فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / وُجوه من فلسطين / في محادثات تشكيل حكومة الائتلاف الإسرائيلية، الفلسطيني أيمن عودة يظهر كصانع ملوك محتمل

في محادثات تشكيل حكومة الائتلاف الإسرائيلية، الفلسطيني أيمن عودة يظهر كصانع ملوك محتمل

Ayman Odeh
Photo: Ahmad Gharabli/ AFP ©AFP ⁃ Ahmad GHARABLI

في مقال نشرته صحيفة نيويورك تايمز في سبتمبر 2019، أوضح أيمن عودة، زعيم القائمة العربية المشتركة، وهو تحالف سياسي لأحزاب فلسطينية كبرى، سبب دعمه لزعيم حزب أزرق- أبيض بيني غانتس كرئيس وزراءٍ جديد لإسرائيل. وفي معرض تسليط الضوء على تركة رئيس الوزراء الحالي بنيامين نتنياهو المتمثلة في غرس “الخوف والكراهية،” قال عودة إن الدعم سيزيد من احتمال أن يُحرم نتنياهو، الذي فشل في الفوز بأغلبية في انتخابات 17 سبتمبر وناضل من أجل تشكيل ائتلاف، من الظفر بولاية أخرى.

يعدّ هذا التصريح جديراً بالذكر لأنه وللمرة الأولى منذ عام 1992 يدعم فيها حزبٌ فلسطيني حزباً يهودياً، على الرغم من أن عودة كان قد أوضح أن هذا لا يعني أن القائمة المشتركة ستنضم إلى ائتلافٍ بقيادة أزرق- أبيض أو أنه أيد غانتس بأي الطريقة.

كما شهد تسليط الضوء على عودة إدراجه ضمن قائمة النجوم الصاعدة لمجلة تايم لعام 2019، أو ما يُسمى بـ”تايم 100 نكست.” وفي وصفها للسياسي، كتبت المجلة، “بينما كانت المنافسة على قيادة الدولة اليهودية المعلنة ذاتياً تتأرجح بين أحزاب اليمين والوسط، ظهر عودة ليس باعتباره صانع ملوك محتمل فحسب، ولكن أيضاً كصوت جديد مؤثر من أجل المساواة والإدماج.”

بيد أن آخرون لم يتعاملوا مع الأمر بإيجابية، إذ سارع نتنياهو بشن هجومٍ واصفاً دعم القائمة المشتركة لغانتس بأنه “هجوم إرهابي وطني تاريخي على دولة إسرائيل” و”تهديدٌ وجودي.”

فهذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يصور فيها نتنياهو القائمة المشتركة بالتهديد، إذ حذر إبان تشكيلها في عام 2015 من أن الناخبين العرب سيخرجون للتصويت بأعدادٍ كبيرة. ومع ذلك، أصبحت ثالث أكبر كتلة في الكنيست، البرلمان الإسرائيلي، ومن المفارقات أن ذلك جاء نتيجةً للقانون الانتخابي الجديد المصمم للحد من التمثيل البرلماني الفلسطيني، مما دفع بعودة، الأب لثلاثة أبناء، إلى دائرة الضوء.

نشأ عودة، المولود عام 1975، في مدينة حيفا، إذ كان المسلم الوحيد في مدرسةٍ مسيحية؛ يتكلم العبرية بطلاقة وكذلك العربية والإنجليزية والرومانية. انخرط عودة بالسياسة في سنٍ مبكرة، حيث شارك بأول مظاهرة له في 30 مارس 1988، الموافق ليوم الأرض، عندما كان يبلغ من العمر 13 عاماً. وسبق وأن قال لصحيفة ذا نيويوركر، أن السنوات الثلاث التالية “كانت الأجمل في حياتي،” وأضاف “شعرت بالارتباط التام بالكفاح.”

