فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الموسيقى في الشرق الأوسط / موسيقى الراب في المغرب، مشهدٌ مزدهر وديناميكي

موسيقى الراب في المغرب، مشهدٌ مزدهر وديناميكي

الراب في المغرب ليس بالأمر الجديد، فقد ظهر في منتصف الثمانينيات مع فرقة Darkheads، التي أطلقت هذا الأسلوب الغنائي في البلاد بطابعٍ أمريكي. وفي أيامنا هذه، فإن الراب المغربي متنوع، سواء من حيث استخدامه للغة والتأثيرات الثقافية.

في الفيلم الوثائقي “أنا أحب الهيب هوب في المغرب،” تم تصوير الفنانين المشهورين اليوم، أمثال دي جاي كي، وآش كاين، وفناير، وإم سي بيغ، وبراون فينجر، و Mot de Passe، و FatiShow، وهم يواجهون مجتمعهم من أجل تنظيم حفلةٍ للراب والهيب هوب. يشاركون، عبر عدسة الكاميرا، أحلامهم وقيمهم وأفكارهم. تم تصوير الفيلم في عام 2007 وبعد أحد عشر عاماً، لا يزال مشهد الراب المغربي نابضاً بالحياة وأصبح جزءاً لا يُفوّت من الثقافة في شمال إفريقيا.

فقد قالت لنا نرجس بهار، وهي صحفية تعمل في مجال الإذاعة ومديرة مشرع الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا لمنصة البث الموسيقي Deezer، “الراب المغربي ينبض بالإبداع والثروة الثقافية واللغوية.” وأضافت “بما أن المغرب يتمتع بتنوع المناظر الطبيعية، والأصول والتأثيرات، فإن اللهجة المغربية المعروفة بـالدراجة، تنبض بالحياة ولا يتم التحدث بها بنفس الطريقة في جميع المناطق.”

وتشرح نرجس أن تطور الراب تم تسهيله من خلال سهولة الوصول إلى الإنترنت، ولكن ليس هذا فحسب: “إن أكثر من 50% من السكان لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى الإنترنت، لذا حصلت طفرة قبل ثلاث سنوات. إن مشهد الراب، على الرغم من أنه تمكن من خلق نمطه الخاص بناءً على ما تم إحرازه في السابق، منفتحٌ جداً على محيطه والعالم بالمجمل. الفنانون منفتحون ومتنوعون، ولا يترددون بالمشاركة مع فنانيين آخرين سواء من الشتات أو من الخارج، مثل مغني الراب المغربي حليوة والتونسي بلطي في أغنية (يما).”

تحوّل مشهد الراب المغربي، الذي كانت تُهيمن عليه في البداية اللغة الانجليزية، مع انطلاق مهرجان البولفار السنوي، وهو مهرجان للأغنية الحضرية انطلق في عام 1999 ليتنافس فيه الفنانون في ثلاث فئات: الراب/ الهيب هوب، والروك/الميتال، والفيوجن. وبحسب نرجس “في المنافسات، يتوجب عليك غناء الراب بالدراجة.” وأضافت “وضع هذا أسس الراب العربي في المغرب. فرقٌ مثل آش كاين وفرقة عود ليل عناصر أساسية أيضاً، ومن أوائل المشاركين في الحركة.” وأيضاً كما تقول نرجس، فقد استفاد مشهد الراب في البلاد من الحرية التي بدأت بعد وفاة الملك الحسن الثاني عام 1999.

حرية التعبير هذه بلغت ذروتها خلال الربيع العربي عام 2012، مع ظهور فنانيين مختلفين مثل محمد حوماص (المعروف باسم سي سيمو) ومعاذ بلغوات، المعروف بلقب الحاقد. فقد عالج سي سيمو في أغنية لكيليمني عدم المساواة بين الأغنياء والفقراء باستخدام الكلمات التالية: “يتناولون الكرواسان على الإفطار بينما نأكل الخبز المغمس بزيتٍ رخيص. يتعشون على اللحم المشوي بينما نتقاتل على أوقية من اللحم كالديدان.” وفي مقابلةٍ له مع قناة سي إن إن عام 2012، قال: “لماذا كتبت أغنية لكيليمني؟ انظر إلى المكان الذي أعيش فيه وستفهم سبب كتابتي للأغنية. سأتحدث ببساطة: هنا في المغرب الأشخاص الذين يمتلكون السلطة، يمكنهم فعل ما يريدون، وقول ما يريدون، ولن يحكم عليهم أحد أو يقول لهم أحدٌ أي شيء.”

فقد ألقي القبض على الحاقد في 29 مارس 2012 لإهانته الموظفين العامين في أغنية “كلاب الدولة.”

ركزت الاتهامات التي وجهتها له الشرطة المغربية على محتوى كلماته ومونتاج الصور المصاحب للفيديو الذي نُشر على اليوتيوب، ومنذ ذلك الحين انسحب من المنصة، ولم يعد بلغوات مرتبطاً بها.

