فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الاقتصاد في فلسطين / السياحة في فلسطين

السياحة في فلسطين

السياحة في فلسطين
خريطة تظهر مواقع الجذب السياحي الرئيسية في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة

على الرغم من حقيقة أن المناطق الفلسطينية ليست دولة مستقلة بذاتها، ولا تمتلك حدود خاصة بها، إلا أنّ الأراضي الفلسطينية (القدس الشرقية، والضفة الغربية، وقطاع غزة) تستقطب عدد كبير من الزوار سنوياً، وذلك لزيارة الأماكن والمواقع الدينية والتاريخية الفريدة من نوعها في العالم.

تعد فلسطين مهد حضارات تاريخية عديدة كنعانية و بابلية وآشورية ويونانية وفينيقية ورومانية وعبرية ومسيحية وإسلامية، مما أكسبها نموذجاً حضارياً وثقافياً مميزاً، خلّف وراءه كنوزاً ثمينة من الآثار التاريخية والدينية، تخصها دون سواها، إضافةً إلى كون مدنها مدناً سياحية بحد ذاتها. ساعد المناخ المعتدل صيفاً والدافئ شتاءً أن تكون فلسطين محجاً لكل الهوايات والأذواق من مختلف الأجناس، ولقد شكلت التضاريس المختلف تنوعها، على الرغم من صغر بقعتها الجغرافية الى تنوع حيوي مذهل في المنتجعات الطبيعية الباهرة، فهناك المناطق الساحلية على شواطئ البحر المتوسط، وهناك منطقة البحر الميت المتميز بملوحته الشديدة- أخفض بقعة على سطح الأرض، بالاضافة الى الجبال والسهول الواسعة، وأقدم مدينة بناها الانسان “أريحا“.

هذه المعطيات أعطت فلسطين ميزة قلما توجد في آماكن أخرى، ولذا تُقسم السياحة في فلسطين إلى عدة انواع، أهمها السياحة الدينية المتعلقة بزيارة الاماكن الدينية والتي يُقدسها أبناء الديانات السماوية الثلاث (الإسلام والمسيحية واليهودية) ، والقسم الثاني المتعلق بالسياحة الثقافية وزيارة المناطق الـثرية، أما القسم الثالث فهو متعلق بالسياحة العلاجية في حوض البحر الميت.

فتعتبر فلسطين مركز يضم أقدس الكنائس لدى أتباع الديانة المسيحية؛ وثالث أعظم المساجد لدى المسلمين. ففي مدينة بيت لحم هناك كنيسة المهد، وفي القدس الشريف توجد كنسية القيامة، وكلٌ من المسجد الاقصى المبارك، مسرى النبي محمد، وقبة الصخرة المشرفة. ويقع المسجد الأقصى على جبل الهيكل، أقدس المواقع في الديانة اليهودية، إذ يوجد عند سفحه الحائط الغربي، أو حائط المبكى كما هو معروف، أقدس مكان يتوجه إليه اليهود للصلاة.

الوضع السياحي الحالي في فلسطين

مناطق الجذب الدينية والأثرية والطبيعية المذكورة أعلاه، عززت المكانة الاقتصادية والثقافية للأراضي الفلسطينية وكذلك الهوية الفلسطينية. فعلى سبيل المثال، باتت الكوفية الفلسطينية المزركشة باللونين الأبيض والأسود، رمزاً عالمياً للتراث والهوية الفلسطينية منذ عقود.

وعلى الرغم من العمل الدؤوب من قبل السلطة الفلسطينية من أجل رفع مستوى قطاع السياحة في فلسطين، ومنها جهود وزارة السياحة والاثار لفتح أسواق جديدة مع عدد من دول العالم في أمريكا اللاتينية وروسيا وأوروبا، إلا أن قطاع السياحة عام 2015 قد شهد تراجعاً حاداً بعد بداية مشجعة في النصف الاول من العام، ويرجع السبب في المقام الاول للمواجهات التي إندلعت في الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية منذ بداية شهر أكتوبر للعام الماضي. حيث أورد تقرير نُشر في وكالات الاعلام الفلسطينية بأن نسبة إنخفاض السياحة في فلسطين بلغت حوالي 11% إلى 2,23 مليون زائر، مقارنةً مع ما يقرب من 2,53 مليون زائر عام 2014. شكل هذا بحد ذاته تراجعاً عن الأعوام السابقة بسبب الحرب الاسرائيلية على غزة والتي امتدت طوال الصيف.

Tourism in Palestine
عدد زيارات الوافدين خلال النصف الأول من الأعوام (2008-2015).المصدر: مركز الاحصار الفلسطيني، بيان بمناسبة يوم السياحة العالمي, 27 سبتمبر 2015.

