فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الموسيقى في الشرق الأوسط / مذنبون بالمشاركة: سبعة مصريين خلف القضبان بسبب علاقتهم بأغنية انتقادية

مذنبون بالمشاركة: سبعة مصريين خلف القضبان بسبب علاقتهم بأغنية انتقادية

أصدر المغني المصري رامي عصام، الذي حقق شهرته في ميدان التحرير في القاهرة خلال الثورة في عام 2011، الفيديو لأغنيته “بلحة” في فبراير 2018. تهزأ الأغنية بشدة من الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي، ملقباً إياه بـ”بلحة،” الذي يستخدمه النقاد كلقب للسيسي.

لا يخجل عصام من استخدام كلمات مُهينة في أغنيته، إذ تقول كلمات الأغنية
“يا حلوة يا بلحه يا مقمعه، خلصتي سنينك الاربعه، طولت علينا بطلتك وزهقنا خلاص من خلقتك، فإلهي ينور صلعتك ويصيبك حظك م الدعا، وتلم ف ايدك شلتك وتنور سجن المزرعه.”

وفي وقتٍ لاحق من الأغنية، يأخذ ازدراء عصام منحنى سياسي أكثر، فعلى سبيل المثال انتقد مشروع قناة السويس الجديدة، والعاصمة الجديدة، وحرب مصر على الارهاب والدور الاقتصادي للجيش.

وبالنظر إلى تقلص حرية التعبير في البلاد، لا سيما تضييق الخناق الذي تمارسه الدولة على المشهد الموسيقي، كان من المرجح أن تؤدي أغنية مثل “بلحة” إلى إثارة رد فعلٍ، خاصة أنها تستهدف الرئيس بشكلٍ صريح.

ومع حظر الموسيقى في الديار، يعيش عصام ويعمل في فنلندا والسويد منذ عام 2014، بعيداً عن متناول أجهزة الأمن في مصر. لكن غيابه لم يقتل القضية، وبدلاً من ذلك، بدأت الشرطة في اعتقال الموسيقيين المرتبطين بطريقة أو بأخرى بعصام في الأشهر التي تلت إصدار الأغنية. في المجموع، تم اتهام سبعة منهم بنشر أخبار كاذبة والانضمام إلى منظمة إرهابية، حسب ما قاله المحامي مختار منير لفَنَك.

أحدهم كان جلال البحيري، كاتب الأغنية، الذي ذكر بالاسم في شارة فيديو الأغنية. وبغض النظر عن محاكمة أغنية بلحة، حكمت محكمة عسكرية على البحيري بالسجن لثلاث سنوات بتهمة إهانة الجيش والرئيس وازدراء الدين في قضية منفصلة تتعلق ببعض أعماله الأخرى.

كما ذكر منتج الأغنية، شادي حبش، في الشارة وهو أحد المتهمين. والثالث هو مدير صفحة عصام، أحمد شوقي.

تم القبض على العديد من الآخرين دون أي علاقة بالأغنية. وقال منير إن مصطفى جمال ساعد عصام فقط في تثبيت صفحته على الفيسبوك قبل ثلاث سنوات. أسامة الهادي، المتهم الوحيد الذي أفرج عنه إفراجاً مشروطاً، كان مسؤول صفحة عصام على الفيسبوك ولكن العلاقة منقطعة بينهما منذ سنوات.

كان الاعتقال الأكثر غرابة اعتقال محمد عبد الباسط، الذي لا تربطه أي علاقة شخصية بعصام. ووفقاً لمنير، كان يستمع لأغنية بلحة في سيارته في الكويت عندما تم اعتقاله من قِبل الشرطة الكويتية وترحيله إلى مصر.

المتهم الأخير هو رامي صدقي، عازف الجيتار لعدة فرق موسيقية بما في ذلك فرقة شارموفرز الشهيرة. كان يعزف ويقدم عروضاً مع عصام حتى عام 2015، لكن أصدقائه وعائلته يقولون إن علاقتهم لم تستمر بعد ذلك الوقت.

وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك زياد العلمي، محامي صدقي، “لأنهم لا يستطيعون الحصول على عصام نفسه، فإنهم يريدون إظهار أي رد فعل، إنهم يريدون أن يكون لديهم أي ملف ليظهروا للرئاسة أنهم يتصرفون،” وأضاف: “[الدولة] تريد إرسال إشارة وتخويف الآخرين.”

قامت فرقة شارموفرز بملء شاغر عازف الجيتار بصمت دون التطرق للقضية علانية. وقالت مصادر في المشهد الموسيقي لفَنَك أنهم واجهوا مشاكل في تقديم العروض لعدة أشهر بسبب تورط صدقي في هذه القضية. غير أن آخرين يقولون إن قضاياهم تتعلق بقمع عامٍ يشهده مشهد موسيقى الأندرجراوند، والذي سبق أن ذكرناه في فَنَك.

