فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة في المغرب / الموسيقى

الموسيقى

تعكس الموسيقى المغربية موقع البلاد كنقطة التقاء للثقاقات البربرية والعربية والأوروبية. تستخدم الموسيقى البربرية التقليدية: الآلات النفخية، مثل الناي (تغانيمت) ومزمار القربة (المزود) والبوق (النفير)؛ والآلات الوترية، مثل الكمبري: عنق طويلة غير منقوشة وصندوق مغطى بالجلد، والربابة: كمان بعنق طويلة ووتر وحيد؛ بالإضافة إلى الآلات الإيقاعية، مثل الطبل؛ والقراقب: آلة معدنية شبيهة بالصنوج. وللموسيقى البربرية وظائف عديدة؛ إحداها تاريخية للمحافظة على سجل من الماضي: تستخدم الأغاني البربرية بشكل تكراري للكشف عن تفاصيل تتعلق بأحداث ماضية على شكل تاريخ شفهي إلى حد بعيد. كما تستخدم الموسيقى في الاحتفالات القروية والمناسبات الدينية. ويعزف المحترفون في الأعراس أو في أماكن مثل ساحة جامع الفناء في مراكش. تختلف هذه الموسيقى بشكل كبير باختلاف المناطق، كما تتأثر الموسيقى البربرية في المناطق الجنوبية كثيراً بموسيقى الصحراء الإفريقية.

فرقة هوبا هوبا سبيريت للموسيقى المغربية

هوبا هوبا سبيريت هي فرقة تمزج موسيقى الغناوة [1] والأنماط الموسيقية الأخرى، والتي ظهرت على الساحة الموسيقية المغربية عام 1998، حيث تبعث السرور في قلوب الجماهير الشابة في الدولة الواقعة شمال افريقيا وخارجها منذ ذلك الوقت. وفي عام 2008، وصفتهم صحيفة نيويورك تايمز بـ”فرقة مروك و روك متعددة اللغات التي أثارت إعجاب حشود السامعين،” وفي عام 2010، وصفتهم صحيفة الجارديان بـ”فرقة الغيتار الصاخبة لموسيقى البوست بانك.”

غالباً ما تعتبر الفرقة لسان حال الجيل الجديد المتمرد الباحث عن الهوية في مواجهة الظلامية والتطرف الإسلامي الذي ابتليت به المجتمعات العربية في الوقت الراهن.

فرقة هوبا هوبا سبيريت تقدم عرضاً مباشراً في الدار البيضاء في المغرب، عام 2014. Photo Katie Gentile

تغني الفرقة باللغة الفرنسية والانجليزية والدارجة المغربية، وتمزج موسيقى الروك مع الهيب هوب مع شكلٍ منعش من الرقص الشرقي. ولهذا السبب تُلقب الفرقة بـ”The Moroccan Clash”  ومنذ عام 2003، اجتذبت فرقة هوبا هوبا سبيريت أعداداً متزايدة من الشباب، وتعتبر اليوم واحدة من فرق الروك الأكثر شعبية في المغرب، وغالباً ما تقدم أدائها في المهرجانات الكبرى مثل مهرجان موازين في الرباط، ومهرجان لبولفار في الدار البيضاء، ومهرجان تيميتار في أغادير، ومهرجان كناوة وموسيقى العالم في الصويرة. وفي المهرجان الأخير على وجه التحديد حققت الفرقة أكبر نجاحاتها.

وفي عام 2007، فازت فرقة هوبا هوبا سبيريت بثلاث جوائز موسيقية مغربية لأفضل فنان دمج، وأفضل ألبوم عن “تراباندو” وأفضل عنوان أغنية عن “فهاماتور.” بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قدمت الفرقة أكثر من 400 حفلة داخل المغرب وخارجه فضلاً عن قيامهم بجولة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 2014، مما عزز من سمعتهم. أصدرت الفرقة ألبومها السابع عام 2016.

