فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في سلطنة عُمان

نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في سلطنة عُمان

وسائل الإعلام في عُمان الصحيفة
عُمانيون يقرأون الصحف في إحدى الحافلات. Photo Katie Yaeger Rotramel

المحتويات

حرية التعبير
التلفزيون
الإذاعة
الصحافة
وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي
المنشورات على الانترنت

ظهرت أول وسيلة إعلامية عُمانية في جزيرة زنجبار التنزانية، والتي كانت جزءاً من السلطنة العُمانية ما بين عاميّ 1832 و1964. فقد أسس العُمانيون أمثال أبو مسلم البهلاني صحفاً هنا في وقتٍ مبكر من عام 1911، حيث قام بإصدار جريدة النجاح. تبع ذلك صدور العديد من الصحف، إلا أنها لم تعد عاملةً بعد إنتهاء الحكم العُماني في زنجبار.

وخلال فترة حكم السلطان سعيد بن تيمور الثالث، شديد المحافظة، كانت البيئة الإعلامية الجماهيرية لعُمان غير موجود عملياً. في الواقع، كانت عُمان آخر دولةٍ في الشرق الأوسط تمتلك محطة إذاعية وطنية وصحيفة يومية.

فقد كانت الإذاعة أول جهاز إعلامي يدخل حيز التنفيذ في عام 1970، بعد انقلاب قابوس، ابن سعيد، على والده وسيطرته على القصر، والتي كانت تبث بدايةً لمدة خمس ساعات في اليوم، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي للمقيمين في العاصمة مسقط. ومن ثم جاءت المنشورات المطبوعة، مع صحيفة الوطن، التي تعتبر أول صحيفة تُنشر في السلطنة عام 1971. في حين بدأ البث التلفزيوني عام 1974 وكان مقتصراً بدايةً على مسقط، إلا أن التغطية امتدت فيما بعد مع تطور البُنية التحتية.

ومع نمو البيئة الإعلامية العُمانية تدريجياً، سعت الحكومة أيضاً إلى المزيد من التنظيم. وتشير منظمة حقوق الإنسان، فريدوم هاوس، لقانون المطبوعات والنشر لعام 1984، باعتباره “واحداً من القوانين الأكثر تقييداً من نوعه في العالم العربي،” والذي يسمح للحكومة بفرض رقابةٍ على أي من المواد الإعلامية التي تعتبر غير مقبولة سياسياً، أو ثقافياً أو جنسياً.

ومع إدخال تكنولوجيا القنوات الفضائية في أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، أصبح العُمانيون معرضون لخياراتٍ أوسع من وسائل الإعلام والقنوات الفضائية، التي سرعان ما أصبحت أكثر شعبية من القنوات التلفزيونية العُمانية المملوكة للدولة. أصبحت البيئة الإعلامية في سلطنة عُمان أكثر تنوعاً في عام 1997، عندما سمحت الحكومة ببيع الصحف والمجلات الأجنبية التي كانت تعتبر في السابق تنطوي على لهجة إنتقادية لعُمان أو للسلطان. ومع ذلك، تناقض هذا الانفتاح الأكبر على وسائل الإعلام والمطبوعات الأجنبية مع زيادة التدابير القمعية التي سُنت ضد الصحافة المحلية في العام السابق. ويحظر القانون الأساسي لعام 1996 نشر المحتوى الذي يحرض على “الفتنة أو يمس بأمن الدولة أو يسيء إلى كرامة أو حقوق الفرد.”

أدخل الإنترنت عبر الإتصال الهاتفي عام 1997، ولكن نظراً لارتفاع أعداد السكان، نسبياً، في المناطق الريفية والافتقار إلى البُنية التحتية في بعض المناطق، كان الإقبال الأولي بطيئاً. فقد حسنّ تطورمقدميّ الخدمات والإتصال عريض النطاق والتكنولوجيا اللاسلكية، منذ ذلك الوقت، إنتشار الإنترنت.

