فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السياسة الخارجية

السياسة الخارجية

نائب رئيس الوزراء لشؤون مجلس الوزراء فهد بن محمود آل سعيد ووزير المسؤول عن الشؤون الخارجية يوسف بن علوي بن عبدالله في قمة مجلس التعاون الخليجي, الكويت, 10 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013 Photo HH

قبل انعقاد قمة الكويت لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013، أدلى الوزير المسؤول عن الشؤون الخارجية في سلطنة عمان، يوسف بن علوي بن عبدالله، ببيان مفاجئ صرح فيه أن بلاده لن تنضم إلى اتحاد دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي (وهو نسخة محدّثة لمجلس التعاون الخليجي الحالي المنظم بشكل ضعيف) الذي اقترحه السعوديون. وقال: “لا ينبغي علينا التدخل في النزاعات سواء كانت قريبة منا أو بعيدة. ونحن نرى أنه لا ينبغي أن نعود إلى القرن الماضي”.و بعد إدلاء هذا البيان، بدت سلطنة عمان وهي إحدى الدول المؤسسة لمجلس التعاون الخليجي عام 1981 والذي أنشئ في الأساس كقوةٍ لمحاربة إيران، وكأنها تنأى بنفسها عن اتخاذ موقف ضد إيران. وكان هذا الموقف العدائي الذي تبنته المملكة العربية السعودية قد ازداد بعد التقارب الأخير بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وبقدر ما ترى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي أن إيران تشكّل تهديداً لها، تخشى الدول الأعضاء من تأثير الأعضاء الزملاء، وبخاصة المملكة العربية السعودية. وفي العام 2009، تمّ رفض فكرة أن يكون مقرّ الاتحاد النقدي الخليجي في الرياض. وقد استغلت سلطنة عمان هذه الفرصة لمقاومة مبادرة سعودية أخرى.

وفي حين أن بيان بن علوي قد يكون مفاجئاً مع مصادقة السلطان قابوس على الاتفاقية الأمنية لدول لمجلس التعاون الخليجي (تعزيز التعاون في القضايا الأمنية) في شهر كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2014، إلا أنه يعكس أيضاً سجل سلطنة عمان على صعيد السياسة الخارجية وعدم رغبتها في التحيز. ولطالما عارضت سلطنة عمان اتباع موقف المملكة العربية السعودية ودول أخرى في مجلس التعاون الخليجي المعارض لإيران. وفي حين أن هذه الأخيرة (المملكة العربية السعودية، والبحرين، وإلى حد أقل الكويت) غالباً ما اتهمت سكانها الشيعة بالعمالة لإيران، لم تتخذ سلطنة عمان مثل هذا الموقف تجاه الأقلية الشيعية من سكانها. ومع رفض الانضمام لاتحاد دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، تكون سلطنة عمان قد فضلت اتخاذ موقف دبلوماسي عوضاً عن المواجهة.
عملياً
لطالما لعبت سلطنة عمان دوراً سياسياً مميزاً في المنطقة باتخاذها مواقف متناقضة على صعيد القضايا الإقليمية. وقد حافظت سلطنة عمان على علاقاتها الثنائية مع كل من العراق وإيران خلال الحرب العراقية الإيرانية، على عكس بعض الدول الأخرى في مجلس التعاون الخليجي مثل الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية اللتين دعمتا العراق ضد إيران. ولم تقطع سلطنة عمان علاقاتها مع جمهورية إيران الإسلامية بعد الثورة الإيرانية الإسلامية في العام 1979 وذلك على الرغم من التخوف الإقليمي من انتقال الثورة إلى جميع أنحاء الخليج. وفي الوقت نفسه، كثّفت سلطنة عمان تحالفها الأمني مع الولايات المتحدة من أجل تجنّب التهديد الإيراني المتوقع. وفي خلال الاحتلال العراقي للكويت، كانت سلطنة عمان الدولة الخليجية الوحيدة التي حافظت على علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع العراق. ومع ذلك، تعاونت عسكرياً مع الولايات المتحدة لتحرير الكويت. وعلى حد سواء، عارضت سلطنة عمان الغزو العسكري الأميركي للعراق عام 2003 إلا أنها قدّمت دعمها العسكري.
وكما تميّزت قراراتها المستقلة بالقضايا الأمنية في منطقة الخليج، اتخذت السلطنة موقفاً مستقلاً وبرغماتياً إزاء الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي عندما قررت في العام 1979 عدم قطع علاقاتها مع مصر بعد أن وقّع الرئيس السادات معاهدة سلام مع إسرائيل. كان هذا القرار مخالفاً للرأي العربي وقرار الجامعة العربية الذي دعا إلى قطع العلاقات الدبلوماسية مع مصر. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وبعد التوقيع على اتفاقية أوسلو عام 1993، بدأت سلطنة عمان أيضاً ببناء علاقات اقتصادية وسياسية محدودة مع إسرائيل. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، لعبت سلطنة عمان دوراً قيادياً بين الدول العربية في محاولة بناء علاقات دبلوماسية مع إسرائيل. وأصبحت السلطنة الدولة الخليجية الأولى التي تستضيف رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي إسحاق رابين، لتفتتح لاحقاً مكاتب تجارية مع إسرائيل (أغلقت بعد الإنتفاضة الثانية).

