فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الاقتصاد في فلسطين / لمَ لا يقبل الفلسطينيون استلام عائداتهم الضريبية؟

لمَ لا يقبل الفلسطينيون استلام عائداتهم الضريبية؟

Covid 19  Gaza
فلسطينيون من العاملين في القطاع العام يقفون في طوابير خارج أحد البنوك لتلقي رواتبهم في مدينة غزة في 1 سبتمبر 2020، وسط إغلاقٍ بسبب تزايد حالات الإصابة بفيروس كورونا المستجد. Photo: MAHMUD HAMS / AFP

بقلم نور عودة

قال منسق الأمم المتحدة الخاص لعملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط، نيكولاي ملادينوف، في خطابه أمام مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة في 26 أكتوبر، إن الأزمة الاقتصادية التي تواجه الحكومة الفلسطينية تفاقمت بشدة بسبب رفضها تلقي عائدات الضرائب الفلسطينية التي تجمعها إسرائيل. وعليه، أعرب العديد من المسؤولين الدوليين عن نفس المشاعر ودعوا، سراً وعلانية، الحكومة الفلسطينية إلى قبول الأموال ببساطة.

تجمع إسرائيل عائدات الضرائب الفلسطينية نيابةً عن الحكومة الفلسطينية في ظل سيطرتها على جميع المعابر الحدودية إلى فلسطين، وتشمل هذه الرسوم الجمركية على البضائع المتجهة إلى الأسواق الفلسطينية، وضريبة القيمة المضافة، وضرائب الوقود وغيرها، وذلك وفقاً لاتفاقية مؤقتة موقعة تسمى بروتوكول باريس. كما تجمع إسرائيل الضرائب والرسوم الأخرى من الفلسطينيين في ما يسمى بالمنطقة ج، والتي تبلغ مساحتها 60% من الضفة الغربية المحتلة، لكنها امتنعت عن الإفصاح عن المبالغ التي تجمعها بالفعل منذ عام 2000، مما كلف الخزانة الفلسطينية خسائر لا تُعد ولا تُحصى.

لا تقدم إسرائيل هذه “الخدمة” بالمجان، إذ يتم تعويضها بسخاء بما نسبته 3% من إجمالي العائدات الضريبية المحصلة لتغطية التكلفة الإدارية. فقد قدر تقرير للبنك الدولي نُشر في عام 2016 أن الخزينة الفلسطينية تخسر 285 مليون دولار سنوياً من عائدات الضرائب المحصلة عند المعابر الحدودية وحدها، بما في ذلك ضريبة القيمة المضافة. يمثل هذا ما نسبته 2,2% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في فلسطين (2016). يشير التقرير نفسه أيضاً إلى أنه في عام 2014، كسبت إسرائيل 63 مليون دولار من رسوم تحصيل الضرائب الفلسطينية، والتي قامت بدورها بتمويل ما يقرب من ثلث ميزانية دائرة الجمارك وضريبة القيمة المضافة الإسرائيلية على الرغم من أن حصة الواردات الفلسطينية من إجمالي الواردات التي تتولاها إسرائيل تبلغ 6% فقط. آنذاك، تمثلت توصية المنظمة الدولية، والتي تجاهلتها إسرائيل، بخفض هذه الرسوم إلى 0,6% بدلاً من ذلك.

كان من المفترض أن تستمر هذه الاتفاقيات لمدة خمس سنوات إلى أن يتم التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ نهائي، إذ لم يكن القصد منها أبداً أن تكون تسويةً دائمةً لإخضاع الاقتصاد الفلسطيني لاقتصاد إسرائيل. علاوةً على ذلك، رفضت إسرائيل مراراً وتكراراً محاولات الفلسطينيين لإعادة التفاوض على بروتوكولات باريس.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن العائدات الضريبية تموّل حوالي 70% من الميزانية الفلسطينية، ولهذا وصف البعض القرار الفلسطيني بالامتناع عن تلقي هذه الأموال بالانتحاري. لكن بغض النظر عن التحفظات، كان هذا القرار بلا شك سياسياً ومتوقعاً.