هناك عدة أسباب لشعبية فرقة هوبا هوبا سبيريت؛ إذ تستخدم رموزاً ثقافية تكلّم الشباب، وتدمج أنماطاً موسيقية مختلفة، كما أنها لا تتألف فقط من الموسيقيين بل يوجد من بين أعضائها صحفي وناقد اجتماعي مثل رضى العلالي. أعضاء الفرقة الآخرين هم أنور الزهواني، وعادل حنين، وسعد بويدي، وعثمان حميمر، وعبد الصمد بورحيم، حيث أن جميعهم من الدار البيضاء.

ويعود سبب نجاح الفرقة أيضاً إلى دمقرطة وسائل الإعلام، وذلك بفضل انتشار الإنترنت والقدرة على الوصول إلى المعلومات وبناء الشبكات عبر الحدود الوطنية والدينية والاجتماعية. كما أنّ العالم المعولم على نحوٍ متزايد، عاملٌ آخر ساهم في إبراز الفرقة.

ولكن السبب الحقيقي لشعبية الفرقة أنهم يجتذبون المغاربة العاديين ويربطونهم بنفس الوقت مع مواضيع عالمية. فهم يختارون كلمات أغانيهم بعناية فائقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما يغنون “نحن نعيش في هذيانٍ جماعي دائم،” يصلون إلى الناس لأنهم يغنون بالطريقة التي يتكلمون بها ويعزفون ما يشعرون به. هذا الإنفتاح العاطفي والطاقة التي يتم نقلها مُعدية.

كما تأثرت موسيقى هوبا هوبا سبيريت أيضاً بالربيع العربي وتداعياته، فهي مرتفعة تماماً كحال أصوات الملايين الذين خرجوا إلى الشوارع مطالبين بالكرامة، كما أنّ “جرأة” كلمات الأغاني والحركات تذكرنا ببوب مارلي، ولكن الأهم من ذلك تذكرنا بإيقاعات كناوة القديمة في المغرب.

واختصر المطرب وعازف الجيتار العلالي فرقة هوبا هوبا سبيريت بالعبارات التالية “تحريرٌ للجسد والقلب والروح في خليطٍ عفوي وفوضوي. إنها الرغبة في فعلٍ شيءٍ ما له تأثيرٌ قوي على اللحظة دون القلق من المظهر أوأي شيء. نريد أن نغير هذا الوقت، نريد أن تخفق قلوب الناس بسرعة أكبر، نريدهم أن يتعرقوا، نريدهم أن يعتقدوا أنّ أفضل مكانٍ في العالم هو هنا، هو الآن. إنها الروح المعنوية التي تدفعنا إلى الشعور أن بإمكاننا إبعاد الجدران.”

واليوم، هناك عدد من الموسيقيين ممن يحاكون أو يدمجون موسيقاهم مع هوبا هوبا سبيريت، مثل المطرب الشهير عبد العزيز الستاتي، الذي تعاون مع الفرقة بالعمل الفني “واكل، شارب، ناعس،” عام 2010. كان للعمل أصداءا جيدة وبخاصة في المدينة العالمية، الدار البيضاء

كما أن نجاح هوبا هوبا سبيريت أيضاً انتصارٌ على الخوف، وكما يوضح عازف الجيتار أنور الزهواني “الصعوبة الأكبر كانت ذهنية، وهي أن نقول، كيف لنا أن نتجاوز هذا الوضع بينما كل شيء صعب، ولكن لا شيء مستحيل هنا في المغرب. ولكن بمجرد أن تتجاوز الحد المسموح به، يُصبح كل شيء ممكناً!”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Flickr | ©Flickr

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Morocco / Society, Media & Culture / Morocco's Culture / Music

Music

Morocco-culture-Gnawa Festival
Groups parade along the streets of the Medina of Essaouira during the Gnawa Festival. Photo Stefano Torrione / hemis.fr / HH.

Moroccan music reflects the country’s position as a meeting place of Berber, Arabic, and European cultures. Traditional Berber music uses wind instruments such as an end-blown reed flute (taghanimt), bagpipes (mizwid), and a trumpet (nafir); stringed instruments such as the ginbri, which has a long fretless neck, with the box covered in skin, and the rebab, a long-necked fiddle with only one string; and percussion instruments such as the tabl, a cylindrical double-sided drum, and the qaraqib, a metal castanet-like instrument. Berber music has several functions. One of them is traditionally to preserve a record of the past: Berber songs have repeatedly been used to uncover details of past events in a largely oral tradition. Music is also used in village celebrations and on religious occasions. Professional musicians perform, for example, at weddings or as street artists in venues such as the great Jamaa al-Fnaa square in Marrakesh. It is highly regionalized, and southern Berber music has strong Sahara African influences.

