فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الاتحاد الجمركي: أداة قديمة بمهمة جديدة في العلاقات بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا

الاتحاد الجمركي: أداة قديمة بمهمة جديدة في العلاقات بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا

EU turkey
رئيس مجلس الاتحاد الأوروبي تشارلز ميشيل (إلى اليمين) والرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان. Photo: JOHN THYS / AFP

نشر مركز دراسات تركيا التطبيقية بالمعهد الألماني للشؤون الدولية والأمنية ببرلين مقالة سلّطت الضوء على حقبة جديدة من علاقات الاتحاد الأوروبي بتركيا، وسط حالة الشد والجذب القائمة بين الجانبين على وقع الخلافات الراهنة حول دور تركيا في قبرص وشرق البحر المتوسط واستخدام أنقرة لورقة اللاجئين للضغط على بروكسل. وتركز المقالة على ما يمكن أن تلعبه المفاوضات حول تحديث الاتحاد الجمركي بين تركيا والاتحاد الأوروبي من دور في تحسين العلاقات بين الجانبين. وشارك في كتابة هذه المقالة كلٌّ من الدكتورة سينم أدار، الزميلة بمركز الدراسات؛ والدكتور غونتر زويفرت، رئيس المركز؛ ونيكولا بيلوتا وسنان إكيم، الباحثان المختصان من معهد الأعمال الدولية بروما؛ وأوريلين دينيزو وهو باحثٌ مستقل بباريس؛ ودوروتي شميد، رئيس برنامج تركيا والشرق الأوسط بالمعهد الفرنسي للعلاقات الدولية؛ وإلكه تويغور، وهي محللة بمعهد إلكانو الملكي بمدريد؛ وكارول فاشيلفسكي، رئيس قسم الشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا بالمعهد البولندي للشؤون الدولية. وفيما يلي نص المقالة مترجماً باللغة العربية.

أشارت خلاصات المجلس الأوروبي بشأن العلاقات الخارجية المنشورة في الأول من أكتوبر من العام الجاري إلى استعداد الاتحاد الأوروبي للدخول في حقبة جديدة على مستوى علاقاته بتركيا. فالاتحاد الأوروبي “يدين بشدة انتهاك الحقوق السيادية لجمهورية قبرص” و”يدعو تركيا إلى الامتناع مستقبلاً عن مثل هذه التصرفات التي تنتهك القانون الدولي”. وفي الوقت الذي شدد فيه الاتحاد على ضرورة حل الخلافات “عن طريق الحوار السلمي” – وهذه إشارة واضحة إلى تلويح تركيا المفرط بالقوة العسكرية في البحر المتوسط – فإنه أكد عزمه على تطبيق العقوبات على تركيا. أما على الجانب الآخر، فقد وافق الاتحاد الأوروبي على “إطلاق أجندة إيجابية بينه وبين تركيا والتركيز على تحديث الاتحاد الجمركي والتسهيلات التجارية والتواصل الفردي والحوارات رفيعة المستوى” و”استمرار التعاون في قضايا الهجرة”. بيد أن الشرط الرئيسي لإطلاق هذه الأجندة الجديدة هو الحفاظ على “الجهود البنّاءة للحدّ من الأعمال غير القانونية إزاء اليونان وقبرص”. ويقترح الباحثون المشاركون في كتابة هذه المقالة على الاتحاد الأوروبي، بناءً على أبحاث مشتركة بين ستة مراكز بحثية أوروبية، أن يفصل بوضوح بين إطار انضمام تركيا وتحديث الاتحاد الجمركي، كما يضعون إطاراً للمفاوضات بشأن الاتحاد الجمركي المحدث.

