فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البرامج النوويَة في الشرق الأوسط / إيران

إيران


يعود البرنامج النووي الإيراني إلى النصف الثاني من عام 1970، عندما قرَر الشاه محمد رضا بهلوي – ولسبب وجيه جداً، كما اتضح بعد ذلك – أن النفط في باطن الأرض هو أفضل من الدولارات في البنك. فخطَط لإقامة عدد من مفاعلات نوويَة لتوليد الطاقة. وهكذا فإن برنامجه كان مختلفاً عن البرنامج الإسرائيلي، من حيث أن طابعه كان مدنياً في الأساس. ولكن لا يمكن استبعاد احتمال تحويله يوماً ما لأغراض عسكريَة. ونظراً لطموح الشاه المعلن لبناء إيران كقوة إقليمية كبرى قادرة على ‘حماية’ الخليج الفارسي، كان هذا موضوع الكثير من التكهنات خلال تلك الفترة.

بعد الثورة الإسلامية (1979)، توقف البرنامج النووي. ولكن أعيد تنشيطه في أوائل التسعينات، ربما لضمان عدم بقاء إيران دون حماية مرة أخرى، كما كانت  خلال حربها مع العراق (1980-1988). فأثناء الحرب، استخدم نظام صدام حسين أسلحة غير تقليدية (كيماوية، بيولوجية) على نطاق واسع ضد القوات المسلحة الإيرانية، كما هدد باستخدامها ضد مناطق سكانية رئيسية ذات كثافة سكانية عالية في إيران. وخلال السنوات، تحوَل البرنامج النوَوي الإيراني إلى مسألة فخر وطني. مما لا شك فيه، ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الوقت الذي انقضى (مع العلم أن مشروع مانهاتن النوَوي الأمريكي خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية احتاج فقط لثلاث سنوات منذ بدايته إلى يوم تجربة القنبلة الأولى) كان التقدَم بطيئاً بشكل مدهش. ومن غير المعروف إذا ما كان هذا نتيجة مشاكل تقنيَة أو عوامل أخرى.

كانت الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية (IAEA) تراقب إيران عن كثب، والتي فرضت الدول الغربية عقوبات في حقها.تصعّد التوتر مع إيران في شهر شباط/فبراير 2006 عندما رفعتالوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية تقريراً ضد إيران إلى مجلس الأمن. في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2009، وافقت إيران على إرسال اليورانيوم المخصّب إلى روسيا. وفي حزيران/يونيو 2011، أعلن بأن بلاده ستواصل تخصيب اليورانيوم. ويبقى النقاش حول برنامج إيران النووي الموضوع الأهم في العلاقات بين إيران والولايات المتحدة وحلفائها الأوروبيين.

الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية

أعلنت إيران أن برنامج تخصيب اليورانيوم الذي تقوم به هو لأغراض سلمية فقط. وأكدت الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية أنه لم يتم تحويل المواد النووية المصرح عنها في إيران، لكنها قالت أيضاً إنها “بحاجة إلى أن تتأكد في غياب أي تدبير عسكري ضد برنامج إيران النووي”. أشارت الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية إلى أن إيران لا تطبق قرارات مجلس الأمن، وأن عليها التعاون لتوضيح القضايا العالقة وتلبية المتطلبات في تقديم معلومات عن منشآتها النووية.

عام 2007، قدّرت أجهزة الاستخبارات الأمريكية أن إيران انتهت من “تصميم قنبلة نووية وأعمال تصنيع السلاح النووي” عام 2003. عام 2009، قدّرت الاستخبارات الأمريكية أن النوايا الإيرانية كانت مجهولة؛ ولكن في حال سعت إيران إلى صنع أسلحة نووية، فإنها “لن تتمكن على الأرجح من تحقيق ذلك قبل عام 2013″، وأقرت بـ “إمكانية عدم تحقيق ذلك إلا بعد عام 2015”. دعت إيران الدول التي تمتلك أسلحة نووية إلى نزع السلاح، كما دعت إخلاء منطقة الشرق الأوسط من الأسلحة النووية.

في قرار نادر لم يحظَ بالإجماع، صوتت الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية على عدم امتثال إيران باتفاق الضمانات حول معاهدة الحد من انتشار السلاح النووي. وبعد إبلاغ مجلس الأمن بذلك، طالب المجلس إيران بتعليق نشاطات التخصيب، وفرض عليها عقوبات عندما رفضت ذلك. وقال الرئيس الإيراني السابق محمود أحمدي نجاد إن هذه العقوبات غير قانونية. تمكنت الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية من التحقق من عدم تحويل المواد النووية المصرح عنها في إيران، ولكن ليس من عدم وجود نشاطات غير مصرح عنها. ودعت حركة عدم الانحياز الطرفين إلى العمل من خلال الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية للتوصل إلى حل.

