فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البرامج النوويَة في الشرق الأوسط / إيران / الاتفاقية النووية بين ايران والغرب

الاتفاقية النووية بين ايران والغرب

وزير الخارجية الإيراني, محمد جواد طريف, مع قادة العالم بعد عقد الإتفاقية في جنيف / Photo Flickr/ EU
وزير الخارجية الإيراني, محمد جواد طريف, مع قادة العالم بعد عقد الإتفاقية في جنيف / Photo Flickr/ EU

أسهم فوز رجل الدين المعتدل حسن روحاني (المولود في العام 1948) في الانتخابات الرئاسية الإيرانية التي أُجريت في منتصف شهر حزيران/يونيو من العام 2013، في إحراز تقدم ملحوظ في المفاوضات النووية. وتقدم روحاني على عدد من المرشحين المحافظين، ففاز بنسبة 50.7 في المئة من الأصوات حاسماً النتيجة من الدورة الأولى. تمكن روحاني من إقناع الناخبين ببرنامج قائم على سياسات اجتماعية معتدلة وعلى تعزيز الانفتاح وعلى وعود بتحسين الوضع الاقتصادي. ووعد روحاني أيضاً بتطبيع علاقات إيران مع العالم بعد ما شهدته من توتر في ظل حكم خلفه محمود أحمدي نجاد، كشرط أساسي لتحسين الوضع الاقتصادي، وذلك من خلال التوصل إلى حل للنزاع النووي ورفع العقوبات المفروضة على البلاد.

وكرر روحاني وعوده بعد أدائه اليمين الدستورية في 4 آب/أغسطس من العام 2013، وبدأ العمل على تحسين العلاقات مع العالم مبدياً استعداد إيران للمزيد من الشفافية حول برنامجها النووي. وكخطوة أولى، عيّن محمد جواد ظريف، سفير إيران السابق لدى الأمم المتحدة (2002-2007، في عهد الرئيس الإصلاحي محمد خاتمي)، وزيراً للخارجية. كسفير للأمم المتحدة، ساهم في ما عُرف بـ”الصفقة الكبرى” في العام 2003؛ وهي الخطة الإيرانية لحل المشاكل العالقة بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران. لم تلقَ هذه الخطة صدىً إيجابياً لدى الولايات المتحدة في ذلك الحين،  بما أن الحكومة الأميركية في عهد جورج بوش لم تهتم بتطبيع العلاقات مع إيران. كذلك، وخلافاً لم جرت عليه العادة، أوكل روحاني ظريف بالملف النووي بدلاً من المسؤول الرسمي عن المفاوضات النووية.

وفي خطابه أمام الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في 24 أيلول/سبتمبر، دعا روحاني إلى مفاوضات فورية تهدف إلى “القضاء على المخاوف” حول البرنامج النووي الإيراني. وأكد الرئيس أمام الحضور على أن “السلام في متناول اليد”، غير أن المشككين وعلى رأسهم الحكومة الإسرائيلية وغالبية أعضاء الكونغرس الأميركي، تابعوا التعبير عن شكوكهم في نوايا روحاني وقدرته على التغيير. وجدد رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو في خطابه أمام الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بعد أسبوع واحد، اتهاماته لإيران بإعداد قنبلة نووية وهو أمر لطالما أنكرته طهران، وهاجم روحاني واصفاً إياه “بالذئب في ثوب حمل، ذئب يعتقد أنه قادر على تضليل المجتمع الدولي”.

مع ذلك، شدد الرئيس الأميركي باراك أوباما، في خطابه في 24 أيلول/سبتمبر، على نيته بالتوصل إلى حل دبلوماسي للملف النووي الإيراني من خلال إرغام إيران، عن طريق التفاوض، على تقديم ضمانات على عدم قيامها بإعداد قنبلة نووية. لم يتم الاجتماع المتوقع في نيو يورك بين أوباما وروحاني- وذلك ربما لأن الجانب الإيراني بدّل رأيه في اللحظة الأخيرة- غير أن الرئيسين أجريا محادثة هاتفية، في سابقة هي الأولى من نوعها بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران.

