فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الموسيقى في الشرق الأوسط / موسيقى الأندرجراوند في مصر: استقلالٌ بثمن

موسيقى الأندرجراوند في مصر: استقلالٌ بثمن

بعد حوالي ستة أشهرٍ من التأخير، أحيت الفرقة المصرية كايروكي أخيراً الحفل الذي طال انتظاره في مايو 2018، حيث أقيم الحفل في مركزٍ تجاري على مشارف القاهرة تحت حراسةٍ مشددة، كما اصطفت شرطة مكافحة الشغب على طول طريق مدخل مواقف السيارات. وكانت عربات الشرطة متوقفة خارج الأسوار المحيطة بالجمهور، وكان بإمكان المجندين الذين كانوا داخلها إلقاء نظرةٍ على الحشود من خلال النوافذ المسيجة.

حققت فرقة كايروكي، وهي فرقة مستقلة (أندرجراوند) تأسست عام 2003، شهرتها في الفترة التي تلت ثورة يناير 2011. تعكس العديد من أغانيهم الوضع في البلاد في ذلك الوقت، فقد أصبحت أول أغنية لهم والتي حملت عنوان صوت الحرية، التي أنتجتها بالاشتراك مع فرقة وسط البلد، النشيد غير الرسمي للثورة.

وفي حين تم منع الفرقة من أداء عددٍ من أغانيهم، تم تقديم أغنية صوت الحرية في حفل مايو 2018. فقد غنى أمير عيد، المغنى الرئيسي في الفرقة، مقاطع الكورس فقط والتزم الصمت في الأبيات الأخرى، بينما ردد الجمهور، ما لا يقل عن 10 آلاف شخص، بما في ذلك العديد من المراهقين الصغار الذين لم يشاركوا بنشاطٍ في الثورة، باقي كلمات الأغنية.

ومن السهل أن يدرك المرء لمَ ترى الدولة المصرية، التي تنفر، تقريباً، من جميع أشكال المعارضة أو العصيان المدني، تهديداً في مثل هذه التجمعات الضخمة.

ومن السهل أن يدرك المرء لمَ ترى الدولة المصرية، التي تنفر، تقريباً، من جميع أشكال المعارضة أو العصيان المدني، تهديداً في مثل هذه التجمعات الضخمة.

فمنذ حفلة سبتمبر 2017 لفرقة مشروع ليلى، التي أثارت ضجةً برفع علم قوس قزح المرتبط بحقوق المثليين، وحملة القمع اللاحقة التي طالت مجتمع المثليين، بات الحصول على تصاريح لإقامة حفلاتٍ موسيقية ضخمة أكثر صعوبة.

تم إلغاء حفلة كايروكي عدة مرات في أواخر عام 2017 وبداية عام 2018. وتم إلغاء مهرجان موسيقي آخر في أواخر عام 2017، يضم فرقاً بما في ذلك فرقة السبعة وأربعين (47 Soul) الأردنية الفلسطينية. كما لم منعت لجنة الرقابة أربع أغانٍ من أحدث ألبوم كايروكي، مما أجبر الفرقة على إصدار ألبومها عبر الإنترنت فقط.

فرقة أخرى نجحت في تحقيق شهرةٍ في المشهد الموسيقي المصري هي فرقة مسار إجباري من الإسكندرية. تعتبر الفرقة أقل تطرقاً للسياسة من كايروكي، إلا أنهم عادةً ما يستعرضون المشاكل الاجتماعية في كلمات أغانيهم. يُشير إسم الفرقة إلى إملاء المجتمع على الفرد مسار حياته.