تشتمل البيئة الإعلامية العُمانية في القرن الواحد والعشرين اليوم على أكثر من 20 من المنشورات المطبوعة، فضلاً عن العديد من المحطات التلفزيونية والإذاعية، سواء تلك المملوكة للقطاع الخاص أو للدولة، بعد السماح بعددٍ محدود من تراخيص البث الخاص عام 2004.

حرية التعبير

البيئة الإعلامية في عُمان ليست مواتية لحرية التعبير، وتحتل المرتبة 125 من أصل 180 بلداً على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام 2016. ويضمن القانون الأساسي لعام 1996 حرية التعبير والصحافة، ولكن كما هو حال غيرها من دول الخليج يتم التغاضي أو مناقضة هذه الضمانات بإنتظام بغيرها من التشريعات، إذ يمكن تعرض الصحفيين لدفع غراماتٍ والحكم عليهم بالسجن لإنتقاد السلطان أو العائلة الحاكمة أو الإسلام. وتحتفظ الحكومة بالحق في إغلاق أي وسيلة إعلامية في أي وقت، كما تواصل المنظمات الحكومية السيطرة على وسائل الإعلام بفضل مواردها الأكبر. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الرقابة الذاتية شائعة حيث يُطلب من الصحفيين الحصول على رخصة قابلة للتجديد كل عام، للعمل في وسائل الإعلام العمانية. ويحظر أحياناً على الكتاب والمذيعين الذين يخالفون قواعد الحكومة العمل.

مع إدخال تكنولوجيا القنوات الفضائية في أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، أصبح العُمانيون معرضون لخياراتٍ أوسع من وسائل الإعلام والقنوات الفضائية، التي سرعان ما أصبحت أكثر شعبية من القنوات التلفزيونية العُمانية المملوكة للدولة. أصبحت البيئة الإعلامية في سلطنة عُمان أكثر تنوعاً في عام 1997، عندما سمحت الحكومة ببيع الصحف والمجلات الأجنبية التي كانت تعتبر في السابق تنطوي على لهجة إنتقادية لعُمان أو للسلطان.
مع إدخال تكنولوجيا القنوات الفضائية في أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، أصبح العُمانيون معرضون لخياراتٍ أوسع من وسائل الإعلام والقنوات الفضائية، التي سرعان ما أصبحت أكثر شعبية من القنوات التلفزيونية العُمانية المملوكة للدولة. أصبحت البيئة الإعلامية في سلطنة عُمان أكثر تنوعاً في عام 1997، عندما سمحت الحكومة ببيع الصحف والمجلات الأجنبية التي كانت تعتبر في السابق تنطوي على لهجة إنتقادية لعُمان أو للسلطان.
مع إدخال تكنولوجيا القنوات الفضائية في أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، أصبح العُمانيون معرضون لخياراتٍ أوسع من وسائل الإعلام والقنوات الفضائية، التي سرعان ما أصبحت أكثر شعبية من القنوات التلفزيونية العُمانية المملوكة للدولة. أصبحت البيئة الإعلامية في سلطنة عُمان أكثر تنوعاً في عام 1997، عندما سمحت الحكومة ببيع الصحف والمجلات الأجنبية التي كانت تعتبر في السابق تنطوي على لهجة إنتقادية لعُمان أو للسلطان.
مع إدخال تكنولوجيا القنوات الفضائية في أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، أصبح العُمانيون معرضون لخياراتٍ أوسع من وسائل الإعلام والقنوات الفضائية، التي سرعان ما أصبحت أكثر شعبية من القنوات التلفزيونية العُمانية المملوكة للدولة. أصبحت البيئة الإعلامية في سلطنة عُمان أكثر تنوعاً في عام 1997، عندما سمحت الحكومة ببيع الصحف والمجلات الأجنبية التي كانت تعتبر في السابق تنطوي على لهجة إنتقادية لعُمان أو للسلطان.