في نهاية المطاف، قام جهاز الأمن العام الإسرائيلي (شين بيت)، بالتعامل معه. وخوفاً من تعرضه للملاحقة في كل خطوة يخطوها، غادر البلاد في عام 1993 لدراسة القانون في رومانيا. أثناء وجوده هناك، شارك في العديد من التجمعات المؤيدة للفلسطينيين واستغرق بدراسة السير الذاتية السياسية للثوريين، مستذكراً، “عندما قرأت مالكولم إكس، لم أتفق معه على الإطلاق، لكني استنشقته، ارتبطت بغضبه.” عاد إلى إسرائيل بحيوية متجددة في عام 1997، وفي نهاية المطاف، حصل على شهادة ممارسة مهنة المحاماة في عام 2001 لكنه لم يصبح قط عضواَ في نقابة المحامين في إسرائيل.

بدلاً من ذلك، انخرط بالسياسة بشكلٍ متزايد، لا سيما انضمامه إلى الجبهة الديمقراطية للسلام والمساواة (حداش)، وهو حزب سياسي يساري متطرف مكون من الحزب الشيوعي الإسرائيلي وغيره من الجماعات اليسارية. تولى رئاسة الحزب منذ عام 2015.

تبع ذلك العديد من الأحداث المهمة في مسيرته المهنية، كان إحداها مشاركته في ديسمبر 2006 في صياغة “الرؤية المستقبلية للعرب الفلسطينيين في إسرائيل،” وهي وثيقة مثيرة للجدل تدعو إسرائيل إلى أن تصبح “دولة لجميع مواطنيها” وليس فقط دولة يهودية.

عمل أيضاً بنشاط مع الوزارات الإسرائيلية، كما أشار عوفر زالزبرغ، كبير المحللين في المجموعة الدولية للأزمات، وحصل على دعم للقرار رقم. 922، وهو خطة تنمية اقتصادية بقيمة 4,3 مليار دولار للقطاع الفلسطيني على مدى خمس سنوات. وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك، “إنه أمر غير مسبوق،” وأضاف “لا تزال الخطوة غير كافية لتصحيح الفجوات الكبيرة، لكنها لا تزال خطوة غير مسبوقة.”

عندما دخل عودة المعترك السياسي، كان لا يزال متأثراً بالكفاح المسلح في فلسطين، لكنه أدرك أن الأمور الصغيرة ذات أهمية أيضاً، إذ قال لصحيفة ذا نيويوركر: “أذهب إلى السوق في حيفا ويقول لي أصحاب المتاجر الفلسطينيون: ‘هذه الأشياء التي تقولونها، تمنح اليهود سبباً لعدم المجيء إلى هنا.‘” وأضاف “علمني ذلك أخيراً أنه كان عليّ التفكير في القضايا الكبرى، ولكن أيضاً مشاكل الحياة اليومية التي يواجهها الأشخاص الذين يعيشون هذه المشاكل.”

يدعم حزب حداش حل الدولتين، لكن شركائه في القائمة العربية المشتركة، مثل بلد، يدعمون حل الدولة الواحدة. هناك أيضا حزبٌ إسلامي داخل التحالف. لذلك، بالإضافة إلى التغلب على تحديات كونك حزباً عربياً في الكنيست، هناك اختلافاتٌ كبيرة بين الأطراف في القائمة المشتركة، التي اضطرت إلى العمل معاً لتخطي عتبة التمثيل النسبي بعد رفعها من 2% إلى 3,25%.

وقال زالزبرغ: “يحتاج أيمن إلى إبقاء الكرة في ملعبين ضمن القائمة المشتركة في مواجهة الأغلبية اليهودية،” مضيفاً أن مهارات القيادة الاستثنائية لعودة ستكون أساسية في ذلك.

ثم هناك التحدي المتمثل في جذب مزيدٍ من الدعم للأهداف التي تقوم عليها رسالة عوده: مستقبل مشترك وأكثر مساواة.