فقد قال لنا في فَنَك عازف الكيبورد في الفرقة، أيمن مسعود، “تذهب إلى المدرسة، وتدرس، وتعمل، وتتزوج، وتنجب أطفالاً.” وأضاف عن تنميط أسلوب الحياة “يجب أن تكون ضابطاً أو طبيباً أو مهندساً وأن تشبه الآخرين.” وتابع القول “إذا ما قابلت والد الفتاة التي تحبها وأخبرته أنك تلعب التنس أو أنك مصوّر، سيقول لك إذهب بعيداً وافعل ما تشاء. إذا ما كنت تعمل في مصرف، فهذا جيد.”

تتحدث أغنية “مساومات” في آخر ألبوم فرقة مسار إجباري، والتي تم إطلاقها في ديسمبر الماضي، عن كون الحياة مليئة بالتنازلات، إلى أن تدرك أنك عشت حياتك برمتها وأنت تساوم إلى الحد الذي لم تعد تعرف فيه نفسك. تستعرض الأغنية قصصاً شخصية لأعضاء الفرقة، وكما يقول مسعود “كان لدينا حلم منذ عام 1992، أن نصبح فرقةً مثل داير سترايتس أو بينك فلويد. ولكن اضطررنا إلى اتباع القوانين وشكلنا الفرقة في عام 2005 فحسب.” وفي عام 2011، قرر ترك وظيفته والتركيز بشكلٍ كامل على الموسيقى، إذ قال “كان الأمر صعباً حقاً، قال والداي أني مجنون، ثم عرفت أني أسير على الطريق الصحيح.”

أصبح الحلم حقيقة، “بدأنا العزف أمام 12 شخصاً، واليوم أصبح لدينا جمهوراً يبلغ 30 ألف شخص.”

ومع ذلك، واجهت فرقة مسار إجباري أيضاً مشاكل بالحفلات الكبيرة، وبحسب مسعود “عليك الإلتزام بالعديد من الخطوات، وهذه ليست وظيفتنا كموسيقيين.” وأضاف، تم إلغاء إحدى الحفلات إلا أن البقية سارت بشكلٍ جيد.

يؤمن مسعود بأن نجاح الفرقة يكمن في أن الجميع يستطيعون إيجاد علاقةٍ شخصية بكلمات الأغاني، “حلمٌ يهرب منك ولا تستطيع اللحاق به- هذا أمرٌ يهم الجميع.”

إلا أنه شهد تغييراً إيجابياً في المواقف الاجتماعية منذ الثورة، “بدأ الناس يرون الأشياء بطريقةٍ مختلفة، تركوا الوظائف ليصبحوا مصورين أو اتجهوا إلى عالم الموسيقى. رأى الناس أشخاصاً اعتبروهم قدوة وبدأوا بتقبّل مسارٍ مختلف. أصبح مقبولاً أكثر أن تكون مختلفاً.”

وأضاف “يحفظ المراهقون كلمات جميع أغانينا، وتغني الكثير من الفرق أغانينا، يمنح هذا الأمل [لموسيقى الأندرجراوند].”

ومع ذلك، لا يزال العمل كفنانٍ في مصر يُمثل تحدياًـ فقد قررت عازفة الأكورديون والملحنة والمغنية يسرا الهواري أن تقوم بتمويل أول ألبومٍ مسجل لها وعدم التعاون مع شركة إنتاجٍ لتبقى مستقلة والاحتفاظ بالسيطرة على خياراتها الفنية.

نجحت في ذلك، إلا أن بيع الألبوم في المتاجر سبب لها متاعب جمة. فبعد أن تخطت لجنة الرقابة، توجب عليها الحصول على العديد من التصاريح لكل أغنية تمنحها حقوق التوزيع. وبما أن الهواري مُلحنة ومغنية وموسيقية، توجب عليها أيضاً الحصول على تصاريح لتحصل على حقوقها الموسيقية، إذ قالت لفَنَك “تتطلب كل أغنية ثلاثة تصاريح تبلغ قيمة كلٍ منها 350 جنيه مصري (20 دولاراً). أي لألبوم يضم 12 أغنية، تحتاج إلى أكثر من 12,000 جنيه مصري.”

