فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / حملات تضامنٍ خجولة في مواجهة موجات الكراهية الجديدة بلبنان

حملات تضامنٍ خجولة في مواجهة موجات الكراهية الجديدة بلبنان

Translation- Palestinian refugees
لاجئون فلسطينيون يهتفون بالشعارات أثناء إغلاقهم للشارع الرئيسي خارج مخيم اللاجئين الفلسطينيين “برج البراجنة” جنوب العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت يوم ١٦ يوليو ٢٠١٩، وذلك على هامش مظاهرة ضد قرار الحكومة اللبنانية بفرض قيود على فرص عمل الفلسطينيين. وتظاهر عشرات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين يوم ١٦ يوليو ضد حملةٍ قادها وزير العمل لمواجهة التوظيف غير القانوني للأجانب، وذلك على الرغم من تطمينات الحكومة. المصدر: Anwar Amro / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

نشر موقع “Open Democracy” مقالةً سلطت الضوء على حملات الكراهية التي انتشرت مؤخراً في لبنان وعلاقتها ببناء السلطة في هذه الدولة. ويحاول صاحب المقالة وهو الباحث والصحفي والمخرج السينمائي وليد الحوري كشف النقاب عن دوافع ما تم إطلاقه من حملات كراهيةٍ متزامنة بحقّ السوريين والفلسطينيين وإحدى الفرق الموسيقية، محاولاً في الوقت نفسه البحث عن القواسم المشتركة بين جميع هذه الحملات. ويرى الحوري أن الهدف الكامن وراء هذه الحملات هو التغطية على الفشل السياسي وسوء الإدارة وتحكم السلطة الأبوية في مجريات الأمور بلبنان عن طريق مهاجمة فئات الشعب الأضعف.

ويبدأ الحوري مقالته بالإشارة إلى مواصلة النظام الحاكم الجديد في لبنان الانحطاط لمستوياتٍ جديدة من سوء الإدارة، وتدمير الاقتصاد، والبيئة، والنسيج الاجتماعي لبلدٍ على شفا الانهيار.

وعلى مدار الأسابيع الماضية، مهدت بعض الأحداث التي قد تبدو منفصلة لأجندة الحوار والأحداث السياسية في البلاد.

وكان أول هذه الأحداث حملة الكراهية التي أطلقها وزير الخارجية اللبناني وصهر رئيس الجمهورية جبران باسيل ضد اللاجئين السوريين. ونشر باسيل، الذي يتزعم حزب الرئيس اللبناني، مجموعةً من التغريدات والتصريحات العنصرية التي أدت إلى حملة كراهيةٍ استهدفت العمال واللاجئين السوريين في البلاد. وصاحبت هذه الحملة أصواتٌ أخرى دعت للفصل الطائفي في بلدٍ منقسم بالفعل.

ولم تمر سوى فترةٍ بسيطة حتى أٌطلِقت حملة كراهيةٍ أخرى ضد العمالة الأجنبية، حيث استهدفت هذه الحملة فيما استهدفت اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين يعانون من تمييزٍ شديد على مستوى حقوقهم كلاجئين في لبنان. ويرى الحوري أن هذه الحملة التي قادها وزير العمل تزيد حياة الفلسطينيين صعوبةً في بلدٍ يتكلم ليل نهار عن دعم فلسطين، لكنه في الوقت نفسه يحترف قمع الفلسطينيين وإهانتهم واستغلالهم.

وأدت الحملة التي تزعمها حزب القوات اللبنانية اليميني إلى احتجاجاتٍ داخل مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، في الوقت الذي سارعت فيه الحكومة اللبنانية إلى قمع أي احتجاجاتٍ يجري تنظيمها في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها الجيش خارج المخيمات. وفي غضون ذلك، سارع الجيش اللبناني إلى شنّ حملةٍ عنيفة على الفلسطينيين.