ومع إزدياد شعبية الإنترنت، أظهرت السلطات العُمانية في البداية درجة أكبر من التسامح تجاه انتقاد سياسات الحكومة والمسؤولين على الإنترنت مما كانت عليه الأمور في وسائل الإعلام التقليدية. ومع ذلك، يعني قانون الإتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية أن بإمكان الحكومة محاكمة المواطنين على أي رسالة تُرسل عبر أي قناة إتصال إذا ما اعتبرت “مخلة بالنظام العام والآداب العامة.” كما أشارت هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) أن السُلطات العُمانية تراقب المكالمات التليفونية الخاص ة، والبريد الإلكتروني وغرف الدردشة على الإنترنت.

كما تواصل السُلطات العمانية اعتقال الصحفيين الذين ينشرون معلوماتٍ تتعارض مع مصالح الحكومة. ففي أغسطس 2016، أمرت السلطات بإغلاق صحيفة الزمان واعتقال ثلاثة من صحفييها، ممن حُكم على اثنين منهم بالسجن في وقتٍ لاحق، لنشرهم تقريراً يدعي أن رئيس المحكمة العليا العُماني قد أثر بشكلٍ غير قانوني على حكمٍ للمحكمة. ألغيّ فيما بعد قرار إغلاق الصحيفة.

كما تمت ملاحقة المدونيين والمعلقين على شبكة الإنترنت قضائياً. ففي فبراير 2016، حُكم على الدبلوماسي السابق حسن البشّام بالسجن ثلاث سنوات بسبب سلسلة من المنشورات ذات التوجه السياسي والديني على موقعيّ فيسبوك وتويتر، والتي اعتبرت مسيئة للخالق وللسلطان. وفي نفس الشهر، تسلم فنان يُدعى سعيد بن عبدالله الدارودي حكماً بالسجن لثلاثة أشهر لتأكيده على أصوله الظفارية عبر منشورٍ له على الفيسبوك. وتعتبر ظفار منطقة حساسة سياسياً في عُمان، والتي شنت تمرداً في ستينيات وسبعينيات القرن الماضي.

التلفزيون

احتكرت الدولة التلفزيون في عُمان لمدة ثلاثين عاماً إلى أن سمح مرسوم عام 2004 بترخيض قناة تلفزيونية خاصة (بالإضافة إلى إذاعة خاصة). تتكون البيئة التلفزيونية المحلية في عُمان من الآتي:

  • تلفزيون عُمان– أسست الهيئة العامة للإذاعة والتلفزيون، المعروفة أيضاً باسم تلفزيون سلطنة عُمان، عام 1974. خسرت القناة جزء كبير من حصة جمهورها بعد إدخال القنوات الفضائية، والتي تباهت بمرافق للإنتاج واستوديوهات متفوقة. اتجه تلفزيون عُمان لبث عدد قليل نسبياً من البرامج المستوردة وبدلاً من ذلك عمد إلى إنتاج مجموعة متنوعة من المحتوى العُماني مثل المسلسلات الدرامية والمسلسلات. برامجه الإخبارية الوطنية تحظى بشعبية كبيرة بين الجماهير العُمانية، وقربها من الدولة يعني في كثير من الأحيان إعادة استخدامها لقطاتها الإخبارية من قِبل المحطات الخاصة. تشغّل الدولة أيضاً قناة ثانية، هي تلفزيون عُمان 2.

  • مجان الفضائية– أسست عام 2009 باعتبارها أول قناة تلفزيونية خاصة في عُمان، وتملكها شركة هالي للإنتاج الإعلامي في مسقط. تبث القناة في الغالب برامج ترفيهية.

  • قناة JaiHind– تأسست عام 2011 باعتبارها فرع لقناة تلفزيونية هندية تحمل نفس الاسم. تلبي القناة احتياجات مجتمع الوافدين الهنود الضخم في عُمان.

