فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السر الذي جعل عُمان خارج التنظيمات الارهابية كالقاعدة وداعش

السر الذي جعل عُمان خارج التنظيمات الارهابية كالقاعدة وداعش

Motivations behind Oman's "immunity" to religious extremism
تجمع للبدو على أحد شواطئ محافظة الشرقية في عُمان. التسامح والتكامل بين والثقافات الأخرى ميزة فريدة للمجتمع العُماني، مما جعله عصياً على التطرف الديني. Photo Hemis Creative and Travel Imagery

عندما شنت الولايات المتحدة الأميركية حربها العاصفة على تنظيم القاعدة في أفغانستان وآماكن أخرى من العالم، على إثر هجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر 2001 على نيويورك وواشنطن، والتي أعلن التنظيم مسؤليته عنها، وقعت العديد من الملفات والتسجيلات عن “القاعدة” في يد أجهزة الاستخبارات الأميركية والتي أظهرت نجاح القاعدة في استقطاب مقاتلين ومجندين ومؤيدين وعناصر فاعله في صفوفه من كل الدول العربية وحتى من خارج العالم العربي، عدا بلد عربي واحد، بقي نظيفاً وبعيداً عن هذا التنظيم، هذا البلد هو سلطنة عُمان.

التقرير الشامل الذي أصدرته “اللجنة الوطنية الأميركية التي شكلها الكونجرس الأميركي للبحث في أسباب هجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر،” والذي صدر في 585 صفحة والذي كشف تغلغل القاعدة في الدول العربية، هذا التقرير لم يُشر إلى اسم عُمان سوى مرة واحدة في الصفحة 75 باعتبار أن أسامة بن لادن كان يعمل، اثناء إقامتة في السودان، على إنشاء تنظيم دولي يضم أعضاءً من جميع الدول العربية بما فيها عمُان. غير أن بن لادن فشل في دخول عُمان وفي استقطاب أي من مواطنيها.

لكن الاستثناء العماني لم يكن حصراً على ” القاعدة”، فتنظيم الدولة الاسلامية “ داعش” فشل أيضاً في تجنيد أي مواطن عُماني في صفوفه، وهو التنظيم الذي يضم مقاتلين ومؤيدين من مختلف الدول العربية وغير العربية.

فما السر الذي جعل العمانيين خارج دائرة التنظيمات الارهابية كالقاعدة وداعش والتنظيمات الأخرى المتحالفة معها، خصوصاً في اليمن، الدولة المحاذية لعُمان؟ ولماذا بقيت عُمان الدولة العربية الوحيدة خارج دائرة التطرف ودائرة الصراعات المذهبية والطائفية التي تجتاح العالم العربي؟

الاباضية ومبدأ التعايش

يرى العديد من الباحثين حالة التسامح والتعايش والبعد عن التطرف لدى العمانيين إلى طبيعة المذهب الديني الذي يعتنقه غالبيتهم، وهو المذهب الاباضي، الذي يُنظر إليه بوصفه “أرثوذوكسية إسلامية” لطبيعته الحذره وتحذيره منتسبيه حيال التشدد في الرأي والتطرف في الموقف.

نشأ المذهب الاباضي في القرن الأول الهجري في البصرة بالعراق على يد علماء وفقهاء وزعماء سياسين من أصول عمانية كعبدالله بن وهب الراسبي، وجابر بن زيد، وعبدالله بن أباض وغيرهم. ويعد جابر بن زيد الأب الروحي للاباضية وأحد ابرز مؤسسي الاعتدال في الاسلام عبر نشره ثقافة التسامح والتعايش والتجديد بين اتباعه.

وإذا كانت جذور التسامح التي يعرف بها المجتمع العماني تعود إلى المذهب الاباضي، فإن العمانيين ليسوا جميعهم من أتباع المذهب الاباضي، فهناك السُنّة، المالكية الشافعية، وهناك الشيعة.

هنا يعود السؤال مجدداً؛ كيف نجح العمانيون في تجنب التطرف الديني والمذهبي الذي يضرب، دون هوادة، معظم المجتمعات العربية.

