فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المغرب / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / “إدارة” المغرب للسلفيين الجهاديين

“إدارة” المغرب للسلفيين الجهاديين

Salafi Jihadi Morroco
سلفيون في المغرب خلال مشاركته في احتجاجات منظمة من قبل حركة 20 شباط , في الرباط, المغرب. Photo Magharebia

مع الحضور المتنامي لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في شمال افريقيا والتهديد الخطير الذي يشكله هذا على المغرب، فضلت الحكومة المغربية اتباع استراتيجية يتم من خلالها احتواء ودمج، بشكلٍ تدريجي، السفليين الجهاديين الذين ينبذون العنف ويُشار إليهم في الوقت الراهن باسم “السفليين” (نسبة إلى السلفية، وهم المسلمون في عهد النبي محمد)، كنموذجٍ يحتذى به، في النظام السياسي للبلاد باسم الديمقراطية.

كانت أولى مظاهر السلفية الجهادية في المغرب تفجيرات الدار البيضاء في 16 مايو 2003، والتي أسفرت عن مقتل 44 مغربياً وجرح العديد. اعتبرت هذه الهجمات صفعة على وجه كلٍ من الحكومة والأمة على حد سواء، ذلك أن جميع الإرهابيين كانوا من أبناء البلد. أدت هذه الهجمات إلى حملة واسعة النطاق على السلفيين الجهاديين.

ومع ذلك، وفي أعقاب الربيع العربي ومقتل الزعيم الليبي معمر القذافي، وفشل الإسلام السياسي والحضور المتنامي لـ”داعش” والجماعات الإرهابية المماثلة في شمال افريقيا، تبدّل موقف الحكومة المغربية اتجاه السلفيين تدريجياً. هذا التغيير موثق بأربعة أساليب.

أولاً، في عاميّ 2011 و2012، صدر مرسوم ملكي تم بموجبه العفو عن خمسة شيوخ من السلفيين الجهاديين (منظرين ومصدري الفتاوى)، فضلاً عن بضع مئات من أتباعهم ممن أدينوا بتهم التطرف والإرهاب. لم يتم اطلاق سراح بعض هؤلاء المعتقلين السلفيين-الجهاديين فقط من السجن، بل منحت لهم الفرصة أيضاً للانخراط في العملية السياسية السلمية. كانت هذه خطوة غير مسبوقة.

ثانياً، أمّ الشيخ محمد الفزازي، وهو شخصية بارزة في الفكر السلفي وشيخ متطرف سابق، بصلاة الجمعة بحضور الملك في 28 مارس 2014. أكدّ هذا الموقف على تغير موقف النظام اتجاه الفزازي، الذي كان قد تبنى في وقتٍ سابق أيديولوجية الجهاد المتطرف والفكر التكفيري (أي إعلان أن شخص ما كافر، وإخاضعه/إخضاعها للعقاب “المناسب”- النبذ أو القتل).

ثالثاً، في 4 أبريل 2015، قامت وزارة الأوقاف والشؤون الإسلامية بالتعاون مع المجلس العلمي الأعلى، بتنظيم ندوة حظيت بتغطية إعلامية كبيرة بعنوان “السلفية: تحقيق المفهوم وبيان المضمون.” تمت مناقشة التوصية الرئيسية لهذه الندوة، ألا وهي ضرورة التوفيق ين السلفية والصوفية، من قِبل رجل الدين المغربي، الدكتور مصطفى بنحمزة بحضور الملك في يوليو 2015، خلال الدروس الدينية في شهر رمضان الفضيل.

رابعاً، في 6 نوفمبر 2015، وبمناسبة الذكرى الأربعين للمسيرة الخضراء، أصدر الملك محمد السادس عفواً ملكياً عن 37 معتقلاً سلفياً، الذين أدينوا جميعهم بتهمٍ تتعلق بالإرهاب. وكان من بينهم شخصية بارزة وهو الشيخ حسن الخطاب، متطرف سلفي سابق سيء السمعة.

تُشير هذه الحقائق الأربعة إلى بزوغ حقبة جديدة للعلاقة ما بين النظام المغربي والسلفيين في البلاد. ومن المتوقع أن تساهم هذه العلاقة الجديدة في قيادة التعاون ما بين المعسكرين باعتبارها وسيلة لمواجهة التهديدات التي تحدق بأمن واستقرار المغرب.