وفي سابقة أخرى، شارك كل من ظريف ووزير الخارجية الأميركية، جون كيري، في 27 أيلول/سبتمبر، في اجتماع رفيع المستوى في نيويورك بين إيران ومجموعة 5+1 (التي تضم الدول الخمس الدائمة العضوية في مجلس الأمن وألمانيا)، جرى فيه التفاوض مع إيران بشأن برنامجها النووي، بقيادة كاثرين أشتون، مسؤولة السياسة الخارجية في الاتحاد الأوروبي. والملفت أن ممثلا الدولتين تصافحا وعبرا عن تفاؤل حذر بعد الاجتماع؛ فأعرب كيري عن ارتياحه لـ”التغيير في اللهجة” أما ظريف فآثر التعميم واصفاً المحادثات “بالبناءة للغاية والموحية بالأمل”.

وتماماً كما جوبه موقف الحكومة الأميركية بالمقاومة من قبل حليفتها الأساسية إسرائيل وغالبية أعضاء الكونغرس، جوبهت الحكومة الإيرانية بمعارضة داخلية شرسة لسياساتها من المجموعات المحافظة، وعلى رأسها الحرس الثوري والبرلمان. غير أنّ روحاني، ومنذ بداية عهده، اعتمد على دعم المرشد الأعلى لجمهورية إيران الذي أعرب في خطابه بمناسبة قسم الرئيس الجديد اليمين الدستورية في آب/أغسطس، عن دعمه “للمواضيع التي تناولها الرئيس الجديد حول توخي الحكمة والمنطق في السياسة الخارجية للبلاد”، وأضاف قائلاً، “بالطبع لدينا أعداء ممن لا يقود المنطق معهم إلى أي نتيجة إلا أنه، ونظراً إلى الأهداف السامية للجمهورية الإسلامية، يتعين علينا العمل بجد على بلوغ هذه الأهداف”.

ويتعارض ذلك مع موقف المرشد الأعلى من الرئيس الإصلاحي محمد خاتمي الذي وُوجهت سياساته بالرفض منذ البداية من قبل المرشد الأعلى، وذلك يعود جزئياً إلى كون انتخابه قد شكل مفاجأة للمحافظين المتمتعين بنفوذ قوي والذين يتزعمهم آية الله علي خامنئي، بعد أن عقدوا الآمال على وصول مرشحهم، رئيس البرلمان ناطق نوري، إلى سدة الرئاسة. أما هذه المرة، فقد وافق المرشد الأعلى على انتخاب روحاني مسبقاً، فلم يضغط على المرشحين المحافظين للانسحاب، فزاد فرص فوز مرشح واحد مقابل  أربعة مرشحين محافظين انقسمت أصوات الناخبين بينهم. ومما لا شك فيه أن روحاني، وعلى الرغم من كونه أكثر اعتدالاً من خصومه الأربعة ومن تسلمه مناصب رفيعة في عهد الرئيس خاتمي، هو عضو موثوق في النظام السياسي الإسلامي للجمهورية الإيرانية.

وبعد سلسلة من الاجتماعات التحضيرية الناجحة إلى حد ما، توصلت إيران ومجموعة 5+1 إلى اتفاق مؤقت (لستة أشهر) في جنيف في 24 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، عُرف رسمياً بخطة العمل المشتركة. قضى هذا الاتفاق بتجميد إيران بعضاً من أنشطتها النووية مقابل تخفيف العقوبات المفروضة عليها. والملفت في هذا السياق، هو الموافقة الضمنية لمجموعة الدول 5+1 على أنشطة تخصيب اليورانيوم الإيرانية، بعد أن كانت قد رفضتها لوقت طويل؛ فقد بدا للجميع أن التوصل إلى اتفاق مستحيل في حال حُظرت أنشطة التخصيب نهائياً. وشددت إيران على “حقها المطلق” بتخصيب اليورانيوم بحسب معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية التي وقعتها طهران. ومقابل تخفيف العقوبات، وافقت إيران على عدم التخصيب بنسبة تتعدى 5 في المئة وعلى تخفيف مخزونها من اليورانيوم المخصب بنسبة تتعدى 5 في المئة، إلى ما دون ذلك، أو تحويله إلى ثاني أكسيد اليورانيوم. ومن بين الشروط العديدة الأخرى التي وافقت عليها إيران، خضوع أنشطتها النووية لرقابة أكثر تشدداً من قبل الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية. وانتقدت الحكومة الإسرائيلية وأعضاء الكونغرس الأميركي بالإضافة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية الاتفاق على اعتباره متساهلاً واستمروا في المطالبة بالحظر التام للأنشطة الإيرانية، أي بالوقف التام للبرنامج النووي الإيراني.