وكان التزم الاتحاد الأوروبي قد التزم حتى هذه اللحظة بقرار مجلس الشؤون العامة المعلن في 26 يونيو 2018 الذي لم يقتصر فقط على استبعاد فتح فصل جديد في إجراءات عضوية تركيا، بل شمل كذلك إيقاف “العمل على تحديث الاتحاد الجمركي بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا”. وحتى هذه اللحظة، يعلّق الاتحاد الأوروبي أي تقدم في إجراءات العضوية وبداية المحادثات حول تحديث الاتحاد الجمركي على شرطين، أولهما يتمثل في أخذ مبادرات في ملف تعزيز الديمقراطية وسيادة القانون، وثانيهما يكمن في إظهار اصطفاف أكبر مع السياسة الخارجية للاتحاد الأوروبي تجاه الدول الأخرى. لكن هذه الاستراتيجية لم تنجح. فتعليق عملية الانضمام وعرقلة المفاوضات بشأن الاتحاد الجمركي وإلغاء الحوارات رفيعة المستوى لم تمنع تراجع الديمقراطية في تركيا ولا منعت أنقرة من عسكرة سياستها تجاه دول الاتحاد الأوروبي في شرق المتوسط. بل وعلى العكس من موقف الاتحاد الأوروبي الثابت، فإن الاتحاد واصل الاعتماد على التعاون مع تركيا في ملفات الهجرة ومواجهة الإرهاب والدفاع.

في هذه الأثناء، تدهورت العلاقات بين دول الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا بشكل متسارع. إذ باتت بعض الدول مثل فرنسا وألمانيا وبدرجة أقل إيطاليا وبولندا، أقرب إلى رؤية تركيا بوصفها عقبةً أمام مصالحها الحيوية. أما بالنسبة إلى دول أخرى كاليونان وقبرص، فقد تحولت تركيا إلى خصم يهدد أمنها. وسبق لتركيا تكديس المهاجرين على الحدود اليونانية، وحاولت إجبار أثينا على السماح بتدفق المهاجرين غير الشرعيين. كما يرى الاتحاد الأوروبي أن أنقرة انتهكت المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة في قبرص، وتحدّت الحقوق السيادية لليونان. واعترضت القوات البحرية التركية سفن أبحاث نرويجية وإيطالية وإسرائيلية في المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة لقبرص. وكانت السفن البحرية التركية في وقت ما مستعدة لإطلاق النيران على سفن من البحرية الفرنسية واليونانية. وكانت تركيا قد عرقلت مؤقتاً خططاً دفاعية لحلف الناتو تتعلق بدول البلطيق وبولندا حتى تدفع أعضاء الحلف لتصنيف القوات الكردية السورية كمنظمات إرهابية.

وبالنظر إلى تزايد التحديات التي تفرضها تركيا على الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد بصفةٍ أحادية وعلى الاتحاد نفسه ككل، فإن رفض بروكسل السابق النظر في إعادة المفاوضات حول الاتحاد الجمركي – الذي يرجع بشكل أساسي إلى تراجع الأداء التركي في ملفات حقوق الإنسان وسيادة القانون – يعيدنا بصورةٍ متزايدة إلى ذكرى سابقة من عقدٍ سابق ظنّ فيه الاتحاد الأوروبي نفسه قادراً على دفع تركيا نحو تعزيز الديمقراطية.

نقطة تحوّل في السياسة الأوروبية تجاه تركيا

هذا الواقع الجديد يبرز الحاجة إلى مفاوضات تحلّ فيها سياسة العصا والجزرة محل النمط السابق من السطوة أحادية الجانب التي كان يتمتع بها الاتحاد الأوروبي على تركيا. وحتى وقت قريب، فإن الاتحاد الأوروبي الذي يرفض أغلب المطالب التركية – مثل تسهيل إصدار التأشيرات والحوارات رفيعة المستوى والاتحاد الجمركي – لم يكن في يده الكثير لينفعه في مساومة أنقرة. ولأنه ليس لدى أنقرة ما تخسره في علاقاتها بأوروبا، فإنه لم يكن لديها أي حافز لمراعاة مصالح الاتحاد الأوروبي أو مصالح أعضائه.

