فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / السكان في عُمان / القبيلة في عُمان: عين على الماضي وأخرى على المستقبل

القبيلة في عُمان: عين على الماضي وأخرى على المستقبل

عُمان السكان القبيلة أغان تقليدية
رجال قبائل يغنون أغانٍ عُمانية تقليدية. Photo Ron Dev/Flickr

منذ تولي السلطان قابوس بن سعيد مقاليد السُلطة بعد الإطاحة بوالده عام 1970، ومنذ قيام ما يُمكن وصفه بدولة القانون والمؤسسات، تمكنت هذه الدولة من الحد من حضور القبيلة في الحياة السياسية لكنها لم تنه هذا الحضور، بل أبقته على الرف لاستخدامه عند الضرورة، ذلك أن صُنّاع السياسة العمانيين، الذين خرجوا، هم أنفسهم، من عباءة القبيلة وثقافتها ومفاهيمها، لم يرغبوا في إنهاء القبيلة كمؤسسة اجتماعية وكشبكة علاقات وقيم ومفاهيم ثقافية… مهما ادعوا الانتماء إلى الحداثة والمعاصرة.

فهل تتعايش القبيلة مع الدولة المدنية الحديثة في عُمان أم تتعارض؟ الإجابة النظرية العامة عن سؤال كهذا هي النفي. إذ أن الدولة المدنية الحديثة تنفي القبيلة وتُنهيها وتُذّوب جميع الانتماءات والنزعات والمرجعيات في مرجعية واحدة، هي مرجعية الدولة أو مرجعية المواطنة.

لكن الأمر ليس بهذه البساطة، خصوصاً عندما لا تنهض الدولة الحديثة على رافعة المواطنة وشروطها السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية، وفي مقدمتها حكم الدستور والمشاركة السياسية وفصل السلطات. في هذه الحالة، حالة غياب دولة المواطنة، كما في عُمان وفي العديد من الدول العربية أيضاً، تبقى القبيلة خط اللجوء الأكيد لانتماءات ونزعات وهويات ما قبل الدولة، لكنها أيضاً تُشكل تهديداً للمكتسبات المتواضعة للدولة الوطنية الحديثة، لكيانها ولوحدتها. ولعل حالة العراق وسوريا واليمن خير مثال.

غير أن سؤال العلاقة بين الدولة والقبيلة في المنطقة العريبة يثير سؤالاً عن “مدنية وحداثوية الدولة العربية وأصالة هذه المدنية وتلك الحداثة”؟ وعن قدرة هذه الدولة، في صيغتها الوطنية الراهنة، على لعب دور الحاضن لجميع مواطنيها؟

سلطنة عمان إذاً ليست اسثناءً، بل لعلها واحدة من التجارب البارزة على الالتحام بين القبيلة والدولة، فعلى الرغم أن للدولة مؤسسات وأذرع مهيمنة على مختلف شرائح المجتمع، إلا أن للقبيلة دور وحضور، وإن بديا باهتين ومحدودين في العشرين عاماً الماضية، ذلك أن القبيلة في هذا البلد العربي أسهمت وتسهم في تشكيل الطيف العام للدولة ورسم ملامح وخارطة تحالفاتها، غير أن هذا الإسهام ليس بالضرورة، ولا في كل الأحوال، إيجابياً، بل كان ولا يزال له الكثير من السلبيات.

القبيلة وولادة الدولة

تاريخياً، ولدت عُمان التي نعرفها اليوم من رحم قبيلة الأزد التي نزحت من اليمن بقيادة زعيمها مالك بن فهم، بسبب سيل العرم وانهيار سد مأرب عام 532. وبحسب الروايات العديدة، كان يسكن عمان في تلك الفترة أقوام متعددة، منهم العرب والفينيقيين والكلدانيين والسبئيين والفرس. لكن الفرس كانوا يهيمنون ويحكمون أجزاء من البلاد، خصوصاً المدن المطلة على الخليج.

