فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الموسيقى في الشرق الأوسط / في المملكة العربية السعودية، تقليدٌ موسيقي يأبى الأفول

في المملكة العربية السعودية، تقليدٌ موسيقي يأبى الأفول

saudi music
سعوديون يعزفون الموسيقى التقليدية في معرض سوق السفر والسياحة السعودي في العاصمة الرياض في 24 مارس 2008. Photo: HASSAN AMMAR / AFP ©AFP ⁃ HASSAN AMMAR

كانت الموسيقى جزءاً لا يتجزأ من تراث وحياة البشر في بلاد الحجاز –السعودية حالياً -وشبه الجزيرة العربية منذ قرون طويلة مروراً بالعصر الجاهلي، قبل الإسلام، وصدر الإسلام وحتى العصر الحديث، ذلك الجزء الذي عانى تضييقاً شديداً في عصر الصحوة الإسلامية في السعودية في القرن العشرين. جاء ذلك بعد الدعم الرسمي للتشدد الديني بعد حادثة الإستيلاء على المسجد الحرام في مكة من قبل مجموعة من المتطرفين عام 1979 واندلاع الحرب السوفيتية –الأفغانية في نفس العام. استمر هذا التشدد الديني حتى تولي الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز العرش الملكي عام 2015 وتولي ابنه محمد بن سلمان منصب وليّ العهد لتعود الموسيقى من جديد لاجتياح المجتمع السعودي.

يُشير معظم المؤرخين إلى أن للموسيقى والغناء تاريخاً طويلاً قبل ظهور الإسلام، إذ يُشير المؤرخ الموسيقي الإنجليزي بيتر كروسلي هولاند إلى أن عصر ما قبل الميلاد قد شهد حضارة وتراث فني كبير أثّر على الشعوب المجاورة مُدللاً على ذلك بأسماء الكثير من الآلات الموسيقية القديمة التي تحمل أسماءً عربية اشتقتها بعد ذلك اللغات حول العالم مثل طبلة ودُف وزمر.

ويُشير قدامى المؤرخين إلى ان قبيلة “جرهم” كان لها دور كبير في نشوء وانتشار الحركة الفنية والثقافية في بلاد الحجاز نتيجة الاختلاط السلمي بالبلاد والشعوب المجاورة في اليمن والحيرة (العراق) وبلاد الغساسنة (الشام) وفارس (إيران) والروم من خلال التجارة والتبادل أو في حال نشوب حربٍ فيما بينهم. ويُشير المؤرخ والشاعر ابن عبد ربه الأندلسي إلى أن الغناء كان متفشياً في أمهات القرى العربية في المدينة والطائف وخيبر ووادي القرى ودومة الجندل واليمامة، حيث كانت تمارس معظم الطقوس الدينية مقترنة بالموسيقى والغناء.

تطورت الموسيقى بشكل كبير قُبيل الإسلام، ذلك التطور الذي صاحبه تطور في الآلات الموسيقية وتعددها فكانت هناك آلات وترية مثل البربط والمزهر والكيران والمعزفة والربابة والطنبور، وآلات نفخ هوائية مثل القصابة والشبابة والمزمار وزمارة القرب. كما كانت الأناشيد والأغاني جزء من طقوس الحج إلى الكعبة قبل الإسلام وكان أشهرها أغنية “نحن غُرابا عك” التي كانت تُغنيها وفود قبيلة عك من اليمن، والتي كانت تبدأ بترديد عبيد من القبيلة قائلين “نحن غرابا عك” حيث كانوا يُطلقون على العبد شديد السواد “غراب”، فيرد باقي أفراد الوفد قائلين “عك إليك عانية” أي أن قبيلة عك مستسلمة وخاضعة.