الإذاعة

منذ إدخال المحطات الإذاعية الخاصة في عُمان، فضلاً عن إدخال خدمات البث الرقمي والمتدفق عبر الإنترنت، مما وفر وصولاً أكبر من نطاق ترددات إف إم، شهدت الوسيلة الإعلامية زيادة مطردة في الاستخدام. فقد ارتفع عدد المحطات الإذاعية الخاصة من لا شيء عام 2004 إلى 9 عام 2015. المحطات الأكثر أهمية في السلطنة هي:

  • إذاعة سلطنة عُمان– تأسست عام 1970، مع نطاق بث وساعات محدودة. ومن عام 1998 فصاعداً، وفرت المحطة بثاً باللغة العربية لجميع مناطق البلاد على مدار 24 ساعة. تبث المحطة أخباراً إقليمية ودولية، بالإضافة إلى برامج تعليمية وترفيهية للعُمانيين. واليوم، تتألف إذاعة سلطنة عُمان من أربع محطات، بما في ذلك خدمة الإذاعة العامة والقنوات الفرعية التي توفر محتوىً لمجموعات مصالح خاصة وتراكيب سكانية معينة. وتتضمن هذه إذاعة القرآن الكريم، وإذاعة الشباب الموجهة للشباب، وإذاعة البرنامج الأجنبي، والتي تأسست عام 1975 وتبث باللغة الانجليزية.

بعد إدخال تراخيص الإذاعات الخاصة، توّجب على المحطات الخاصة الإلتزام بلوائح البث المفروضة من قبل الدولة، بما في ذلك الضوابط الصارمة والقيود المفروضة على عدد من نشرات الأخبار والمحتوى العام. ونتيجةً لذلك، فإن أكثر الإذعات الخاصة نجاحاً تبث بشكلٍ أساسي الموسيقى، مثل الإذاعة العربية الوصال، وهلا إف إم، والمحطات الغربية مثل Hi FM وMerge FM.

الصحافة

تعتبر الصحافة أقل شعبية، إلى حدٍ كبير، من التلفزيون باعتبارها مصدراً للأخبار للعُمانيين، بإجمالي تداول يومي يُقدر بـ274 ألف نسخة عام 2010. ومع ذلك، لا تزال الصحافة وسيلة شعبية للدعاية، مما مكّن المنشورات الخاصة من مواصلة العمل على الرغم من المبيعات المنخفضة نسبياً. غالبية القرّاء هم من الموظفين الحكوميين وموظفي الشركات المملوكة للدولة، ذلك أن جميع الجهات الحكومية تشترك بالصحف.

الصحف المملوكة للدولة

  • جريدة عُمان– تأسست عام 1972 باعتبارها الصحيفة الرئيسية المملوكة للدولة في البلاد. يتم نشرها باللغة العربية وتعتبر ثاني أكثر صحيفة يومية عُمانية شعبيةً، بعد صحيفة الوطن المملوكة للقطاع الخاص.

  • Oman Observer- أسستها الحكومة عام 1981 باعتبارها صحيفة يومية ناطقة باللغة الانجليزية.

الصحف المملوكة للقطاع الخاص

  • صحيفة الوطن– أول صحيفة في عُمان، أسست عام 1971. تعتبر الصحيفة اليومية الأكثر شعبية في البلاد، إذ حافظت على موقفٍ مؤيدٍ للحكومة طوال تاريخها. كما يصدر عنها صحيفة باللغة الانجليزية، Oman Tribune، التي بدأت بالنشر عام 2006.

  • Times of Oman– تأسست عام 1975 باعتبارها أول صحيفة يومية باللغة الانجليزية في البلاد من قِبل عيسى بن محمد الزدجالي، المقرب من السلطان قابوس. يصدر عنها صحيفة باللغة العربية، جريدة الشبيبة، التي تأسست عام 1993.