السياق السياسي هو المسار السريع لإسرائيل نحو الضم الرسمي للضفة الغربية المحتلة أو على الأقل لأجزاء كبيرة واستراتيجية منها. يقود نتنياهو، الذي تمت تقوية شوكته، حكومة تمخض اتفاق ائتلافها عن التزامٍ بالضم، بمباركةٍ كاملة من إدارة ترامب الأمريكية. في الواقع، تؤيد ما تسمى بخطة السلام الخاصة بإدارة ترامب ضم مساحاتٍ كبيرة من الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة ولا تقدم حتى للفلسطينيين وعداً لا بالسيادة أو حتى القدرة على البقاء كدولة. فقد تم تأييد هذا الطريق المسدود لحل الدولتين من خلال التوقيع الأخير على اتفاقٍ بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل لتمديد التمويل الأمريكي للضفة الغربية المحتلة، فيما اعتبرته القيادة الفلسطينية اعترافاً استباقياً بالضم الرسمي.

Kerem Shalom crossing
شاحنة تحمل بضائع للفلسطينيين تصل إلى معبر كرم أبو سالم في جنوب قطاع غزة، 15 أغسطس 2018. Photo: SAID KHATIB / AFP

استغلت إسرائيل عائدات الضرائب الفلسطينية كأداةٍ للابتزاز السياسي والاقتصادي في عدة مناسبات. ففي عام 2011، جمدت إسرائيل تحويل عائدات الضرائب مرتين، بما في ذلك “كعقابٍ” على نجاح فلسطين في الحصول على العضوية الكاملة في اليونسكو، إذ ينتهك هذا السلوك الاتفاقات الموقعة والتزامات إسرائيل بموجب القانون الدولي كقوة احتلال. ومع ذلك، تكرر الأمر مجدداً مع ترقية فلسطين إلى وضع دولة مراقب في الأمم المتحدة (نوفمبر 2012) والانضمام إلى نظام روما الأساسي (يناير 2015).

فقد وصل الاستغلال الإسرائيلي لعائدات الضرائب الفلسطينية إلى مستوياتٍ مؤلمة أخرى في فبراير 2019، عندما أعلنت الحكومة الإسرائيلية أنها ستحجب ما يقرب من 140 مليون دولار من الأموال الفلسطينية. كان هذا المبلغ مساوياً لما أنفقته الحكومة الفلسطينية على مدفوعات الضمان الاجتماعي السنوية لعائلات الأسرى والقتلى والجرحى الفلسطينيين من قبل إسرائيل. فقد كانت هذه المدفوعات جزءاً من الخدمات الاجتماعية الفلسطينية منذ عام 1969، أي قبل توقيع أي اتفاقياتٍ بين فلسطين وإسرائيل، كما استمرت بعد إنشاء السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية لتصبح جزءاً من القانون الأساسي الفلسطيني. ومع ذلك، في عام 2018، أقر الكنيست الإسرائيلي ذو الأغلبية اليمينية قانونه الخاص الذي يحظر القانون الفلسطيني ويفرض “العقوبة” المالية. استثنى هذا التشريع الأموال المحولة إلى مقاصف مصلحة السجون الإسرائيلية، والتي تجني منها إسرائيل ملايين من الأرباح السنوية.

ومن المفارقات، أن لإسرائيل قانونها المماثل الخاص بها، حيث توفر للمقيمين والمواطنين في إسرائيل المعترف بهم “كأسرى صهيون” أو أقارب السجناء المذكورين أو أفراد عائلات الشهداء مزايا مالية.

اشتعلت القيادة الفلسطينية غضباً من هذا التدخل المباشر في الشؤون الفلسطينية الداخلية، ورفضت استلام عائدات الضرائب بأي اقتطاع لما له من تداعياتٍ سياسية خطيرة.

وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الأزمة حُلت بعد عدة أشهر مُضنيّة، إلا أن الصدمات الناتجة عن هذه العقوبات المالية أغرقت الاقتصاد الفلسطيني في عدة أزمات.