يصف العديد من المعجبين أغاني الهواري بأنها مبهجة، ولكن عادةً ما تكون مبطنةً بجانبٍ مظلم، إذ قالت: “لا أعتبر أغانيّ مبهجةً قط.” تتحدث أغنية “ببتسم،” عن فتاةٍ تواصل الابتسام على الرغم من المخاوف التي عاشتها وألمها الداخلي. العديد من أغاني الهواري تتطرق إلى كفاحات الحياة، إذ تقول “أنا أكتب عن ما أعتبره في هذه اللحظة أكبر مخاوفي،” وتابعت القول “حياتي، والصراعات، والتعامل مع القاهرة.”

بالنسبة لها، لا يتعلق الفن ببث رسالة بل هو وسيلةٌ للتعبير، “أغاني قريبة من شخصيتي وطريقتي في التعامل مع الأمور.”

وإلى جانب إصدار الألبوم، يمثل تقديم العروض تحدياً للفنانين الجدد أيضاً، وفي هذا الصدد، تقول الهواري “هناك العديد من القيود.” وأضافت “يتطلب تنظيم حفلٍ موسيقي الكثير من التصاريح، وهي مكلفة للغاية. يجب أيضاً أن تكون عضواً في نقابة الموسيقيين من أجل تقديم العروض.” وقد يكون من الصعب الانضمام إلى عضوية النقابة، حيث أوضحت الهواري “يمكنني الحصول بسهولة على عضوية كموسيقية، ولكن الحصول على عضويةٍ كمغنية هي الأصعب. المغني يحمل الميكروفون ويتحدث للجمهور.”

ومن ثم تأتي الضرائب: 25% من أسعار التذاكر، وهي نسبة مرتفعة لحفلات الفنانيين الجدد تماماً كما هو حال الحفلات التجارية الضخمة. “هذا ليس عدلاً،” بحسب الهواري التي أضافت “من المفترض أن تدعم وزارة الثقافة والنقابة المشهد الموسيقي، ولكنهم يفرضون قيوداً بدلاً من ذلك.”

يرى مسعود أن المشكلة ذاتها تواجه الفرق الجديدة، “هناك الكثير من الفرق في الإسكندرية، لكن ليس لديهم أي فرصة لتقديم العروض. يتطلب الأمر الكثير من الأعمال الورقية، ويجب أن تكون عضواً في النقابة. الفكرة جيدة لكن لا يجب فرضها.”

إن متطلبات العضوية تحد من الأماكن النادرة بالفعل التي يمكن للفنانين تقديم عروضهم فيها. تُقدم الهواري حفلاً واحداً شهرياً، الأمر الذي لا يعدّ كافياً لتكسب رزقها، “لا أجني المال في مصر، فقط من الجولات في الخارج.”

بل يمكن أن يصبح تقديم العروض في مصر أكثر تعقيداً، إذا ما دخل قرارٌ تمت الموافقة عليه في يوليو 2018 حيز التنفيذ. ووفقاً للقرار، شكلت مصر لجنةً دائمة لتنظيم ومنح التراخيص للمهرجانات. تضم اللجنة ممثلون عن وزارات الثقافة والداخلية والخارجية والطيران المدني والسياحة والآثار والتمويل والشباب والرياضة والتنمية المحلية.

وبحسب ما قاله طارق الشناوي، وهو ناقدٌ سينمائي لمدى مصر، “إن وجود وزارة الداخلية يعني أن الفنون ستخضع لتفحص عدسة الأمن، وهو أمر غير مبرر تماماً. يضعنا هذا القرار في موقفٍ خطيرٍ للغاية.”

وبموجب القرار الجديد، تتطلب إقامة حفلٍ موسيقي ما يصل إلى ثمانية تصاريح. وينص القرار أيضاً على أن لوزير الثقافة الحق في إلغاء مهرجان ما إذا كان الحدث “يشوه سمعة مصر.”