ويحكي التاريخ أن الزعيم الأزدي مالك بن فهم تشاور مع العرب العمانيين الذين كانوا يقطنون ما كان يعرف بالجوف، اي المناطق الداخلية التي تُحصّنها الجبال، والتي تُعرف اليوم بمناطق “نزوى” و “بهلا”، تشاور معهم على محاربة الفرس وتحرير المناطق التي يحتلونها وإقامة دولة عربية خالصة، وقد وقعت الحرب بين الجانبين فيما عُرف بمعركة ” سلوت” أنتصرت فيها قبيلة الأزد بقيادة مالك بن فهم وهُزم الفرس بقيادة ملكهم على عُمان ويُدعى ” المرزبان.” وبعد أن استتب الأمر لمالك بن فهم وجماعته نزحت قبائل عربية أخرى إلى عُمان واستوطنت بها، لكن العمانيين يعتبرون قبيلة الأزد هي أم القبائل التي تفرع عنها، قبائل وعشائر وافخاذ عديدة، وهذه بدروها أقامت مناطق نفوذ لها، أشبه بدول داخل الدولة وكان لها قادتها وحكامها وشبكة تحالفاتها السياسية والاقتصادية.

وعندما ظهر الاسلام، كانت قبيلة “طي،” من قاد عُمان إلى الإسلام ومن مهد لانتشاره سلماً ودون حرب في الإقليم العماني برمته. لقد لعبت القبيلة دوراً سياسياً بالغ الأهمية في نشأة الدولة العمانية قديماً، ولعبت دوراً سياسياً لايقل أهمية عن دورها التأسيسي في اتخاذ قرار دخول الإسلام دون قتال، على خلاف كثير من الشعوب والأمم التي قاومت رسالة الإسلام ولم ترضخ لها إلا بقوة السيف.

القبيلة ودورها السياسي في العصر الحديث

الناظر إلى التاريخ السياسي لعمان خلال الألف وخمسائة سنة الماضية سيجد أن القبيلة هي الحاض للدولة وليس العكس، كما سيلاحظ، دون عناء، أن الدولة العمانية، في أطوارها وتجلياتها المختلفة، ارتبطت بقبيلة الحكم. وعبرهذا التاريخ، حُكمت عمان بواسطة عدد من القبائل أهمها: اليحمد، وبني خروص، والنبهانة، واليعاربة، والخليلي، والبوسعيد. وهذه الأخيرة تحكم عُمان منذ عام 1744 وحتى الآن.

إذا يُمكن القول أن الدولة في عمان التي ولدت في أحضان القبيلة، لا تزال في أحضانها، لكن العلاقة بين الطرفين شهدت الكثير من التبدلات، خصوصاً خلال المئتي عاماً الماضية ونيّف، وتحديداً مع دخول لاعبين آخرين على خط العلاقة بين القبيلة والدولة، أهمها القوى الدولية.

القراءة الفاحصة لمسار الدولة في عُمان وتطورها ضمن فضاء القبيلة وأحلافها المختلفة تكشف أن ميزان إيجابيات العلاقة بين الدولة والقبيلة يكاد يكون مساوياً لميزان سلبياته، وذلك لعدة أسباب. فإذا كان وجود القبيلة حاضنة للدولة ساعد الدولة – من خلال قبيلة الحكم الحاضنة – على التحالف مع القبائل الأخرى وعلى تحقيق قدر من الوحدة الوطنية، فإن هذا الوجود جعل من الدولة العمانية، على مدار تاريخها، دولة نخب قبلية لا دولة مواطنين، فحين يقتسم زعماء القبائل مؤسسات الدولة بينهم يتحول المواطنون إلى رعايا وتابعين. حين يتحقق قدر عالٍ من التفاهم بين زعماء القبائل والعشائر يتحقق الاستقرار وينتعش الاقتصاد ويستتب الأمن، وحين يدب الخلاف والشقاق بينهم تصبح الدولة والمجتمع عرضة للصراع والحروب والشقاق. وفي التاريخ العماني شواهد ومحطات كثيرة على هذا الكلام. إنما يمكن التوقف عند ثلاث محطات كبرى في تاريخ العلاقة بين القبيلة والدولة في عُمان، وذلك لتبيان ملامح العلاقة الطردية بين الطرفين؛ الصعود والهبوط، القوة والضعف، الإيجابي والسلبي.