ومنذ ذلك الوقت، يعيش الحاقد في المنفى في بلجيكا. ولا يزال منخرطاً بشدة بمشهد موسيقى الراب المغربي. أطلق في إبريل 2018 أغنية جديدة حملت عنوان “راكا طاكا،” حيث أضرم النار بجواز سفره وجلس يراقب الوثيقة أثناء احتراقها بينما يخاطب النظام المغربي: “لماذا تتهموني بالتآمر وتنقلوني من سجنٍ إلى آخر؟ […] إذا ما كنت متهماً، ستبقى مهما حصل، متهماً.” وقال لصحيفة آيريش تايمز: “في أغنياتي أنتقد السلطات – الملك والشرطة – وأتحدث عن حياتنا كما هي […] الراب يأتي من الشارع. إنه واضح ويمكن لمغني الراب التعبير عما يفكر فيه الناس الذين لا يستطيعون التعبير عنه صراحةً.”

Specials- Moroccan rap
شباب مغاربي يحضرون حفلة مغني الراب الفرنسي جوي ستار في 22 يوليو 2007 خلال مهرجان كازا ميوزك في الدرا البيضاء. على الرغم من المعارضة الإسلامية للمهرجانات الموسيقية ، حضر العديد من الشباب المغاربة الحفل. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA

وبحسب الفنان البالغ من العمر 40 عاماً، يوسف طالب، والمعروف بالإسم الفني “الموتشو،” فإن “الاتجاه الحالي لا يتمثل بإرسال رسائل عبر أغاني الراب، فلا أحد يهتم لهذا اليوم. ما تريده الجماهير هو موسيقى “تي راب”، والكوميديا، والعبارات المضحكة.” وقال لفَنَك، “إذا ما كنت ناشطاً، يمكنك مساعدة المنظمات من خلال فنك ولكن لا يمكن أن تتسم بالجدية كالسابق.” فقد سبق وحاز على جائزة فئة الراب/ الهيب هوب في منافسات مهرجان البولفار عام 2006، مما ساعده في انطلاق مسيرته الفنية، إذ قال لنا “في السابق، كنا نعتقد [نحن مغنوا الراب المغاربة] أننا مجرد نزعة مؤقتة، ولكننا لا زلنا هنا وأصبحنا رمزاً للشباب الحالي.” وتابع القول “ولكن هناك أساليب مختلفة لكلٍ منا، بالنسبة للشباب وحتى لأهاليهم.”

يعتبر النمط الموسيقي “تي راب” معروفاً في المغرب. يتم تعريفه من خلال محتواه الغامض والشرير والقاتم، والذي يختلف على نطاق واسعٍ بحسب الفنان. تتضمن الموضوعات الغنائية التي يتم تصويرها تجارب عن المشقة في “التي راب،” وحياة الشوارع، والفقر، والعنف، والتجارب القاسية في المناطق الحضرية المحيطة. فعلى سبيل المثال، في سبتمبر 2018، أصدر مغني الراب عصام أغنيةً منفردة حملت عنوان”كافيار،” وهي من نوع موسيقى “تي راب” والتي يأسف فيها على تجربته في المنفى الثقافي.

وبحسب نرجس، “هناك نوع من الواقع الخيالي الذي يضعه الفنانون في الأغاني، مثل الإتجار بالمخدرات، والجنس، والكحول.” وتابعت القول لنا في فَنَك، “يتحدث الفنانون أيضاً عن المشاكل التي يواجهونها في حياتهم اليومية، كحال مغني الراب في جميع أنحاء العالم. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتحدث المغني البنج عن مشقة انحداره من حي شعبي في أغنية “أنتي.” بينما يريد مغنون آخرون الترفيه عن جماهيرهم فحسب.”

ترى نرجس، التي تعيش في باريس وأقاربها في المغرب، أن الراب أصبح يعبر عن صوت الشباب. “بعض الشباب يتخطون الحدود،” كما تقول.

“إلا أن البعض منهم يلتزمون الحدود عما هو صحيح عندما يتحدثون عن الحشيش، على سبيل المثال. لا يمكنك قول كل شيء حتى الآن.”

مشهد الراب المغربي هو حالة خاصة في أفريقيا، حيث لا يستطيع الجميع الوصول إلى الإنترنت. وبفضل تنوعه وحيوته، وجد سبلاً للوصول إلى جمهوره محلياً وإقليمياً ودولياً من خلال العديد من عمليات التعاون.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ABDELHAK SENNA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Music in the Middle East / Moroccan Rap, a Booming and Dynamic Scene

Moroccan Rap, a Booming and Dynamic Scene

In Morocco, rap is nothing new. Having appeared in the mid-eighties with the band Darkheads, which launched the style in the country with an American-inspired tone. Nowadays, Moroccan rap is diversified, both in its use of language as the cultural influences.