وبناءً عليه، لم يحدث التحول الأخير الظاهر في موقف الاتحاد الأوروبي من فراغ. وقد يكون الاتحاد الجمركي أكثر أدوات الاتحاد الأوروبي تأثيراً في مساومة تركيا، فضلاً عن رغبة أغلبية أعضاء الاتحاد الأوروبي في توسيع دائرة الاتحاد الجمركي. وعلى هذا النحو، فإن قرار مجلس الشؤون العامة للاتحاد الأوروبي في 26 يونيو 2018 باستبعاد فتح فصل جديد من عملية الانضمام كان متسقاً مع هذا التوجه. وما يزال من الواضح وضوح الشمس أن تركيا لم تعد تفي بمعايير كوبنهاغن. لكن ذلك القرار يعكس توجهات ألمانيا وفرنسا تحديداً، ويتغاضى عن توجهات بقية الأعضاء.

ثمة مصالح اقتصادية كبيرة للدول التي شملها البحث، مثل إسبانيا وبولندا وإيطاليا واليونان، وكذلك فرنسا وألمانيا، في تمديد اتفاقية التجارة لعام 1995 التي عفا عنها الزمن إلى درجة ما. وسواء كان أصحاب المصلحة هم مجتمعات الأعمال أو وزارات التجارة في الدول الستة، فإنهم يدركون العائد العظيم للمنافع التجارية في حال امتد العمل بالاتحاد الجمركي. ويشمل هذا العائد مشاريع مشتركة في الدفاع والطاقة المتجددة وقطاع البناء والنظام المالي. كما يمكن لاتفاقية جديدة أن تسهل الوصول إلى المناقصات الحكومية والسوق التركي المحلي الضخم. كما يمكن الاستفادة من إمكانات تركيا الكبيرة باعتبارها دولة موردة للسياح وإتاحتها الملاحة الساحلية. فما زالت النظرة إلى تركيا على أنها مركز واعد لأسواق آسيا الوسطى والشرق الأوسط مستقرة. ومن شأن توسيع الاتحاد الجمركي أن يضمن استمرار سلاسل القيمة ويؤكد سمعة تركيا باعتبارها وجهة للاستثمار.

لكن وعلى الرغم من كل تلك المكاسب الحقيقية للدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي، فإن الأطراف المعنية من السياسيين تحديداً منتبهون جيداً لأن تركيا هي المستفيد الأكبر من توسيع الاتحاد الجمركي نظراً لمشاكلها الاقتصادية التي يؤكدها انخفاض الدخل الفردي خلال السنوات الأخيرة. ويضاف إلى ذلك خطر التعامل مع توسيع دائرة الاتحاد الجمركي وكأنه مكافأة لتركيا، خاصةً إذا أخذنا بعين في الاعتبار موقفها المتعنت في منطقة شرق المتوسط، واستغلالها موجات الهجرة، وتقاربها مع روسيا، وما يبدو تخفيضاً لمستوى ولائها لحلف الناتو، ناهيك عمّا تقوم به من تدخلات في سوريا وليبيا وأخيراً القوقاز. بيد أن المخاوف تهيمن على النقاشات في أغلب البلاد التي شملها البحث. وعليه، فإن فصل إعادة التفاوض بشأن الاتحاد الجمركي عن إطار الانضمام وربطه بالاصطفاف مع الاتحاد الأوروبي في السياسة الخارجية والمسائل الأمنية يمكن أن يساعد تركيا في المراهنة بشكلٍ أكبر على سياستها الخارجية العسكرية وأحادية الجانب.

باختصار، يمكن لإعادة تحديث الاتحاد الجمركي إلى طاولة المفاوضات أن يمنح الاتحاد الأوروبي الفرصة لتعظيم استفادتها من اهتمام تركيا الملحّ بالمسألة. ويمكنه أن يساعد أوروبا على إنشاء مساحة للتواصل مبنية على قواعد محددة تمكّن الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا من التفاوض على مواقفهما. وبهذا يمكن للاتحاد الأوروبي أن يساهم في تخفيف حدة النزاعات الحالية مع تركيا دون المجازفة بالتعاون مع أنقرة. كما أن إعادة تركيا إلى الدبلوماسية قد يساعد أوروبا على إقناعها بالالتزام بالاتفاقيات. وأخيراً، فإن لعملية إعادة التفاوض بشأن الاتحاد الجمركي فاعلية في مساعدة أوروبا لخلق إطار مشترك للعلاقات مع تركيا بحيث تقطع الطريق على سياسة فرّق تسُد التركية.

