فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / حقوق الإنسان في عُمان / عُمان: تواصل حملة القمع ضد النشطاء والإصلاحيين

عُمان: تواصل حملة القمع ضد النشطاء والإصلاحيين

شن نظام السلطان قابوس بن سعيد حملة قمعٍ متزايدة ضد المعارضة منذ الاحتجاحات التي اندلعت في السلطنة في يناير 2011. وعلى عكس الانتفاضات الأخرى التي اندلعت في المنطقة، كان معظم المتظاهرين يطالبون بمزيدٍ من الحريات السياسية وتحسين الاقتصاد، بدلاً من الإطاحة بالحاكم.

ولا يزال أولئك الذين يُطالبون بالمزيد من الحريات يواجهون القمع، ففي يناير 2017، كان المدافع البارز عن حقوق الإنسان، سعيد جداد، متجهاً إلى العاصمة القطرية، الدوحة، عندما تم إيقافه في المطار وإبلاغه بمنعه من السفر حتى عام 2099.

لطالما وثقّ جداد انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في عُمان وسبق أن كتب أعمدةً ينتقد فيها النظام، كما نظم احتجاجاتٍ وحث الحكومة على توسيع مجلسها الاستشاري في عام 2011، مما وضعه تحت أعين النظام.

وفي نفس اليوم الذي مُنع فيه من السفر، مدد وزير الإعلام العُماني إغلاق صحيفة الزمن لمدة ثلاثة أشهرٍ أخرى، وذلك بالرغم من قرارٍ سابق للمحكمة بالسماح للصحيفة بالنشر مجدداً.

فقد كان المرسوم الأول من نوعه في سلسلةٍ من الهجمات على حرية الصحافة في ذلك العام. وفي الثالث من مايو 2017، أفاد مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان بأن جهاز الأمن الداخلي في عُمان قد حجب موقع مجلة مواطن، ليتم بعدها منع عائلة رئيس التحرير ومؤسس المنشور، محمد الفزاري، الذي يقيم اليوم في المملكة المتحدة، من مغادرة البلاد في فبراير التالي.

وفي الشهر التالي، تم منع عرض كتابين نقديين في معرضٍ للكتاب في العاصمة مسقط. الأول هو عبارة عن مجموعة من المقالات التي تم نشرها في مجلة مواطن والكتاب الآخر مختارات شعرية للشاعر العماني أحمد العريمي بعنوان “لك لا ولاء.”

كم هو مظلم هذا العالم
فاغرسي في كلِّ شبرٍ قصيدةً
وفي كل ظلٍّ نَفَساً.
حتى يتحررَ الحُلُمُ
وينبتَ وردٌ في سياج المعتقلات

وأضاف المركز العُماني لحقوق الإنسان أن العديد من الفنانيين لم يجرؤوا حتى على عرض أعمالهم، خوفاً من أن تُثير قصصهم الجدل. فقد قال المركز في بيانٍ له “يُدين المركز العماني لحقوق الإنسان هذه الهجمة الشرسة والغير مسبوقة على الإصدارات العمانية، كماً ونوعاً، ويطالب السلطات الأمنية العمانية إلى رفع يدها عن العمل الثقافي والأدبي، وووقف دور الرقابة على الإصدارات.”

Oman- Protests oman
متظاهر عُماني مقنّع يحمل علم بلده خلال مظاهرةٍ تدعو إلى توفير الوظائف والإصلاح في صحار، على بعد أكثر من 200 كلم شمال غرب مسقط، في 28 فبراير 2011. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

وعلى الرغم من المطالبات بإحقاق العدالة، واصلت السلطات إظهار القليل من الاهتمام بحقوق الإنسان. ففي أبريل 2018، توفي الناشط والدبلوماسي السابق حسن البشام في السجن بعد حرمانه من الرعاية الطبية، حيث حُكم على الرجل البالغ من العمر 52 عاماً بالسجن بعد رفض الاستئناف في نوفمبر 2017. اعتقل البشام لأول مرة في عام 2015 وأدين بعد عامٍ واحد بالتحريض على الكراهية عبر الإنترنت وإهانة السلطان.

وفي مايو التالي، حُكم على الكاتب منصور بن ناصر المحرزي بالسجن لثلاث سنوات بسبب كتابٍ نشره عام 2016 بعنوان “عُمان في مربع الفساد والسياسة والتنمية والتخلف؛ الكشف عن الوقائع ونقد المسلمات،” حيث حُكم على المحرزي رغم أنه رفع الكتاب من السوق. وقد أُطلق سراحه بكفالة في اليوم نفسه إلا أنه يعيش في خوفٍ من انتقاد السلطات مرة أخرى.