دخل الاتفاق حيز التنفيذ في 20 كانون الثاني 2014. وصعد آية الله علي خامنئي انتقاداته للغرب، وللولايات المتحدة بشكل خاص، فقال في الخطاب الذي ألقاه في 9 شباط/فبراير من العام 2014، في ذكرى انتصار الثورة الإسلامية، إن الولايات المتحدة كانت على الدوام على عداء مع إيران، بما أن واشنطن سعت دوماً إلى تغيير النظام في طهران؛ إلا أن خامنئي واصل قمع نقاد سياسات روحاني؛ فنشر على موقعه الإلكتروني “لم تمر سوى أشهر قليلة على تولي الحكومة مقاليد الحكم. يجب منح السلطات الفرصة للتقدم بقوة ويتعين على النقاد أن يظهروا تسامحاً تجاه الحكومة.” غير أن الأصوات المعارضة استمرت في نقد روحاني؛ ففي منتصف شهر آذار/مارس واجه المحافظون لقاء كاثرين أشتون ناشطين في مجال حقوق الإنسان في زيارتها إلى إيران بنقد شرس، ما اضطر وزير الخارجية ظريف إلى إلغاء عشاء عمل مع أشتون في 16 آذار/مارس؛ قبل انطلاق جولة المفاوضات النووية الجديدة في فيينا.

بعد المفاوضات في فيينا، بين 17 و19 آذار/مارس، عبر كل من ظريف وأشتون عن تفاؤلهما بالتوصل إلى اتفاق دائم قبل 20 تموز/يوليو 2014.

المقالات ذات الصلة

Fanack Home / Nuclear Programs / Iran's Nuclear Program / Nuclear Deal with the West

Nuclear Deal with the West

Iranian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mohammed Javad Zarif, among world leaders after reaching an agreement in Geneva / Photo Flickr/EU
Iranian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mohammed Javad Zarif, among world leaders after reaching an agreement in Geneva / Photo Flickr/EU

The election, in mid-June 2013, of moderate cleric Hassan Rouhani (b. 1948) as president of Iran made progress in the nuclear negotiations conceivable. Rouhani defeated a range of conservative candidates to win the election in the first round, with 50.7 percent of the vote. He attracted voters with a program of moderate domestic social policies, greater openness, and promises of improvement in the dire economic situation. He also promised to try to normalize Iran’s relations with the world, which had soured under his predecessor, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad. Of course, without such a normalization—that is, solving the nuclear dispute and lifting sanctions—improvement of the economic situation would be impossible.

After Rouhani took office on 4 August 2013, he repeated his promises and began work to improve relations with the world on the basis of transparency in nuclear policy. An important first step was his nomination as foreign minister of Mohammad Javad Zarif, the former UN ambassador (2002-2007, under the reformist president Mohammad Khatami). As UN ambassador, Zarif was said to have been involved with the so-called ‘Grand Bargain’, an Iranian plan to resolve all outstanding issues between the U.S. and Iran in 2003. The plan, however, ended up unread in an American desk drawer because the then US government, under President George W. Bush, was not interested in normalization of relations with Iran. Also, in a break with standing policy, Rouhani put the nuclear file in the hands of Zari frather than the official nuclear negotiator.

In his speech to the General Assembly of the United Nations on 24 September, Rouhani offered immediate ‘time-bound and results-oriented’ negotiations aimed at removing any ‘reasonable concerns’ about the Iranian nuclear programme. He assured the participants that ‘peace is within reach’, but international sceptics, prominent among them the government of Israel and a majority of members of the US Congress, continued loudly to express their doubts about Rouhani’s willingness and ability to bring about change. In his speech to the General Assembly a week later, Israeli prime minister Benyamin Netanyahu repeated his accusations that Iran was building an nuclear bomb, an assertion always denied by Tehran. He called Rouhani ‘a wolf in sheep’s clothing, a wolf who thinks he can pull the wool over the eyes of the international community’.