أولى المحطات قبيلة النباهنة ( 1183-1617)

في بداية حكمها تمكنت هذه القبيلة من بناء نظام سياسي وتحصينات دفاعية ومن حماية البلاد من سلسلة من الغزوات الفارسية التي قادها ملوك هرمز للاستيلاء على عُمان، أهمها غزوة أمير هرمز محمود بن أحمد الكوشي عام 1261. لكن صراع السلطة بين زعماء القبيلة الذين هم، في الوقت ذاته، زعماء الدولة، أضعف من قوة الدولة وقدرتها على صد هجمات الفرس المتتالية، ففي العام 1461 قاد ملك هرمز فخر الدين توران شاه حملة عسكرية تمكن فيها من احتلال عمان ونفي حاكمها سليمان بن مظفر بن سليمان النبهاني إلى منطقة الإحساء. وتشير المصادر التاريخية إلى أن واحدة من ابرز سلبيات هيمنة القبيلة على النظام السياسي بكامله هو انغلاق فضاء السلطة على أبناء القبيلة دون سواهم، فعدا عن إشراك بعض فقهاء الدين بالرأي والمشورة، يبقى الشعب مستبعداً من أي مشاركة، كما أن صراع الأخوة والأبناء داخل قبيلة الحكم على الاستئثار بالسلطة أسهم في إضعاف عمان إبان حكم النبهانة.

وتشير كثير من كتب التارخ العماني إلى أن عمان دخلت في حروب أهلية بسبب الصراع بين أبناء السلطان مظفر بن سليمان النبهاني على الحكم، كما أن الفساد الذي صاحب مركز القرار السياسي لدى قبيلة النبهانة وانشغال الحكام بجمع المال ونهب الثروات، ساهما في عزلة قبيلة الحكم عن بقية القبائل، وبالتالي أضعف من قدرتها على حماية الوطن من الأطماع الأجنبية، فعاد التدخل الأجنبي في القرنين الخامس عشر والسادس عشر أقوى مما كان، لا سيما الغزو الفارسي وغزو العثمانيين، ثم الغزو البرتغالي.

إن أبرز سلبيات قبيلة النبهانة في حكم عمان هو عدم اهتمامها بإقامة نظام سياسي ومؤسسات حكم كالذي سنراه لدى القبيلتين اللتين جاءتا بعدهما. لقد اكتفت القبيلة بجاه الحكم دون مجد السياسة والتاريخ، غير أن الفترة الطويلة لحكم هذه القبيلة لم تكن مستقرة، بل تخللتها انقطاعات، إذ هيمن الغزاة الأجانب في فترات منها على البلاد كما انفردت قبائل أخرى بحكم مناطق مختلفة من عُمان.

المحطة الثانية هي حكم قبيلة اليعاربة (1624-1749).

دشنت قبيلة اليعاربة عهدها بتوحيد القبائل العمانية تحت راية حاكم جديد شاب هو ناصر بن مرشد اليعربي ومن أجل طرد الغزاة البرتغاليين من عمان، ولقد لعب رجال الدين الإباضية الذين كانوا على خصومة مع قبيلة النباهنة، لعبوا دوراً بارزاً في توحيد القبائل وإعلان ناصر بن مرشد اليعربي حاكماً. وعلى خلاف من سبقه من زعماء قبيلة بني نبهان، بادر الزعيم اليعربي الجديد إلى إرساء نظام حكم يقوم على الشراكة مع القبائل الأخرى، كما إلى إقامة مؤسسة قضاء قادرة على إحلال العدل، وبناء جيش وطني قادر على محاربة المستعمر البرتغالي، وبنهاية العام 1652 تمكنت قبيلة اليعاربة من تحرير عُمان من الاحتلال البرتغالي لتبدأ بعدها في بناء أسطول بحري سيكون الفاتحة لقيام الإمبراطورية العمانية التي ستشمل مناطق في فارس وتتمدد إلى شرق أفريقيا وتؤسس لحكم عماني في زنجبار سيستمر حتى العام 1965.