وسيط

التقى السلطان قابوس الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني في مسقط, آذار/مارس 2014, Photo HH

في العقود الماضية، برزت سلطنة عمان أيضاً كوسيط محايد ومتحفظ. وقد نظّمت السلطنة عمليات لتبادل الأسرى بين إيران والولايات المتحدة كما ساعدت في تنظيم سداد المدفوعات النفطية لإيران خلال العقوبات الدولية المفروضة على صناعة إيران بسبب برنامجها النووي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شجعت السلطنة على إيجاد حل دبلوماسي للأزمات بين قطر والبحرين في العام 1986 وبين العراق والكويت في العام 1990.

وأفادت وكالة الأنباء أسوشيتد برس عقب الاتفاق المبرم بين إيران والدول الغربية بشأن البرنامج النووي الايراني في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2013، أنه تم إجراء مباحثات سرية بين مسؤولين أميركيين وإيرانيين في العاصمة مسقط في شهر آذار/مارس 2013. وأصبحت هذه المحادثات ممكنة بعدما لعب السلطان قابوس دوراً رئيسياً في تسهيل عملية إطلاق سراح ثلاثة متنزهين أميركيين كانوا قد اعتقلوا في إيران عام 2009. وعرض السلطان قابوس لاحقاً أن يكون وسيطاً للتقارب بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران. وفي شهر آذار/مارس من العام 2013، اجتمع مساعد وزيرة الخارجية الأميركية نيكولاس بيرنز وكبار المسؤولين الأميركيين بدبلوماسيين إيرانيين، ومساعدين في مجال الحفاظ على الأمن القومي بالإضافة إلى خبراء لمنقاشة الملف النووي. وبعد انتخاب الإصلاحي حسن روحاني رئيساً لإيران، انعقدت اجتماعات سرية أخرى أدت إلى اتفاقيات مؤقتة أصبحت رسمية أثناء المفاوضات في جنيف. وبالتالي، سهّلت سلطنة عمان المحادثات التي مهّدت لاتفاق عاجل في جنيف.