توصيات للاتحاد الأوروبي

في كل الأحوال، ينبغي على بروكسل الانتباه إلى بعض العقبات الجدّية، فضلاً عن تحديد الخلافات الداخلية الأساسية حتى يتمكن الاتحاد من استغلال مفاوضات الاتحاد الجمركي مع تركيا استغلالاً جيداً.

أولاً وقبل كل شيء، على الدول الأعضاء تقبّل اختلاف رؤاهم حيال التداعيات السياسية لإعادة التفاوض بشأن الاتحاد الجمركي وخصوصاً في العلاقة بين الاتحاد الجمركي وعضوية تركيا في الاتحاد الأوروبي. إذ تختلف المقاربات الوطنية اختلافاً كبيراً في هذا الأمر. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن أثينا، شأنها شأن أنقرة، تعارض فكرة أن يكون الاتحاد الجمركي المحدّث بديلاً عن عضوية تركيا في الاتحاد الأوروبي، بينما يذهب بعض الخبراء في فرنسا، بعيدا عن أعين الجمهور، إلى هذه الفكرة. وبناءً عليه، على الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يتعامل مع مفاوضات الانضمام إليه – وبالتبعية توقعات تعزيز الديمقراطية – بمعزل عن مسألة تحديث الاتحاد الجمركي. وهذا لا يعني أن الاتحاد الأوروبي ليس معنياً بتراجع الديمقراطية في تركيا. لكنه اعتراف بحدود القوة النسبية للاتحاد الأوروبي على السياسة الداخلية التركية من جانب، والحاجة المتزايدة إلى التعاون مع تركيا في مجالات السياسة الخارجية والأمن من جانب آخر.

ثانياً، على الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يثبت جديّته في إقامة علاقات فعالة مع تركيا. وحتى يحدث ذلك، على الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يدرك تفاوت الآراء في هذه القضية، بما في ذلك الاتحاد الجمركي، وأن يدرك اختلاف درجات الاستعداد بين الدول الأعضاء. فبعض الدول اتخذت الحكومات فيها وجمعيات الأعمال والمنظمات غير الحكومية قرارها بالفعل، بينما لا تحظى القضية بالاهتمام في دول أخرى. ويحتاج الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى الانخراط في تواصل استراتيجي مع الدول الأعضاء، ولفت الانتباه للمنافع الاقتصادية، والتأكيد على أن مسألة توسيع الاتحاد الجمركي قضية منفصلة عن مستقبل تركيا في الاتحاد الأوروبي.

ثالثاً، على الاتحاد الأوروبي توجيه رسالة واضحة إلى تركيا مفادها أن استعداده لتطوير الاتفاق التجاري الحالي لن يكون إلا في حالة الوفاء بشروط معينة. فعلى تركيا معالجة وإصلاح العدد المتزايد من المخالفات التجارية في السنوات الأخيرة في إطار الاتفاقية الحالية. وهذه الحالة أبلغت عنها كل الدول المشمولة في البحث المشترك. كذلك على أنقرة أن تثبت جديتها في التعاون مع أوروبا في تنظيم مسألة الهجرة. والشرط الثالث يكمن في معاودة إثبات تركيا نفسها كشريك حقيقي في الأمن الأوروبي. وهذا لن يكون ممكناً إلا بإظهار اهتمام صادق بالتعددية والدبلوماسية، وإنهاء أنقرة التهديدات العسكرية في شرق المتوسط، والتصرف وفقاً للمصالح المشتركة للتحالف عبر الأطلسي.