المحطة الثالثة حكم قبيلة البوسعيد

بدأ حكم هذه القبيلة بمبايعة المؤسس أحمد بن سعيد حاكماً لعمان عام 1744م وحكمها مستمر إلى الآن في ظل عهد السطان قابوس بن سعيد. ورثت قبيلة البوسعيد الكثير من منجزات قبيلة اليعاربة، أهمها وجود دولة لها حضورها البارز على المسرح الدولي، ذات نفوذ سياسي وقوة عسكرية بحرية ضاربة، ونظام حكم واضح الملامح، لكنها أيضاً ورثت قدراً من التضعضع والنزاع الداخليين، إذ أطلت الحروب القبلية برأسها مع نهاية حكم قبيلة اليعاربة، كما مع عودة الفرس إلى احتلال أجزاء من عمان، خصوصاً المناطق الساحلية، فكان على زعيم قبيلة البوسعيد العمل على توحيد القبائل من أجل بسيط سيطرته وتمكين حكم قبيلته في كافة ربوع البلاد، وتحرير عُمان من الحكم الفارسي.

ولقد نجح أحمد بن سعيد في لم شمل القبائل المتنازعة وتوحيدها وتحرير البلاد وتدشين مرحلة جديدة لدور سياسي جديد للقبيلة في عُمان. وكان لقبيلة البوسعيد دور مهم في ترسيخ مكانة مدينة “مسقط” عاصمة موحدة للبلاد، بعد أن كان لعمان، على الدوام أكثر من عاصمة. لكن المأثرة السياسية الكبرى لهذه القبيلة كانت في الحفاظ على تماسك الإمبراطورية العمانية بشقيها العربي والأفريقي ونجاح حكام هذه القبيلة، وتحديداً منذ تسلم سعيد بن سلطان الحكم عام 1807، في أن تكون زنجبار العاصمة الأفريقية للسلطنة أسوة بمسقط كعاصمة عربية، وإرساء نظام اقتصادي أزدهرت بواسطتة البلاد. غير أن المكانة السياسية لقبيلة البوسعيد الحاكمة تراجعت كثيراً بعد وفاة سعيد بن سلطان وتنازع أبنيه ثويني وماجد على حكم أبيهما، وهو النزاع الذي مهد لتفكك الإمبراطورية العمانية عندما قرر ماجد بن سعيد بن سلطان الانفراد وحده بحكم زنجبار فيما انفرد أخوه ثويني بحكم مسقط، ثم توالت الإخفاقات والتراجعات خصوصاً مع وقوع عُمان تحت الهيمنة المباشرة لبريطانيا العظمي، حتى قيام قابوس بن سعيد بعزل أبيه سعيد بن تيمور وتسلم حكم عمان عام 1970، ليبدأ طور جديد من أطوار حكم قبيلة البوسعيد لكنه طور تميز بالذكاء في التعامل مع مؤسسة القبيلة بصورة عامة. وأهم ملامح هذا الذكاء هو تحجيم قبيلة الحكم، والحد من نفوذ أفرادها في شؤون الدولة والمجتمع، وأيضاً في تمكنها من بناء طيف واسع من التحالفات مع القبائل العمانية الأخرى، وإضافة إلى مأثرة الوحدة الوطنية التي نجحت قبيلة البوسعيد في تحقيقها والحفاظ عليها، رغم ما شاب هذه الوحدة الوطنية من مراحل ضعف، خصوصاً في النصف الأول من القرن العشرين وما عرف بحرب القبائل عام 1913.

