فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الموسيقى في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا / الموسيقى الكويتية: إيقاعات الصحراء والبحر

الموسيقى الكويتية: إيقاعات الصحراء والبحر

Kuwaiti music
فرقة كويتية تعزف الموسيقى التقليدية خلال إحدى المناسبات في مركز اليرموك الثقافي في مدينة الكويت في 1 نوفمبر 2017. Photo: Yasser Al-Zayyat / AFP

الإبل التي تشق طريقها ببطء عبر الصحراء، وبُناة السفن الذين يطرقون بإيقاعٍ بينما تمضي الأيام، وغواصي اللؤلؤ الذين يرفعون أشرعة سفنهم. في أيام حياة الصحراء والبحر التي سبقت اكتشاف النفط، يمكن تقسيم المجتمع الكويتي إلى قسمين (وإلى حدٍ ما حتى الآن): القسم البدوي والحضري، ولكلٍ منهما أنماطه الموسيقية المميزة.

غالباً ما كانت الأغاني البدوية مرتبطة بقبيلةٍ معينة ورافقتها آلات مثل الربابة ذات الوتر الواحد. تم ابتكار الأغاني لتحفيز الإبل على الاستمرار في المشي. وبحسب الروايات، ستصل الإبل إلى وجهتها مفعمةً بالحيوية والقوة، لتسقط تعباً بعد توقف الغناء والطبول.

بينما كانت الموسيقى الحضرية أكثر تنوعاً وغالباً ما ترتبط بأنواع مختلفة من العمل أو الأحداث أو الأصول أو الترفيه. ومن أشهر الأمثلة على الموسيقى المرتبطة بالعمل هي الأغاني البحرية التقليدية.

كان للغوض بحثاً عن اللؤلؤ وبناء السُفن أغانٍ خاصة، إذ كانت تلك الأغاني تشبه “ليالي السمر” بالنسبة للعمال، إلا أنها أيضاً كانت ضرورية لاستمرار تحفيز الإبل للسير بتناغم.

حتى أن غواصي اللؤلؤ كان يصطحبون برفقتهم مغنٍ أثناء تجوالهم في البحر. وخلال الأشهر الطويلة في عرض البحر، كان النهام يقف على سطح السفينة ويقود البحارة أثناء قيامهم بأعمالهم اليومية مثل رفع الأشرعة. كما كان يتم الإحتفال بعودة الغواصين، في حال عادوا، بأغانٍ خاصة أيضاً، لتروي كلمات الأغاني قصص وحكايا عن العذاب والمصائب والشجاعة.

وحتى يومنا هذا، لا تزال الأغاني البدوية والبحرية معروفةً على نطاقٍ واسع، ولا زال يُعتّز بها ويؤديها الموسيقيون الكويتيون. وعلى الرغم من أن معظم العروض تُقام في أماكن خاصة مثل الديوانيات (مجالس الاستقبال التقليدية) أو في المناسبات الخاصة مثل حفلات الأعراس، إلا أنها عادةً ما تُنظم باستمرار في المراكز الثقافية أيضاً.

لم تكن الأغانية الفلكلورية ما جعلت الكويت تبرز موسيقياً في المنطقة فحسب، بل إن دول الخليج الأخرى تمتلك تقاليد مماثلة. فعلى سبيل المثال، لدى كلٍ من البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية نسخٌ خاصة بهم من أغاني غواصي اللؤلؤ والأغاني القبلية. كان للإنفتاح الثقافي الكويتي واستيعابها للتأثيرات الأجنبية ما صنع ذلك الفرق، لتطور ما يمكن تسميته بالمشهد الموسيقي الحديث. أصبحت البلاد معروفةً بدورها الرائد في الموسيقى الخليجية المعاصرة، وهو أسلوبٌ ينطوي على عناصر من الموسيقى الإفريقية والهندية والإيرانية المدمجة مع الأصوات العربية الأصلية.

كان الكويتيون أوائل فناني التسجيلات التجارية في الخليج، حيث سُجلت أولى التسجيلات المعروفة بين عامي 1912 و1915. فالبلاد مهد فن الصوت، وهو نوعٌ من موسيقى البلوز أصبح شائعاً في السبعينيات.