كما تشهد العلاقة الجديدة بين النظام المغربي والسلفية على فشل استخدام الصوفية في احتواء السلفيين، ذلك أن هذه المحاولات لم تقنع السلفيين الجهاديين نبذ العنف. بدأ المغرب في استخدام الصوفية كوسيلة لضمان الأمن ومواجهة التطرف السلفي الجهادي في أعقاب الهجمات الإرهابية في الدار البيضاء. وقع تنفيذ هذا النهج على عاتق وزارة الأوقاف والشؤون الإسلامية، بقيادة الوزير الصوفي أحمد توفيق. وعلى الرغم من الجهود الجبارة التي بذلتها الوزارة، إلا أنّ الاتجاه الصوفي لم يستطع حقاً كبح السلفية الجهادية والأيديولوجيات التكفيرية التي هددت أمن المغرب. وفي هذا السياق، أصبحت السياسة الحالية لاحتواء السلفيين من خلال التوفيق بين عقيدتهم والصوفية، الخيار الأكثر قابلية للتطبيق بالنسبة للحكومة. الندوة المذكورة آنفاً، فضلاً عن غيرها من الوقائع المذكورة أعلاه، اعتبرت هذا التوفيق واحداً من أهدافها المركزية.

بالنسبة للحكومة المغربية، كانت هذه الخطوة الجديدة موضع ترحيب، لأنها تعزز السلطة الدينية في شخص الملك بصفته أمير المؤمنين، وتخدم الديمقراطية على حد سواء. وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، فإن تحديد المرجعية الدينية في مؤسسة النظام الملكي ما هو إلا وسيلة لاحتواء الأصوات الأخرى التي قد تودي بحياة هذه السلطة. وبالنسبة لبعض النقاد السياسيين، مثل محمد المسبح من مركز كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط، فإن إدماج السلفيين في الحياة السياسية هو الخطوة الصحيحة.

تولي الحكومة المغربية اهتماماً خاصاً لمنظري السلفية أمثال عبد الكريم الشاذلي، ومحمد عبد الوهاب رفيقي الملقب بـ”أبو حفص،” وعمر الحدوشي، ومحمد الفزازي، ومن خلالهم، العديد من أتباعهم الداعمين لهم والذين ينفذون فتاويهم. وعلى الرغم من أنّ هؤلاء الشيوخ يتفاوتون في تطرفهم، إلا أنّ معرفتهم الدينية وقدرتهم على الوصول إلى جمهور عريض من خلال الوعظ في المساجد وعبر وسائل الإعلام الالكتروني، تشهد على مكانتهم القوية في المجتمع، وبخاصة بين الطبقات الأقل فقراً. دفع الموقف الجديد للحكومة العديد منهم، على سبيل المثال الشيخ محمد الفزازي، إلى صرف النظر عن إصدار فتاوى تتعلق بالجهاد في سوريا.

رافقت استراتيجية “احتواء” السلفيين من خلال السماح لهم الانضمام إلى الأحزاب السياسية التي يختارونها، وعززتها سلسلة من المناقشات الوطنية بشأن هذه المسألة. ويتم حالياً دمج أعداد متزايدة من السلفيين في الأحزاب السياسية والمجتمع المدني، حيث يعبر جميعهم عن ولائهم للمؤسسات المغربية والدعوة لاتباع منهج اللاعنف.

بالنسبة لإدريس الكنبوري، فإن نهج المغرب الجديد اتجاه السفلية مجرد وسيلة لتجريد الإسلاميين في الحكومة من السلطة الدينية عن طريق جعلها أكثر اعتدالاً وخلق التوتر بين الطرفين. وأيضاً، يرى الكنبوري، أنّ دمج السلفيين في أحزاب مؤيدة للنظام هو أيضاً وسيلة لتحييد السلفيين، على الرغم من أنها قد تجعل المجتمع المغربي أكثر اسلامية.

إنّ تحسين العلاقات مع السلفيين لا يعني ضمان أنّ الأخيرة ستلتزم بالسلام. فعلى الرغم من نجاح التجربة المصرية في هذا الصدد، إلا أنّ الخوف من السلفيين لا يزال واقعاً.

ففي النهاية، يمكن القول أن السلفية في المغرب تقدّم الفرص وتُثير التساؤلات على حد سواء، إلا أنّ النقطة الأخيرة قد تبدو أقل شأناً من خلال ثلاث عوامل: الحذر المغربي الشديد والتعصب فيما يتعلق بقضايا الأمن، وعملية إدماج السلفيين في الأنظمة السياسية المغربية والتي تنطوي فقط على السلفيين المواليين للنظام، وحقيقة أنّ مشروع إنشاء حزب سياسي سلفي خالص خيار غير قابل للتطبيق حقاً على أرض الواقع في الوقت الحالي (المستقبل فقط سيثبت أو يدحض هذه الفرضيات).

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Morocco / Society, Media & Culture / Society of Morocco / Morocco’s “Management” of the Salafi-Jihadists

Morocco’s “Management” of the Salafi-Jihadists

Salafi Morroco
Salafies take part in a protest organised by the February 20th Movement, in Rabat, Morocco. Photo: Magharebia

With the growing presence of the Islamic State (IS) in North Africa and the serious threat this poses to Morocco, the Moroccan government is opting for a strategy whereby the Salafi-Jihadists who have renounced violence and are now referred to as “Salafi” (referring to the Salaf, the Muslims of the Prophet Muhammad’s era), as a model to be emulated, are gradually contained and integrated into the country’s political system in the name of democracy.