وبحسب مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (أونكتاد)، نما الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الحقيقي في فلسطين بأقل من 1% في عام 2019. وحتى قبل جائحة كورونا، كانت التوقعات للاقتصاد الفلسطيني في عامي 2020 و 2021 قاتمة، حيث من المتوقع أن ينخفض الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد بنسبة 3% إلى 4,5%. وأشارت المنظمة الدولية إلى أن القيود الإسرائيلية و “تسرب الموارد المالية” إلى الخزينة الإسرائيلية بلغت 3,7% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي أو 17,8% من إجمالي عائدات الضرائب قبل الخصومات التأديبية. وبلغ معدل البطالة 33% في عام 2019، بينما ارتفعت مستويات الفقر بشكلٍ حاد.

كانت هذه العواقب الوخيمة بمثابة تذكيرٍ صارخ للجمهور الفلسطيني وصناع القرار بأن قبضة إسرائيل على حياتهم واقتصادهم وفرص تطورهم مطلقة.

وفي مواجهة مأزقٍ سياسي متصلب، بما في ذلك الاحتمال الحقيقي لفقدان حل الدولتين صلاحيته أو أهميته، بدا خيار القيادة الفلسطينية واضحاً. ففي 19 مايو 2020، أعلنت القيادة الفلسطينية أنها ستعلق جميع علاقاتها مع إسرائيل، بما في ذلك التنسيق الأمني واستلام عائدات الضرائب. كانت الرسالة السياسية التي تم نقلها تنذر بالسوء: لن تستمر القيادة الفلسطينية في العمل كالمعتاد عندما تنفذ إسرائيل، وبدعمٍ من الولايات المتحدة، بشكلٍ علني ودون تحفظ أجندتها التوسعية وتتعهد بضمان عدم قيام دولة فلسطينية. كان على إسرائيل الاختيار: إما أن تسمح للحكومة الفلسطينية بالحكم دون عوائقٍ أو تدخل، أو أن تُعدَّ نفسها لتحمل جميع مسؤوليات سلطة الاحتلال.

كانت النتائج ساحقة، فبالإضافة إلى فقدان شريان الحياة المالي هذا، تواصل الحكومة الفلسطينية محاربة العواقب المدمرة لوباء كورونا المستجد. فقد وصل تحصيل العائدات الداخلية إلى أدنى مستوياته منذ عشرين عاماً، كما أن المساعدة المالية الدولية هي الأدنى منذ أكثر من عشر سنوات. بناءً على التوقعات، من المتوقع أن يكلف الوباء الاقتصاد الفلسطيني ما بين 7 إلى 35% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. ويتوقع البنك الدولي أن ينكمش الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الفلسطيني بنسبة 8% هذا العام وتوافقه الحكومة الفلسطينية الرأي.

بالنسبة للقيادة الفلسطينية، ببساطة، من غير المعقول قبول الإذلال السياسي بأخذ أي عائداتٍ ضريبية تسمح بها إسرائيل مع تجاهل السياق السياسي الأوسع، الذي لا يقل عن كونه عقوبة إعدامٍ للحقوق الفلسطينية. فلا مفر من العواقب الاقتصادية القاسية لهذه الخطوة الفلسطينية، إذ لم يتقاضى ما يقرب من 200 ألف موظف مدني وأمني فلسطيني رواتبهم كاملةً منذ مايو 2020، مما قلل من القوة الشرائية وفرص الانتعاش الاقتصادي.

ومع ذلك، يصر صانعو السياسة الفلسطينيون على أن هذه الغصة المريرة أمرٌ محتوم، إذ يتوجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يفهم أن تحسين الظروف في ظل الاحتلال الدائم أمرٌ لا يمكن تحمله. الهدف هو التحرر من الاحتلال.

ودون إنهاء الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، ستستمر القيادة الفلسطينية في خوض أزمةٍ اقتصادية تلو الأخرى دون أي ملجأ. وعليه، تُشير القيادة الفلسطينية إلى تقديراتٍ متحفظة لدراسات دولية تكشف أن التكلفة القابلة للقياس للاحتلال الإسرائيلي على الاقتصاد الفلسطيني بين عامي 2000 و2017 بلغت 47,7 مليار دولار، أي ما يقرب من 330% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في عام 2017.