In his speech on 24 September, however, US president Barack Obama stressed his wish to reach a diplomatic solution of the Iranian controversy—that is, to force Iran, through negotiations, to provide guarantees that it was not building a nuclear bomb. An expected meeting in New York between Obama and Rouhani did not materialize—possibly because the Iranian side got cold feet at the last moment—but the two leaders did, in the end, speak by telephone, which was a first.

In another first, Zarif and US secretary of state John Kerry on 27 September joined a high level meeting in New York on the margins of the UN session of P5+1, consisting of the permanent members of the UN Security Council plus Germany, which is negotiating with Iran about its nuclear program, under the leadership of Baroness Catherine Ashton, the EU foreign policy chief. This time, the American and Iranian representatives did shake hands. After the meeting, the parties sounded cautiously optimistic. Kerry detected a ‘very different tone’ from the Iranian government, and Zarif, in a comment more noncommittal than Kerry’s said the talks were ‘very constructive’ and ‘very substantive’.

Just as the US government had to cope with resistance to its dealings with Iran from its important ally Israel and a majority in Congress, the Iranian government met strong domestic opposition to its policies from conservative groups, especially in the Revolutionary Guard and Parliament. From the beginning of his presidency, however, Rouhani could count on the open support of Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, who said, in his speech on the occasion of the inauguration of the new president in August, ‘I support the issues raised by the new president about conducting foreign policy wisely and rationally. Of course, we have enemies with whom rationality doesn’t work, but given the noble objectives of the Islamic Republic, we have to pursue these goals seriously’.

This stands in striking contrast to the presidency of the reformist Mohammad Khatami, who, from the beginning, encountered resistance to his policies from the Supreme Leader, in part because Khatami’s election was a complete surprise for the powerful conservative faction under Ayatollah Khamenei, which had counted on the election of its candidate, the speaker of the parliament Nateq Nouri. This time the Supreme Leader had in fact beforehand approved  in calculated Rouhani’s election by not pressing conservative candidates to leave the race, thus leaving the field to one instead of four conservatives. Of course, although Rouhani is more moderate than his four adversaries and did hold important offices under Khatami, he is a prominent and trusted member of the Iranian Islamic political system.

After a series of more or less successful preparatory meetings, Iran and the P5+1 reached a ground-breaking interim deal (for six months) in Geneva on 24 November, called officially the Joint Plan of Action. It consisted of a freeze of important portions of the Iranian nuclear programme in exchange for a relaxation of sanctions. Perhaps most important was the implicit acceptance by the P5+1 of Iranian uranium-enrichment capabilities, which the P5+1 had long refused to do. It had become clear to everyone, however, that no deal would be possible without the toleration of some Iranian enrichment capability. Iran had consistently emphasized its ‘absolute right’, to enrich uranium in accordance with the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), of which Tehran is a signatory. In return , Iran agreed not to enrich above 5 percent and to dilute all stocks of uranium above 5 percent or to convert it into uranium dioxide. Iran also accepted, among many other provisions, stricter inspections by the International Atomic Energy Agency. The Israeli government, members of the US Congress, and Saudi Arabia voiced strong criticism of the deal, which they condemned as too lenient. They continued to demand the total ban of Iranian enrichment and, in fact, a total halt to its nuclear programme.

The agreement was implemented on 20 January 2014. In the meantime, Ayatollah Khamenei grew more critical of the West, especially the US. In his speech on 9 February 2014 commemorating the anniversary of the Islamic Revolution, he said that the US remained fundamentally Iran’s enemy, as Washington continued to seek regime change in Tehran. At the same time, however, he continued to restrain critics of Rouhani’s policies. On his website he wrote: ‘No more than a few months have passed since the government took office. Authorities should be given the opportunity to push forward strongly. Critics should show tolerance towards the government.’ Conservative voices continued, however, to try to make life difficult for Rouhani. In mid-March, for instance, conservatives voiced sharp criticism of Catherine Ashton, after she met human-rights activists during a visit to Tehran. Foreign Minister Zarif felt compelled to cancel a dinner with Ashton on 16 March,  the night before new nuclear talks in Vienna.

After the Vienna talks of 17-19 March, however, both Zarif and Ashton voiced optimism about the conclusion of a permanent agreement before 20 July 2014.

Related Articles


image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.