فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / حقوق الإنسان في عُمان / سجل حقوق الإنسان في عُمان: ارتفاع وتيرة التضييق والملاحقة بعد أحداث الربيع العربي

سجل حقوق الإنسان في عُمان: ارتفاع وتيرة التضييق والملاحقة بعد أحداث الربيع العربي

حقوق الإنسان في عُمان
بعد احتجاجات عام 2011، زادت السُلطات العُمانية القيود المفروضة على حقوق الإنسان. Photo Flickr

لا يختلف وضع الحريات وحقوق الإنسان في عُمان كثيراً عن الحال في العالم العربي، فالدول العربية لا تشترك في أمر قدر اشتراكها في التضييق على هامش الحريات ومصادرة الحقوق و ملاحقة الناشطين الحقوقيين والسياسيين.

التقارير الدولية المعنية بتوثيق ومراقبة أوضاع الحريات وحقوق الإنسان حول العالم تُصنف الدول العربية في آخر قائمة الدول التي تحترم الحقوق والحريات. ففي تقرير مؤسسة بيت الحرية Freedom House لوضع الحريات حول العالم للعام 2015 حافظت الدول العربية على وضعها المعتاد في خانة الدول غير الحرة باستثناء تونس التي انتقلت إلى خانة الدول الحرة.

في التقرير ذاته نجد أن الوضع في عُمان لم يشهد أي تحسن على مدى السنوات العشر الماضية حيث استمرت السلطات في ملاحقة نشطاء حقوق الإنسان واعتقالهم وفي التضييق على حرية التعبير.

أما منظمة مراسلون بلاحدود المعنية بالدفاع عن حرية الصحافة حول العام فقد صنفت عُمان في المرتبة 127 ( ضمن 180 دولة) تضمنها تقرير المنظمة للعام 2015 ، وهو التصنيف الذي يضع هذا البلد العربي الخليجي ضمن البلدان التي لا تتمتع فيها الصحافة بأي هامش للحرية.

منظمة العفو الدولية وجهت، في تقريرها السنوي لأوضاع الحريات حول العالم والذي غطى العام 2014/2015 ، انتقادات لسلطنة عُمان تتعلق بقانون الجنسية العماني الجديد الذي صدر في شهر اغسطس/آب 2014 2015 والذي نُظر إليه بوصفه سلاحا جديدا قد تستخدمه الحكومة لمعاقبة معارضيها السياسيين بسحب الجنسية عنهم، حيث نص القانون على أن “تسقط الجنسية العمانية عن المعتنقين لأفكار (مضرة) والمحكومين في قضايا تمس أمن الدولة، كما شمل اجراء السحب الرافضين لتلبية مطالب الحكومة بالتوقف عن العمل لحساب دول اجنبية او العمل لصالح دول معادية”. وكانت الإمارات والكويت والبحرين قد سبقت عُمان في إصدار قوانين مشابهة.

بعيداً عن تقارير المنظمات الدولية، التي طالما نُظر إليها محلياً باعتبارها أدوات غربية لا تراعي خصوصيات الثقافة العربية الإسلامية ولا معايير العمل المحلي، تنتقد منظمات حقوقية عربية ممارسات السلطات العُمانية ضد ما يوصف بانتهكات حقوق الإنسان المستمرة . المنظمة العربية لمعلومات حقوق الإنسان انتقدت اعتقال سلطات الأمن في عُمان ناشط الانترنت حسن البشام بتهم تتعلق بـ”إهانة السلطان” و”النيل من هيبة الدولة”.

مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان اتهم في تقرير له سلطات الأمن في عُمان باستهداف حركة حقوق الإنسان في هذا البلد وبصورة منظمة، بهدف تفكيك وإنهاء هذه الحركة، عبر سياسة ممنهجة يتم من خلالها التضييق على نشطاء حقوق الإنسان وملاحقتهم واعتقالهم. في هذا السياق أشار تقرير المركز إلى استدعاء سلطات الأمن للمدافع عن حقوق الإنسان، إسماعيل المقبالي، يوم 23 آب/أغسطس 2015 ومن ثم احتجازه بعيدا عن العالم الخارجي. وفي اليوم ذاته تم اعتقال ناشط حقوق الإنسان العماني، هلال العلوي، بحسب تقرير مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان.

اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان

الحكومة العُمانية التي ترفض تقارير المنظمات الدولية والإقلمية المُنتقدة لما يوصف بممارسات مُخلة بالشرعة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، تعمل، من جانبها، على تحسين سجلها في مجال حقوق الإنسان، على المستويين المحلي والخارجي. ففي العام 2008 أصدر السلطان قابوس المرسوم رقم ( 124/ 2008 ) بإنشاء اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان وهي أول هيئة حكومية تُعنى بقضايا حقوق الإنسان في البلاد. تتشكل هذه اللجنة من أربعة عشر عضوا جميعهم يمثلون
هات حكومية باسثناء ثلاثة يمثلون الجمعيات الأهلية، ويتم تعيينهم بموجب مرسوم سلطاني. وبحسب النظام الداخلي وتشكيلة أعضاء اللجنة فإن عملها يتركز أكثر على التعريف بجهود الحكومة في مجال المساواة والعدالة الاجتماعية وحقوق العمال والطفل، وعلى تحسين صورة الحكومة في المحافل الدولية مثل مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة، لكن هذه اللجنة، وبحكم تكوينها، لن تكون قادرة على الدفاع عن معتقلي الرأي والناشطين الحقوقيين، كما أنها غير مؤهلة للوساطة بين نشطاء حقوق الإنسان العمانيين وبين السلطة لأنها تفتقد للحياد والمصداقية، على الاقل من وجهة نظر نشطاء حقوق الإنسان.

وبالعودة إلى الماضي القريب، ضلت سلطنة عُمان بعيدا عن أنظار المنظمات الدولية ومراصد تقاريرها الدورية حتى العام 2005 عندما تناقلت وسائل الإعلام العربية والدولية عملية القبض على جماعة متشددة تضم شخصيات بارزة تستهدف قلب نظام الحكم بالقوة المسلحة وما صاحب تلك العملية من ملاحقات واعتقالات طالت المئات من الاسلاميين، ومحاكمات وُصفت بافتقادها لأبسط معايير المحاكمة العادلة.

غير أن عدم تسليط الضوء على انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في عُمان قبل العام 2005 لا يعني عدم وجود انتهاكات، لكنها كانت تقع على أفراد وبصورة سريعة وعابرة في أغلب الأحيان، فقبل حادثة القبض على الجماعة المتشددة، وفي العام 2004 أصدرت وزارة الإعلام تعليمات بمنع الشاعرين العمانيين محمد الحارثي وعبدالله الريامي من الظهور أو الكتابة في مؤسسات الصحافة والإعلام المحلية وذلك بسبب مشاركتهما في برنامج حواري تلفزيوني بثته قناة العالم الإيرانية الناطقة باللغة العربية وانتقدا فيه السلطة. وبعد العام 2005 توالت التقارير الفاضحة لقيام سلطات الأمن في عُمان باعتقال وسجن العديد من الناشطين والكتاب على خلفية انتقاداتهم ما وصف بالفساد وسوء استخدام السلطة، وكان أبرز عمليات الاعتقال تلك التي طالت أول أمرأة تنتخب لعضوية مجلس الشورى ( البرلمان)، السيدة طيبة المعولي، والتي صدر في حقها حكم بالسجن عاما ونصف العام، الحكم الذي دفع منظمات وناشطين حول العالم إلى إطلاق حملة دولية للإفراج عنها .