تركز العلاقات التاريخية الجيدة بين سلطنة عمان وإيران على المسؤوليات المشتركة في مضيق هرمز – الذي يتم من خلاله شحن ثلث إمدادات النفط في العالم والتجارة بين ضفتي المضيق. وفي السبعينيات، أرسل شاه إيران قوات ساعدت السلطان على إخماد ثورة ظفار المستوحاة من الفكر الشيوعي. وبقيت هذه المساعدة في الذاكرة حتى بعد الثورة الإيرانية الإسلامية. كذلك، كان السلطان قابوس أوّل قائد خارجي يزور الرئيس الإيراني الجديد حسن روحاني بعد توليه منصبه في 3 آب/اغسطس 2013. واتفق القائدان على تعزيز العلاقات التجارية والاقتصادية حيث أن سلطنة عمان أدركت ضرورة تعزيز التجارة مع إيران في إطار جهودها الهادفة إلى تنويع الاقتصاد بعيداً عن النفط. وأثناء زيارة روحاني إلى مسقط في شهر آذار/مارس من العام 2014، وقّع مسؤولون عمانيون وإيرانيون على اتفاق يمتد على ثلاث سنوات ويقضي بتزويد سلطنة عمان بـ30 مليون متر مكعب من الغاز الإيراني يومياً من خلال خط أنابيب بقيمة ميليار دولار. من شأن هذا التعاون أن يتيح لسلطنة عمان تلبية طلبها المحلي؛ أما بالنسبة إلى إيران، فسيكون ذلك مصدر دخل مرحب به حيث أن الاقتصاد الإيراني لطالما كان يعاني بسبب العقوبات الدولية.

التحالف الأمني مع الغرب

جنود عمانيون في العرض العسكري بمناسبة العيد الوطني ال43, 18 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2013 / Photo HH

والشرط لاعتماد هذه السياسة الخارجية المستقلة والعملية إزاء البلدان المجاورة ومنع حصول أي تدخل خارجي من قبل هذه الدول هو الحفاط على علاقة مميزة مع كل من بريطانيا العظمى والولايات المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من مغادرة القوات البريطانية رسمياً القواعد العمانية عام 1977 (بعد الانتصار في حرب الظفار)، أكّد التجديد المعتاد لاتفاقية التعاون العسكري مع كل من بريطانيا العظمى والولايات المتحدة إنحياز سلطنة عمان للسياسات الأميركية والبريطانية. وبعد الأعمال الإرهابية التي تعرضت لها الولايات المتحدة في 11 أيلول/سبتمبر 2011،  إزداد الوجود العسكري الأميركي في عمان بشكل كبير حيث ارتفع عدد الأفراد من 250 إلى 4300 فرد. كذلك، دعمت سلطنة عمان العمليات العسكرية الأميركية في كل من أفغانستان (2002) والعراق (2003). وكانت القواعد الموجودة في السيب وفي جزيرة مصيرة هي القواعد الوحيدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية التي استعملها التحالف خلال الهجوم الجوي على العراق، كما كان عليه الأمر في العام 1991. ووفقاً لمارك فاليري، وهو محاضر في الاقتصاد السياسي للشرق الأوسط في جامعة إكسيتر (المملكة المتحدة)، تعتبر هذه الشراكة أساسية بالنسبة للسلطان قابوس إذ تتيح له حرية التصرف في المنطقة إلا أن ذلك سيكلّفه الكثير من المال. وقد أدى شراء لوازم الدفاع لسلطنة عمان من الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا العظمى إلى ارتفاع في النفقات العسكرية:  11.3 في المئة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في العام 2013 (15.8% عام 2012) مقارنةً بـ8.3 في المئة في العام 2010، وهي أعلى نسبة تم تسجيلها في الشرق الأوسط (المصدر: معهد ستوكهولم الدولي لأبحاث السلام).