The Hoba Hoba Spirit of Moroccan Music

Hoba Hoba Spirit is a Gnawa fusion band that burst onto Morocco’s musical scene in 1998 and has been delighting young audiences in the north African country and beyond ever since. In 2008, the New York Times described them as a ‘crowd-wowing, multilingual Maroc ‘n’ roll band’ and in 2010, the Guardian called them ‘a furious post-punk guitar band’.

They are often considered a mouthpiece of the rebellious new generation in search of an identity in the face of obscurantism and Islamic radicalism that currently plagues Arab societies.

morocco- culture- The Hoba Hoba Spirit band
The Hoba Hoba Spirit band performing life in Casablanca, Morocco, in 2014. Photo Katie Gentile.

The group sings in French, English and Darija (a Moroccan Arabic dialect) and mixes rock and hip-hop with an energizing form of oriental dance. It is for this reason that the group has been nicknamed ‘the Moroccan Clash’.

Since 2003, Hoba Hoba Spirit has attracted an increasing number of young fans. It is now one of the most popular rock acts in Morocco, frequently playing its major festivals, such as the Mawazine Festival in Rabat, L’Boulevard Tremplin in Casablanca, Timitar Festival in Agadir, and the Gnawa and World Music Festival in Essaouira. It is at the latter that the band has had most success.

In 2007, Hoba Hoba Spirit  won three Maghrib Music Awards for best fusion artist, best album for Trabando and best title for the song ‘Fhamator’. In addition, it has given more than 400 concerts in Morocco and beyond and toured the United States in 2014, cementing its reputation. Its seventh album was released in 2016.

There are several reasons for Hoba Hoba Spirit’s popularity: it uses cultural icons that speak to young people; it fuses various musical styles; and it is composed not only of musicians but also of a journalist and social critics such as Reda Allali. The other band members are Anouar Zehouani, Adil Hanine, Saad Bouidi, Othmane Hmimer and Abdessamad Bourhim. All six are from Casablanca.

The band’s success is due also to the democratization of the media, thanks to the spread of the internet and the ability to access information and build networks across national, religious and social boundaries. The increasingly globalized world is another factor in the group’s visibility.

But the real reason for their popularity is that they simultaneously appeal to ordinary Moroccans and link them to universal themes. Their lyrics are well chosen. For example, when they sing ‘we live in a permanent collective delirium’, they reach people because they sing the way they speak and perform what they feel. This emotional openness and the energy with which it is conveyed are contagious.

Hoba Hoba Spirit’s music has also been influenced by the Arab Spring and its aftermath. It is loud like the voices of the millions of people who took to the streets demanding karamah (dignity), and the ‘fearlessness’ of the lyrics and movements are reminiscent of Bob Marley, The Clash, but most importantly of Morocco’s ancient Gnawa rhythms.

Vocalist and guitarist Allali explained Hoba Hoba Spirit in the following terms: “It is a release of the body, the heart and the soul in a spontaneous and chaotic mixture. It is the will to do something that has a strong impact on the moment without worrying about the image or the rest. We want to change this time, we want people’s heart to beat faster, we want them to sweat, we want them to think that the best place in the world is here, is now. It is this spirit that drives us to feel that we can push back the walls.”

A number of other musicians are now imitating or fusing their music with Hoba Hoba Spirit’s, like the popular singer Abdelaziz Stati, who collaborated with the band on the track ‘Wakel Chareb N3es’ in 2010. The collaboration was well received especially in the cosmopolitan city of Casablanca.

The success of Hoba Hoba Spirit is also a victory over fear, as guitarist Anouar Zehouani explained: “The greatest difficulty has been mental, that is to say, how to overcome this situation where we say that everything is difficult, nothing is possible here in Morocco. But once you exceed the limit, everything is possible!”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Katie Gentile ©Flickr | Jack Rabah ©Hollandse Hoogte | Katie Gentile ©Flickr

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update