وعليه، كتبت المؤسسة المصرية لحرية الفكر والتعبير: “لا يمكن فهم هذا القرار بمعزل عن الهجوم المستمر على الإبداع.”

وقالت الهواري “عندما أرى الأماكن والفرص [للفنانين] عندما أسافر، أشعر بالحزن.” وأضافت “هناك أيضاً تحدي الموسيقى غير التجارية مقابل الموسيقى التجارية، ولكن لديهم على الأقل المساحة، مساحة للتنفس.”

وعلى الرغم من هذه التحديات، إلا أنها لا تكفي لتجبرها على مغادرة مصر، إذ تقول “لا تزال القاهرة المكان الذي يُلهمني، لا أعرف ماذا أفعل حيال ذلك. إنها مدينة تزخر بالتناقضات، مما يُثر التساؤلات.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Music in the Middle East / Independence Comes at a Cost for Egypt’s Underground Musicians

Independence Comes at a Cost for Egypt’s Underground Musicians

After almost six months delay, the Egyptian band Cairokee finally performed their long-awaited concert in May 2018. It was held at a mall on the outskirts of Cairo under heavy security. Riot police lined up along the entrance road of the parking lots. Police vans were parked just outside the fences surrounding the audience, and the conscripts packed inside could peek at the crowd through the vans’ barred windows.

Cairokee, an underground band formed in 2003, rose to fame in the period following the 25 January Revolution in 2011. Many of their songs reflect on the situation in the country at that time. Their first major hit, ‘Sout al-Horeya’ (‘voice of freedom’), produced with fellow underground band Wust el-Balad, became the unofficial anthem of the revolution.

While the band has been banned from performing a number of their songs, ‘Sout al-Horeya’ was played at the May 2018 concert. Lead singer Amir Eid only sang the chorus and kept silent throughout the verses. The audience, at least 10,000 people including many teenagers too young to have actively taken part in the revolution, sang the verses word for word.

It is not hard to see why the Egyptian state, allergic to almost every form of dissent or civil disobedience, sees a threat in such large gatherings.

Since the September 2017 concert featuring the band Mashrou’ Leila, famous for raising a rainbow flag associated with LGBT rights, and subsequent crackdown on the LGBT community, permits for large music events have been even harder to obtain.

The Cairokee concert was cancelled several times in late 2017 and early 2018. Another music festival in late 2017, featuring bands including the Jordanian-Palestinian 47 Soul, was cancelled as well. Four songs from the latest Cairokee album did not make it past the censorship board, forcing the band to release its album online only.

Another successful band to emerge from the underground scene is Massar Egbari from Alexandria. They are less political than Cairokee but typically tackle social expectations in their lyrics. Massar Egbari translates into ‘obligatory path’, referring to society dictating one’s life path.

“You go to school, study, work, marry and have children,” the band’s keyboard player Ayman Massoud told Fanack. “You have to be an officer, doctor or engineer and be like everyone else,” he said of the social dictates. “If you met the father of your girlfriend and you said you play tennis or are a photographer, he would say go away and do that. If you work in a bank, it’s good.”

The song ‘Mosawmat’ on Massar Egbari’s latest album, released in December, talks about life being full of comprises, until you realize you have lived your whole life compromising and don’t recognize yourself anymore. It strongly relates to the personal story of the band’s members. “We first had this dream in 1992, looking at bands such as Dire Straits and Pink Floyd. But we had to follow the rules and only formed a band in 2005,” Massoud recalled. In 2011, he decided to quit his regular job and focus fully on music. “It was really difficult, my parents said I was crazy, and then I knew I was on the right track,” he said.

The dream has become reality. “We started playing for 12 people, now we have an audience of 30,000.”

However, Massar Egbari also encounters problems with large concerts. “You have to follow a lot of steps, and that’s not our job as musicians,” Massoud said. One concert was cancelled but others went well, he added.