يعود موقف سلطنة عمان الفريد في منطقة الخليج، وفي إطار بحثها عن الاستقرار السياسي والإقليمي، إلى أساس المجتمع العماني. ونظراً إلى أنّ سلطنة عمان هي الدولة العربية الوحيدة التي إستعمرت في الماضي، نجد في المجتمع العماني مجموعات عرقية ودينية متنوعة تشمل المواطنين العمانيين البولشيين، والزنجباريين، ومواطنين من أصل هندي. وقد ساهم هذا التنوع بشكل كبير في تعزيز التسامح والانفتاح إلى الخارج. كذلك، فإن التقاليد الدينية الإباضية الفريدة من نوعها لا تشجع على الصراعات الطائفية والمذهبية إنما تفضل السبل المعتدلة (ما يعكس الطريقة التقليدية لاختيار الأئمة خلال فترة الإمامة).وتزايد التوترات الطائفية في الخليج يهدد بالقضاء على هذه الأسس.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Oman / Past to Present / Foreign Policy

Foreign Policy

Deputy Prime Minister for the Council of Ministers Fahd bin Mahmoud Al Said (r) and Minister Responsible for Foreign Affairs Yusuf bin Alawi bin Abdullah (l) attend the GCC summit in Kuwait, 10 December 2013 / Photo HH

Before the GCC summit in Kuwait in December 2013, Oman’s minister of foreign affairs, Yusuf bin Alawi bin Abdullah, made a surprising statement: his country would not join a GCC union (an upgraded version of the current loosely organized GCC) proposed by the Saudis, saying “we should not enter into conflicts, either close or far away from us. We think we should not return to the previous century.” Oman, one of the founding states of the GCC in 1981, which was established primarily as a counter force against Iran, seemed, with this statement, to distance itself from a confrontational stance towards Iran. That hostile position, led by Saudi Arabia, has increased since the recent rapprochement between the United States and Iran. Moreover, as much as GCC states see Iran as a threat, member states fear the influence of fellow members, particularly Saudi Arabia. In 2009, a GCC monetary union, with its headquarters to be located in Riyadh, was turned down. Oman has taken this opportunity to resist another Saudi initiative.

While Bin Alawi’s statement may be surprising, given that Sultan Qaboos in January 2014 ratified the GCC Security Pact (strengthening cooperation on security matters), it also reflects Oman’s record in foreign policy and its reluctance to take sides. Oman has long resisted following the confrontational position of Saudi Arabia and other GCC states towards Iran. While the latter (Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, and, to a lesser extent, Kuwait) have often accused their Shia population of being agents of Iran, Oman has not pursued such a confrontational position towards its own Shia minority. By rejecting the GCC Union, it has chosen diplomacy over confrontation.

Pragmatic

Oman has long played a distinctive political role in the region, taking seemingly contradictory positions on regional issues. The sultanate maintained bilateral relations with both Iraq and Iran during the Iran-Iraq War, unlike other GCC states, such as Kuwait and Saudi Arabia, that supported Iraq and opposed Iran. Oman did not break ties with the Islamic Republic after the Islamic Revolution in 1979, despite regional concern over the export of the Revolution throughout the Gulf. At the same time, it intensified its security alliance with the United States, in order to ward off the perceived Iranian threat. During the Iraqi occupation of Kuwait, Oman was the only Gulf state to maintain diplomatic relations with Iraq. Yet, it cooperated militarily with the United States to liberate Kuwait. Likewise, Oman publicly opposed the US military invasion of Iraq in 2003, while nevertheless providing military support.

As in Gulf security matters, the sultanate took an independent and pragmatic position toward the Arab-Israeli conflict, when, in 1979, it decided not to break relations with Egypt after President Sadat signed a peace treaty with Israel. This was against the tide of Arab public opinion and the Arab League’s decision to break diplomatic ties with Egypt. Oman also began, after the Oslo Accord in 1993, to explore economic and limited political relations with Israel. From that time, Oman played a leading role among Arab states in trying to build a diplomatic bridge with Israel. The sultanate became the first Gulf state to host Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin, and Israel and Oman later opened trade offices (which were closed after the Second Intifada).

