فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عُمان / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / وضع المرأة

المرأة العمانية

المرأة العمانية المحلية(Photo by ERIC FEFERBERG / AFP)

لطالما لعبت المرأة العمانية دوراً هاماً في المجتمع التقليدي والاقتصاد. وقد ساهمت عمليات التنمية الحديثة في عمان في تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين. يتمتع الإناث والذكور بالمستوى نفسه من متوسط العمر والتعليم. وفي المجتمع الحديث، يزداد معدل المشاركة الاقتصادية للمرأة بشكل سريع، من 8,6% عام 1993 إلى 29.6% عام 2011.

تتمثل الأسباب الرئيسية لصعود المرأة في مجال الاقتصاد في التعليم الزائد وتغير المواقف في المجتمع وتغير أنماط الاستهلاك والحاجة إلى تحسين دخل العائلة. كما يعتبر السن عاملاً. ويختار عدد كبير من الشابات العمل؛ حيث تتراوح أعمار ما يزيد عن ثلثي النساء العاملات في القطاع الخاص بين 20 و 29 عاماً. كما يخترن في الغالب العمل في قطاعات الوساطة المالية والخدمات العقارية. وهناك علاقة إيجابية بين معدلات المشاركة الاقتصادية والوضع التعليمي.

في القطاع العام

في القطاع العام، شغلت المرأة 47% من الوظائف عام 2012. ويفضلن العمل في وظائف قطاع التعليم، مع زيادة في الاهتمام في قطاع الصحة. أما في المناصب الحكومية العليا، تشغل امرأتان منصبين على المستوى الوزاري، وواحدة على مستوى وكيل وزارة واثنتان على مستوى سفراء. كما تشغل أربع منهن مناصب استشارية عليا، و 13 الدرجة الخاصة و 261 الدرجة الأولى (تعادل المدير ,المدير العام). وقد تم مؤخراً تعيين خمس محاميات في منصب نائب عام في المحكمة التشريعية. بالإضافة إلى  ذلك، صدر قانون يسمح للمرأة الحقوق المتساوية في تملك العقارات السكنية، مما يؤكد المساواة بين الجنسين.

تكافؤ الفرص

منذ عام 1994، أتيح للمرأة العمانية خوض الانتخابات. وتدعو جميع القوانين والتشريعات الحالية لتكافؤ الفرص للمرأة. على سبيل المثال، تم تحديد إجازة للأمومة قبل وبعد الولادة بخمسين يوماً بأجر كامل. ويسمح للأمهات اللاتي يعدن للعمل مع استمرارهن في الرضاعة الطبيعية بمغادرة العمل قبل ساعة كل يوم ولمدة ستة أشهر. كما للمرأة الحق في الحصول على إجازة بدون مرتب لمدة 12 شهراً بعد الولادة.

يعطي قانون الشريعة الإسلامية الخاص بالأحوال الشخصية النساء الحق في طلب الطلاق في عقود الزواج. ومن المعروف أيضاً في المجتمعات العربية أن دخل المرأة يكون حقاً شرعياً لها.

أجرى مكتب المسح الصحي الوطني (2000) مقابلات مع نساء حول حريتهن في التنقل. قالت 30% منهن بأنهن يتمتعن بالحرية الكاملة في التنقل. تزيد حرية التنقل بشكل كبير مع تقدم العمر. كما أشارت نتائج المسح إلى أن تعزيز مكانة المرأة مرتبط بشكل مباشر بمستواها التعليمي. كلما زاد مستوى التعليم، زادت قوة اتخاذ القرار وحرية التنقل للمرأة. وتميل النساء إلى تحقيق مستويات عالية من التعليم قبل الزواج، مما يؤدي إلى تأجيلهن الزواج. عام 1993، تزوجت 52% من الفتيات بين 15 و 20 عاماً. وبعد 10 سنوات، كانت هذه النسبة 4.2% فقط (Gender Index).

ضمن الأسرة، للنساء سلطة كبيرة ويقدّمن مساهمات كبيرة. ولكن على الرغم من تمتعهن بنفس الحقوق في التعليم والعمل، إلا أن مشاركتهن في الحياة العامة أقل. وبالتالي، قامت الحكومة بإطلاق حملة نساء عمان 2011 اعترافاً منها واحتفاءً بإنجازات المرأة العمانية وزيادة الوعي لفرصهن. ولكن هناك مؤشرات بأن النساء لا يزلن يتعرضن للتمييز في القضايا القانونية والاجتماعية، وأن المساواة تنطبق فقط على النساء العمانيات وليس على العاملات الأجنبيات.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ERIC FEFERBERG ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Oman / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Women

Women in Oman

Local Omani women (Photo by ERIC FEFERBERG / AFP)

Omani women have always played an important role in traditional society and economy. Modern developments in Oman have contributed to gender equality. Females and males enjoy the same level of life expectancy and education. In modern society, the female economic participation rate is increasing rapidly, from 8.6 percent in 1993 to 29.6 percent in 2011.

The main causes of women’s ascendancy in the economy are increased education, changing attitudes in society, changing consumption patterns and the need to improve family income. Age is also a factor. More young women are choosing to work. Over two-thirds of women employed in the private sector are between 20 and 29 years of age. They predominantly opt for the sectors of financial brokerage and real estate services. A positive relationship exists between economic participation rates and educational status.

Women in the public sector

In the public sector, women held 47 percent of the positions in 2012 (NCSI). There is a preference for jobs in the education sector, with an increasing interest in the health sector. In the ranks of senior government positions, two women hold positions at the ministerial level, one at the undersecretary level and two at ambassadorial level. Four hold senior advisory positions, thirteen in Special Grade, and 261 in Grade One (equivalent to Director & Director General). Five female lawyers were recently appointed as attorney generals to the legislative court. Moreover, a law providing women equal rights to own housing property ensured gender equality for women.

Equal opportunities

Since 1994, Omani women are allowed to run for election. All present laws and regulations propagate equal opportunities for women. For example, maternity leave before and after birth is set at fifty fully paid days. Mothers who return to work while continuing to breast feed are permitted to leave work an hour earlier for six months. Women also have the right to unpaid leave for twelve months after having given birth. The Islamic Sharia personal law allows women to provide for the right to divorce in marriage contracts. It is also customary in Arab societies that earnings of women accrue to their own wealth.

The National Health Survey (NHS, 2000) interviewed women about their freedom of movement. 30 percent of the women said they enjoyed total freedom. Freedom of movement significantly increases with age. Results of the survey also indicated that women’s empowerment is directly linked to their level of education. The higher the education, the more decision power and freedom of movement women have. Women tend to pursue higher education levels before marriage, as a result of which marriage is often postponed. In 1993, 52 percent of girls between fifteen and twenty years were married. In 2003, this number was just 4.2 percent. (Gender Index).

Within the family, women have significant authority and make strong contributions. However, although women enjoy equal rights in education and employment, they participate less in public life. The government subsequently launched the 2010 OMANIWOMEN campaign in acknowledgement and celebration of Omani women’s achievements and in order to increase awareness of their oppurtunities. But there are signs that women are still being discriminated when it comes to legal and social issues and that equality only applies to Omani women, not to foreign workers.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ERIC FEFERBERG ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update