وفي بيان صادر عن وزارة السياحة الفلسطينية أوضحت وزيرة السياحة والأثار، رولا معايعة “بأن الأحداث التي تشهدها فلسطين أدت إلى تراجع أعداد السياح القادمين الى أقل من مليونين ونصف المليون سائح وهو عدد قليل مقارنة بالعام 2104″، حيث كان من المتوقع وصول أعداد كبيرة من السياح إلى فلسطين خاصة بعد إلغاء العديد من الدول الأوروبية لمواطنيها حظر السفر للمناطق الفلسطينية، الذي فرض بعد الحرب على غزة عام 2014، ولكن مع تصاعد الاحداث في الضفة الغربية والقدس تم تسجيل عدد كبير من إلغاء أو تأجيل الحجوزات.

التراجع في أعداد السياح رافقه تراجع حاد أيضاً في ليالي المبيت في فلسطين، حيث أقام خلال العام 2015 في الاراضي الفلسطينية 981.315 سائحاً مقابل 1.211.561 في العام الذي سبقه. فمن منظورٍ اقتصادي، لن تستطيع هذه الفنادق الصمود في ظل ارتفاع تكاليف تشغيل الفنادق، سيما أجور الموظفين، إذا كانت معدلات الإشغال منخفضة. هذه الارقام تدل على حجم الخسائر التي يتكبدها قطاع السياحة الذي يشكل ما يقارب من حوالي 15% من اجمالي مصادر الدخل القومي الفلسطيني.

المعيقات أمام تطور السياحة في فلسطين

يعتبر قطاع السياحة في فلسطين من القطاعات المهمة في الناتج القومي الفلسطيني، ولكنه يُصنف بالقطاع “غير المستغل” بالشكل الأمثل. فمنذ إنشاء السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية عام 1994 تم الاهتمام بالقطاع السياحي كونه يمكن أن يشكل مصدر دخل مهم من مجموع الناتج المحلي، وعليه تم إنشاء وزارة خاصة تحمل إسم وزارة السياحة والأثار لتعزيز السياحة والحفاظ على المواقع الأثرية.

كغيرها من المؤسسات الفلسطينية الآخرى، أصطدمت الوزراة بمجموعة من المعيقات والعراقيل الإسرائيلية التي وضعت أمام السائح الاجنبي لدخول مناطق السلطة الفلسطينية مثل الاستجواب المطوّل عند الوصول والمغادرة، كما فرضت الشركات السياحية الإسرائيلية شروطًا على المجموعات السياحية القادمة من مختلف بقاع العالم لزيارة الأراضي المقدسة، ومن ضمنها الإقامة في فنادق إسرائيلية. وبالتأكيد فإن هذا ممكن بسبب سيطرة إسرائيل على المجال الجوي، إذ يعتبر مطار بن غوريون في تل أبيب نقطة الوصول الجوية الوحيدة، فضلاً عن سيطرة سلطات الاحتلال على الحدود والمعابر مع الدول المجاورة. يؤثر هذا إلى حدٍ كبير على تنمية قطاع السياحة ويؤدي إلى تقلبات مستمرة في أعداد الزائرين والدخل.

بسبب المعيقات التي تفرضها سلطات الاحتلال الاسرائيلية عملت السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية جاهدة، منذ أن تم الاعتراف بدولة فلسطين بصفة دولة “غير عضو في الأمم المتحدة” نهاية عام 2012، من أجل الإنضمام لعضوية منظمة السياحة العالمية لكي تتمكن من تجاوز العقبات التي يفرضها الاحتلال أمام تطور وانتشار السياحة الفلسطينية. ولقد إنضمت فلسطين بشكل رسمي لعضوية منظمة السياحة العالمية وتم الاعلان عنه بالمؤتمر الدولي للسياحة العالمية الذي عقد بتاريخ 15 يونيو 2015 في مدينة بيت لحم، حيث حضر اللقاء شخصيات سياسية عالمية ومن دول عديدة.

بعيداً عن الاسباب السياسية والأمنية التي ترافق الوضع في فلسطين، فأن مما لا شك فيه بأن قطاع السياحة في فلسطين يعتبر هش وفي بداياته. فهناك ضعف واضح في الإستثمار السياحي المتمثل في المنشآت والفنادق والمطاعم السياحية، وهناك ضعف في البنية التحتية في الأماكن والمدن السياحية، ما يؤدي الى قصر إقامة السائح الأجنبي في الأراضي الفلسطينية، وهناك نقص في القدرات والخبرات السياحية المؤهلة، وضعف في التسويق الخارجي للسياحة الفلسطينية، وهناك غياب واضح للوعي بأهمية السياحة عند المواطنين، يضاف إلى ذلك كله عدم القدرة على منافسة الشركات السياحية الإسرائيلية. كل ذلك يؤثر على جودة القطاع السياحي ويشير الى الحجم الكبير الذي ينتظر قطاع السياحة للعمل عليه.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Tourism in Palestine
Map showing locations of main tourist attractions in the West Bank and Gaza Strip. ©Fanack

Despite the fact that Palestine is not an independent state with control over its own borders, the Palestinian territories (East Jerusalem, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip) nevertheless attract a significant number of tourists every year to its unique religious and historical sites.