أما الحدث الثالث فكان حملةٌ شنها رجال دينٍ مسيحيين على فرقة “مشروع ليلى“، وهي الحملة التي انضم لها لاحقاً آخرون لشعورهم بالإهانة والغضب من الأفكار التي تروجها الفرقة ولدعمها لحقوق مجتمع “الميم”. وأسفرت هذه الحملة عن تهديداتٍ وموجات غضبٍ ومطالباتٍ بحظر الفرقة.

وبحسب الحوري، فإن هذه الأحداث الثلاثة وغيرها تتقاطع في العديد من أوجه الشبه، كما أنها تشكل رمزاً يعبّر عن منطق الدولة اللبنانية الجديد. فجميعها حملات كراهيةٍ واضحة تسعى إلى حشد الشعب ضد آخرٍ مُشيطن. وتشترك جميعها في اتباع التوجهات الجوهرية لليمين الشعبوي. ويرى صاحب المقالة أن هذه الحملات تحوّل انتباه الشعب عن الفشل، وسوء الإدارة، والفضائح التي تعجّ بها البلاد لأنها تكتسب زخماً بين العامة.

يأتي ذلك في الوقت الذي أٌقرَّت فيه ميزانية عام 2019 بعد تأخرٍ دام سبعة أشهر، ما سيقود على الأرجح إلى المزيد من الفقر، والفساد، والانهيار.

ويرى الحوري أن هذه الحملات جزءٌ من خطابٍ سياسي مفلس في بلدٍ مفلس تتنافس فيه الأحزاب الحاكمة لتحظى بأفضل خصم، وأخطر فزاعة لتعزيز شعبيتها، سواءً أكانت تلك الفزاعة السوريين أو الفلسطينيين أو مجتمع الميم أو غيرهم.

Translation- Mashrou' Leila
لبنانيون أثناء حضورهم لحفلةٍ موسيقية نُظمت للتضامن مع الفرقة الموسيقية اللبنانية “مشروع ليلى” في العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت يوم ٩ أغسطس ٢٠١٩. واجتمع مئات اللبنانيون للتظاهر في حفلةٍ موسيقية احتجاجية ببيروت للتضامن مع الفرقة المحلية التي تم إلغاء مشاركتها في أحد أبرز المهرجانات الموسيقية لتوجيه الاتهامات له بالتجديف والكفر. المصدر: Anwar Amro / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

ومن الواضح أن لقب “العهد القوي” الذي أطلقه الرئيس ميشال عون على حكمه قويٌّ فقط في مواجهة أضعف فئات الشعب الخاضعة لحكمه، في الوقت الذي يرفض فيه بل ويعجز عن ممارسة أي سلطة في مواجهة من دأبوا على تدمير النسيج الاجتماعي والاقتصادي للبلاد، وهم المؤسسة الحاكمة نفسها.

وبكلماتٍ أخرى، فإن استمرارية استعداء الفئات الأضعف تعني تمتع من في السلطة بالأمان، ناهيك عن إمكانية اعتماد هؤلاء على الدعم الشعبي اللبناني.

وكانت الحملة التي تم شنها على “مشروع ليلى” قد حظيت بانتباهٍ كبير ومتوقع نظراً لما تحظى به هذه الفرقة من شعبيةٍ في لبنان والمنطقة والعالم. كما استُغلت هذه الحملة للتعتيم على قلة تضامن اللبنانيين مع الاحتجاجات المشروعة للفلسطينيين في البلاد أو لصرف الانتباه عن سوء معاملة اللاجئين السوريين وإعادتهم القسرية إلى وطنهم.

وأعاد استخدام الحجج المعتادة نفسها عن عدم احترام الفرقة الدين والمقدسات، والدعوة للفسوق والانحراف، إلى الأذهان ما تعرضت له الفرقة من هجماتٍ مماثلة في الأردن ومصر، إذ لم يتم حظر الفرقة في هذه الدولة الأخيرة فحسب، بل أدى الحفل الذي نظمته الفرقة هناك إلى اعتقال حوالي 50 شخصاً وشن الدولة لحملةٍ عنيفة بحقّ مجتمع الميم في البلاد.