The first manifestation of the Salafi-Jihadist ideology in Morocco was the Casablanca bombings of 16 May 2003, which killed 44 Moroccans and maimed many. The attacks were seen as a slap in the face to both the government and the nation, because all the terrorists were homegrown. The attacks led to a massive crackdown on the Salafi-Jihadists.

However, in the aftermath of the so-called Arab Spring, the death of Libya’s Muammar Gaddafi, the failure of political Islam, and the growing presence of IS and similar terrorist groups in North Africa, the attitude of the Moroccan regime towards the Salafis shifted gradually. This change is attested in four ways.

First, in 2011 and 2012, a royal decree was issued under which five Salafi-Jihadi sheikhs (theorists and issuers of fatwas), as well as several hundreds of their followers were pardoned after having been convicted on charges of extremism and terrorism. Some of these Salafi-Jihadist detainees were not only released from prison but were given the opportunity to engage in peaceful politics. This was an unprecedented move.

Second, a prominent figure of Salafi ideology and a former radicalized sheikh, Muhammad al-Fizazi, led a Friday prayer in the presence of the king on 28 March 2014. This stressed the regime’s changed attitude towards al-Fizazi, who had previously espoused radical jihad and takfiri ideology (i.e., the declaring of someone to be kafir, unbeliever, and subjecting him or her to the “proper” punishment—ostracism or death).

Third, on 4 April 2015, the Ministry of Religious Affairs, in partnership with the Supreme Council of Religious Scholars, organized a well-publicized seminar on “Salafism: Realizing the Concept and Demonstrating Its Content.” The main recommendation of this seminar, that Salafism and Sufism should be reconciled, was discussed by the Moroccan cleric Mustapha Benhamza in the presence of the king in July 2015, during the Ramadan religious durus (lessons).

Fourth, on 6 November 2015, on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the Green March, King Mohammed VI pardoned 37 Salafi detainees, who had all been convicted of terrorism charges. A prominent figure among them was Sheikh Hassan al-Khattab, a notorious former Salafi extremist.

These four facts mark the emergence of a new era in the relationship between the Morocco’s regime and the country’s Salafis. This new relationship is expected to usher in a collaboration between the two camps as a way to counter threats to Morocco’s security and stability.

The new relationship between the Moroccan regime and the Salafis also attests to the failure of using Sufism to contain the Salafists; these attempts did not convince the Salaf-Jihadists to renounce violence. Morocco began to use Sufism as a way of ensuring security and countering Salafi-Jihadist extremism in the aftermath of the Casablanca terrorist attacks. The implementation of this approach was the responsibility of the Ministry of Religious Affairs, led by the Sufi minister Ahmed Tawfiq. In spite of the ministry’s serious efforts, the Sufi trend could not really curb the Salafi-Jihadi and takfir ideologies that threatened Morocco’s security. In this context, the present policy of containing the Salafists by reconciling their ideology with Sufism became a more viable option for the government. The aforementioned seminar, as well as the other facts cited above, had this reconciliation as one of their central goals.

For the Moroccan government, this new move is welcome, as it both consolidates religious authority in the person of the king as Amir al-Muminin (Commander of the Faithful) and serves democracy. Locating religious authority in the institution of the monarchy is a means of containing other voices that may claim this authority. For some political critics, such as Mohammed Masbah of the Carnegie Middle East Center, the integration of Salafists into political life is the right move.

The Moroccan government pays special attention to Salafi theorists such as Abdelkarim Chadli, Abdelwahab Rafiki (also known as Abou Hafs), Umar al-Hadouchi, and Muhammad al-Fizazi, and, through them, the many followers that support them and implement their fatwas. Although these sheikhs vary in their extremism, their religious knowledge and ability to reach wide audiences through mosque preaching and through electronic media attest to their strong position in society, especially among the lower strata. The new attitude of the government led many of them—Mohamed al-Fizazin, for example—to renounce the issuing of pro-Syrian jihad fatwas.

The strategy of “containing” the Salafists by allowing them to join political parties of their choice is accompanied and reinforced by a series of national debates on the issue. An increasing number of Salafists are being integrated into political parties and civil society. They all express their loyalty to Moroccan institutions and advocate a non-violent approach.

For Idris Kanburi, Morocco’s recent approach to Salafism is a way of stripping the Islamists in the government of their religious authority by making them more moderate and of creating a tension between the two. For Kanburi, the integration of the Salafists into pro-regime parties is a also a way of neutralizing the Salafists, although it may make Moroccan society more Islamist.

Improving relations with the Salafists is not a guarantee that the latter will commit to peace. In spite of the success of the Egyptian experience in this regard, fear of the Salafists is still a reality.

Salafism in Morocco both offers opportunities and raises challenges, but the latter seem to be minimized by three factors: Morocco’s extra vigilance and intolerance in matters of security, the whole process of including the Salafists into the Moroccan political systems which involves only the pro-regime Salafis, and the fact that the project of a full-fledged Salafist political party is not a truly viable option for the time being.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Magharebia ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update