ثم حدثت انعطافة بارزة في علاقة الدولة بالقبيلة عام 1996 عندما صدر، ولأول مرة في تاريخ عُمان، درستور مكتوب، أُسميّ “النظام الأساسي للدولة،” ولينتقل الثقل في ميزان العلاقة لصالح الدولة، وليبدأ تراجع الدور السياسي للقبيلة في هذا البلد. وفي العام 2011 وعقب الاحتجاجات الشعبية ضمن ما يصفه كتاب وناشطون عمانيون بالربيع العماني، قامت الدولة العمانية بخطوة أكبر لتعميق دورها وتهميش دور القبيلة في الحياة السياسية، وذلك بإجراء تعديلات تشريعية مُنح بموجبها مجلس عُمان ( مكون من مجلس الشورى المُنتخب ومجلس الدولة المُعين) بعض الصلاحيات الرقابية، في خطوة للحد من هيمنة قبيلة الحكم والقبائل الأخرى الحليفة لها على الحياتين السياسية والاقتصادية.

غير أن دور القبيلة السياسي الذي هُمش وحُدَّ من حضوره وأثره خلال العشرين عاماً الماضية لصالح مؤسسات الدولة المدنية لا يُستبعد أن يستعيد مكانته مع أي تغيير سياسي محتمل في مؤسسة الحكم في عُمان، وهذا يتوقف، بطبيعة الحال، على السلطان القادم ومقاربته في تدشين مرحلته و تأكيد مكانته، لكنه أيضاً يتوقف على ما يمكن أن يتخذه السلطان الحالي قابوس بن سعيد، في حياته، من إصلاحات تشريعية هيكلية تمهد لقيام سلطنة دستورية لا يكون للقبيلة فيها سوى مكانة ثقافية رمزية وحضور فلكلوري.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Flickr | ©Flickr

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Oman / Population of Oman / The Past and Future of Tribes in Oman

The Past and Future of Tribes in Oman

Oman population tribes traditional song
Tribesmen sing a traditional Omani song. Photo Ron Dev/Flickr

Since Sultan Qaboos bin Sa’id came to power after the overthrow of his father in 1970, and the establishment of what can be described as the rule of law and institutions, the Sultanate of Oman has limited the presence of the tribe in political life, but it has been unable to eliminate it completely. Instead, the state has kept the tribal element on the shelf and used it only when necessary. This is because Omani policymakers, who are themselves tribesmen, did not want to end the role of tribes in social institutions and a network of relationships and cultural values ​, no matter how much these policymakers claimed to be modern.

So, can the tribe coexist with the modern civil state in Oman? The general theoretical answer to this question is no. The modern civil state cancels out the tribe and incorporates tribal affiliations, tendencies and terms of reference into that of the state and citizenship.

However, the practice is less simple, especially when the modern state does not address political, economic and social requirements, most prominent of which are the enforcement of the Constitution, political participation and the separation of powers. In this case, the absence of the state of citizenship, as in the case of Oman and many other Arab countries, the tribe remains the key to affiliations, tendencies and identities that existed well before the establishment of the state. At the same time, the tribe poses a threat to the existence and unity of the modern state and its modest achievements, as evidenced by the situation in Iraq, Syria and Yemen.

However, the relationship between the tribe and the state raises questions as to how genuinely civil and modern Arab states are, and to what extent these states in their current national forms can play the role of the custodian of all citizens. Oman is no exception, and perhaps it demonstrates one of the most prominent examples of unity between the tribe and the state.

Although the state has institutions and bodies dominating the various segments of society, the tribe has a role and a presence, although it has been limited in the past 20 years. Tribes in the Arab world have contributed to the formation of the general features of the state and to shaping the future of its alliances, but this contribution is not necessarily a positive one.

Tribes and the birth of the state

Historically, Oman is rooted in the al-Azad tribe, which fled Yemen along with its leader Malik bin Fahm to escape the al-Aram flood and the collapse of Ma’rib Dam in 532 AD. According to numerous accounts, people of several civilizations lived in Oman at that time, including Arabs, Phoenicians, Chaldeans, Sabaeans and Persians. However, the Persians dominated and governed parts of the country, especially the cities overlooking the Arabian Gulf.