في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2009، أصدر مجلس حكام الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية قراراً ضد إيران يفرض على هذه الأخيرة تطبيق القانون المعدل رقم 3.1 على اتفاقية الضمانات الخاصة بها؛ وتنفيذ البروتوكول الإضافي والمصادقة عليه. كما أعرب المجلس عن “مخاوفه الكبيرة” حيال عدم تعاون إيران بشأن المسائل التي تحتاج “إلى التوضيح لاستبعاد إمكانية اتخاذ أبعاد عسكرية ضد برنامج إيران النووي”. قالت إيران إن هذا القرار “المتسرع وغير المبرر سيضر بالأجواء المشجعة والضرورية” لنجاح المفاوضات وإلى تعاون لا يتخطى “إلتزاماتها القانونية تجاه المجلس”. مع ذلك، بقي الخلاف بين إيران والغرب حول برنامج إيران النووي. واحتدم الخلاف منذ شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2011 مع اكتشاف المفتشين الدوليين أدلة جديدة، وفرض الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا عقوبات أشد على صادرات إيران النفطية، وتهديد إيران بإقفال مضيق هرمز، والتهديدات الإسرائيلية التي رافقها رفع الجاهزية لمهاجمة منشآت إيران النووية. في 1 آب/أغسطس 2012، خلال زيارة وزير الدفاع الأمريكي ليون بانيتا إلى اسرائيل، ألقى خطاباً شديد اللهجة ضد إيران هدد فيه ضمنياً بهجوم عسكري أمريكي في حال قررت إيران تطوير أسلحة نووية.

الرئيس محمود أحمدي نجاد يزور منشأة نووية اضغط للتكبير
الرئيس محمود أحمدي نجاد يزور منشأة نووية اضغط للتكبير

في صيف عام 2012، فرضت الولايات المتحدة وحلفاؤها الأوروبيون عقوبات جديدة كان الهدف منها عزل إيران عن سوق النفط العالمية، على أمل أن ترغم هذه العقوبات إيران على تغيير مسارها. وحتى قبل اتخاذ هذه الخطوات، تدنّت صادرات إيران النفطية بنسبة 20-30%، وانخفضت قيمة عملتها بنسبة تفوق 40% مقابل الدولار منذ 2011. غير أن تصعيد العقوبات، الذي بدأته إدارة بوش وعززته إدارة أوباما، فشل حتى الآن في تحقيق الهدف الأولي منه: إجبار إيران على إيقاف تخصيب اليورانيوم. وردّت إيران على العقوبات الجديدة بسلسلة من التحديات: أعلنت عن تشريع يهدف إلى تعطيل حركة المرور في مضيق هرمز، الممر الحيوي للسفن في الخليج الفارسي؛ واختبار صواريخ بهدف تحذير إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة.

خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، تعرضت إيران إلى سلسلة من الهجمات الإلكترونية، ارتبط بعضها ببرنامجها النووي. وتشير التقارير إلى أن الرئيس أوباما، خلال الأشهر الأولى من ولايته، أصدر قراراً سرياً بزيادة الهجمات على أنظمة الكمبيوتر في منشآت تخصيب المواد النووية في إيران، مع توسيع استخدام الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للأسلحة الإلكترونية بشكل كبير. ومن أشهر هذه الأسلحة نذكر فيروس “ستوكسنت” (Stuxnet)، وهو عبارة عن دودة حاسوب، أو برنامج خبيث، انتشر في البرامج الصناعية حول العالم عام 2009. وتبين أن فيروس ستوكسنت، الذي طورته الولايات المتحدة واسرائيل، تمكن من القضاء على حوالي 1000 جهاز طرد مركزي من أصل 5000 كانت إيران تديرها في ذلك الوقت لتخصيب اليورانيوم. وفي أيار/مايو 2012، اخترق فيروس “فلايم” (Flame) للتنقيب في البيانات أجهزة كمبيوتر تعود إلى مسؤولين إيرانيين رفيعي المستوى، مكتسحاً المعلومات من أجهزتهم. وفي رسالة وضعت على الموقع الإلكتروني التابع لمركز تنسيق فريق الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ الحاسوبية في إيران، حذر المركز قائلاً بأن هذا الفيروس كان على الأرجح أكثر ضرراً من فيروس ستوكسنت. وعلى خلاف ستوكسنت، يبدو أنه لم يتم تصميم فيروس Flame لإتلاف البيانات، وإنما لجمع المعلومات سراً من مجموعة كبيرة من المصادر.