فقد أثبت أن السخرية والتهكم من السيسي خط أحمر واضح في مصر في عدة حالات سابقة. ففي عام 2015، حُكم على أحد الطلاب بالسجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات بعد نشره صورة معدلة للسيسي بآذان ميكي ماوس على الفيسبوك. كما تم حظر لعبة الأطفال الملقبة “بيضان السيسي” في عام 2017.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالنقد السياسي، لا يقل رد فعل الدولة شراسةً. فقد دعا الدبلوماسي السابق وزعيم الحزب السياسي معصوم مرزوق إلى إجراء استفتاء حول أداء القيادة في أغسطس 2018، وتم اعتقاله لقيامه بذلك. وإلى جانب العشرات من المدونين والناقدين والنشطاء والمحامين والسياسيين، يحاكم اليوم بتهمة نشر أخبار كاذبة والانضمام إلى منظمة إرهابية، التي تعدّ اتهامات نمطية موجهة إلى منتقدي النظام.

يواجه الرجال السبعة في قضية بلحة نفس الاتهامات، رغم أنه لم يتم تقديم أي تهم رسمية بعد. ووفقاً للقانون المصري، يتم تجديد اعتقالهم قبل المحاكمة كل 45 يوماً. وقال العلمي أن صدقي لم يخضع لاستجواب معمق منذ اعتقاله في مايو 2018.

وقال منير إنه تم إلقاء القبض على صدقي وجمال والهادي وعبد الباسط لأن تقرير الأمن القومي ذكر أنهم جزء من الأغنية، “لا يوجد دليل في القضية يؤكد الإدعاءات الواردة في التقرير؛ من غير الممكن أن تبني المحكمة قضية على هذا الأساس،” بحسب ما قال. وقال المتهمون الذين لهم صلة بالأغنية إن صدقي وجمال والهادي وعبد الباسط لم يشاركوا فيها.

سبق أن تحدثنا في فنَك مع المصدر في المشهد الموسيقي الذي يعتبر أن إصدار عصام لمثل هذه الأغنية أمر غير مقبول واصفاً إياها بـ”الغبية جداً.” وأَضاف، “من غير الأخلاقي وضع أسماء الفنانيين [في الشارة]، بالنظر إلى أن مجرد مشاركة منشور على الفيسبوك قد يجعلك تواجه المشاكل.”

أما فيما يتعلق بحالاتٍ أخرى قامت فيها مصر باعتقال أشخاص لهم علاقة بآخرين يعيشون في الخارج كانت أساساً مرتبطة بالإخوان المسلمين، التي تم تصنيفها كمنظمةٍ إرهابية. فعلى سبيل المثال، علا القرضاوي، ابنة الداعية الإسلامي والمقيم في قطر يوسف القرضاوي، وزوجها رهن الاحتجاز منذ يونيو 2017.

وفي وقتٍ سابق، قال محمد لطفي، رئيس المفوضية المصرية للحقوق والحريات، لنا في فَنَك إنه يعتقد أن اعتقال زوجته أمل فتحي وتوجيه الاتهامات لها يرجع جزئياً لمعاقبته على عمله كمدافعٍ عن حقوق الإنسان. ففي أغسطس 2018، اصطحبت الشرطة زوجة سامح سعودي وأطفاله من منزلهم لإجباره على تسليم نفسه.

وعلى الرغم من سوء سجل مصر في التعامل مع النقد أو ما تعتبره إهانةً للرئيس، لا يزال منير متفائلاً في قضية بلحة. “برأيي، سيبقى جميع المتهمين رهن الاحتجاز السابق للمحاكمة ويتم إطلاق سراحهم بعد فترة لأنه لا توجد أدلة كافية للذهاب إلى المحكمة.”

ومع ذلك، فإن المدعى عليهم، سواء اولئك الذين تربطهم علاقة أو لا تربطهم علاقة مباشرة بالأغنية، يقبعون وراء القضبان منذ ما يقارب العام.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Music in the Middle East / Guilty by Association: Seven in Egyptian Jail Over Links to Critical Song

Guilty by Association: Seven in Egyptian Jail Over Links to Critical Song

Egyptian singer Ramy Essam, who rose to fame performing on Cairo’s Tahrir Square during the revolution in 2011, released the video for his song ‘Balaha’ in February 2018. The song mocks and fiercely criticizes Egypt’s President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, calling him Balaha (‘date palm’), which critics use as a nickname for al-Sisi.

Essam does not shy away from insulting language in the song. ‘O shiny brown mister date, four years in disgrace have finally passed, for too long we have been with that dummy face … may the Lord take you we all pray, with all your gang boys in that darkest jail, I hope you rot in such a place,’ the lyrics go.