وغالباً ما يتوه الخطاب الوطني اللبناني في عقدة الاستعلاء، إذ يفتخر لبنان بكونه منارة التنوع والانفتاح في منطقةٍ ظلامية، في حين أن هذه الدولة تستخدم ذات المنطق الاستبدادي والمحرّض على الكراهية في مواجهة ممارسة التنوع والحريات.

ويحترم لبنان التنوع تمام الاحترام إن كان يتوافق مع ما تتقبله أبنية السلطة الأبوية المحافظة؛ فالدين يُحترم ما بقيت كل طائفة ضمن مساحتها الخاصة دون اختلاط أو تمازج. إلا أن هذا التنوع لا يشمل المجموعات غير المرغوب بها والتي تقع خارج الحدود الطائفية للمؤسسة الحاكمة كالأجانب غير البيض، واللاجئين، والجماعات غير الدينية، والجماعات ذات التوجهات الجنسية المختلفة أو الهويات الجنسية غير المغايرة.

ويعاود هنا الحوري التأكيد على عدم إمكانية التعامل مع حملات الكراهية المذكورة وكأنها أحداثاً منفصلة عن بعضها البعض، لافتاً إلى أن هذه الحملات تعبر عن اتجاه وسياسة واضحة للدولة.

ولذلك، يرى صاحب المقالة أنه من الضرورة بمكان التعبير عن التضامن مع الفرقة، مؤكداً على وجوب أن يكون هذا التضامن شاملاً لجميع الفئات الأخرى التي تتعرض لحملات كراهية وأشكال مختلفة من القمع سواء أتم إطلاق هذه الحملات من الكنيسة، أو من المؤسسة الدينية الإسلامية، أو من قطاعاتٍ واسعة من المجتمع، أو من الدولة، أو من وسائل الإعلام التي كانت شريكاً وضيعاً لجميع القوى المذكورة أعلاه بدلاً من فضحها وتقديم خطابٍ نقدي، أو أن تفعل ما هو أفضل وتواجه السلطة بالحقيقة.

وكما كان متوقعاً، فقد ساهمت موجات التعاطف مع أعضاء الفرقة المشهورين في التعتيم على مطالب آلاف الفلسطينيين بالعدالة والحياة الكريمة في بلد أُجبروا على العيش فيه لما يزيد عن 70 عاماً.

وتجدر الإشارة هنا إلى توقيع ما لا يزيد عن ست منظمات من المجتمع المدني اللبناني على أحد بيانات التضامن التي تم نشرها خلال هذا الأسبوع، وجاء ذلك وسط صمتٍ خيّم على باقي المنظمات.

ويختم الحوري مقالته بالتساؤل التالي: “هل بالإمكان رؤية تضامنٍ شامل في بلدٍ باتت فيه العنصرية معياراً، وأصبح فيه الفصل العنصري والطبقي قاعدة، ويتوارى فيه القمع خلف العديد من الشعارات الفارغة؟”.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • صفقة القرن: 17 درساً تعلمناه

    إن الوثيقة لم تأت على ذكر احتلال إسرائيل للأراضي الفلسطينية الممتد منذ عقود طويلة ولو لمرة واحدة. بل إن أقرب شيءٍ لهذا المعنى نجده في استخدام المفردة الإنجليزية "occupations" بمعنى "وظائف"، وقد تعني في سياقات أخرى "الاحتلال"، وهو ما يحمل معنىً أبعد ما يكون عمّا يفهمه معظم الناس من هذا المصطلح في السياق الفلسطيني.
  • الحرب ليست حلاً للصراع بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران

    إن المحادثات المباشرة هي الحلّ الوحيد والكفيل بتزويد إيران بفرصة للتغلّب على مشاكلها الاقتصادية، ناهيك عن إتاحته للولايات المتحدة التوصل لاتفاقٍ أكثر شمولية من الاتفاق النووي. وعلى الرغم من أن المواجهة الحالية بين إيران والولايات المتحدة قد تزداد سوءاً، فإن الطرفين يعلمان علم اليقين أنه لا مفر من اللجوء إلى المحادثات حتى وإن جاء ذلك في أعقاب أي حالة تصعيد تؤدي إلى خسائر في الأرواح ووقوع دمارٍ لا طائل منه.
  • الحرب السورية: الآثار تدفع الثمن أيضاً

    يتطلب إجراء البحوث الأثرية اتصالاً مباشراً بالمواقع والمواد القديمة. إلا أنّ العنف المسلح المتصاعد في سوريا يحول دون استكمال علماء الآثار لعملهم. كما حوّلت معظم المؤسسات الدولية تركيزها عن سوريا ونقلت بعثاتها ومشاريعها إلى البلدان المجاورة.

Fanack Home / In Lebanon: new waves of hatred with little solidarity

In Lebanon: new waves of hatred with little solidarity

Translation- Palestinian refugees
Palestinian refugees chant slogans as they block the main road outside the Palestinian refugee camp of Burj al-Barajneh, south of the Lebanese capital Beirut, on July 16, 2019, during a protest against a decision by the Lebanese government to impose restrictions on the Palestinians’ work opportunities. – Dozens of Palestinian refugees demonstrated on July 16 against a campaign led by the Labour Ministry to counter the illegal employment of foreigners, despite assurances from the government. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

The needed solidarity with Mashrou’ Leila has unintentionally overshadowed the thousands of Palestinian voices demanding justice and a decent life.

By: Walid El Houri

Lebanon‘s new ruling regime continues to set new lows in how to mismanage, sabotage and destroy the economy, environment and social fabric of a country already on the brink of collapse.

In the past weeks, a number of seemingly disconnected events have set the agenda of the political conversation and action in the country.

The first was the hate campaign against Syrian refugees launched by the country’s first son-in-law, foreign minister and head of the president’s party, the Free Patriotic Movement, Gebran Bassil who posted a number of racist tweets and statements leading to a hate campaign targeting Syrian workers and refugees across the country. This campaign coincided with similar voices calling for sectarian segregation of an already divided country.

Soon after, another hate campaign followed, this time against foreign labor including and targeting Palestinian refugees who already suffer from severe discrimination when it comes to their rights in the country as refugees. This campaign led by the country’s minister of Labor makes the lives of Palestinians even more difficult than it already was in a country that is very vocal about support for Palestine while being very proficient in oppressing, mistreating and exploiting Palestinians.

The campaign spearheaded by the Lebanese rightwing party the ‘Lebanese Forces’ led to mass protests inside the Palestinian refugee camps as the Lebanese state was quick to suppress any protests outside the military controlled camps. Meanwhile, the Lebanese army was quick to launch a violent crackdown against Palestinians.

A third event was a campaign against Lebanese band Mashrou’ Leila, launched by various Christian clergymen who were later joined by many other voices offended and outraged at the band’s support for LGBTIQ rights and the messages that they promote. Threats, anger, and obscurantist calls for a ban abound.

The three events, in addition to many others, share many aspects and are emblematic of the new Lebanese state logic. To start, they are all clear hate campaigns looking to mobilise the population against a demonised other. They hold the core attributes of right wing populism and while they garner much attention among the general public, they first and foremost divert the attention of the population from the countless scandals, failures, and mismanagement that are plaguing the country.

Meanwhile a 7 months late budget for 2019 has just been approved which will likely lead to more impoverishment, more corruption, and more decay.