رابعاً، يجب أن يكون الاتحاد الجمركي أداة الاتحاد الأوروبي الرئيسية – لكن ليس الوحيدة – لإعادة دمج أنقرة. ولقد تحدّث المجلس الأوروبي في استنتاجاته عن تسهيل الاتصال الفردي، ما يمثل خطوةً في اتجاه تسهيل التأشيرات على الأقل لبعض مجموعات المسافرين من تركيا. وهنا، يجب على الاتحاد الأوروبي تقديم التزامات أقوى لأن التعاطي مع هذه القضية تأخر طويلاً. كما يجب على بروكسل أن تثبت نفسها كفاعلٍ موضوعي وعادل وذلك عبر الموازنة بين قيم الولاء الداخلي والسياسة الواقعية وغير المنحازة في شرق المتوسط. ويتطلب هذا الأمر إظهار أن مطالبات تركيا المبررة تلقى آذاناً صاغية، لكن الأساليب التي تنتهجها أنقرة ليست مقبولة، فهي بعيدة عن مقتضيات القانون الدولي والأعراف الدبلوماسية.

توصيات لتركيا

على تركيا أن تنتبه إلى أن الوقت لم يعد في صالحها؛ فهي تعاني من تدهور سريع في صورتها بوصفها وجهة اقتصادية. كما أدى التحول إلى النظام الرئاسي إلى تعطيل البيروقراطية التجارية، وتدنٍ سريع في مستويات الثقة في النظام القضائي. فلم تعد الشركات الفرنسية تشعر بالأمان في تركيا، وأعربت الشركات الألمانية مراراً عن قلقها حيال أمن موظفيها الأتراك. وبدأت الشركات الألمانية والفرنسية بالفعل البحث عن وجهات استثمارية بديلة، وهو ما ظهر في القرار الأخير لشركة فولكس فاغن بإلغاء خطط إنشاء مصنع جديد لها في تركيا.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن أنقرة تواجه تزايد حدة المشاعر العامة المستاءة من تركيا، حتى في الدول التي تكنّ مشاعر إيجابية تجاهها مثل إيطاليا وإسبانيا وبولندا. لا يرجع هذا إلى تراجع الديمقراطية في تركيا وعسكرتها للسياسة الخارجية فحسب، بل إلى صعود الشعبوية اليمينية في أوروبا كذلك.

أخيراً، فإن تمسّك القيادة التركية ببعض الآراء غير التقليدية في المسائل الاقتصادية والمستقبل الاقتصادي للبلاد يعرّض طلب تركيا المستمر بتحديث الاتحاد الجمركي للفشل. ويُعتبر الإصرار على إبقاء نسب الفائدة منخفضة لحساب اغتصاب سلطة السياسة النقدية من البنك المركزي المستقل نسبياً أحد الحالات الرئيسية في هذا الموضوع. كما أن على الحكومة التركية القيام بالعديد من الإصلاحات حتى يكون توسيع الاتحاد الجمركي ذا قيمة بعيداً عن خطابها الرسمي المؤيد له. ويقع الدعم الحكومي والتمييز المؤسسي ضد المناقصين الأجانب والمناقصات غير الشفافة في صلب هذه الإصلاحات.

إن تطوير الاتحاد الجمركي قد يساعد على إبقاء تركيا قريبة من أوروبا من خلال آثاره المحتملة واسعة المدى على النظام القضائي والشفافية في آليات التمويل التي يستخدمها الحزب الحاكم. وإن لم تظهر أنقرة نيتها الصادقة لعكس اتجاه سير الديمقراطية فيها من التراجع إلى التقدم، فإن تطوير الاتحاد الجمركي لن يكون كافياً وحده لإبقاء تركيا في أوروبا.

ملاحظة: وافق مركز دراسات تركيا التطبيقية بالمعهد الألماني للشؤون الدولية والأمنية ببرلين على ترجمة وإعادة نشر هذه المقالة على موقع فنك. إلا أن فرصة مراجعة هذه الترجمة لم تتوفر أمام مؤلفي المقالة نظراً لعدم وجود مختصين لغويين لدى المركز يجيدون اللغة العربية في الوقت الراهن.