History tells us that Bin Fahm consulted with Arab Omanis who lived in what was known as al-Jawf – a reference to the areas surrounded by mountains, known today as Nizwa and Bahla – on fighting the Persians, liberating areas that the Persians had occupied and establishing a purely Arab state. And so a war, known as the battle of Salott, erupted between the two sides. The al-Azad tribe led by Bin Fahm conquered the Persians led by Marzban, the king of Oman at the time. After Bin Fahm and his allies gained control, other Arab tribes relocated to Oman and settled there. However, the Omanis continue to view the al-Azad as the mother of the tribes from which several other tribes and clans branched out and eventually established their own areas of influence in Oman. These later became like states within a state, with their own rulers and networks of political and economic alliances.

With the emergence of Islam, the Tayy tribe led Oman’s conversion, paving the way for the religion to spread peacefully across the country. The tribe had played an important political role in the establishment of the Omani state, and it had now played another significant role in the peaceful conversion to Islam. This contrasted with the many peoples and nations that resisted the message of Islam and only converted by the sword.

The tribe’s political role in the modern age

A look at Oman’s political history over the past 1,500 years makes it apparent that the tribe is the incubator of the state, not the other way around, and that Oman, throughout its different stages of development, has been strongly connected with the ruling tribe. Over the centuries, Oman has been ruled by a number of tribes, including the Alyahmad, Bani-Kharus, al-Nabhanah, al- Ya’aribah, al-Khalili, and, since 1744, al-Bu Sa’id.

It can be said that the state of Oman, born of the tribe, continues to be cradled by the tribe, but that the relationship between the state and the tribe has experienced many changes, especially during the last 200 years as other players, notably international powers, have influenced that relationship.

A thorough reading of the development of the state of Oman within the structure of the tribe and the various alliances, reveals that the positive aspects of the relationship between the two are almost equal to the negative aspects. There are several reasons for this. If the tribe as the incubator of the state helped the latter – through the ruling tribe – to form alliances with other tribes and achieve a level of national unity, this has made Oman a state of tribal elites, not citizens. Therefore, when tribal leaders share state institutions, citizens become mere nationals and followers. When there is a high level of understanding between the leaders of tribes and clans, stability, economic growth and security can be achieved.

Conversely, when these leaders are in disagreement, state and society become vulnerable to conflict, unrest and wars. The history of Oman can be divided into stages that prove this argument.

First stage: the al-Nabahinah tribe (1183-1617)

Oman population tribes Bahla fort
Built between the 13th and 14th century, the Bahla fort was a symbol of the power of the Bani Nabhan who rendered prosperous the oasis of Bahla. Photo The Friendly Tour/Flickr

At the beginning of its rule, the al-Nabahinah tribe managed to build a political system and defensive fortifications to protect the country from a series of Persian invasions, the most important of which was led by Prince Mahmoud bin Ahmed al-Kouchi of Hormuz in 1261. However, the power struggle between the leaders of the tribe, who were also leaders of the state, weakened the state and its ability to repel successive Persian attacks. In 1461, the Hormuz King Fakhruddin Turan Shah successfully occupied Oman and exiled its ruler Suleiman bin Muzaffar bin Suleiman al-Nabhani to the Ahsa region. According to historical sources, one of the main disadvantages of the tribe’s control of the political system was that power was limited exclusively to tribal members. Apart from the advisory role of some religious scholars, the people of Oman remained excluded from any political participation, and the power struggle of brothers and sons within the al-Nabahinah tribe helped to weaken Oman.

Numerous history books suggest that Oman descended into civil war as a result of conflicts between the sons of Sultan Muzaffar bin Sulaiman al-Nabhani. Besides, corruption among political decision-makers and the preoccupation of the tribal rulers with accumulating wealth contributed to the isolation of the ruling tribe from the remaining tribes, weakening the tribe’s ability to protect the homeland against foreign military ambitions. Foreign interference in the 15th and 16th centuries was stronger than before, especially with the Persian invasion, followed by the Ottomans and then the Portuguese.