In short they are part of a bankrupt political discourse in a bankrupt country, where the ruling parties compete to find the best enemy and the scariest scarecrow in order to boost their popularity: the Syrians, the Palestinians, the LGBTIQ community, etc…

Translation- Mashrou' Leila
Lebanese attend a concert origanized in solidarity with Lebanese indie band Mashrou’ Leila in Lebanon’s capital Beirut on August 9, 2019. – Hundreds of Lebanese gathered today in Beirut for a protest concert in solidarity with a homegrown band being cancelled from a top music festival over alleged blasphemy. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

The “strong era”, the self-given name to President Michel Aoun‘s rule, is clearly strong only against the most vulnerable of people living under its rule while being powerless or refusing to exercise any power against those who are actively destroying the social and economic fabric of the country – namely the ruling establishment itself.

In other words, as long as these enemies are the most vulnerable, those in power are safe and can count on Lebanese popular support.

The campaign against Mashrou’ Leila, has expectedly received much attention due to the band’s popularity in Lebanon, the region, and the world. It has also served the purpose of covering what little solidarity there was among the Lebanese population with the rightful protests by Palestinians in the country or diverting attention from the mistreatment and forceful return of Syrian refugees.

Using the classical arguments of the band’s disrespect of religion and the sacred, calls for debauchery and deviance, the attacks were reminiscent of similar attacks against the band in Egypt and Jordan where not only were they banned but in Egypt, their concert led to the arrest of over 50 people and a ruthless crackdown against the LGBTIQ community in the country.

The Lebanese national discourse is often lost in a superiority complex claiming pride in being a beacon of diversity and openness in a region rife with oppression, while at the same time using all the same logics of repression and aversion to diversity and freedoms in practice.

Lebanon is all about respecting diversity only when this diversity falls within the confines of what the ruling patriarchal, conservative power structure accepts: religions are respected but as long as each sect remains confined to their spaces of influence, without mixing or intermingling. This diversity does not include however any undesirable groups that do not fall within the sectarian confines of the ruling establishment: non-white foreigners, refugees, non-religious groups, and gender non-conforming peoples or non-heterosexual sexual identities, etc.

The various hate campaigns are not isolated events, and fall under a general direction and a clear state policy.

That being said, it is of utmost importance to express solidarity with the band, but such solidarity should be inclusive. It should extend to all other groups subjected to hate campaigns and different forms of repression be it by the church, the muslim religious establishment, wide sectors of society, the state, or the media which has been a shameful partner for all the above powers rather than exposing them and providing a critical discourse or better yet speak truth to power.

As expected, the waves of solidarity with the well known band have overshadowed the thousands of Palestinian voices demanding justice and a decent life in a country they have been forced to live in for over 70 years.

A statement of solidarity published earlier this week garnered no more than 6 signatures from Lebanese civil society organisations with most others remaining largely silent.

In a country where daily racism is a norm, where racial and class aggression is a rule, and where oppression hides behind various empty slogans, is there a possibility for inclusive solidarity?

Remark: This article was originally published by https://www.opendemocracy.net/ in July 23, 2019.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • The decline of Erdoğanist authoritarianism: a new chance for “democratization” in Turkey?

    On the flip side of the picture, ironically, the making of Erdoğanist authoritarianism has generated ample opportunities for a radical liberalization of the Turkish political system. Scrapping institutional discipline, liquidating the bureaucratic guardians, disposing of the ‘traditional’ cadre structure and confusing the ideological compass that defined the ‘old’ imperious state apparatus, without effectively replacing them with ‘new’ ones, presents a historic moment for a comprehensive and thorough transformation.
  • Western states must repatriate IS fighters and their families before more break free from Syrian camps

    The first, still best, option – repatriation of foreign nationals – is arguably a quickly closing window. Even then, questions would remain about what should happen to Iraqi and Syrian nationals, and what role the West should play in resolving their situation. But European powers must avoid taking the third option they’d been exercising by default – doing nothing, and waiting for circumstances to change.