فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حكم السلطان قابوس

حكم السلطان قابوس

السلطان سعيد بن تيمور مع ابنه قابوس، والذي أجبر والده إلى المنفى عام 1970

أدت ثورة ظفار إلى انقلاب ملكي غير دموي في يوليو/تموز 1970، عندما أطاح قابوس بن سعيد بأبيه السلطان سعيد بن تيمور. ولد قابوس في صلالة في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 1940، ونال قسطًاً من تعليمه في بريطانيا العظمى حيث درس أولاً في كلية خاصة منذ 1958 وما بعدها، ثم في الأكاديمية العسكرية الملكية في ساندهورست. وخدم كضابط في الجيش البريطاني في جمهورية ألمانيا الاتحادية لفترة قصيرة. عام 1965، بعد دراسات عليا في لندن وقيامه بجولة حول العالم، تم استدعاؤه إلى الوطن ووضع في عزلة في قصر صلالة.

تعارضت أفكار قابوس التقدمية والعالمية مع ميول والده إلى الإبقاء على محافظة وانعزالية عمان. وبدعم من البريطانيين والصفوة السياسية في عمان، تولي قابوس البالغ من العمر 30 عاماً السلطة بعد انقلاب عام 1970. ونفي والده إلى لندن حيث مات هناك عام 1972.

ورث السلطان قابوس بلاداً كانت مُصابة بالأمية والفقر وتفتقر إلى البنية الاجتماعية المناسبة مثل التعليم والرعاية الصحية. كما واجه على الفور تمرداً شرساً على الدوام في ظفار. وبمشاركة القوات والمعدات البريطانية ووحدات مُسلحة من الأردن وإيران ودعم مالي من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات، تم القضاء نهائياً على التمرد في ظفار عام 1975.

كان حكم قابوس، كحاكم مطلق ومثقف، إشارة لبداية تحول عمان إلى دولة حديثة. وأنشأ السلطان هيكلاً عصرياً للحكومة، وأطلق تغييرات جذرية في التعليم والرعاية الصحية، وبنى بنية تحتية حديثة، وطوّر مصادر البلاد الهامة من النفط والغاز. ويُعتبر السلطان قابوس الزعيم الأكثر شعبية في العالم العربي حتى الآن. تتميز الثقافة العمانية باحترام النظام الأبوي في القيادة والقبول العام للشكل الحالي للحكومة وشرعية الدولة القومية. لكن يبدو من حين لآخر أن المواطنين العمانيين يتطلعون إلى مُشاركة سياسية أكبر. ورغم كل إصلاحاته، لا يبدو السلطان ميالاً إلى إجراء تغييرات رئيسية في النظام الحالي.

التطورات الأخيرة

صورة السلطان قابوس في مسقط / Photo Fanack

مع أنّ عمان كانت تعتبر على الدوام بلداً مستقراً سياسياً، إلا أنها شهدت إضطرابات وإحتجاجات عام 2011 عندما تجمّع  مواطنون عمانيون للاحتجاج ضد ارتفاع البطالة وتكاليف المعيشة وفساد المسؤولين الحكوميين ومن أجل ظروف عمل وأجور أفضل. وعلى المستوى السياسي طالب المتظاهرون بتوسيع الحقوق المدنية والسياسية وسلطة مجلس الشورى الاستشاري واستقلال القضاء وضمان حرية التعبير. كما حمل البعض يافطات كُتب عليها شعارات تأييد للسلطان. وفي شباط/فبراير وآذار/مارس، تجمع متظاهرون أيضاً في دوار الكرة الأرضية في صحار، وأوقفوا حركة السير وطالبوا “ببرلمان حقيقي”. وفي الحال امتدت الاحتجاجات إلى مدن أخرى، مثل هيما. وقامت الشرطة والجيش بتحطيم معسكرات الاحتجاج واعتقال عدد غير معروف من الأشخاص. كما سقط عدد من القتلى عقب الاحتجاجات.

وعلى رغم من الإصلاحات الإجتماعية والسياسية التي أعلنها السلطان قابوس عام 2011, عادت المظاهرات في الربيع 2012, ضد البطالة والإصلاحات البطيئة. وتمّ إعتقال الناشطين والمدونين والصحفيين الذين عبّروا عن نقدهم لعجز الحكومة لتنفيذ الإصلاحات ولحماية حقوق الإنسان. قي عام 2012, حُكم عليهم 35 ناشط بالسجن بتهمة التظاهر والتعبير عن آرائهم في وسائط التواصل الإجتماعي, حسب منظمة هيومن رايتس واتش.