بالنسبة للقيادة الفلسطينية، يعد قبول عائدات الضرائب من إسرائيل بينما تتعهد الأخيرة بالحفاظ على هذا الوضع الراهن البائس إذعانٌ للقهر الدائم. ببساطة، لا يستحق ذلك الارتياح المحدود والقصير الأجل الذي ستقدمه إلى حين ظهور الأزمة التالية. الرسالة الفلسطينية هي: الأزمة الاقتصادية ليست سوى مظهر مؤلم واحد من مظاهر الأزمة السياسية الأساسية، ألا وهو استمرار إنكار حق الشعب الفلسطيني في السيطرة على موارده كدولة ذات سيادة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | SAID KHATIB ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Economy of Palestine / Why Palestinians Are Not Accepting Their Tax Revenues?

Why Palestinians Are Not Accepting Their Tax Revenues?

Covid 19  Gaza
Palestinians, working in the public sector, queue outside a bank to receive their salaries in Gaza City on September 1, 2020, amid a lockdown due to increasing cases of COVID-19 infections. Photo: MAHMUD HAMS / AFP

By: Nour Odeh

In his address to the United Nations Security Council on 26 October 2020, UN Special Coordinator for the Middle East Peace Process, Nickolay Mladenov said that the economic crisis facing the Palestinian government is severely exacerbated by its refusal to receive Palestinian tax revenues collected by Israel. Many international officials have voiced the same sentiment and called on the Palestinian government, publicly and privately, to just take the money.

Israel collects Palestinian tax revenue on behalf of the Palestinian government because it controls all the border crossings into Palestine. These comprise customs duties on goods destined for Palestinian markets, VAT taxation, fuel excise taxes and others. This is in accordance with an interim agreement signed, called the Paris Protocol. Israel also collects taxes and other fees from Palestinians in so-called Area C, which amounts for 60% of the occupied West Bank, but has withheld disclosure of how much it actually collects since the year 2000, costing the Palestinian treasury untold losses.

Israel does not offer this ‘service’ for free. It is compensated handsomely with 3% of the total tax revenue collected to cover its administrative cost. A World Bank report published in 2016 estimated that the Palestinian coffers lose $285 million annually from tax revenues collected at border crossing alone, including VAT. This amounts to 2.2% of GDP in Palestine (2016). The same report also notes that in 2014, Israel earned a whopping $63 million from handling fees of collecting Palestinian taxes, which in turn financed nearly one third of the Israeli customs and VAT department’s budget even though the share of Palestinian imports of total imports handled by Israel is merely 6%. The international organization’s recommendation at the time, which has been ignored by Israel, was to cut down this fee to 0.6% instead.

These agreements were supposed to last five years by which time a final agreement would be reached. They were never intended to be a permanent arrangement for the subservience of the Palestinian economy to that of Israel. Palestinian attempts to renegotiate the Paris Protocols have also been repeatedly rejected by Israel.

Tax revenues fund approximately 70% of the Palestinian budget. That is why some described the Palestinian decision to refrain from receiving this money as suicidal. But regardless the qualification, this decision was undoubtedly political and predictable.

The political context is Israel’s fast-track path towards formal annexation of the occupied West Bank or at least large and strategic parts of it. An emboldened Netanyahu is leading a government that has in its coalition agreement a commitment to annexation, with the full blessing of the Trump US administration. In fact, the Trump administration’s own so-called peace plan endorses the annexation of large swaths of occupied Palestinian territory and does not even offer Palestinians the promise of sovereignty or viability as a state. This dead-end destiny of the two-state solution was further validated by the recent signing of an agreement between the US and Israel that extends US funding to the occupied West Bank, in what the Palestinian leadership considered a preemptive recognition of formal annexation.

Kerem Shalom crossing
A truck carrying goods to Palestinians arrives at Kerem Shalom crossing in the southern Gaza Strip on August 15, 2018. Photo: SAID KHATIB / AFP

Israel had used Palestinian tax revenues as a tool of political and economic extortion on several occasions. In 2011, Israel froze transfer of tax revenues twice, including as ‘punishment’ for Palestine’s success in gaining full membership at UNESCO. This behavior violates signed agreements and Israel’s obligations under international law as an occupying power. Yet, it repeated with Palestine’s upgrade to observer state status at the UN (November 2012) and accession to the Rome Statute (January 2015).