ومع دخول الإسلام استمرت بعض الطقوس الموسيقية والغنائية بعض الوقت إلى أن تغيرت بشكل كبير، حيث استمرت بعض القبائل في طقوس الموسيقى والغناء أثناء الحروب ضد المسلمين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، استقبل أهل المدينة المنورة النبي محمد وأصحابه عند الهجرة من مكة بالموسيقى والغناء. وهناك أيضاً بعض الأحاديث المروية عن النبي محمد بخصوص الموسيقى والغناء، كالذي يورده بهاء الدين الأبشهي في كتابه “المستطرف في كل فن مستظرف،” عندما سأل النبي زوجته عائشة بعد أحد الأعراس قائلاً “أهديتم الفتاة إلى بعلها؟، فقالت: نعم، فقال: وبعثتم معها من يُغني؟، فقالت: لا، فقال: أو ما علمتم أن الأنصار يُعجبهم الغزل؟، ألا بعثتم معها من يقول: أتيناكم أتيناكم، نحييكم نحييكم، ولولا الحبة السمراء لم نحلل بواديكم.”

وقد كان هناك الكثير من المُغنيين والعازفين في بلاد الحجاز في القرون الأولى من الإسلام، كان أشهرهم عيسى بن عبد الله المدني، المعروف باسم طويس (632 ميلادياً) والذي يُعرف بأنه أول من غنى باللغة العربية في المدينة المنورة. بالإضافة إلى مُغنيات شهيرات أمثال جميلة، ومولاة بن سليم، وأخرى كان تُعرف باسم بصبص، وكانت جارية لرجل يُدعى يحيى بن نفيس.

في القرن العشرين، شهدت السعودية ازدهاراً موسيقياً كبيراً بلغ ذروته في الستينيات وكان لإنشاء التلفزيون السعودي عام 1965 دوراً كبيراً في هذه النهضة الموسيقية. إلا أن اللافت في تلك النهضة أنها بدأت على يد ضابط في سلاح المدفعية يُسمى طارق عبد الحكيم، الذي كان مُغرماً بالفن والموسيقى، ليقوم وزير الدفاع آنذاك، الأمير منصور بن عبد العزيز، بإرساله إلى مصر لتعلم الموسيقى قائلاً له ” اذهب واغتنم الفرصة وتعلم الموسيقى في مصر، فسيأتي يوم تحال فيه إلى التقاعد، ولن تتمكن من بيع المدافع.”

أمضى عبد الحكيم في مصر سنوات تعلم خلالها الموسيقى على يد كبار الموسيقيين أمثال أحمد الحفناوي، وعبدالفتاح منسي، وأحمد عطیة. وبعد عودته إلى الرياض في أربعينيات القرن الماضي، قام بإنشاء أول أوركسترا موسيقية عسكرية ثم لاحقاً معهد موسيقى الجيش، الذي استعان بموسيقيين عرب من سوريا ولبنان ومصر، لتظهر أسماء كبيرة في مجال الغناء والموسيقى السعودية أمثال المُغنيات توحة، وصالحة حمدية، وابتسام لطفي وصفية لبانة، وكرامة صالح سلطان، وأمينة عدنية وفوزي محسون، وعبدالله محمد، ومحمد علي سندي. بالإضافة إلى عازفات أمثال عائشة زايدية وفاطمة اللائي اشتهرن بالعزف على مختلف الآلات الموسيقية.

شهد عددٌ من التغييرات السياسية والاجتماعية عام 1979 بداية أفول تلك الحقبة الموسيقية في السعودية. ففي نوفمبر من ذلك العام، اقتحم مسلحون بقيادة جهيمان العُتيبي، الشرطي السابق بالحرس الوطني السعودي، الحرم المكي وأعلن أن زميله الذي يُدعى محمد عبد الله القحطاني هو المهدي المُنتظر، حيث طالبوا ببيعته خليفة للمسلمين وقام باحتجاز المعتمرين داخل الحرم لمدة أسبوعين ليُسفر عن ذلك مقتل المئات.

سبق ذلك الثورة الإيرانية وتبع التدخل الروسي في أفغانستان، وهما الحدثان اللذان تسببا في هيمنة التيار الديني المتشدد داخل المملكة السعودية وبزوغ ما وُصف لاحقاً بتيار “الصحوة” الذي حرم الموسيقى والغناء والترفيه وإغلاق دور السينما والمسارح.