تشمل هذه الأهداف معالجة تفشي الجريمة في البلدات والمدن الفلسطينية، فضلاً عن ضمان أن قوانين الإسكان والتخطيط توفر للسكان نفس الحقوق التي يتمتع بها نظرائهم اليهود، والوصول إلى المستشفيات بشكلٍ أفضل. وأوضح عودة أيضاً أنه كجزء من القائمة المشتركة يُطالبون بزيادة المعاشات التقاعدية من أجل رعاية أفضل للمسنين، وتنفيذ برنامج للتصدي للعنف ضد المرأة، والإدماج القانوني للقرى والبلدات غير المعترف بها التي لا تتوفر بها الكهرباء أو الماء، والعودة إلى مفاوضات السلام لإقامة دولة فلسطينية مستقلة على أساس حدود عام 1967. كما يريد أيضاً إلغاء قانون الدولة القومية لعام 2018 الذي ينص على أن إسرائيل هي الدولة القومية للشعب اليهودي فحسب.

وبحسب زالزبرغ، فإن حشد الناخبين العرب وراء تحالفٍ محتمل بقيادة غانتس قد يشهد إعادة تأسيس المفاوضات مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والحد من جهود بناء المستوطنات، لأن الحكومة قد تخشى فقدان الدعم العربي في المستقبل.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أدان آخرون اختيار عودة عدم مقاطعة عملية تشكيل الحكومة. “بينما قد يُثلج عودة قلوب الصهاينة الليبراليين في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز الذين يرغبون في تطهير صورة إسرائيل في الخارج بالتخلص من نتنياهو، لا يوجد مبدأ أو كرامة بتأييد مجموعة من جنرالات الجيش السابقين الذين ارتكبوا جرائم حربٍ في الأراضي المحتلة ويُطالبون بضمها وبالسيادة اليهودية الدائمة،” بحسب ما كتبه بشير أبو منة، المحاضر في جامعة كنت الأمريكية، في مجلة جاكوبين، واصفاً قرار عودة بـ”الانتهازي”.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن تأييد عودة قد يحدث فرقاً بسيطاً إذا قرر غانتس تشكيل حكومة وحدة مع حزب الليكود بزعامة نتنياهو. وحتى إذا تمت الإطاحة بنتنياهو، الذي يواجه تهم فساد متعددة، من الصورة، فإن العناصر اليمينية ستبقى ثابتة على رأس الكنيست.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Ahmad GHARABLI | ©AFP ⁃ Ahmad GHARABLI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Faces from Palestine / In Israel’s Coalition Talks, Palestinian Politician Ayman Odeh Emerges as Possible Kingmaker

In Israel’s Coalition Talks, Palestinian Politician Ayman Odeh Emerges as Possible Kingmaker

Ayman Odeh
Photo: Ahmad Gharabli/ AFP

In a September 2019 New York Times op-ed, Ayman Odeh, leader of the Joint List, a political alliance of major Palestinian parties, explained why he is backing Blue and White leader Benny Gantz as Israel’s new prime minister. Highlighting incumbent Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s legacy of instilling ‘fear and hate’, Odeh said the backing would increase the likelihood of Netanyahu, who failed to win a majority in the 17 September elections and has struggled to form a coalition, being denied another term.

The proclamation is notable because it is the first time since 1992 that a Palestinian party has supported a Jewish party, although Odeh was clear that this did not mean the Joint List would join a Blue and White-led coalition or that it endorsed Gantz in any way.

Odeh’s raised profile also saw him included in Time magazine’s 2019 100 Next list. In its description of the politician, the magazine wrote, ‘As the contest for leadership of the self-declared Jewish state teetered between right-wing and centrist factions, Odeh emerged not only as a possible kingmaker but also as a stirring new voice for equality and inclusion.’

Others were not as positive. Netanyahu was quick to attack, calling the Joint List’s support for Gantz a “historic national terror attack on the state of Israel” and an “existential threat”.

This is not the first time Netanyahu has portrayed the Joint List as a threat, warning at the time of its formation in 2015 that Arab voters would come out in droves. It nevertheless became the third-largest bloc in the Knesset, Israel’s parliament, ironically as result of a new election law designed to limit Palestinian parliamentary representation, thrusting the father of three into the spotlight.