In the documentary “I love hip hop in Morocco”, the now famous artists DJ Key, H-Kayne, Fnaïre, MC Bigg, Brownfingaz, Mot de Passe and FatiShow are portrayed facing their society in order to organize a rap and hip hop concert. To the camera, they share their dreams, values and ideas. The film was shot in 2007 and eleven years later, the Moroccan rap scene is still vibrant and has become an unmissable part of culture in North Africa.

“Moroccan rap is full of creativity and cultural and linguistic wealth”, Narjess Bahhar, a radio journalist and MENA project manager for the music streaming platform Deezer, told Fanack. “As Morocco has diverse landscapes, origins and influences, the language, called Darija, is very lively and is not spoken the same way in all the regions.”

She explains that the development of rap was facilitated by an easy access to internet, but not only that: “More than 50% of the population has access to internet, so there was a boom three years ago. The rap scene, although it managed to create its own style, based on what was made before, is very open to its surroundings and the world in general. Artists are open-minded and diversified, and don’t hesitate to do featuring with other artists from the diaspora and from abroad, like the Moroccan rapper 7liwa with the Tunisian Balti for “Yema”.”

First dominated by the English language, the Morocaan rap scene shifted with the yearly Festival L’Boulevart, an urban music festival created in 1999 in order to make artists compete in three categories: rap/hip hop, rock/metal and fusion. “For the competition, you had to rap in Darija”, Bahhar said. “It set up the basis for Arabic rap in Morocco. Bands like H-Kayne and 3awd Lil were also essential, early participants in the movement.” According to Bahhar, the country’s rap scene also benefited from more freedom of tone after the death of King Hassan II in 1999.

This freedom of tone reached its peak in 2012 during the Arab Spring, with different artists like Mohammed Hoummas (who goes by the pseudonym Si Simo), and Mouad Belrhouate whose alias is El Haqed, meaning “the enraged one” in Arabic. In the song “Kilimini”, Si Simo tackled inequalities between rich and poor with the following type of lyrics: “They have croissant for breakfast while we eat bread dipped in cheap oil. They dine on grilled meat while we fight over an ounce of meat like worms”. In an interview with CNN in 2012, he said: “Why did I write “Kilimini?” Look around where I live and you’ll understand why I wrote it.

To say it simply: Here in Morocco the people who have power, they can do what they want, say what they want, and no one will judge them or say anything to them”.

El Haqed was even arrested on March 29, 2012, for insulting public employees in his song, “Kilaab Addawla” (Dogs of the State). The accusations from the Morocco’s National Security Agency focused on the content of his lyrics and on the accompanying photo montage on a YouTube video, since then withdrawn from the platform, with which Belrhouate is unconnected.

Since then, El Haqed has lived in exile in Belgium. He is still very involved in Moroccan rap. In April 2018, he released a new video, “Raka Taka”, in which he sets fire to his passport and watches the document burn while addressing the Moroccan regime: “Why are you accusing me of plotting and taking me from one prison to another?” […] If you are accused, whatever happens, you remain accused”. He told the Irish Times newspaper: “In my songs I criticise the authorities – the king, the police – and I talk about our lives as they really are […] Rap comes from the street. It’s very direct and rappers can voice what people are thinking but can’t say aloud”.

Specials- Moroccan rap
Moroccan youth attends French rapper Joey Starr concert 22 July 2007 during the Casa Music festival in the capital Casablanca. Despite Islamic opposition to music festivals, many young Moroccans attended the concert. Photo AFP

According to 40-years-old artist Younes Taleb, who goes by the stage name Lmoutchou, “the current trend is not to pass a message through rap, nobody cares about that anymore. What the audience wants is “trap”, comedy, punch line”. He said to Fanack that “if you’re an activist, you can help out associations through your art but you cannot be serious like before”. Himself won the 2006 rap/hip hop L’Boulevart competition, which helped him start a career. “Before, we [Moroccan rap artists] used to think we were just a temporary trend, but we are still here and we became iconic for the current youth”, he told Fanack. “But there are different styles for everyone, for young people and even their parents.”

“Trap” is a well-known rap style in Morocco. It is defined by its ominous, bleak and gritty lyrical content which varies widely according to the artist. The lyrical themes portrayed include observations of hardship in the “trap”, street life, poverty, violence and harsh experiences in urban surroundings. For example, in September 2018, the rapper Issam issued his single “Caviar”, a “trap” track in which he laments his experiences of cultural exile.

“There is a kind of fantasy reality that artists put in songs, with drugs trafficking, sex, alcohol”, Bahhar, the project manager from Deezer, told Fanack. “Artists also talk about issues from their daily life, like other rappers worldwide. For example, Lbenj talks about the hardship to come from a popular neighborhood with “Anti”. Others just want to entertain their audience.”

Living in Paris, Bahhar sees with her cousins in Morocco that rap has become the voice of the youth. “Some artists are federative”, she said.

“But some are at the limit of what is correct there when they talk about hashish, for example. You can’t say everything just yet.”

The Moroccan rap scene is a particular case in Africa, where not everyone has access to the internet. Lively and diversified, it has found ways to reach out to its audiences locally, regionally and internationally through multiple collaborations.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.