وبعد مرور ستة أشهر، تلقت الجمعية العُمانية لحقوق الإنسان ومركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان تقارير تفيد بأن سلطان المكتومي كان أحد الناشطيّن اللذين تم توقيفهما قبل زيارة رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو إلى عُمان في 27 أكتوبر 2018. وقد استدعي المكتومي من قبل شرطة المهام الخاصة بمقر ولاية صحار، حيث تم اعتقاله واحتجازه لعدة أيام.

تعتقد كلتا الجماعتين المعنيتين بحقوق الإنسان أنه تم إسكات المكتومي لمنعه من إدانة التطبيع العلني بين إسرائيل وعُمان، وهو الأمر الذي يرفضه معظم المواطنين في العالم العربي ما لم يكن هناك حلٌ عادل للقضية الفلسطينية.

بيد أن حملة القمع على المعارضة لم تمنع بعض النشطاء العمانيين المؤيدين للفلسطينيين من التحدث إلى الصحافة الدولية، بل إن البعض منهم قد أخبر ميدل إيست آي أن السلطان قابوس ربما يكون قد خرق القانون العُماني باستضافة نتنياهو. فقد وضع السلطان بنفسه قانون مقاطعة إسرائيل في عام 1972، والذي يحظر إجراء أي صفقاتٍ تجارية أو مالية مع اسرائيل.

وبحسب ما ذكره أحد النشطاء لصحيفة ميدل إيست آي، “منذ عام 1977، توقفت السجلات الرسمية عن ذكر قانون مقاطعة إسرائيل.” وأضاف “حصل هذا عندما التزمت البلاد بسياسةٍ خارجية محايدة.”

بينما قال ناشطٌ آخر، رفض ذكر اسمه، “لا يوجد مسارٌ واضح حول كيفية تنفيذ القانون. لكن حتى مناقشة هذا الموضوع أمرٌ محفوفٌ بالمخاطر لأنه لا يوجد خطاب سياسي.”

تكشف قضية المكتومي، الذي تم في نهاية المطاف إطلاق سراحه في 8 نوفمبر، أي قبل يومٍ واحد من استدعاء جهاز الأمن الداخلي للناشط على الإنترنت، عدي العميري، للاستجواب، مدى خطورة أن تنتقد السلطان. وقد سُئل العميري عن منشوراته على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، التي شجب من خلالها قرار السلطان بدعوة نتنياهو إلى سلطنة عُمان.

ومع عدم وجود أخبار عن مصير العميري منذ ذلك الحين، تخشى جماعات حقوق الإنسان من أنه يقبع في السجن حيث ينتشر التعذيب وسوء المعاملة.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يصف تقريرٌ لميلاني جنجل، عضو المجلس الاستشاري لمركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، بالتفصيل كيف يتعرض المدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان للضرب بشكلٍ روتيني، ويوضعون في زنازين انفرادية، ويُجبرون على تحمل درجات الحرارة العالية والإذلال. وقالت جنجل إن الناشطين كانوا خائفين من التحدث إلى المنظمات المراقبة بسبب الخوف من تعرضهم للانتقام ولكنهم فعلوا ذلك بشجاعة على أي حال.

وقالت جنجل في التقرير “إن التعذيب شائع في مراكز الاحتجاز.” وأضافت “ويتم تطبيقه على الذين تم احتجازهم بسبب مشاركتهم في حملة الإصلاح الاجتماعي منذ عام 2011.”

كما تتضمن الأساليب الأخرى المستخدمة لمعاقبة الناشطين نشر الشائعات لتشويه سمعتهم، مما يجعل قبولهم في المجتمع وإمكانية عملهم بعد إطلاق سراحهم من السجن أمراً مستحيلاً. وعلاوةً على ذلك، يتم الضغط على أسرهم لإقناع الشخص بالتوقف عن انتقاد الدولة. وفي حالاتٍ أخرى، يتم ببساطة إخبار الناشطين أن عليهم مغادرة عُمان وعدم العودة مطلقاً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Oman / Human Rights in Oman / Oman Continues Crackdown on Activists and Reformers

Oman Continues Crackdown on Activists and Reformers

The regime of Sultan Qaboos bin Said has increasingly cracked down on dissent since protests erupted in Oman in January 2011. Unlike other uprisings in the region, most protestors were demanding more political freedoms and an improved economy, rather than the overthrow of the ruler.