Born in 1975, Odeh grew up in the city of Haifa. The only Muslim in a Christian school, he speaks fluent Hebrew as well as Arabic, English and Romanian. He became politically engaged at a young age, attending his first demonstration on 30 March 1988, Land Day, aged 13. The next three years “were the most beautiful of my life”, he told The New Yorker. “I felt completely identified with the struggle.”

Eventually Shin Bet, Israel’s internal security service, caught up with him. Paranoid that he was being followed at every turn, he left the country in 1993 to study law in Romania. While there, he took part in many pro-Palestinian rallies and immersed himself in the political biographies of revolutionaries, recalling, “When I read Malcolm X, I didn’t agree with it all, but I inhaled it, I connected to his rage.” He returned to Israel with renewed vigour in 1997. He eventually became certified to practice law in 2001 but never became a member of the Israel Bar Association.

Instead, he became increasingly politically active, notably joining the Democratic Front for Peace and Equality (Hadash), a far-left political party formed of the Israeli Communist Party and other leftist groups. He has been chairman of the party since 2015.

Other career milestones followed. One of them was his involvement in December 2006 in drafting ‘The Future Vision of the Palestinian Arabs in Israel’, a controversial document calling for Israel to become ‘a state of all its citizens’ and not just a Jewish state.

He also worked effectively with the Israeli ministries, noted Ofer Zalzberg, a senior analyst at the International Crisis Group, securing support for Resolution no. 922, a $4.3 billion economic development plan for the Palestinian sector over five years. “It’s unprecedented,” he told Fanack. “It still doesn’t do enough to correct the vast gaps, but it is still unprecedented.”

When Odeh entered politics, he was still influenced by the armed struggle in Palestine but realized the smaller things mattered as well. “I would go to the market in Haifa and Palestinian shopkeepers would say to me, ‘These things that you’re saying, it gives the Jews a reason not to come shop here,’” he told The New Yorker. “It taught me eventually that I had to think about the big issues but also about the everyday lives of the people who are living these issues.”

Hadash supports a two-state solution, but its partners in the Joint List such as Balad support a one-state solution. There is also an Islamist party within the alliance. Therefore, as well as navigating the challenges of being an Arab party in the Knesset, there are dramatic differences between the parties in the Joint List, which were compelled to work together to meet the proportional representation threshold after it was raised from 2 per cent to 3.25 per cent.

“Ayman needs to play two playing fields within the Joint List vis-a-vis the Jewish majority,” said Zalzberg, adding that Odeh’s particular leadership skills will be key in doing so.

Then there is the challenge of attracting further support for the goals that underpin Odeh’s top-line message: a shared and more equal future.

These goals include addressing rampant crime in Palestinian towns and cities as well as ensuring housing and planning laws provide residents with the same rights as their Jewish counterparts and better access to hospitals. Odeh has also outlined as part of the Joint List demands raising pensions for better elderly care, a programme to address violence against women, legal incorporation of unrecognized villages and towns that do not have access to electricity or water and a return to peace negotiations to establish an independent Palestinian state on the basis of the 1967 borders. He also wants to repeal the 2018 nation-state law that says that Israel is the nation-state of the Jewish people only.

According to Zalzberg, rallying Arab voters behind a potential Gantz-led coalition could see negotiations with the Palestine Liberation Organization reestablished and curb settlement construction efforts, as the government may fear losing Arab support in the future.

Meanwhile, others have condemned Odeh’s choice not to boycott the process of forming a government. ‘While Odeh might warm the hearts of liberal Zionists in The New York Times who want to clean Israel’s image abroad by removing Netanyahu, there is nothing principled or dignified about endorsing a group of ex-army generals who have committed war crimes in the Occupied Territories and advocate annexation and permanent Jewish supremacy,’ wrote Bashir Abu-Manneh, a lecturer at the University of Kent, in Jacobin magazine, calling Odeh’s decision ‘opportunistic’.

Furthermore, Odeh’s endorsement may make little difference if Gantz decides to form a unity government with Netanyahu’s Likud party. Even if Netanyahu, who is facing multiple corruption charges, is removed from the picture, right-wing elements will remain firmly intact at the helm of the Knesset.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ahmad Gharabli ©AFP | Ahmad Gharabli ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update