  • صحيفة الزمان– صحيفة يومية باللغة العربية تأسست عام 2007. أوقفت الحكومة الصحيفة عدة مرات خلال السنوات الأخيرة، مثل حظرها لمدة شهر واحد عام 2011 لنشرها تقريراً حول مزاعم فساد في وزارة العدل العُمانية. كما حُظرت الصحيفة مرة أخرى من شهر أغسطس إلى أواخر ديسمبر من عام 2016، بعد نشرها مقالاً عن مزاعم فساد، مما أدى إلى حبس اثنين من الصحفيين. ولا يزال الموقع الالكتروني غير متوفر على شبكة الانترنت منذ الأول من يناير 2017.

  • Muscat Daily– صحيفة باللغة الانجليزية تأسست عام 2009. تبنت الصحيفة موقفاً موالٍ للحكومة إلى حدٍ كبير إلا أن مجلة الإيكونوميست ذكرت أن الصحيفة غطت بشكل كبير وغير مسبوق احتجاجاتٍ مناهضة للحكومة عام 2011.

  • The Week– صحيفة حرة باللغة الانجليزية تأسست عام 2003، لتصبح الصحيفة الأسبوعية الأكثر قراءةً في عُمان. خضعت الصحيفة لإجراءاتٍ قانونية من الحكومة العُمانية عام 2013 لنشرها تقريراً عن المثلية الجنسية في البلاد. أنشئت نسخة عربية أقل شعبية من الصحيفة، الأسبوع، عام 2006.

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

نمت شعبية موقع فيسبوك بشكلٍ متزايد في السنوات الأخيرة، مقارنةً بنسبة السكان العُمانيين (حوالي 5 ملايين نسمة في ديسمبر 2016، منهم 2 مليون مغترب)، حيث ارتفع عدد الحسابات المسجلة من 18,9% للبالغين عام 2012 إلى 27,9%، أو أكثر من 800 ألف مستخدم، عام 2014. يُقزم هذا الرقم عدد مستخدمي توتير المسجلين في البلاد، على الرغم من أن هذا الرقم أيضاً ارتفع من حوالي 14 ألف مستخدم عام 2012 إلى 38 ألف مستخدم عام 2013.

وكان موقع يوتيوب ثاني أكثر موقع شعبيةً في عُمان عام 2014، ولعب دوراً بارزاً، بشكلٍ خاص، في توثيق الاحتجاجات في البلاد عام 2011، ويرجع ذلك إلى الإمكانية النسبية لعدم الكشف عن الهوية التي يمنحها الموقع للمستخدمين.

المنصةنسبة المستجيبين الذين يستخدمون المنصة
الفيسبوك88.6%
واتساب 82.8%
يوتيوب 60.7%
تويتر48.8%
انستغرام48.1%

الجدول (1).منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الأكثر شعبية حسب النسبة المئوية للاستخدام. المصدر: Mediate Media Consumption Survey, 2015.

كما كان الفيسبوك وتويتر أيضاً من الوسائل الهامة خلال هذا الوقت، إلا أن مستخدمي هذه المواقع تعرضوا لملاحقات أكثر شراسة من قبل السلطات العُمانية. هناك الآن بعض الصفحات على الفيسبوك المتاحة للجمهور والتابعة لقضايا مناهضة للحكومة في عُمان، ولكن القليل منها فحسب لا تزال تذكر حركة الاحتجاج عام 2011 أو تواصل تسليط الضوء على قضايا السجناء السياسيين المعتقلين في البلاد.

المنشورات على الانترنت

تبنت وسائل الإعلام العُمانية بيئة الإنترنت برحابة صدر، إذ سرعان ما أسست الوسائل التقليدية المملوكة للدولة والخاصة مواقع إلكترونية ونشرت أو بثت محتوىً في جميع أنحاء العالم عبر شبكة الانترنت. وعلاوة على ذلك، تم تأسيس عدد من المنشورات المخصصة على الإنترنت.