كما شاعت الموسيقى العدنية في السبعينيات، من ميناء عدن الجنوبي اليمني. وبحسب ما قالته إمرأة كويتية في الستينيات من عمرها عن سبب حب الناس لهذا النوع الموسيقي، “كانت كلمات الأغاني العدنية تتحدث عن الجنس والمرأة، على عكس الموسيقى الأخرى التي اعتدنا عليها. حتى أن الأغاني المصرية واللبنانية في تلك الأيام لم تتحدث عن تلك المواضيع بمثل هذه الصراحة.”

تأثرت الموسيقى العدنية بإيقاعات وآلات شرق إفريقيا، مثل الليوا والطنبوري. وإلى الشرق، كان للكويت روابط تجارية قوية مع الهند، حيث استقرت العائلات الكويتية في الهند، واستقرت العائلات الهندية في الكويت، حاملين معهم موسيقاهم.

أصبحت الموسيقى الكويتية بوتقة غنية من الأساليب والأصول وأنتجت العديد من المطربين المشهورين على المستوى الإقليمي مثل الأخوين صالح وداود الكويتي وشادي الخليج وعائشة المرطة ومؤخراً نوال الكويتية التي يعتبرها الكثيرون أيقونة موسيقية للعالم العربي.

وإلى جانب انفتاحها التاريخي على الثقافات الأخرى، ازدهر المشهد الموسيقي في الكويت بسبب موقفها المتحرر نسبياً من الموسيقى. رغم أن معظم رجال الدين الإسلاميين في المنطقة كان لهم نظرة قاتمة تجاه الموسيقى، إلا أن النشاط الموسيقي قوبل بالتسامح النسبي في الكويت.

لم ينطبق هذا على الفنانيين من الذكور فحسب، بل أن الفنانات أيضاً- قبل مغنيات العصر الحديث مثل عائشة المرطة ونوال الكويتية- كانوا جزءاً من المشهد الموسيقي أيضاً، اللواتي غالباً من كنّ يرتدين ملابس لا تكشف وجوههن أو يتنكرن كرجال في بعض المناسبات الخاصة مثل حفلات الأعراس والمناسبات الدينية.

استمر هذا المشهد الموسيقي المتنوع والحيوي، على الرغم من تغيره على مدى السنوات. فلم يعد الفنانون الكويتيون الشباب يحصرون أنفسهم بموسيقى الشرق الأوسط، إذ بفضل الإنترنت والسفر امتزجت أعمالهم بموسيقى الهيب هوب والآر أند بي والإيقاعات اللاتينية والبوب وغيرها من الأنواع والأساليب الموسيقية. نتج عن ذلك مزيجٌ موسيقي جديد ومثير للاهتمام، ليجمع بين الجاز وصوت العود، والهيب هوب والإيقاعات الخليجية والكلمات الإنجليزية مع العربية.

بيد أن الكويت لم تعد الدولة الخليجية الوحيدة الرائدة في المجال الموسيقي على مستوى المنطقة، إذ بدأت أيضاً دول خليجية أخرى تنفتح على الخارج، ولا سيما دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. بل إن المملكة العربية السعودية، المعروفة بتحفظها، باتت أيضاً تلحق بالركب. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، أصبحت الكويت اليوم أكثر تحفظاً، فعلى الرغم من تشييدها مؤخراً أكبر مسرح موسيقي في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، إلا أنه لا يسمح للجمهور بالرقص.

تسبب تغلغل المبادىء المحافظة، وتقدم جيرانها والحكومة غير المهتمة على ما يبدو في تحفيز المواهب الفنية في تراجع تطور الكويت، وربما لا يجدر بنا وصفها بالتراجع، ذلك أن عام 1919 شهد ظهور مواهب فنية أكثر بكثير من عام 2019. ربما يكون هذا عصراً جديداً، إلا أنها ليس بالضرورة عصرٌ أفضل.

إقرأ المزيد

. نستعرض لكم في فَنَك تاريخ الموسيقى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال ا...
ملف فنك الشامل عن الكويت يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
يعود المجتمع الكويتي إلى العائلات التي استوطنت في نهاية القرن الس...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Yasser Al-Zayyat ©AFP | Yasser Al-Zayyat ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Music in the Middle East & North Africa / Kuwaiti Music: Pioneering Sounds of Sand and Sea

Kuwaiti Music: Pioneering Sounds of Sand and Sea

Kuwaiti music
A Kuwaiti band performs traditional music during an event at the Yarmouk cultural centre in Kuwait City on November 1, 2017. Photo: Yasser Al-Zayyat / AFP

Camels slowly trekking through the desert, shipbuilders rhythmically hammering the days away and pearl divers raising the sails of their ships. In the pre-oil days of sea and desert life, Kuwaiti society could (and to a certain extent still can) roughly be divided into two parts: a Bedouin and an urban part, each having their own musical styles.