برنامج الصواريخ البالستية

لحماية البرنامج، تم نشر أجزائه على نطاق واسع فوق الأراضي الإيرانية. وربما لم تنجح أجهزة الاستخبارات الأجنبية في تحديد كل المواقع. إلاَ أن أهم قسم هو منشأة ناتانز حيث يتمَ تخصيب اليورانيوم، ومفاعل بوشهر الذي سيزود إيران بالبلوتونيوم عند اكتماله.

خلافاً لإسرائيل، فقد وقعَت إيران على معاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النوويَة. ومثل الإسرائيليين، لم يعترف الإيرانيون أبداً بأن الهدف من برنامجهما هو صنع قنبلة نوويَة – لسبب وجيه جداً، نظراً لوجود خطر حقيقي، إذا ما اعترفوا بذلك، بتعرَضهم لهجوم من قبل إسرائيل، أو أمريكا، أو كليهما. وحتى الآن، في الواقع، هناك احتمال ضئيل على قيامهم بصنع قنبلة.  إلاَ أن إيران تمتلك بالفعل برنامجاً كبيراً ونشطاً للغاية لتطوير صواريخ بالستية. قد يصل بعضها إلى أي هدف ضمن دائرة نصف قطرها حوالي 2000 كم. وبما أن هذه الصواريخ بالكاد تمثل أهمية عسكريَة دون رؤوس حربية نوويَة، فمن الضروري افتراض أن طهران تقوم في الواقع بكل ما في وسعها لتطوير، إن لم يكن قنبلة فعلية، أو على الأقل خيار بناء واحدة بسرعة إذا ما اقتضى الأمر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك , أثارت تقارير 2002 و 2003 بشأن الأبحاث الخاصة بتخصيب الوقود وتحويله مخاوف دولية من احتمال قيام إيران بتطوير برنامج أسلحة نووية .على رغم من ذلك , من المتعارف عليه أن إيران لا تملك حالياً أسلحة دمار شامل، وقد وقعت على معاهدات تعارض حيازة أسلحة الدمار الشامل، بما في ذلك معاهدة الأسلحة البيولوجية واتفاقية حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية، إضافة إلى معاهدة الحد من انتشار الأسلحة النووية.

 

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Nuclear Programs / Iran’s Nuclear Program

Iran’s Nuclear Program

Iran’s nuclear program dates back to the second half of the 1970s when Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi decided – with very good reason, as it turned out – that oil in the ground was better than dollars in the bank. He planned to establish a number of large power-generating nuclear plants. Thus the program differed from the Israeli one in that its character was mainly civilian. However, the possibility that it would one day be made to serve military purposes too could never be ruled out.  Given the Shah’s declared ambition of building up Iran into a major regional power capable of ‘protecting’ the Persian Gulf, it was the subject of much speculation during the period in question.

After the Islamic Revolution (1979) the nuclear program was stopped. However it was reactivated by the early 1990s, probably to ensure that Iran would never be as defenceless again as the country had been during its war with Iraq (1980-1988). At that time, the regime of Saddam Hussein had used non-conventional weapons (chemical, biological) on a large scale against the Iranian armed forces and had threatened to use these against major densely populated areas in Iran as well.

Over the years the program has turned into an issue of national pride. Nevertheless, taking into consideration the time that has passed (and the fact that the American nuclear Manhattan Project during World War II only required three years from inception to the day when the first bomb was tested) progress has been surprisingly slow. Whether this is due to technical problems or other factors is not known.

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) has been closely monitoring Iran, against which Western countries have ordered sanctions. The tension  escalated in February 2006, when the IAEA as a whole reported Iran to the UN Security Council.  In October 2009, Iran agreed to send enriched uranium to Russia. In June 2011, former Iranian President Ahmadinejad announced that his country would continue to enrich uranium. Debate over Iran’s nuclear program remains the focal point in relations between Iran and the US and its European allies.

The IAEA

Iran has stated that its uranium enrichment program is exclusively for peaceful purposes. The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) has confirmed the non-diversion (for weapons purposes) of declared nuclear material in Iran but has also said it ‘needs to have confidence in the absence of possible military dimensions to Iran’s nuclear program’. The IAEA has pointed out that Iran is not implementing the requirements of UN Security Council Resolutions and needs to cooperate to clarify outstanding issues and meet requirements to provide early design information on its nuclear facilities.

In a 2007 National Intelligence Estimate, the United States Intelligence Community assessed that Iran had ended ‘nuclear weapon design and weaponization work’ in 2003. In 2009, US intelligence assessed that Iranian intentions were unknown but that, if Iran pursued a nuclear weapon, it would be ‘unlikely to achieve this capability before 2013’ and acknowledged ‘the possibility that this capability may not be attained until after 2015’. Iran has called for nuclear-weapons states to disarm and for the Middle East to be a nuclear-weapon-free zone.