Mediator

Sultan Qaboos meets Iranian President Hassan Rouhani in Muscat, March 2014 / Photo HH

In the past decades, Oman has also emerged as a neutral and discreet mediator. The sultanate arranged prisoner exchanges between Iran and the United States and helped to organize oil payments to Iran during the international sanctions imposed against Iran’s industry due to its nuclear program. It also encouraged a diplomatic solution to the crises between Qatar and Bahrain in 1986 and between Iraq and Kuwait in 1990.

More recently, in the wake of the deal between Iran and the West on Iran’s nuclear program in November 2013, the Associated Press reported that secret talks had been held between US and Iranian officials in the capital, Muscat, in March 2013. These talks were made possible after Sultan Qaboos played a key role in facilitating the release of three American hikers detained in Iran in 2009; Qaboos later offered himself as a mediator for a rapprochement between the United States and Iran. In March 2013, US Under Secretary of State Nicholas Burns and other senior US officials met with Iranian diplomats, national security aides, and experts on the nuclear issue. Further secret meetings, held after the election of the reformist Hassan Rouhani as president of Iran, produced much of the interim agreement that was later formalized during negotiations in Geneva. Oman had thus facilitated the talks that prepared the ground for an expeditious deal in Geneva.

Oman’s historically good relations with Iran centre on a shared responsibility for the Strait of Hormuz—through which about one-third of the world’s oil supply is being shipped—and trade between the two shores of the Strait. In the 1970s, troops sent by the shah of Iran had helped the sultan put down the communist-inspired Dhofar uprising. This support was not forgotten, even after the Islamic Revolution. Sultan Qaboos was the first foreign leader to visit Iran’s new president, Hassan Rouhani, after he took office on 3 August 2013. Both leaders agreed to intensify trade and economic relations; Oman realized the need to promote trade with Iran, in its effort to diversify the economy away from oil. During Rouhani’s visit to Muscat in March 2014, Omani and Iranian officials signed a three-year deal that will see Oman supplied with 30 million cubic meters a day of Iranian gas through a $1 billion pipeline. The gas cooperation will enable Oman to meet its domestic demand; for Iran, it will be a welcome source of income, as the Iranian economy has long suffered from international sanctions.

Security Alliance with the West

Omani soldiers march during a military parade marking the 43rd National Day, 18 November 2013 Photo HH

A condition of this independent and pragmatic foreign policy towards regional neighbours and the prevention of foreign interference by those neighbours has been the maintenance of a special relationship with Great Britain and the United States. Although British forces had officially left Omani bases in 1977 (after the Dhofar War was won), the regular renewal of military cooperation agreements with both Great Britain and the United States confirmed Oman’s alignment with US and British policies. After the terrorist attacks on US targets on 11 September 2001, the US military presence in Oman increased dramatically, from about 250 to 4300 personnel. Oman supported US military operations in Afghanistan (2002) and Iraq (2003). The bases in Seeb and on Masirah island were the only ones in the Arabian Peninsula used by the coalition during the air offensive against Iraq, as they had been in 1991. According to Marc Valeri, senior lecturer in political economy of the Middle East at the University of Exeter (United Kingdom), this partnership is the key to Sultan Qaboos’s freedom of action in the region, but it comes at a huge financial cost. Omani defense purchases from the United States and Great Britain have led to high military expenditures: 11.3 percent of GDP in 2013 (15.8 percent in 2012), compared to 8.3 percent in 2010, the highest rate in the Middle East (source: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute).

Oman’s unique position in the Gulf, in its quest for political and regional stability, goes back to the foundation of Omani society. As the only Arab country that has had a colony in the past, Omani society has a longtime presence of diverse ethnic and religious groups, including Omani nationals of Baluchi, Zanzibari, and Indian descent. This has fostered a high degree of tolerance and an outward-looking mentality. The unique Ibadi religious tradition discourages sectarian and ideological conflicts and prefers the moderate way (reflecting the way Imams were traditionally chosen during the period of the Imamates). Increasing sectarian tensions in the Gulf threaten to undermine this foundation.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.