Later in the song, Essam’s disdain is more political, for instance slamming the new Suez Canal project, the new capital city, Egypt’s war on terrorism and the (economic) role of the army.

Considering the shrinking freedom of expression in the country, and in particular the control the state exercises over the music scene, a song such as ‘Balaha’ was likely to spark a reaction, especially as it explicitly targets the president himself.

With his music banned at home, Essam has been living and working in Finland and Sweden since 2014, out of reach of Egypt’s security apparatus. But his absence did not kill the case. Instead, the police started rounding up musicians related in one way or another to Essam in the months after the song’s release. In total, seven were accused of spreading false news and joining a terrorist organization, lawyer Mokhtar Mounir told Fanack.

One of them was Galal el-Beheiry, the song’s lyricist. He is mentioned by name in the credits of the song’s video. Aside from the Balaha trial, el-Beheiry has been sentenced to three years in prison by a military court for insulting the army and the president and for contempt of religion in a separate case over some of his other work.

The song’s producer, Shady Habash, was also mentioned in the credits and is one of the accused. The third is the administrator of Essam’s webpage, Ahmed Shawqy.

Several others without any relation to the song have been arrested. Mustafa Gamal only helped Essam to verify his Facebook page three years ago, Mounir said. Osama el-Hadi, the only one of the accused who has been conditionally released, used to be Essam’s Facebook page administrator but cut ties years ago.

The most curious arrest was of Mohamed Abdel Basset, who does not have any personal link to Essam. According to Mounir, he was listening to ‘Balaha’ in his car in Kuwait when he was arrested by the Kuwaiti police and deported to Egypt.

The last defendant is Ramy Sidky, a guitarist for several bands including the famous Sharmoofer. He played and performed with Essam up to 2015, but his friends and family say their relationship did not continue after that time.

“Because they cannot get Essam himself, they want to show any reaction, they want to have any file to show the presidency they are acting,” Sidky’s lawyer Ziad el-Elaimy told Fanack. “[The state] wants to send a signal and frighten others,” he added.

The Sharmoofers have silently refilled their guitarist position and have not spoken publicly about the case. Sources in the music scene told Fanack that they faced problems performing for several months due to Sidky’s involvement in the case. Others, however, say their issues were related to a general crackdown on the underground music scene, which Fanack has previously reported on.

Mocking and ridiculing al-Sisi has proved to be a clear red line in Egypt in several earlier instances. In 2015, a student received a three-year prison sentence after posting a doctored photo of al-Sisi with Mickey Mouse ears on Facebook. A children’s toy nicknamed ‘Sisi’s balls’ was banned in 2017.

When it comes to political criticism, the state’s response is no less fierce. Former diplomat and political party leader Masoum Marzouk called for a referendum on the leadership’s performance in August 2018, and was arrested for doing so. Together with dozens of critical bloggers, activists, lawyers and politicians, he is on trial for spreading false news and joining a terrorist organization, the typical accusations levelled at regime critics.

The seven men in the Balaha case face the same accusations, although no official charges have yet been filed. As per Egyptian law, their pre-trial detention is renewed every 45 days. El-Elaimy said that there had not been an in-depth interrogation of Sidky since his arrest in May 2018.

Mounir said that Sidky, Gamal, el-Hadi and Abdel Basset had only been arrested because the National Security report stated they were part of the song. “There is no evidence in the case that confirms the claims in the report; it is not possible the court would base a case on this,” he said. The defendants that do have a connection to the song have said that Sidky, Gamal, el-Hadi and Abdel Basset had no part in it.

Fanack previously spoke to a source in the music scene who found it unbelievable that Essam had released such a song, describing it as “very stupid”. He added: “It’s unethical to put the names of the artists [in the credits], considering a post on Facebook can get you into trouble.”

Other cases in which Egypt has arrested associates of someone living abroad mainly relate to the Muslim Brotherhood, which is designated as a terrorist organization. For instance, Ola al-Qaradawi, the daughter of Islamist preacher and Qatar resident Yusuf al-Qaradawi, and her husband have been held in detention since June 2017.

Mohamed Lotfy, head of the Egyptian Commission for Rights and Freedoms, told Fanack before that he believes the arrest of and case against his wife Amal Fathy is partly to punish him for his work as a human rights defender. In August 2018, police took activist Sameh Seoudi’s wife and children from their home to force him to hand himself in.

Despite Egypt’s poor track record in dealing with criticism or what it regards as insults to the president, Mounir remains optimistic in the Balaha case. “In my opinion, all the defendants will stay in pre-trial detention and be released after a while because there is not enough evidence to go to court.”

Nevertheless, the defendants with or without clear links to the song are already nearing one year in jail.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Facebook

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.