غير أن وتيرة التضييق والملاحقات ضد نشطاء حقوق الإنسان بقيت حذرة ولا يُلجأ إليها إلا في حالات قصوى، حتى انفجار الاحتجاجات الشعبية الواسعة في فبراير/شباط 2011، ضمن موجة ما عُرف بثورات الربيع العربي، مع هذه الأحداث وما صاحبها ولحقها من علاقة متوترة بين الشارع والسلطة، صّعدت السلطات الأمنية من وتيرة التضييق والاعتقال ولأسباب مختلفة، مثل الإخلال بالأمن العام، والإضرار بالممتلكات العامة واهانة شخص السلطان، وقد وثّق المرصد العماني لحقوق الإنسان الكثير من هذه الممارسات.

وتيرة التضييق والاعتقالات المتصاعدة منذ العام 2011 قلّصت الفارق بين عُمان وغيرها من الدول العربية، ما جعل سجل عُمان الحقوقي لا يختلف كثيرا عن سجل الدول الأخرى المعروفة بقمعها المباشر للأصوات الناقدة والمختلفة.

لكن ثمت أصوات في عُمان، داخل السلطة وخارجها، ترى أن سجل حقوق الإنسان والحريات في هذا البلد الخليجي ما يزال “نظيفا” مقارنة بسجل دول عربية أخرى، حيث لا يوجد في عُمان، سجناء سياسيون ولا سجناء رأي يقبعون عشرات السنين خلف قضبان السجون. وتدلل هذه الأصوات على موقفها الإيجابي هذا بوجود من أعتُبروا وجوه الحراك الشعبي في 2011 خارج السجن الآن بل وأُعيد معظمهم إلى وظائفهم التي كانوا يشغلونها قبل الأحداث. في السياق ذاته، تعمل اللجنة الوطنية العُمانية لحقوق الإنسان على نشر ثقافة حقوق الإنسان عبر تنظيم سلسلة من الدورات والبرامج التدريبية المتخصصة في المسألة الحقوقية وعبر استيفاد خبراء ومتخصصين من خارج البلاد، بهدف ” توعية المجتمع بحقوقه التي تضمن له الحياة الكريمة، وكذلك توعيته بالحقوق الخاصة المقررة لبعض فئات المجتمع” وفق ما صرح به أمين عام اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان “عبيد الشقصي” لصحيفة عُمان .

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Oman / Human Rights in Oman / Human Rights Record in Oman: Further Restrictions, Persecution After Arab Spring

Human Rights Record in Oman: Further Restrictions, Persecution After Arab Spring

human rights oman
After the uprising in 2011, Omani authorities have been increasing restrictions on human rights. Photo Flickr ©Flickr

Freedoms and human rights in the Sultanate of Oman differ little from those elsewhere in the Arab world. Arab countries all have restrictions on freedoms and human rights, as well the persecution of human-rights activists and politicians.

International reports documenting and monitoring freedoms and human rights give Arab countries the lowest ranks among countries in their respect for human rights and freedoms. According to the report of the U.S. Freedom House foundation on the development of freedoms around the globe for the year 2015, Arab countries maintained their usual rank as non-free countries, except for Tunisia, which was promoted to the rank of free country, according to the report.

According to the same report, the situation in Oman has not improved over the past ten years, as authorities continued to persecute and arrest human-rights activists and impose restrictions on freedom of expression.

Reporters Without Borders, which advocates press freedom around the globe, rated Oman as the 127th of 180 countries in its 2015 annual report, placing this Gulf country among Arab countries where the press has little or no freedom.

Amnesty International, in its annual report on freedom around the globe for the year 2014-2015, criticized Oman for the new citizenship law issued in August 2014, which is seen as a new weapon used by the government to punish its political opponents by depriving them of Omani citizenship. The new law stipulates that “Omani citizenship shall be withdrawn from any citizen adopting harmful ideas and those convicted of state security charges. The withdrawal of citizenship shall also affect any individual who refuses to abide by the government’s order to stop collaborating with foreign or hostile countries.” The UAE, Kuwait, and Bahrain had earlier enacted similar laws.

