celebrate on the eve of the Amazigh new year, Rabat. Photo AFP

The Berbers, or Imazighen (‘free people’) as they refer to themselves, are an indigenous people of North Africa, with a presence that goes back millennia. They are geographically distributed in the areas extending from the west of the Nile Valley to the Atlantic Ocean, and from the Mediterranean Sea to the Niger River, covering a vast sweep of discontinuous land that includes Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Mali and Burkina Faso.

The majority of the Berbers live in Morocco, mostly in the mountain and desert areas. They do not constitute a homogeneous ethnic group. Three main regions can be identified: the north, the centre and the south. Each region claims descent from a particular overarching tribe. Hence, the Berbers of the north descend from the Zenata tribe, those of the centre from the Sanhaja tribe and those of the south from the Masmouda tribe. However, the Berbers of Morocco are unified by a language – Amazigh – and a homeland, a collective identification with a common heritage and history.

The origin of the Berbers has been subject to controversy, with Western and Arab historians, each with their own ideological agenda, interested in the topic. For the former – for example Henri Fournel, Georges Marçais and Maurice Peygasse – the origin of the Berbers could be found in the three Punic Wars that opposed Rome to Carthage and ended with the fall of Carthage in 146 BCE. In other words, Western historians linked Berbers with a glorious period of the Romans, implicitly attributing them a Western origin. Meanwhile, the Arab historians of the Middle Ages (for example Ibn Abdel Adhim Ezzemmouri and Muhammad al-Idrissi) traced the Berbers’ origins to Yemen and, hence, to the Arabs.

Following Morocco’s independence in 1956, archaeological, anthropological, and linguistic tools were used to continue this line of enquiry. The evidence challenged the previous findings, suggesting instead that the present-day inhabitants of North Africa, the broad regional sweep covering the coastal region from Egypt to Mauritania, are descended from the peoples who have lived on this land since prehistory (a period estimated at about nine thousand years) and that migration has always been from east to west. The Berbers’ territory can, thus, only be the land Berbers have always lived on, hence, ideas about the origin of Berbers are changing.

The Arab conquest of North Africa in the 8th century brought a combination of Islamization and Arabization of the Berber populations. This ended the writing of Amazigh languages in both the old Libyan and the new Arabic script, reducing them to folk languages. At the same time, an influx from the east of warrior Arab nomads from the 11th century drove the Berbers off the plains and into the mountains. Together, these factors turned the population from Berber speakers into Arabic speakers, with a consequent loss of original identities. From the 16th century, the process continued in the absence of Berber dynasties, which were replaced in Morocco by Arabs claiming descent from Prophet Muhammad and by Turks in Algiers, Tunis and Tripoli.

Today, the Berbers are understood to be any of the descendants of the pre-Arab inhabitants of North Africa. At the turn of the 21st century, there were around 14 million Berbers in Morocco, 9 million in Algeria, 6 million in Libya and much smaller numbers in Tunisia, Egypt and Mauretania. In the Sahara of southern Algeria and Libya, Mali and Niger, the Berber Tuareg number about 1 million. A century earlier, Berbers still constituted a substantial majority of Morocco’s population and a significant minority of French Algeria’s Muslim population. Their numbers were smaller in Ottoman Libya and smaller still in France’s Tunisian protectorate.

Although the Berber populations have been central to the mix of political, social, cultural and linguistic attributes that render North Africa distinct, they have been marginalized historically, politically and socio-economically. They actively participated in the fight for independence across North Africa, especially in Morocco and Algeria, but have been sidelined in the national narratives on nationalism, which foreground the Arab and Islamic components of the region’s identities. During the decades that followed independence, the marginalization of the Berber language and culture became systematic. The Arabization of the education system and public life in general relegated Amazigh to the realm of folklore.

Politically, the French colonizers of Algeria and Morocco divided the local populations along ethnic lines, for example by introducing the 1930 Berber Decree in Morocco, by virtue of which Berbers did not need to follow sharia law in rural areas. In Algeria, the French tried to ‘Frenchify’ the Kabyle Berbers by claiming that Berber culture was closer to Western than Arab culture. Ironically, the Berbers allied with the rest of the population because they identified as Muslim. This union constituted the beginning of the nationalist movement in Morocco.

After independence, the Berbers were regarded as ‘elements of discord’ and were marginalized politically and socially because the urban Arabized elites wanted to take power. In Morocco, Berber zones were considered ‘not fit for modernity’ (non-useful Morocco) and as a result, being Berber came to be associated with being backward.

As the number of Berber speakers continued to decline, Berber identity movements emerged in Algeria and Morocco. In Algeria, the movement demanded linguistic and cultural rights and sometimes used violence to achieve its goals, as in the Berber Spring of 1980, in which dozens were killed.

In Morocco, the Berber identity movement made similar demands, in addition to land-usage rights, but has been largely peaceful. This may be because Morocco has the largest Berber population in North Africa and a broader political system that is relatively Berber friendly. In Libya, Berbers were brutally repressed by the al-Qaddafi regime for 40 years. Today, a Libyan Berber movement is emerging as a major component of the post-Arab Spring era. In addition to political recognition, Libya’s Berbers demand equality and civil rights.

The Berbers strategize and react to their marginalization in different ways, according to the realities of their local and national environment. In general, however, they seek a re-examination of what constitutes their countries’ collective identities and how the historical and socio-political roles of Berbers in the construction of North Africa can be highlighted. They also demand social justice and the improvement of their social status, especially in rural areas, which are characterized by high rates of poverty. In the wake of the Arab Spring, the Berber question has become increasingly salient in the contestations over a share in socio-economic opportunities.

Although Berber demands do not constitute a real threat either to the territorial integration of the North African countries or to the stability of the elites of these countries, the Berber question is increasingly part and parcel of the wider political and social spectrums across the region. The emerging ethnic identity combined with new ways of imagining collective belonging , namely tribal, national and religious, appeals to many disenfranchised Berber youths and is rapidly being consolidated as a major ingredient in the future relations between the state and society in North Africa.