التعليم الحديث أفضل طريقة لمحاربة التطرف

يعيد الكاتب الأميركي ” نيكولاس كريستوف” في مقال له الأمر إلى السياسات التحديثية التي انتهجها السلطان قابوس بن سعيد بعد توليه زمام الأمور في هذا البلد العربي الخليجي عام 1970، والذي كان الأكثر فقراً وبؤساً وعزلة في العالم العربي. وعلى وجه الخصوص “التعليم الحديث” الذي لا يتضمن نصوصاً تحض على التطرف وكراهية الآخر. فهذه البلاد التي لم يكن بها سوى مدرستين قبل عام 1970، كان التعليم المدني الحديث هو الأولوية لسياسات السلطان قابوس، وفي حين كانت المرأة محرومة تماماً من دخول المدارس، فُتحت الأبواب لها مع العهد الجديد. وبحسب نيكولاس كريستوف في مقالته هذه فإن “افضل طريقة لمحاربة التطرف هي جعل التعليم متاحاً للجميع.”

من جانبه يقدم الكاتب السعودي وائل القاسم مثالاً مهماً على الاستثناء العماني وقدرة هذا البلد على البقاء خارج دائرة التطرف والارهاب. هذا المثال يتعلق بما شاهده الكاتب داخل المساجد العمانية، إذ أن أتباع جميع المذاهب يصلّون معا في مساجد مشتركة، وأتباع كل مذهب يصلي على طريقته، على خلاف ما يحصل في بلدان عربية كثيرة حيث أن مساجد السُنة لا يُصّلي فيها سوى السُنة، ومساجد الشيعة لا يُصلّي فيها سوى الشيعة.

ويرى الكاتب السعودي أن “الأجمل هو تبني جهات تربوية عمانية فكرة التعايش والتسامح لتعليم الأطفال التعايش والمحبة والتسامح والسلام.” وفي هذا السياق، أنتجت عُمان فيلم كرتون بعنوان ” كلنا أخوة” يعلم الاطفال في سن مبكرة مفهوم التعايش والتسامح وتقبل الآخر المختلف.

وإذا كان التعليم المدني الحديث الذي بدأ قبل خمس وأربعين عاما، وفق خطط حكومية ذكية ومدروسة، هو مفتاح التميز والنجاح العماني في نبذ التطرف ونشر ثقافة التفاهم والحوار مع الآخر المختلف في الدين أو في المذهب أو في العرق، وجعل عمان تخلو تماماً من الارهاب والتطرف، في مؤشر الارهاب العالمي للعام الماضي 2015 ، فإن هناك خاصية أخرى تُميز عُمان عن مثيلاتها من الدول العربية، خصوصاً في منطقة الخليج.

مجتمع متعدد الأعراق والثقافات

المجتمع العماني مُركّب من أعراق مختلفة، ولغات مختلفة، وثقافات مختلفة، لكنها متعايشة معاً منذ مئات السنين. هذا التعايش القديم مع الآخر المختلف في العرق واللغة والثقافة، مكّن صُناع السياسات التعليمية والتنموية اليوم من خلق بيئة قابلة للتعايش، دون نزعات إقصائية رافضة للآخر. في عمُان يعيش العمانيون من ذوي الأصول العربية مع العمانين من ذوي الأصول الهندية مع أمثالهم من ذوي الأصول الأفريقية مع مواطنيهم من ذوي الأصول الأفريقية. وفي عُمان تتعايش اللغة العربية جنباً إلى جنب مع اللغة السواحيلية واللغة الفارسية واللغة البلوشية والأوردية والكمزارية والشحرية، وفي عُمان تتعايش الفنون ذات الأصول المختلفة، العربية والأفريقية والهندية وغيرها. هذه التركيبة المختلفة والمتميزة هي التي جعلت من هذا البلد العربي الذي يقع في أقصى شرق الجزيرة العربية، مختلفاً ومتميزاً في مقارباته السياسية والثقافية مع مكوناته المحلية ومع المكونات الثقافية (الدينية والمذهبية) العالمية.

التسامح في الداخل والدبلوماسية في الخارج

ميّز التعايش الذي تتمتع به مختلف شرائح المجتمع العُماني وروح التسامح التي تتجلى في المذهب الأباضي، السياسة الخارجية لعُمان. ونتيجةً لذلك، ساهم هذا في جعل عُمان بلداً محايداً تتقرب منه الأطراف المتنازعة في المنطقة للوساطة والتوصل إلى تفاهماتٍ (سلمية). فهناك العديد من الأمثلة على هذه الجهود الدبلوماسية العُمانية لنزع فتيل التوتر.

فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما اندلعت الحرب الإيرانية العراقية (1980-1988)، رفضت عُمان الوقوف في صف العراق في وجه إيران واتخذت موقفاً محايداً خلافاً لمعظم دول المنطقة. ومع قرب نهاية الحرب، استضافت السلطنة محادثاتٍ سرية بين حكومتي طهران وبغداد، التي بلغت ذروتها في وقف إطلاق النار وإنهاء الحرب التي استمرت ثمانية أعوام. وبعد انتهاء الحرب، توسطت عُمان أيضاً على الصعيد الدبلوماسي بين الرياض وطهران.

وفي السياق العربي، خالفت عُمان غالبية الدول العربية عندما قامت مصر بتوقيع معاهدة كامب ديفيد للسلام مع إسرائيل في عام 1979، حيث عزلت وقاطعت غالبية الدول مصر، إلا أنّ عُمان رفضت ذلك. وفي وقتٍ لاحق، كانت عُمان حلقة الوصل بين مصر ومختلف الدول العربية الأخرى في محاولة لاستعادة العلاقات الطبيعية بين الدول العربية.

وبالمثل، عندما غزا صدام حسين الكويت في أغسطس 1991، لم تقطع عُمان علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع العراق، وظلت منفتحة للمحادثات التي لربما ساهمت في إنهاء الأزمة وتجنب حربٍ محتومة. وعندما قررت المملكة العربية السعودية ودول عربية أخرى إقحام نفسها مباشرة في الصراع في اليمن عام 2015 وتشكيل تحالفٍ عسكري المعروف باسم عملية عاصفة حاسمة، لوضع حدٍ لنفوذ جماعة الحوثي أنصار الله المدعومة من قِبل إيران، رفضت عُمان المشاركة وبدلاً من ذلك، أطلقت مبادرة لحل الصراع في اليمن.

وفيما يتعلق بالصراع في سورية، تحاول عُمان التدخل من أجل تقريب وجهات النظر المختلفة قدر المستطاع لوضع حدٍ للصراع الدموي المستمر منذ خمس سنوات. وعلى الساحة الدولية، كان لعُمان دوراً ناجحاً في الوساطة الأبرز في تقريب وجهات النظر بين الغرب وإيران بشأن برنامجها النووي، الذي بلغ ذروته في توقيع القوى العالمية (5+1) الاتفاق النووي في فيينا في 14 يوليو 2015.

محاولات “الاسلام السياسي”

وإذا كانت صورة عُمان على هذا القدرمن النقاء فيما يتعلق بعلاقتها بتنظيمات إرهابية كـ”لقاعدة” و”داعش،” وإذا كانت صورة التعايش بين المذاهب ومكونات المجتمع العماني على هذا القدر من التماسك والتعايش السلمي، فإن هذا البلد لم يخلو من محاولات جماعات ما يوصف بالاسلام السياسي من زعزعة الاستقرار والعمل على اقتحام المجال السياسي عبر تنظيمات سرية تهدف إلى قلب نظام الحكم.

ففي العام 1994 ألقت الحكومة القبض على مجموعة من العمانيين ينتمون إلى المذهب السني، اتهموا بمحاولة قلب نظام الحكم بقوة السلاح. وبحسب تصريحات حكومية فإن “أعضاء التنظيم السري المحظور تأثروا بمنظمة عالمية لها فروع في دول عربية، وأن هذه المنظمة لها وجود في دول خليجية،” في إشارة واضحة إلى تنظيم الاخوان المسلمين وتواجده، في تلك الفترة، في السعودية.

وفي العام 2005 كشفت السلطات العمانية عن وجود تنظيم ديني مسلح، ينتمي هذه المرة، إلى المذهب الاباضي، كان يخطط لقلب نظام الحكم بقوة السلاح، كما كشفت سلطات الأمن عن مراكز تدريب على السلاح وعن مخازن أسلحة.

لقد أثار الكشف عن المحاولتين مخاوف الكثيرين من إمكانية انفراط عقد الاستقرار في هذا البلد، غير أن الوضع عاد إلى الاستقرار وتجاوزت عُمان التجربتين العابرتين. يبقى السؤال عن مدى قدرة عُمان والعمانيين البقاء خارج قوس الأزمات الذي يطوق المنطقة العربية من ليبيا إلى اليمن، والحفاظ على النموذج المميز والاستثناء الذي بات مضرب المثل.