Note: CATS/SWP Berlin provided Fanack with a permission to republish and translate this article. However, the authors do not recognize the translation. The authors did not have the chance to go through the translation after it was done due to the lack of necessary linguistic capacity at CATS/SWP.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOHN THYS ©AFP | JOHN THYS ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Customs Union: Old Instrument, New Function in EU-Turkey Relations

Customs Union: Old Instrument, New Function in EU-Turkey Relations

EU turkey
EU President of Council Charles Michel (R) and Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Photo: JOHN THYS / AFP

By: Sinem Adar, Nicola Bilotta, Aurélien Denizeau, Sinan Ekim, Dorothée Schmid, Günter Seufert, Ilke Toygür, and Karol Wasilewski

The European Council’s conclusions on external relations published on 1 October 2020 hint at the readiness of the European Union (EU) to enter into a new stage in its relations with Turkey. On the one hand, the EU “strongly condemns violation of the sovereign rights of the Republic of Cyprus” and “calls on Turkey to abstain from similar actions in the future, in breach of international law”. It also insists on resolv­ing differences “through peaceful dialogue” – a clear hint at Turkey’s extensive show of military might in the Mediterranean – and underlines its determination to apply sanctions to Turkey. On the other hand, the EU has agreed “to launch a positive politi­cal EU-Turkey agenda with a specific emphasis on the modernisation of the Customs Union and trade facilitation, people-to-people contacts, High level dialogues”, and “con­tinued cooperation on migration issues”. The essential condition to kick off this new agenda is to sustain the “constructive efforts to stop illegal activities vis-à-vis Greece and Cyprus”. Based on joint research conducted by six European think tanks, we suggest that the EU should explicitly separates the accession framework from the modernisation of the Customs Union. Additionally, we lay out a framework for the negotiations on a modernised Customs Union.

Up until now, the EU has adhered to the decision of its General Affairs Council an­nounced on 26 June 2018 that rules out not only the opening of any new chapter in the membership process, but also any “further work towards the modernisation of the EU-Turkey Customs Union” (CU). Up until now, Brussels has based progress in the membership process and the start of talks on the modernisation of the CU on two conditions: i) initiatives towards democ­ratisation and improving rule of law, and ii) greater align­ment with the EU’s foreign policy towards third countries. Yet, this strategy has not worked. Stalling the membership process, blocking negotiations on the CU, and can­celling high-level dialogues have neither prevented democratic backsliding in Tur­key, nor prompted Ankara to desist from the militarisation of its policy towards the EU member states in the Eastern Mediterranean. In contrast to its unyielding posi­tion, the EU has continued to depend on Turkey’s cooperation on migration, counter-terrorism, and defence.

In the meantime, relations of EU countries with Turkey have deteriorated rapidly. Some member states, such as France, Ger­many, and to a lesser degree Italy and Poland, increasingly see Turkey as a chal­lenge to their vital interests. For others, Turkey has even turned into an adversary that is threatening their security, as is the case with Cyprus and Greece. Turkey piled refugees at the Greek border and tried to force Athens to permit the influx of irregu­lar migrants. In the eyes of Brussels, Ankara violated the Exclusive Economic Zone of the Republic of Cyprus and challenged the sovereign rights of Greece. The Turkish navy intercepted Norwegian, Italian, and Israeli research vessels in the Exclusive Eco­nomic Zone of Cyprus. Turkish warships at one point appeared ready to fire at ships of the French and Greek navies. Turkey tem­porarily blocked NATO planning for the Baltic states and Poland to force NATO mem­bers to classify Syrian Kurdish forces as terrorist organisations.

Given the foreign policy challenges that Turkey increasingly poses to EU member states and the EU as a whole, Brussels’ earlier refusal to consider the renegotiation of the Customs Union – primarily due to Turkey’s backsliding in terms of human rights and the rule of law – appears more and more like the lieu de mémoire of a past decade, when the EU still thought of itself as having the leverage to urge Turkey towards democratisation.