Palestine has hosted many powers and peoples over the millennia such as the Canaanites, Babylonians, Assyrians, ancient Greeks, Phoenicians, Romans, Byzantines, Crusaders and Ottomans. Their legacy lives on in a rich collection of antiquities and archaeological finds as well as cities that are tourist attractions in themselves. The warm weather in the summer and relatively mild climate in the winter have helped Palestine to become a destination for tourists of different tastes and races. Its diverse landscape encompasses Mediterranean beaches; the salty Dead Sea – the lowest point on earth; snow-capped mountains, wide plains and arid deserts. Palestine is also home to Jericho, the world’s oldest continuously inhabited settlement.

Tourism in Palestine can be divided into several types. First and foremost is religious tourism thanks to the concentration of sites revered by the followers of the three great monotheistic faiths (Islam, Judaism and Christianity). The second is cultural tourism due to the wealth of archaeological attractions. The third is therapeutic or health tourism based on the benefits of the Dead Sea.

Palestine is the home of the holiest churches for Christians: the Church of the Nativity in Bethlehem and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem. In Jerusalem is al-Aqsa, Islam’s third holiest mosque and the gilded Dome of the Rock, a Muslim shrine. Al-Aqsa Mosque is located on the Temple Mount, which is the holiest site in Judaism. At the foot of it is the Western Wall – also known as the Wailing Wall – the holiest place where Jews are permitted to pray.

Current Status of Tourism in Palestine

The religious, archaeological and natural attractions mentioned above have boosted the economic and cultural standing of the Palestinian territories as well as Palestinian identity. The black and white keffiyeh (scarf), for instance, has been a global symbol of Palestinian heritage and identity for decades.

Despite the hard work by the Palestinian Authority (PA) to strengthen the tourism sector, including efforts by the Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities to attract visitors from Latin America, Russia and Europe, tourist numbers declined sharply in the second half of 2015 following an encouraging start in the first half of the year. This was primarily due to the violence that erupted in East Jerusalem and the West Bank at the beginning of October. A report published by Palestinian media showed a drop in foreign visitors by approximately 11% to 2.23 million, compared to almost 2.53 million in 2014. This was itself a decline over previous years due to the Israel-Gaza conflict that extended through the summer.

Tourism in Palestine
Number of inbound visits 2008-2015. Source: Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics, statement on World Tourism Day, 27 September 2015.

In a statement issued by the Palestinian Ministry of Tourism, Minister of Tourism and Antiquities Rola Ma’ayi’ah said that “the incidents taking place in Palestine have led to a decline in the number of tourists visiting us to fewer than 2.5 million, which is a small number compared to 2014”. Large numbers of tourists were expected, especially after many European countries lifted the travel ban that had been imposed on citizens following the 2014 conflict, but the incidents in the West Bank and Jerusalem caused many bookings to be cancelled or postponed.

The decrease in the number of visitors has been accompanied by a sharp drop in overnight stays. In 2015, some 981,315 tourists stayed overnight in hotels in the Palestinian territories, compared to 1,211,561 the previous year. From an economic perspective, the high costs of running a hotel, notably employee wages, are unsustainable if occupancy rates are low. These figures show the extent of the losses sustained by the tourism sector, which amounted to approximately 15% of Palestinian GDP.

Obstacles to the Development of Tourism

Tourism is an important but underexploited contributor to Palestinian GDP. Since the establishment of the Palestinian National Authority (PNA) in 1994, more attention has been given to the sector, with the Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities dedicated to promoting tourism and maintaining archeological sites. However, Israel has sought to discourage foreign tourists from visiting the Palestinian territories by introducing deterrents such as lengthy questioning upon arrival and departure. Additionally, Israeli tourist companies have set conditions for groups visiting the Holy Land, one of them being that accommodation should be in Israeli hotels.

All of this is possible because of Israeli control over airspace – Tel Aviv’s Ben Gurion Airport is the only flight arrival point – and border crossings with its neighbours. This highly affects the development of the tourism sector and results in constant fluctuations in visitor numbers and income.

Palestine has officially become a member of the World Tourism Organization, as announced during the International Conference on Religious Tourism held on 15 June 2015 in Bethlehem and attended by political figures from around the world. The PA has campaigned for membership since Palestine was recognized as ‘a non-member observer state in the UN’ at the end of 2012, in the hope that membership would enable it to overcome the obstacles impeding the growth and development of the tourism sector.

Aside from the political and security constraints, tourist infrastructure is weak in terms of the availability of facilities such as hotels and restaurants. The upkeep of attractions and cities is also insufficient, discouraging longer stays, combined with a shortage of qualified personnel. The situation is exacerbated by poor international marketing of Palestine as a tourist destination, and a clear lack of awareness among citizens of the importance of tourism. The dominance of Israeli tourist companies also makes it difficult to compete. All of these factors affect the quality of Palestine’s tourism offering and indicate that there is a lot to be done to develop the sector.