Those still pushing for more freedoms are being met with repression. In January 2017, the prominent human rights defender Saeed Jadad was heading to Doha, Qatar, when he was stopped at the airport and informed that he was banned from travelling until 2099.

Jadad has long documented human rights violations in Oman and previously wrote columns critical of the regime. He also organized protests and urged the government to expand its consultative assembly in 2011, putting him on the regime’s radar.

On the same day he was prohibited from travelling, the minister for information also extended the closure of Azamn newspaper for three more months, overruling a previous court decision that permitted the paper to begin publishing again.

The decree was the first in a series of attacks on press freedom that year. On 3 May 2017, the Gulf Center for Human Rights (GCHR) reported that Oman’s Internal Security Services (ISS) had blocked the website of Mowaten magazine. The family of the editor-in-chief and founder of the publication, Mohammad al-Fazari, who now resides in the UK, was then prohibited from leaving the country the following February.

The next month, two critical books were banned from appearing at a book fair in the capital Muscat. The first was a compilation of articles published by Mowaten and the other an anthology by the Omani poet Ahmed al-Raimi titled To You No Loyalty.

The Omani Centre for Human Rights (OCHR) added that many artists did not even showcase their work, fearing that their stories could stir controversy.

Oman- Protests oman
A masked Omani protester holds his national flag during a demonstration calling for jobs and reform in Sohar, more than 200 km (125 miles) northwest of Muscat, on February 28, 2011. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

‘OCHR-Oman deplores this unexplained and unacceptable attack against writers and authors in Oman and demands the security authority take its hands off the literary activities and protect writers’ rights,’ the group said in a statement.

Despite pleas for justice, authorities continued to show little regard for human rights. In April 2018, activist and former diplomat Hassan al-Basham died in prison after he was denied medical care. The 52-year-old was jailed in November 2017 after his appeal was rejected. He was first arrested in 2015 and then convicted a year later for inciting hatred over the internet and insulting the sultan.

The following May, the writer Mansour bin Nasser al-Mahrazi was sentenced to three years in prison for a book he published in 2016 titled Oman in the Square of Corruption. Mahrazi was sentenced even though he removed the book from the market. He was granted bail the same day but lives in fear of ever criticizing the authorities again.

Six months later, the Omani Human Rights Association and the GCHR received reports that Sultan al-Maktoumi was one of two activists detained leading up to Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s visit to Oman on 27 October 2018. Al-Maktoumi was reportedly summoned by the Special Division of Sohar Police Headquarters, where he was then apprehended and held for several days.

Both rights groups believe that al-Maktoumi was silenced to stop him from publicly condemning normalization between Israel and Oman, which most citizens in the Arab world reject unless there is a just solution to the Palestinian question.

However, the crackdown on dissent has not stopped some pro-Palestinian Omani activists from speaking to the international press. A few even told Middle East Eye (MEE) that Sultan Qaboos may have broken Omani law by hosting Netanyahu. The Law of Boycotting Israel was created in 1972 by the sultan himself and prohibits any commercial or financial deals with the country.

“Since 1977, official records stopped mentioning the Law of Boycotting Israel,” one activist told MEE. “This happened when the country took a neutral policy in foreign affairs.”

“There is no clear path of how to implement the law. But even discussing this topic is risky because there is no political speech,” added another activist, declining to be identified.

The case of al-Maktoumi, who was eventually released on 8 November 2018, a day before the ISS summoned online activist Uday al-Omeiri for questioning, reveals just how risky it is to criticize the sultan. Al-Omeiri was reportedly asked about his social media posts, which denounced the sultan’s decision to invite Netanyahu to Oman.

With no news of al-Omeiri’s fate since, rights groups fear that he is languishing in prison where torture and ill treatment are rife.

A report by Melanie Gingell, a GCHR board member, describes in depth how human rights defenders are routinely beaten, placed in solitary confinement and forced to endure extreme temperatures and humiliation. Gingell said that activists were scared to speak to monitoring groups due to the risk of reprisal but bravely did so anyway.

‘Torture is commonplace in places of detention,” Gingell wrote in the report. ‘It is applied as a matter of course to those held as a result of being involved in campaigning for social reform since 2011.’

Other tactics used to punish activists include spreading rumours to tarnish their reputation, which prevents them from finding a decent job once they are released from prison. Families are also pressured to persuade relatives to stop criticizing the state. In other cases, activists are simply told that they must leave Oman and never return.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB | ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.