A Watershed Approach in the EU’s Policy towards Turkey

This new reality suggests that the need for negotiations that utilise both carrots and sticks has replaced the former one-sided leverage the EU once had over Turkey. Up until recently, the EU, refusing almost all Turkish demands – such as visa liberalisation, high-level dialogues, and the Customs Union – had little to offer in bargaining with Ankara. Having nothing to lose in its relations with Europe, Ankara had no in­centive to take the EU’s interests or those of EU member states into account.

The recent apparent shift in the EU posi­tion, thus, did not happen in a vacuum. The CU is perhaps the most influential tool that the EU can use to bargain with Turkey. Moreover, there is also interest in almost all member states for a deepened Customs Union. The EU General Affairs Council’s decision on 26 June 2018 to not open new chapters in the membership process is con­sistent. It is all too obvious that Turkey no longer meets the Copenhagen criteria. Yet, the Council’s decision to apply the very same framework to the handling of the CU reflects the attitudes of France and Ger­many in particular, and it disregards the leanings of other member states.

The EU countries that were researched, such as Spain, Poland, Italy, Greece, and also France and Germany, have strong eco­nomic interests in the deepening of the somewhat outdated trade agreement from 1995. Be it the business communities or the ministries of trade, the main economic stakeholders in each of these six countries are cognisant of the great potentials of trade benefits that an extended CU could deliver. The panoply includes joint ventures in defence, renewables, the finance system, and construction. A new agreement could grant easier access to state tenders, and the country’s huge domestic market. It could utilise Turkey’s potential as a tourist-send­ing country and allow for cabotage. Turkey is still seen as a promising hub for Cen­tral Asian and Middle Eastern markets. A deepened CU would ensure existing value chains and underscore Turkey’s credibility as an investment destination.

Notwithstanding these tangible benefits for EU member states, the political stake­holders especially are well aware that Tur­key would profit more from a deepened CU given its economic woes, evidenced by the decline in per capita income in recent years. Moreover, there is the risk that the upgrading of the CU might appear as a reward for Turkey, given its hardball stance in the Eastern Mediterranean, its utilisation of migratory movements, its rapproche­ment with Russia and seemingly decreasing level of solidarity with NATO, as well as its interventions in Syria, Libya, and recently in the Caucasus. Nevertheless, foreign policy concerns dominate the discussion in almost all countries that participated in the research. Thus, disentangling the renegotiation of the Customs Union from the acces­sion frame­work and making it conditional on align­ment in foreign policy and security matters could help up the ante for Turkey in its uni­lateral and militaristic foreign policy.

In a nutshell, bringing the modernisation of the CU to the negotiation table pro­vides the EU with the opportunity to capi­tal­ise on Turkey’s continued interest in the matter. It will help Europe to establish a rules-based communicative space where the EU and Turkey can negotiate their posi­tions. As such, the EU can contribute to the de-escalation of the present conflicts with Turkey without jeopardising Ankara’s cooperation. Moreover, re-socialising Tur­key back into diplomatic circles may help Europe convince Turkey to abide by agree­ments. Last but not least, the process of renegotiating the Customs Union has the potential to help Europe create a common framework for relations with Turkey in ways that render Turkish divide-and-rule policies ineffective.

Recommendations for the EU

Brussels should, however, pay attention to some serious pitfalls and sort out essential internal differences in order to put the nego­tiations on the CU to good use while bargaining with Turkey.

First and foremost, member states should accept that they have different views con­cern­ing the political implications of a re­nego­tiated Customs Union and, particularly, the CU’s link to Turkish membership in the EU. The national approaches vary consider­ably on this. Interestingly and similarly to Ankara, Athens strictly opposes the idea that a modernised Customs Union may func­tion as a substitute for Turkey’s mem­bership. In France, out of the public eye, some pundits are pondering exactly this idea. Brussels, thus, should hold the EU ac­cession negotiations – and, correspondingly, expectations towards democratisation – separately from the modernisation of the CU. This is not to suggest that the EU is no longer interested in Turkey’s democratic backsliding. It is instead an acknowledgment of the limits to the EU’s normative power over Turkish domestic politics, on the one hand, and the growing necessity for cooperation with Turkey in realms of foreign policy and security, on the other.