فعادةً ما تُستخدم غرف الدردشة والمنتديات على الإنترنت في عُمان. وتصف هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) موقع سبلة عُمان (Sabla) باعتباره “الموقع الإلكتروني السياسي الأكثر شعبية” في عُمان، وهو بمثابة غرفة للدردشة ومنتدى ومركز للتجارة الإلكترونية. وهنا، تسمح السُلطات العُمانية بدرجة مرتفعة نسبياً من الإنتقادات والمعارضة، كما تستخدم الموقع كمؤشر للرأي العام ونظام إنذار مبكر ضد الإضطرابات الشعبية. تراقب الحكومة جميع غرف الدردشة النشطة في البلاد وتفرض إغلاقاتٍ مؤقتة إذا ما ارتفعت أصوات المعارضة بشكلٍ مفرط. سبلة عُمان هو المنتدى الإلكتروني المسيطر على المشهد في عُمان، مما أدى إلى تهميش الخدمات الأخرى الأقل شعبية مثل Farrq و al-Harah.

أما بالنسبة للمدونيين ومستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي العُمانيين، فغالباً ما تُميّز السلطات العُمانية بين المحتوى المنشور باللغة الإنجليزية واللغة العربية. فعادةً ما يتم التسامح إلى حدٍ أكبر مع المحتوى باللغة الانجليزية، في حين أن نشر النقد أو استخدام لغة مسيئة على شبكة الإنترنت باللغة العربية، يعني التعرض لعقوباتٍ أشد.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Flickr | ©Flickr

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Oman / Society, Media & Culture / Oman’s Media Landscape

Oman's Media Landscape

oman media newspaper
Omanis read newspaper on a bus. Photo Katie Yaeger Rotramel

The first Omani-owned media outlets emerged on the Tanzanian island of Zanzibar, which was part of the Omani Sultanate between 1832 and 1964. Omanis such as Abu Muslim al-Bahlani established newspapers here as early as 1911, with the publication of al-Najah. Several other press titles followed but they would all become inactive after the end of Omani rule in Zanzibar.

During the reign (1932-1979) of ultra-conservative Sultan Said III bin Tamur, Oman’s own mass media environment was practically non-existent. In fact, Oman was the  last country in the Middle East to have its own radio station and daily newspaper.

Radio was the first mass media device to be put into operation in 1970, after Said’s son Qaboos’ palace coup, initially broadcasting for five hours per day, mainly to residents in the capital Muscat. Then came print publications, with al-Watan being the first newspaper to be published in the sultanate in 1971. Television broadcasting began in 1974 and was initially restricted to Muscat but coverage was soon extended as infrastructure developed.

As the Omani media environment gradually grew, the government also sought greater regulation. Human rights organization Freedom House refers to the 1984 Press and Publications Law as ‘one of the most restrictive statutes of its kind in the Arab world’, allowing the government to censor any media material deemed politically, culturally or sexually offensive.

With the introduction of satellite television technology in the late 1980s, Omanis became exposed to a greater choice of media outlets and satellite channels soon became significantly more popular than the state-owned Omani broadcasts. Oman’s media environment became even more diverse in 1997, when the government allowed the sale of foreign newspapers and magazines that had previously been considered critical of Oman or the sultan. However, this greater media openness for foreign publications contrasted with increased repressive measures enacted against the domestic press a year earlier. The 1996 Basic Law prohibited the publication of content that incites ‘public discord, violates the security of the state or abuses a person’s dignity or rights’.

Dial-up internet connections were introduced in 1997, but due to the country’s relatively high rural population and lack of infrastructure in certain areas, initial uptake was slow. An increase in service providers and broadband and wireless technology have since improved internet penetration.

Oman’s 21st-century media environment now includes more than 20 print publications as well as several television and radio stations, each with private and state-owned entities following the introduction of a limited number of private broadcasting licenses in 2004.