Bedouin songs were often related to a certain tribe and accompanied by instruments such as the single string rabab. Songs were devised to motivate the camels to keep on walking. Stories have it that camels would arrive at their destination full of energy and strength, only to drop dead from fatigue after the singing and drumming stopped.

Urban music was more diverse and often related to different types of work, events, origins or entertainment. The best-known example of work-related music is bahri, traditional maritime songs.

Pearl diving and shipbuilding had their own specific songs. These songs were not just a ‘singing around the campfire’ type of activity for the workers, but – just as for the camels – a necessity to keep them motivated and synchronized.

Pearl divers even took a singer with them while away on their ships. During the long months at sea, the nahma stood on the deck and led the men in chores like raising the sails. The homecoming of the divers, if they came home at all, was celebrated with special songs as well, the lyrics telling tales of agony, disaster and courage.

To this day, both Bedouin and maritime songs are widely known, cherished and performed by Kuwaiti musicians. Although most performances take place in private settings like diwaniyas (traditional reception areas) or on special occasions such as weddings, they are regularly scheduled in cultural centres as well.

But it was not folk songs that made Kuwait stand out musically in the region; other Gulf states have similar traditions. For example, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia have their own versions of pearl diving and tribal songs. It was Kuwait’s cultural openness and absorption of foreign influences that made the difference, developing what can be called a modern music scene. The country became known for its pioneering role in contemporary khaliji music, a style that incorporates elements of African, Indian and Iranian music overlaying indigenous Arabian sounds.

Kuwaitis were the first commercial recording artists in the Gulf, with the first known recordings made between 1912 and 1915. The country is the birthplace of sawt, a bluesy genre that became popular in the 1970s.

Also popular in the 1970s was Adani music, from the southern Yemeni port of Aden. A Kuwaiti woman in her sixties remembers why people liked it so much. “Adani songs had lyrics about sex and women, unlike the music we were familiar with. Not even the Egyptian or Lebanese songs of those days would mention those subjects so explicitly,” she said.

Adani music was itself influenced by East African rhythms and instruments, such as the liwa and tanbouri. To the east, Kuwait had strong trade links with India. Kuwaiti families settled in India and Indian families settled in Kuwait, bringing their music with them.

Kuwaiti music became a rich melting pot of styles and origins and produced many regionally famous singers such as the brothers Saleh and Daoud al-Kuwaiti, Shadi al-Khaleej, Aisha al-Marta and, more recently, Nawal al-Kuwaitia, whom many consider a musical icon of the Arab world.

In addition to being historically exposed and open to other cultures, Kuwait’s musical scene thrived because of its relatively liberal attitude towards music. Even though most Islamic clerics in the region took (and take) a dim view of music, musical activity was met with relative tolerance in Kuwait.

That did not apply only to male artists. Women – even before the ‘modern’ singers such as al-Marta or al-Kuwaitia – were part of the musical scene as well, often covered or dressed as men in specific performances for specific occasions such as weddings or religious celebrations.

This diverse and lively musical scene persists, although it has changed over the years. Young Kuwaiti artists no longer restrict themselves to Middle Eastern music. The internet and foreign travel have brought hip-hop, R&B, Latin rhythms, pop and other sounds into their work. This has led to new and interesting mixes, combining jazz with sounds of the oud, hip-hop with khaliji rhythms and English lyrics with Arabic ones.

However, Kuwait is no longer the only musical pioneer in the region. Other Gulf states are also opening up, notably the United Arab Emirates. Even Saudi Arabia, known for its conservatism, is catching up. Kuwait, conversely, has become increasingly conservative. It may recently have built the biggest music theatre in the Gulf Cooperation Council, but the audience is not allowed to dance.

Creeping conservatism, progressive neighbours and a government seemingly uninterested in stimulating artistic talent have set Kuwait back. Or maybe not even set back, because 1919 saw more musical talent emerge than 2019. These may be new times, but they are not necessarily better ones.

Further Reading

Fanack presents the history of music in the MENA region and will continue to follow the new musicians, songwriters and p...
Fanack’s Kuwait country file provides a comprehensive overview about Kuwait, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
Society, Media & Culture

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Yasser Al-Zayyat ©AFP | Yasser Al-Zayyat ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!