After the IAEA voted in a rare non-consensus decision to find Iran in non-compliance with its NPT Safeguards Agreement and to report that non-compliance to the UN Security Council, the Council demanded that Iran suspend its nuclear enrichment activities and imposed sanctions against Iran when Iran refused to do so. Former Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad argued that the sanctions are illegal. The IAEA has been able to verify the non-diversion of declared nuclear material in Iran but not the absence of undeclared activities. The Non-Aligned Movement has called on both sides to work through the IAEA for a solution.

In November 2009, the IAEA Board of Governors adopted a resolution against Iran that urged Iran to apply the modified Code 3.1 to its Safeguard Agreement and to implement and ratify the Additional Protocol, and it expressed ‘serious concern’ that Iran had not cooperated on issues that needed ‘to be clarified to exclude the possibility of military dimensions to Iran’s nuclear program’. Iran said the ‘hasty and undue’ resolution would ‘jeopardize the conducive environment vitally needed’ for successful negotiations and lead to cooperation not exceeding its ‘legal obligations to the body’. Iran and the West have, nevertheless, continued at odds over Iran’s nuclear program. The dispute has intensified since November 2011, with new findings by international inspectors, tougher sanctions by the United States and Europe against Iran’s oil exports, threats by Iran to shut the Strait of Hormuz, and threats from Israel signaling increasing readiness to attack Iran’s nuclear facilities. On 1 August 2012, while on a visit to Israel, US Defense Secretary Leon Panetta took a tough tone against Iran by implicitly threatening an American military attack if Iran decides to develop a nuclear weapon.

President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad visiting a nuclear installation
President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad visiting a nuclear installation

In the summer of 2012, the United States and its European allies imposed new sanctions that were meant to cut Iran off from the global oil market, hoping that the sanctions would force Iran to change its course. Even before these steps, Iran’s oil exports were down 20 to 30 percent, and its currency had fallen more than 40 percent against the dollar since 2011. But the escalating sanctions, which the Bush administration began and the Obama administration has intensified, have so far failed in their primary goal of forcing Iran to stop uranium enrichment. Iran responded to the new sanctions with a series of defiant steps, announcing legislation intended to disrupt traffic in the Strait of Hormuz, a vital Persian Gulf shipping lane, and testing missiles in an exercise clearly intended as a warning to Israel and the United States.

Iran has, over the last few years, been the target of a series of cyber attacks, some of which were linked to its nuclear program. It has been reported that President Obama, during his first few months in office, secretly ordered increasingly sophisticated attacks on Iran’s computer systems at its nuclear enrichment facilities, significantly expanding America’s use of cyber-weapons. The best known of these was Stuxnet, a computer worm, or malicious computer program, that turned up in industrial programs around the world in 2009. Stuxnet, which had been developed by the United States and Israel, appears to have wiped out nearly 1,000 of the 5,000 centrifuges Iran had spinning at the time to enrich uranium. In May 2012, a data-mining virus called Flame penetrated the computers of high-ranking Iranian officials, sweeping up information from their machines. In a message posted on its website, Iran’s Computer Emergency Response Team Coordination Center warned that the virus was potentially more harmful than Stuxnet. In contrast to Stuxnet, Flame appeared to be designed not to do damage but to secretly collect information from a wide variety of sources.

Ballistic missiles program

To protect the program, its components are widely dispersed over Iran’s territory. Probably not all of them have been identified by foreign intelligence services. Its most important elements are the plant at Natanz, where uranium is being enriched, and the reactor at Bushehr, which when completed will provide Iran with plutonium.

Unlike Israel, Iran has signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT). Like the Israelis, the Iranians have never admitted that their goal is to build a bomb – for very good reason, given the very real danger that, should they do so, they would come under attack by Israel, the United States, or both. In fact, to date, scant positive proof exists that they are building a bomb. However, Iran does have a large and very active program for developing ballistic missiles. Some of them can reach any target within a radius of about 2,000 kilometres. Since such missiles hardly make military sense without nuclear warheads, it must be assumed that Tehran is in fact doing whatever it can to develop, if not an actual bomb, then at least the option of building one quickly should the need to do so arise.

Additionally, reports in 2002 and 2003 of research on fuel enrichment and conversion raised international concerns that Iran might be working on a nuclear-weapons program. However,Iran is not known currently to possess weapons of mass destruction (WMD) and has signed treaties repudiating the possession of WMDs, including the Biological Weapons Convention and the Chemical Weapons Convention, in addition to the NPT. On religious grounds, a decree (fatwa) against the development, production, stockpiling, and use of nuclear weapons has been issued by Iran’s Supreme Leader Ayatollah Khamenei, along with other clerics.

image_pdfimage_print