In addition to reports issued by international organizations, which have always been perceived as Western tools that take no account of the special characteristics of Arab-Islamic culture or local labor standards, regional human-rights organizations are turning critical of the Omani authorities’ practices against opponents and are opposing what they describe as continued human-rights violations. The Arab Organization for Human Rights, for example, has criticized the arrest by Omani security authorities of online user Hasan al-Basham on charges of “libelling the sultan” and “undermining the prestige of the state.”

A report by the Gulf Center for Human Rights accused Omani security authorities of systematically targeting human-rights activism in the country in order to dismantle and quell it through a systematic policy of restrictions on human rights, as well as by persecuting and arresting activists. In this context, the centre’s report noted that security authorities summoned human-rights advocate Ismail Muqbali on 23 August 2015 and held him in isolation. Omani human-rights activist Hilal al-Alawi was arrested on the same day, according to the same report.

The National Committee for Human Rights

The Omani government rejects reports issued by regional and international organizations critical of reported violations of international laws on human rights. On the other hand, the government seeks to improve its human-rights record, both locally and externally. In 2008, Sultan Qaboos issued Decree 124/2008, establishing the National Committee for Human Rights, the first governmental body dealing with human-rights issues in the country. The committee consists of 14 members, 11 of whom represent government agencies and the other three represent NGOs; the committee members are appointed by a decree of the sultan. Judging from the committee’s by-laws and composition, its work is focused on defining the government’s efforts in equality, social justice, workers’ rights, and children’s rights. The committee is also concerned with improving the government’s image in international circles, such as the UN Human Rights Council. The committee’s composition does not, however, qualify it for advocating for all prisoners of opinion and human-rights activists or even for mediating between Omani human-rights activists and the authorities, because the committee lacks impartiality and credibility, at least in the view of human-rights activists.

Oman had been out of the view of international organizations and their periodic reports until 2005, when Arab and international media outlets circulated news of the arrest of a hardline group of prominent Omani figures who plotted to overthrow the government by force. The media also reported persecution and arrests that targeted hundreds of Islamists, as well as trials that lacked the minimum standards of fairness.

However, the fact that no light was shed on human-rights violations in Oman before the year 2005 does not mean that there were no violations. Rather, violations were committed secretly against individuals. Before the arrest of the hardline group, the Ministry of Information in 2004 issued orders prohibiting Omani poets Mohammad al-Harithi and Abdallah al-Riyami from writing for or making appearances in local press and media outlets because they took part in a talk show aired by the Iranian Arabic-language al-Alam Television, in which the two criticized the authorities. After 2005, several shocking reports were published concerning the Omani security authorities’ arrest of many activists and writers for their criticism of what was described as corruption and abuse of power. One of the most infamous arrests was that of Tibah al-Maʾuli, the first woman elected to the Shura Council (parliament); she was sentenced to one and a half years, prompting organizations and activists around the world to launch an international campaign for her release.

However, the authorities remained cautious about restrictions on and persecution of human-rights activists and used such measures only in emergency cases until massive popular protests broke out in February 2011 as part of the so-called Arab Spring. Omani authorities intensified their security measures and arrests in light of the escalating events and the tense relationship between the people and the government, as well as for reasons relating to public disorder, sabotage of public property, and libelling the sultan. The Omani Observatory for Human Rights has documented many of these practices.

These security measures and arrests, beginning in 2011, have made Oman’s human-rights record little different from those of other countries known for their suppression of critical and opposing views.

However, some voices in Oman, both within and outside the government, believe that the record of human rights and freedoms in Oman remains “clean” compared to those of other Arab countries, because there have been no political prisoners and prisoners of opinion held in prisons for decades. Such positive views were substantiated by the release from Omani prisons in 2011 of leaders of the popular protest movement and by the reinstatement of most of them in the jobs they had held before the outbreak of the protests. The Omani National Committee for Human Rights organizes a series of courses and training programmes specializing in human-rights issues and attracts experts and specialists from outside the country in order to raise the awareness of society regarding the rights that guarantee a decent life for citizens, as well as special rights for some segments of society, according to statements by Ubayd al-Shaqsi, secretary general of the National Committee for Human Rights, speaking to Oman Daily.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr | ©Flickr

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.