الجواب المنظور أن سياسة النأي بالنفس التي تتبعها الحكومة العمانية عبر رفضها الانخراط في أي صراعات أو حروب، وفي حرصها على لعب دور الوسيط الذي يعمل من أجل نزع فتيل الصراعات، هذه السياسية ستُبقى هذا البلد خارج قوس الصراعات وستبقيه خارج مناخ التطرف والتشدد الديني والطائفي.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Oman / Past to Present / What Makes Oman Immune from Terrorist Groups like al-Qaeda and Islamic State?

What Makes Oman Immune from Terrorist Groups like al-Qaeda and Islamic State?

Oman Immune from Terrorist Groups - Motivations behind Oman's "immunity" to religious extremism
Bedouins gather at a beach in the region of al-Sharqiyya, in Oman. Tollerance and integration of other ethnicities and cultures is a unique feature of Oman’s society that has rendered it immune from religious extremism . Photo Hemis Creative and Travel Imagery

The United States launched all-out war on the al-Qaeda terror network in Afghanistan and elsewhere in the world following the attacks on New York and Washington on 11 September 2001. Afterward, many al-Qaeda files and recordings fell into the hands of US intelligence agencies. Such recordings showed al-Qaeda’s success in recruiting fighters, operatives, supporters, and effective members from almost all Arab states and even from outside the Arab world. The exception was one Arab country, the Sultanate of Oman, which remained clean and immune from this organization.

A comprehensive 585-page report was issued by the “9/11 Commission set up by the US Congress to examine the true causes of 11 September attacks.” The report shows that al-Qaeda was penetrating Arab countries, but it refers to Oman only once, on page 75. Here it states that Osama Bin Laden during his stay in Sudan was planning to establish an international organization, the members of which would come from all Arab countries, including Oman. But he failed to enter Oman or recruit any of its citizens.

Oman was immune not only from al-Qaeda penetration; the Islamic State (IS) in Iraq and Syria likewise failed to recruit any Omani citizens into its ranks, although IS has fighters and supporters from many Arab (and non-Arab) countries.

What is the secret that has kept Omanis beyond the reach of terrorist organizations such as al-Qaeda, IS and allied organizations, especially those in Yemen, which shares a border with Oman? Why is Oman the only Arab country that has remained free of the sectarian and religious conflicts that are sweeping the Arab world?

Ibadi doctrine and principle of coexistence

According to many researchers, Omanis’ tolerance, coexistence, and invulnerability to extremism is attributable mainly to the Ibadi religious doctrine espoused by the majority of Omanis, which is seen as an orthodox Islam that is very cautious of extremist views and opinions.

The Ibadi doctrine emerged in the first Islamic century, in the Iraqi city of Basra, under scholars and political leaders of Omani descent such as Abdallah Bin Wahb al-Rasibi, Jabir Bin Zaid, Abdallah Bin Ibadi, and others. Jabir Bin Zaid is the spiritual leader of Ibadis and one of the most prominent founders of moderation in Islam, because he promoted a culture of tolerance, coexistence, and renewal amongst his followers and supporters.

Although the tolerance common amongst Omanis originates in the Ibadi doctrine, not all Omanis are followers of that doctrine, as there are also Sunnis, including followers of the Maliki and Shafii schools, and Shiites.

The question is, how did Omanis manage to avoid the religious and sectarian extremism that is sweeping fiercely across most Arab societies?

Modern Education the best way to fight extremism

US writer Nicholas Kristof said in an article that tolerance in Oman is also connected with the modernization policies adopted by Sultan Qaboos Bin Said after he took power in 1970, when Oman was the poorest and most miserable and isolated country in the Arab world. Kristof ascribed tolerance in Oman especially to “modern education,” which endorses no texts inciting extremism or hatred. Before 1970, Oman had only two schools, but modern public education has now become a high priority for Sultan Qaboos. Women had been completely excluded from schools before Qaboos took power and opened the doors wide for women to receive an education. According to Kristof’s article, “the best way to fight extremism is to give everybody full access to education.”

For his part, Saudi columnist Wail al-Qasim cites the important example of Oman as an exception and the ability of this country to stay clear of extremism and terrorism—specifically, as a result of the tolerance preached in the mosques of Oman. He points out that followers of all Islamic sects in Oman pray together in mosques. Each sect prays in its own way, unlike what is happening in several Arab other countries, where Sunnis pray only in Sunni mosques and Shiites only in Shiite mosques.

The Saudi writer also points out that Omani educational institutions teach children to “live in love, tolerance, and peace.” In this context, Oman produced a cartoon movie titled “We Are All Brothers” to teach children at an early age the concepts of coexistence, tolerance, and acceptance of others.