Secondly, the EU should prove its commitment to establishing workable relations with Turkey. To this end, Brussels has to realise the highly varied discussions on the matter, including the CU, as well as the dif­ferent degrees of preparedness in differ­ent member states. In some countries, govern­ments, business communities, and NGOs have already made up their minds, whereas in other states the issue hardly attracts atten­tion. Brussels needs to engage in stra­tegic communication with the member states, drawing attention to the economic benefits and underlining that the upgrading of the CU is a separate issue from Tur­key’s future in the EU.

Thirdly, the EU should send a clear mes­sage to Turkey that it is willing to deepen the existing trade agreement only if cer­tain conditions are fulfilled. Turkey should address and repair the mounting number of trade irritants in recent years within the context of the current agreement. This situation was reported without exception by all the countries that participated in the joint research. Ankara should also observe its commitments to cooperation with Europe over migration management. As a third condition, Turkey should re-establish itself as a reliable partner for European security. This is only possible through a sincere display of interest in multilateralism and diplo­macy. Ankara should end military threats in the Eastern Mediterranean and act according to the common interests of the transatlantic alliance.

Fourthly, the Customs Union should be the central – but not the only – instru­ment of the EU to re-engage Ankara. In its conclusions, the European Council talked of easing people-to-people contacts, thus hinting at steps towards visa liberalisation, at least for some groups of travellers from Turkey. Here, Brussels should come forward with stronger commitments because deal­ing with the issue is long overdue. Addi­tion­ally, to establish itself as an objective and fair actor, Brussels should strike a balance between the internal solidarity prin­ciple and a realistic and impartial policy in the Eastern Mediterranean. This requires signalling that justifiable Turkish claims are being heard, but the methods that Ankara is deploying are unacceptable, as they fall far short of the requirements of international law and diplomatic norms.

Recommendations for Turkey

Turkey should be aware that time is work­ing against it. Ankara is experiencing a rapid deterioration of its image as an eco­nomic destination. The shift to executive presidentialism has brought with it the crippling of the trade bureaucracy and a fast decline in the level of trust in the judi­ciary. French companies no longer feel secure in Turkey, and German business has time and again expressed concerns about the safety of Turkish personnel. Both Ger­man and French companies have already started to look for alternative investment destinations, as manifested in the recent decision of Volkswagen to abort plans for a new plant in Turkey.

Moreover, Ankara faces the unwelcome prospect of public sentiment towards Tur­key turning sour, even in countries such as Italy, Spain, and Poland, where the general public holds positive feelings for Turkey. Not only are Turkey’s democratic backs­liding and militaristic foreign policy trigger­ing this change, but also trends towards right-wing populism in Europe.

Last but not least, the Turkish leadership’s clinging to some unorthodox views on economic matters and the country’s economic future risks scuppering Turkey’s ongoing demand for a modernised CU. The insistence on keeping interest rates low at the expense of usurping control of mone­tary policy from the theoretically independ­ent central bank is a case in point. Addition­ally, despite all of its official pro-CU rhetoric, the Turkish government has yet to carry out several reforms to make a deepened Cus­toms Union work. Cases in point are state aid, institutionalised discrimination of for­eign tenderers, and highly non-transparent tendering.

A deepened Customs Union may well help keep Turkey close to Europe through its potential spill-over effects on the judicial system and transparency in the financing mechanisms used by the ruling party. Never­theless, without a strong display of will by Ankara to reverse the country’s democratic backsliding, a deepened Cus­toms Union alone will not be sufficient to keep Turkey in Europe.

Note: CATS/SWP Berlin provided Fanack with a permission to republish and translate this article. However, the authors do not recognize the translation. The authors did not have the chance to go through the translation after it was done due to the lack of necessary linguistic capacity at CATS/SWP.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://www.swp-berlin.org/ in October 2020.

“The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily express Fanack’s views.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOHN THYS ©AFP | JOHN THYS ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!