Freedom of Expression

Oman’s media environment is not conducive to freedom of expression, and it ranks 125th out of 180 countries in Reporters Without Borders’ 2016 World Press Freedom Index. The 1996 Basic Law guarantees freedom of expression and freedom of the press, but as with other Gulf states these guarantees are regularly overlooked or contradicted by other legislation. Journalists can be fined and sentenced to jail for criticizing the sultan, the ruling family or Islam.

Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

The government maintains the right to close down any media outlet at will, and state-owned organizations continue to dominate the media thanks to their vastly superior resources. Self-censorship is common as journalists are required to obtain a licence, renewable each year, in order to work for an Omani media outlet. Writers and broadcasters who fall foul of the government are sometimes banned from operating.

With the increasing popularity of the internet, Omani authorities initially demonstrated a greater degree of tolerance towards criticism of government policies and officials online than in the traditional mass media. However, the 2002 Telecommunications Act means that the government can prosecute citizens for any message sent through any communications channel if it is deemed to ‘violate public order and morals’. The BBC also remarks that Omani authorities monitor private telephone calls, emails and internet chat rooms.

The Omani authorities also continue to arrest journalists publishing information contrary to the interests of the government. In August 2016, authorities ordered the closure of al-Zaman newspaper and arrested three of its journalists – two of whom have subsequently received jail terms – for publishing a report claiming that the chairman of the Omani Supreme Court had unlawfully influenced a trial verdict. The decision to close the newspaper was subsequently reversed.

Online bloggers and commentators are also pursued. In February 2016, former Omani diplomat Hassan al-Basham was sentenced to three years’ imprisonment for a series of political and religious-orientated Facebook and Twitter posts that were considered to be insulting to God and the sultan. In the same month, an artist named Sayyid Abdullah al-Daruri was handed a three-month prison sentence for stressing his Dhofari roots in a Facebook post. Dhofar is a politically sensitive region of Oman, which staged a rebellion in the 1960s and 1970s.

Television

Television in Oman was monopolized by the state for 30 years until a 2004 decree allowing the licensing of a private channel (as well as private radio stations). Oman’s domestic television environment consists of the following:

  • oman tv media
    Oman TV. Photo Flickr

    Oman TV – Otherwise known as Sultanate of Oman Television, the state broadcaster was established in 1974. The channel lost a significant amount of its audience share following the introduction of satellite television channels, which boasted superior production and studio facilities. Oman TV has tended to broadcast relatively few imported shows and instead produces a variety of Omani content such as drama series and soap operas. Its national news programmes are popular among Omani audiences and its state access means its news footage is often re-used by private broadcasters. The state also operates a second channel, Oman TV 2.

  • Majan TV – Established in 2009 as Oman’s first private television channel, owned by Halley Media Production in Muscat. The channel predominantly airs entertainment programming.

  • JaiHind TV – Established in 2011 as a franchise offshoot of the Indian channel of the same name. The channel caters to Oman’s sizeable Indian expat community.

Radio

Since the introduction of private radio stations in Oman, as well as the introduction of digital and internet streaming services providing greater access than FM bandwidths, the medium has experienced a steady increase in usage. The number of private stations has risen from none in 2004 to nine in 2015. The most significant stations in the sultanate are:

  • Radio Oman – Established in 1970, with limited broadcasting range and hours. From 1998 onwards, the station has provided 24-hour transmission to all areas of the country in Arabic. It broadcasts regional and international news as well as Omani educational and entertainment programmes. Today, Radio Oman consists of four stations, including the main Radio General service and several offshoots that provide content for certain interest groups and demographics. These are the religious station Radio Qur’an, the youth-orientated Radio Youth and Radio Foreign, which was founded in 1975 and broadcasts in English.

Following the introduction of private radio licences, private stations must adhere to the broadcasting regulations imposed by the state, including  strict controls and limitations over the number of news broadcasts and general content. As a result, the most successful private stations mainly broadcast music, such as the Arabic-language al-Wisal and Hala FM, and the more Western-orientated Hi FM and Merge FM.