Modern civic education in Oman, which began 45 years ago, is based on intelligent and well thought-out government plans, and led to Oman’s success in the renunciation of extremism, and freedom from terrorism – according to Global Terrorism Index 2015. There is, however, another characteristic that distinguishes Oman from other Arab countries, especially in the Gulf region – its multi-ethnicity and multi-culturalism.

Oman: Multiethnic, multicultural society

Omani society consists of different races, languages, and cultures that have coexisted for hundreds of years. This old coexistence has enabled educational and developmental policymakers today to create a favourable environment that is free of any type of exclusion. In Oman, inhabitants of Arab origin live with Omanis of Indian origin, as well as with fellow citizens of African origin. Omanis use the Arabic language alongside Swahili, Persian, Balochi, Urdu, Kumzai, and al-Shahri, and likewise arts represent the different cultures, such as Arab, African, Indian, and others. This distinctive, diverse structure is what has made this Arab country, located in the far eastern Arabian Peninsula, unique in its political and cultural approach to local components and to global cultural (religious and sectarian) components.

Tolerance inside, diplomacy outside

The coexistence enjoyed by the various segments of Omani society and the spirit of tolerance expressed in the Ibadi doctrine have made Omani foreign policy a special one. Consequently, this helped make Oman a neutral country that is approached by disputing parties in the region for mediation and reaching (peaceful) understandings. There are several examples of such Omani diplomatic efforts defusing tensions.

For instance, when the Iran-Iraq war (1980-1988) broke out, Oman refused to back Iraq against Iran and remained neutral, unlike most countries of the region. Towards the end of the war, Oman hosted secret talks between the governments of Tehran and Baghdad, culminating in a ceasefire and ending the eight-year war. After the end of the war, Oman also mediated diplomatically between Riyadh and Tehran.

In the Arab context, Oman departed from the position of most Arab countries regarding Egypt signing the Camp David peace treaty with Israel in 1979 – where most nations isolated and boycotted Egypt, Oman refused. Later, Oman served as a link between Egypt and various other Arab countries in a bid to restore normal relations amongst Arab states.

Likewise, when Saddam Hussein invaded Kuwait in August 1991, Oman did not cut off diplomatic ties with Iraq and remained open to talks that may have helped end the crisis and avoid the apparently unavoidable war.

When Saudi Arabia and other Arab countries decided to involve themselves directly in the 2015 Yemeni conflict by forming a military alliance known as Operation Decisive Storm to end the influence of the Houthi Ansarallah group backed by Iran, Oman declined to participate and launched an initiative to resolve the conflict in Yemen instead.

Regarding the conflict in Syria, Oman has been trying to intervene in order to bring the differing views closer to end the five-year bloody conflict.

On the international scene, Oman’s most prominent mediation was its successful role in bringing closer the views of the West and Iran regarding Iran’s nuclear project, which culminated in the G5+1 signing the nuclear agreement in Vienna on 14 July 2015.

Attempts by “Political Islam”

Oman is free of links with al-Qaeda and IS, and the country has maintained the image of strong cohesion and peaceful coexistence amongst the different sects and other components of the Omani society. Nevertheless, there have been attempts in Oman by political Islamic groups to destabilize and penetrate the political landscape through secret organizations aiming to overthrow the regime.

In 1994, the government arrested a group of Sunni Omanis for attempting to overthrow the regime by armed forces. According to government statements, “members of the banned secret organization were influenced by a global one that had branches in Arab countries,” and that the organization had a presence in Gulf countries. This is a clear reference to the Muslim Brotherhood in Saudi Arabia at the time.

In 2005, Omani authorities revealed that an armed religious group that adhered to the Ibadi doctrine was planning to overthrow the regime by armed force. Omani security authorities also uncovered military training centres and weapon caches.

The information disclosed about the two attempts raised concerns in Oman about the possibility of destabilizing the country, but the situation has returned to normal, and Oman has managed to overcome the effects of the two brief incidents.

The questions now are, to what extent can Oman and the Omani people steer clear of the crises encircling the Arab region and extending from Libya to Yemen? How long can Oman continue to be a role model and an exception in the region?

The answer is that the Omani government’s policy of distancing itself and refusing to engage in any conflicts or wars in the region, as well as its keenness to play the role of mediator to defuse tensions will keep the country free of conflict and immune from the repercussions of religious and sectarian extremism.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.