One of the main disadvantages of the al-Nabahinah was its lack of interest in establishing a political system and governance institutions similar to those established by the two tribes that succeeded it. The al-Nabahinah had revelled in the glory of power without paying sufficient attention to politics and history. Therefore, although long, the tribe’s rule was not stable, mainly due to a series of foreign invasions and the monopoly of power by other tribes in a number of regions.

Second stage: the al-Ya’aribah tribe (1624-1749)

The al-Ya’aribah tribe laid the foundation of its rule by unifying Oman’s tribes under the banner of the young Nasir bin Murshid al-Ya’rubi. Abadi clerics, who were at odds with the al-Nabahinah tribe, were instrumental in this unification and in declaring al-Ya’rubi Oman’s new ruler. Unlike his predecessors, al-Ya’rubi established a system of governance based on partnership with other tribes, created a robust judicial institution, built a strong national army and, by the end of 1652, had expelled the Portuguese and begun to construct the state’s first fleet, paving the way for the rise of the Omani empire that included areas of Persia and eastern Africa. He later established Omani rule in Zanzibar, which lasted until 1965.

Third stage: the al-Bu Saíd tribe

Oman population tribes sultan qaboos bin said
Sultan Qaboos bin Sa’id. Photo wattanihuwkblue/Flickr

The rule of this tribe began with the swearing of allegiance to founder Ahmad bin Sa’id in 1744 and continues to this day under Sultan Qaboos bin Sa’id. The al-Bu Sa’id tribe had inherited many achievements from the al-Ya’aribah tribe, the most prominent of which was a state with a strong presence in the international arena, political influence, a powerful naval force and a clearly defined ruling system. At the same time, the tribe had also inherited internal disintegration and conflicts as a result of wars that had broken out at the end of the al-Ya’aribah era and the return of the Persians to parts of Oman, particularly along the coast. Al-Bu Sa’id thus had to work hard to unite the tribes, maintain control, strengthen the reach and dominion of his own tribe, and liberate Oman from the Persians.

Bin Sa’id succeeded in reuniting the tribes and liberating the country, heralding the start of a new era of tribal influence. The tribe played a key role in consolidating the status of Muscat as the national capital following centuries of multiple capitals. However, the tribe’s main political achievement was its ability to preserve the cohesion of the Omani empire in both its Arab and African parts. This was particularly the case when Sa’id bin Sultan came to power in 1807. He made Zanzibar the African capital of the sultanate while keeping Muscat as the Arab capital, at the same time establishing an economic system that led to prosperity. However, the political status of the al-Bu Sa’id tribe declined significantly after Bin Sultan’s death in 1856. And the dispute between his two sons Thuwaini and Majid over who would succeed him paved the way for the disintegration of the Omani empire when Majid decided unilaterally to rule Zanzibar while his brother Thuwaini ruled Oman. This rift was exacerbated when Oman came under the direct control of Great Britain and was only healed when Qaboos bin Sa’id seized power from his father Sa’id bin Taymur in 1970. This marked a new era for the al-Bu Sa’id tribe and an intelligent handling of the institution of the tribe as a whole by limiting the role of the ruling tribe and reducing the influence of its members in running the affairs of state and community. Moreover, the al-Bu Sa’id tribe managed to achieve and maintain national unity despite periods of unrest, especially in the first half of the 20th century and during the tribal uprising of 1913.

In 1996, for the first time in Oman’s history, a written constitution, ‘the Statute of the State’, was drafted, marking a significant decline in the political role of the tribe. In 2011, following the popular protests that local writers and activists described as the Omani version of the Arab Spring, the state made further legislative amendments granting the Council of Oman (consisting of the elected Shura Council and the appointed State Council) monitoring powers, a move that aimed to curb the dominance of the ruling tribe and other tribes allied to it on the political and economic fronts.

However, despite marginalizing and limiting the political role of the tribe in Oman over the past 20 years in favour of state institutions, the tribe may still restore its position following any changes in the country’s leadership. This, of course, depends on the next sultan and how he decides to consolidate his power. It also depends on any structural legislative reforms that the current sultan may make to pave the way for the establishment of a constitutional sultanate where the tribe has only cultural and symbolic significance and a folkloric presence.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.