ويقول الكاتب والأديب السعودي عبده خال في مقال له بجريدة عكاظ، “قبل جهيمان كانت الحياة تسير طبيعية وبعده جاء تاريخ حافل من التشدد؛ كسرت أدوات الغناء وتناقل الناس تكبير المحتسبين وصياحهم على تحطيم عود، كان جهيمان ينعم بانتشار رسائله، وعم الظلام في كل مكان… أفاق الناس على عاصفة من التحريم تضافرت حتى حولت المجتمع لبؤرة باحثة عن تحريم كل مناشط الحياة.”

وبداية من عام 2015 ومع صعود نفوذ الأمير محمد بن سلمان تزامناً مع تولى والده الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز عرش المملكة وحملة التحديث التي قام بها ولي العهد، شهدت البلاد توجهاً أكثر انفتاحاً في مجال الموسيقى والفن. وفي عام 2016، تم إنشاء الهيئة العامة للترفيه، التي عملت على إعادة النهضة الموسيقية في المملكة باستضافة فاعليات موسيقية وغنائية وحفلات ضخمة بشكل دوري، لتعود الموسيقى إلى الحجاز من جديد بعد انقطاع دام قرابة 40 عاماً.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ HASSAN AMMAR | ©AFP ⁃ HASSAN AMMAR

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Music in the Middle East / In Saudi Arabia, a Musical Tradition that Refuses to Fade

In Saudi Arabia, a Musical Tradition that Refuses to Fade

saudi music
Saudi men play traditional music at the Saudi Travel and Tourism Investment Market fair in the capital Riyadh on March 24, 2008. Photo: HASSAN AMMAR / AFP

Music was an integral part of life in the Hijaz region, now Saudi Arabia, and the Arabian Peninsula for centuries throughout the pre-Islamic and Islamic era before encountering the hard-line policies of the so-called Islamic Awakening in the 20th century. This followed the authorities’ support for religious militancy after the seizure of the Grand Mosque in Mecca by a group of extremists in 1979 and the outbreak of the Soviet-Afghan war the same year. This religious militancy continued until King Salman ibn Abdel Aziz assumed power in 2015 and Mohammed bin Salman was appointed crown prince, allowing music to sweep Saudi society again.

Most historians agree that music and singing had a long history before the advent of Islam. English music historian Peter Crossley Holland notes that the centuries before Christ witnessed an artistic flourishing that influenced the neighbouring peoples, as evidenced by the fact that the names of many old musical instruments have Arabic origins that were later adopted by other languages around the world. These instruments include the drum, daf (a large frame drum) and flute.

Other historians note that the Jarham tribe played a significant role in the emergence and spread of art and culture in the Hijaz as a result of peaceful mingling with neighbouring peoples such as the al-Hirah (Iraq), the Ghassanids (Syria), the Persians (Iran) and the Romans through trade or during times of war. Historian and poet Ibn Abd Rabbo al-Andalusi pointed out that music was widespread in Arab villages in Medina, Taif, Khybar, Wadi al-Qura, Dawmat al-Jandal and al-Yamama, where most religious rituals were accompanied by music and singing.

Music evolved significantly before Islam, an evolution accompanied by a proliferation in the number and sophistication of musical instruments. There were string instruments such as the al-Barbat, al-Mizhir, kiran, mizifah, rababah, tanbur and air-inflated instruments such as qassaba, shabbabah, the flute and the bagpipe. Songs and chants were part of the hajj rituals before Islam. The most famous of these is ‘We are the Crows of Ak’, which was sung by delegations of the Ak tribe from Yemen. The song’s title refers to the tribe’s slaves, who were called ‘crows’ due to their dark skin. The slaves would sing the first line of the song ‘We are the Crows of Ak’ and the rest of the delegation would respond by singing ‘Ak comes so submissive’.