Israel’s political exploitation of Palestinian tax revenues reached new painful levels in February 2019, when the Israeli government announced it would withhold approximately $140 million in Palestinian money. That amount was equal to what the Palestinian government spent in annual social services payments to the families of Palestinians detained, killed, and injured by Israel. These payments have been part of Palestinian social services since 1969, predating all agreements between Palestine and Israel. They also continued after the establishment of the Palestinian National Authority, becoming part of the Palestinian Basic Law. Yet in 2018, Israel’s majority-rightwing Knesset passed its own law outlawing the Palestinian law and imposing the fiscal “punishment.” This legislation excluded money transferred to the Israeli Prison Services’ canteens, from which Israel also pockets millions in annual profits.

Ironically, Israel has its own similar law, providing residents and citizens of Israel recognized as “Prisoners of Zion” or relatives of said prisoners or family members of martyrs with financial benefits.

The Palestinian leadership was outraged at this direct intervention in internal Palestinian affairs. It rejected receiving the tax revenues with any deductions because of the dangerous political implications.

Although this crisis was resolved after several painstaking months, the resulting shockwaves of these financial sanctions plunged the Palestinian economy into several crises.

According to UNCTAD, real GDP in Palestine grew by less than 1% in 2019. Even before the pandemic, forecasts for the Palestinian economy in 2020 and 2021 were grim, with GDP per capita projected to decrease by 3% to 4.5%. The international organization noted that Israeli restrictions and “leakage of fiscal resources” to the Israeli treasury stood at 3.7% of GDP or 17.8% of total tax revenues before the punitive deductions. Unemployment stood at 33% in 2019, while poverty levels also rose sharply.

These devastating consequences were a stark reminder to the Palestinian public and decision-makers that Israel’s grip on their lives, economy, and chances of development was absolute.

Faced with an iron-solid political impasse, including the real possibility of the two-state solution losing its very practicability or relevance, the choice for the Palestinian leadership seemed obvious. On 19 May 2020, the Palestinian leadership announced that it would suspend all relations with Israel, including security coordination and the receipt of tax revenues. The political message conveyed was ominous: The Palestinian leadership will not carry on with business as usual when Israel, with US backing, is openly and unreservedly carrying out its expansionist agenda and vowing to ensure that a Palestinian state is never established. Israel had to choose. Either it allows the Palestinian government to govern without obstruction or intervention or it must prepare itself to assume all the responsibilities of an occupying Power.

The results have been crushing. In addition to losing this financial lifeline, the Palestinian government continues to battle the devastating consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic. Internal revenue collection is at its lowest in twenty years. International financial assistance is the lowest in more than ten years. Depending on the forecasts, the pandemic is expected to cost the Palestinian economy anywhere from 7 to 35% of GDP. The World Bank expects Palestinian GDP to contract by 8% this year and the Palestinian government agrees.

For the Palestinian leadership, it is simply unthinkable to accept the political humiliation of taking whatever tax revenues Israel releases while ignoring the wider political context, which is nothing short of a death sentence to Palestinian rights. The harsh economic consequences of this Palestinian move are inescapable. Nearly 200,000 Palestinian civil and security employees have not received a full salary since May 2020, further slashing buying power and prospects of economic recovery.

However, Palestinian policy makers insist that this bitter pill is unavoidable. The international community must understand that improving conditions under permanent occupation is untenable. The goal is freedom from the occupation.

Without ending the Israeli occupation, the Palestinian leadership will continue to battle one economic crisis after another without any recourse. They point to conservative estimates of international studies exposing that the quantifiable cost of Israeli occupation to the Palestinian economy between 2000 and 2017 was $47.7 billion, nearly 330% of GDP in 2017.

For the Palestinian leadership, taking tax revenues from Israel while the latter vows to maintain this miserable status quo is acquiescence to permanent subjugation. It is simply not worth the limited and short-lived relief it would offer until the next crisis emerges. The Palestinian message is: the economic crisis is only one painful manifestation of the underlying political crisis, which is the continued denial of the Palestinian people’s right to control their own resources as a sovereign state.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | SAID KHATIB ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!