The key to the band’s success is that everyone can relate to the lyrics, Massoud believes.

“A dream running away from you while you are not able to catch it – that counts for everyone.”

He has seen a positive change in social attitudes since the revolution. “People started to see things in a different way, they left jobs to become photographers or go in to music. People saw role models and started to accept a different path. It’s more okay to be different.”

He added: “Teenagers know all our lyrics, and a lot of bands cover our songs, that gives hope [for underground music].”

Starting out as an artist in Egypt nevertheless remains challenging. Accordion player, composer and singer Youssra el-Hawary decided to crowdfund her first recorded album and not to work with a production company in order to stay independent and retain control of her artistic choices.

She succeeded, but selling the album in stores was a huge hassle. After passing the censorship board, she had to get several permits for each song granting her the rights to distribute. As el-Hawary is a composer, singer and musician, she had to get permits granting herself the rights to the music. “Every song requires three permits of 350 Egyptian pounds [$20] each. For a 12-song album, that’s over EGP 12,000,” she told Fanack.

Many fans describe el-Hawary’s songs as cheerful, but they usually have a dark undertone. “I never see my songs as cheerful,” she said. The song ‘Babtesem’ (‘I smile’) talks about a girl who keeps smiling despite the fears she has lived with and her inner pain. Many of el-Hawary’s songs deal with life’s struggles. “I write about what is at that moment my biggest concern,” she said. “My own life, conflicts, dealing with Cairo.”

For her, art is not about sending a message but is a means of expression. “My songs are close to my personality and my way of dealing with things.”

Besides releasing an album, performing is a challenge for new artists as well. “There are a lot of restrictions,” el-Hawary said. “Organizing a concert requires a lot of permits, which are very expensive. You also have to be a member of the Musicians’ Syndicate in order to perform.” Becoming a member of the syndicate can be hard. “I can easily obtain a musician’s membership, but a membership as a singer is the hardest. The singer holds the mic and speaks to the audience,” el-Hawary explained.

Then there are taxes: 25% of the ticket price, which is as high for concerts by new artists as for large commercial concerts. “It’s not fair,” el-Hawary said. “The Ministry of Culture and the syndicate are supposed to support the music scene, but instead they impose restrictions.”

Massoud sees the same problem for new bands. “There are a lot of bands in Alexandria but they have no chance to perform. It requires a lot of paperwork, and you have to be a member of the syndicate. The idea is good but they shouldn’t force it,” he said.

The membership requirement limits the already scarce venues new artists can perform in. El-Hawary has perhaps one concert per month, which is not enough to make a living. “I don’t make money in Egypt, only from tours abroad.”

Performing in Egypt can potentially become even more complicated, if a new decree approved in July 2018 comes into force. As per the decree, Egypt formed a permanent committee to regulate and grant licenses for festivals. Representatives from the ministries of culture, interior, foreign affairs, civil aviation, tourism, antiquities, finance, youth and sports, and local development would all sit on this committee.

“The presence of the Ministry of Interior means that arts will be scrutinized through the lens of security, which is completely unwarranted. This decree puts us in a very precarious position,” film critic Tarek al-Shennawy told local media Mada Masr.

Under the new decree, a concert would require up to eight permits. The decree further stipulates that the minister of culture holds the right to cancel a festival if the event ‘defames the reputation of Egypt’.

‘This decision cannot be understood in isolation from the ongoing onslaught on creativity,’ wrote the Association for Freedom of Thought and Expression.

“When I see the venues and opportunities [for artists] when I’m travelling, it makes me sad,” el-Hawary said. “There is also the challenge of non-commercial music versus commercial, but they have at least the space, the space to breathe.”

Despite the challenges, they are not enough to make her leave Egypt. “Cairo is still the place that inspires me, I don’t know what to do about that. It is a city full of conflicts, it triggers questions.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.