Press

The press is significantly less popular than television as a source of news for Omanis, with total daily circulation estimated at 274,000 copies in 2010. Nevertheless, the press remains a popular outlet for advertising, which has enabled private publications to continue operating despite relatively low sales. The majority of readers are government employees and the staff of state-run companies since all government entities subscribe to newspapers.

State-owned

  • Oman Daily – Established in 1972 as the main state-owned publication in the country. It is published in Arabic and considered to be the second most popular Omani daily newspaper, behind the privately-owned al-Watan.

  • Oman Observer – Founded in 1981 by the government as an English-language daily newspaper.

Private

  • Al-Watan – Oman’s first newspaper, founded in 1971. It is considered the most popular daily publication in the country and has maintained a pro-government stance throughout its history. It also has an English-language sister newspaper, Oman Tribune, which began publishing in 2006.

  • – Established in 1975 as the first English-language daily publication in the country by Essa bin Mohammed al-Zedjali, a close associate of Sultan Qaboos. An Arabic-language sister publication, al-Shabiba, was established in 1993.

  • Al-Zaman – Arabic-language daily established in 2007. The newspaper has received a number of government suspensions in recent years, such as a one-month ban in 2011 for reporting on alleged corruption in the Omani Justice Ministry. The paper was again suspended from August to late December 2016, after publishing an article alleging corruption, which led to the imprisonment of two journalists. The website remains offline as of 1 January 2017.

  • Muscat Daily – English-language newspaper founded in 2009. It has largely adopted a pro-government stance but The Economist reported that the newspaper had given significant and unprecedented coverage to anti-government protests in 2011.

  • The Week – English-language free publication founded in 2003, The Week has gone on to become the most-read weekly publication in Oman. The newspaper was subject to legal action from the Omani government in 2013, after publishing a report on homosexuality in the country. A less popular Arabic sister version, al-Ousboua, was set up in 2006.

Social Media

Facebook has grown increasingly popular in recent years, with the percentage of the Omani population (around 5 million in December 2016, of whom 2 million are expatriates) with registered accounts increasing from 18.9 per cent of adults in 2012 to 27.9 per cent, or over 800,000 users, in 2014. This figure dwarfs the number of registered Twitter users in the country, although this has also increased from around 14,000 in 2012 to 38,000 in 2013.

YouTube was the second most popular website in Oman in 2014 and played a particularly prominent role in documenting the 2011 protests in the country, due to the relative anonymity afforded to its users.

PlatformPercentage of respondents who use platform
Facebook88.6%
WhatsApp 82.8%
YouTube 60.7%
Twitter48.8%
Instagram48.1%

Table 1. Most popular social media platforms by percentage of use. Source: Mediate Media Consumption Survey, 2015.

Facebook and Twitter were also important outlets during this time, but users of these platforms were pursued more aggressively by the Omani authorities. There are now few publicly accessible Facebook pages affiliated with anti-government causes in Oman, but a handful still refer to the 2011 protest movement or continue to highlight the cases of political prisoners detained in the country.

Online publications

Omani media outlets have embraced the online environment, with traditional state-owned and private outlets quick to establish websites and publish or broadcast content worldwide via the internet. Furthermore, a number of dedicated online publications have been founded.

Internet chat rooms and forums are commonly used in Oman. Sabla is described by the BBC as Oman’s ‘most popular political website’. It serves as an online chat room, forum and e-commerce hub. Here, a relatively high degree of criticism and dissent is tolerated by the Omani authorities who use Sabla as an indicator of public sentiment and a potential early warning system against popular unrest. The government monitors all chat rooms active in the country and imposes temporary shutdowns if excessive dissent is voiced. Sabla is the dominant online forum in Oman, leading to the demise of other, less popular services such as Farrq and al-Harah.

For Omani bloggers and social media users, a distinction is often made by the Omani authorities between content published in English and Arabic. A greater degree of tolerance is typically afforded to English-language content, whereas criticism or offensive language published online in Arabic tends to be punished far more severely.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.