The advent of Islam put a stop to many musical and lyrical rituals. However, some tribes continued to perform them during the wars against the Muslims. In addition, the people of Medina received the Prophet Muhammad and his companions, who fled from Mecca to escape persecution, with music and songs. Several hadiths cite the Prophet referring to music and singing. According to Bahaa al-Din al-Abshahi in his book The Exquisite in Every Appealing Art, the Prophet asked his wife Aisha after a wedding, “Have you sent the girl to her husband?” When Aisha said yes, the Prophet asked, “Have you sent along someone to sing?” Aisha said, “No.” The Prophet said, “Did you not know that the al-Ansar [local inhabitants of Medina] like ghazal [a poetic expression of feelings]? Will you send along someone to say: ‘Here we are coming; here we are coming; we salute you; we salute you; and we would not have come to you unless we had wanted your tanned beautiful woman [as a wife]’.”

Many singers and musicians in the Hijaz in the early centuries of Islam have made it into the history books, the most famous of which is Isa ibn Abdullah al-Madani, better known as Tuwais (632 CE), who was the first to sing in Arabic in Medina. Well-known female singers include Jamila, Mullat ibn Salim and Basbas, a maid who worked for a man named Yahya ibn Nafis.

In the 20th century, Saudi Arabi witnessed a musical renaissance that peaked in the 1960s thanks to the launch of Saudi television in 1965. What is remarkable about this renaissance is that it was instigated by Tarek Abdel Hakim, an officer in the artillery unit who was fond of art and music. Prince Mansour ibn Abdul Aziz, then minister of defence, sent Abdel Hakim to Egypt to study music with the instructions, “Go and take the opportunity and learn music in Egypt, because there will come a day when you will retire and won’t sell artillery.”

Abdel Hakim spent years in Egypt studying the music of famous musicians such as Ahmed al-Hafnawi, Abdel Fattah Mansi and Ahmed Atiya. After returning to Riyadh in the 1940s, he established the first military orchestra and later the Army Music Institute, which solicited the expertise of Arab musicians from Syria, Lebanon and Egypt.

Among the best known names to emerge during this period were Tuhah, Salihah Hamdiyah, Ibtisam Lotfi, Safia Libbanah, Karama Saleh Sultan, Amina Adaniyah, Fawzi Muhson, Abdullah Mohammed and Mohammed Ali Sindi. This was in addition to female musicians such as Aisha Zaidia and Fatima al-Lai, who were famous for playing various musical instruments.

A number of powerful social and political changes in 1979 saw the beginning of the demise of that musical era. In November of that year, armed militants led by Juhayman al-Otaibi, a former policeman with the Saudi National Guard, seized the sanctuary of the Grand Mosque in Mecca and announced that one of their members, Mohammed Abdullah al-Qahtani, was the Mahdi (a prophesized redeemer of Islam). They demanded that Muslims obey al-Qahtani and held pilgrims hostage inside the sanctuary for two weeks. Hundreds of people died.

This was preceded by the Iranian Revolution and followed by the Russian intervention in Afghanistan. These two incidents contributed to the emergence of the radical religious trend in Saudi Arabia and the Islamic Awakening, which banned music, singing and entertainment and forced cinemas and theatres to close.

In an article for Okaz newspaper, Saudi writer Abdu Khal wrote, ‘Before Juhayman, life was normal and after that there was a long history of militancy; singing instruments were broken; and the people started to hear the religious police shouting “God is great” while breaking the flutes. Juhayman’s messages spread very fast, and darkness was everywhere…. A storm of taboos…combined to turn society into a place prohibiting all activities of life.”

Since 2015, King Salman ibn Abdel Aziz’s ascension to the throne and Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s modernization drive have seen restrictions on art and music eased. In 2016, the General Entertainment Authority was established to host regular musical events and concerts with the aim of revitalizing the kingdom’s musical heritage after a break of nearly 40 years.

Further Reading

Fanack presents the history of music in the MENA region and will continue to follow the new musicians, songwriters and p...
Fanack’s Saudi Arabia country file provides a comprehensive overview about Saudi Arabia, its history, politics, cultur...
Society in Saudi Arabia is generally traditional, collective, and conservative. Saudi Arabia has enforced a strict relig...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: HASSAN AMMAR ©AFP | HASSAN AMMAR ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!