أجبرت المظاهرات في عمان السلطات على القبول بتسوية بشأن الشفافية والمساءلة في الحكم. وبالتالي، استجاب السلطان قابوس للاحتجاجات بإصلاحات جوهرية أكثر ما فعله ملوك الخليج الآخرون. والتفسير الوحيد لرده الاستثنائي هو أن كل السلطة متركزة في يد السلطان؛ إضافة إلى أن السلطان غير مقيد بخلافات ضمن العائلة المالكة. إلا أن تجدد الاحتجاجات كان علامة على أن الاصلاحات الاجتماعية والسياسية المحدودة لن تُرضِ العمانيين. واستطاع السلطان تجنب تطور الأزمة، ولكن على حساب استمرار قمع الناشطين والمزيد من القيود على حرية التعبير والاجتماع.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Oman / Past to Present / The rule of Sultan Qaboos

The rule of Sultan Qaboos

Sultan Said bin Taymur with his son Qaboos, who would force his father into exile in 1970

The Dhofar rebellion led to a bloodless palace coup in July 1970, when Sultan Said bin Taymur was overthrown by his son, Qaboos bin Said. Qaboos, born in Salalah in November 1940, had partly been educated in Great Britain, where he studied first at a private college from 1958 onwards and subsequently at the Royal Military Academy in Sandhurst. As an officer in the British army he served for a short time in the Federal Republic of Germany. In 1965, after advanced studies in London and a world tour, he was called home and placed in isolation in the palace in Salalah.

Qaboos‘ more cosmopolitan and progressive views clashed with his father’s predilection for conservatism and isolationism of Oman. Supported by the British and by the political elite in Oman, the then 30 year-old Qaboos assumed power after the coup d’état of 1970. His father went into exile in London, where he died in 1972.

Sultan Qaboos inherited a country that was plagued by illiteracy, poverty and a lack of adequate social infrastructure such as education and health care. He also was immediately confronted with the continuing fierce rebellion in Dhofar. With the involvement of British troops and equipment, armed units from Jordan and Iran, and financial backing by Saudi Arabia and the Emirates, the Dhofar rebellion was finally put down in 1975.

Qaboos’ rule as an enlightened autocrat signalled the beginning of the transformation of Oman into a modern state. The Sultan established a modern structure of government, launched fundamental changes in education and health care, built a modern infrastructure and developed the country’s important oil and gas resources. He is considered the most popular leader in the Arab world by far. Omani political culture is characterized by respect for patriarchal  leadership, an overall acceptance of the current form of government and the legitimacy of the nation-state. However, it appears from time to time that the Omani citizens aspire to greater political participation. Despite all his reforms, the Sultan does not seem inclined to introduce major changes to the current system.

Recent developments

Sultan Qaboos on a billboard in Muscat / Photo Fanack

Although Oman was always considered a politically stable country, the country witnessed unrest and protests, starting in January 2011, when demonstraters  protested against rising unemployment figures, cost of living and corruption among government officials, and to demand better working conditions and salaries. On a political level the demonstrators called for greater civil and political rights, greater power for the advisory Shura Council, judiciary independence and guaranteed freedom of expression.Some also carried banners with slogans supporting the Sultan. In February and March, protesters also gathered at the Globe Roundabout in Sohar, holding up the traffic and demanding a ‘real parliament’. The protests soon spread to other cities such as Haima. The police and army have broken up the protest camps and arrested an unknown number of persons. There have also been a number of deaths following the protests.

Despite limited social and political reforms announced by Sultan Qaboos in 2011, protests re-emerged in the spring of 2012 over unemployment and the slow pace of reforms. A wave of arrests targeted human rights activists, bloggers and journalists who had criticized the government’s failure to implement reforms and protect human rights. In 2012, a total of 35 activists were sentenced to prison for protesting and expressing their views on social media, according to Human Rights Watch.

The uprising in Oman has forced authorities to compromise on transparency and accountability in governance. All in all, Sultan Qaboos has responded to the protests with more substantial reforms than other Gulf monarchs. One explanation for his exceptional stance is that all authority is concentrated in the Sultan’s hands; moreover, he is not constrained by frictions within the ruling family. Yet, renewed protests were a sign that limited political and social reforms have not satisfied Omanis. The Sultan has managed to avoid further crisis, but at a price: continued repression of activists and further restrictions in freedom of expression and assembly.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.