فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / وُجوه من فلسطين / إياد البغدادي ينجو من قبضة المملكة العربية السعودية على حرية التعبير

إياد البغدادي ينجو من قبضة المملكة العربية السعودية على حرية التعبير

من الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى النرويج، مروراً بماليزيا: الخطوات التي توجب على الكاتب الفلسطيني والباحث والناشط في مجال حقوق الإنسان إياد البغدادي اتخاذها على أمل أن يتمكن من الاستمرار في إدانة الظلم وإظهار كيف تتصرف دول الخليج تجاه مواطنيها – بينما لا يزال خارج أسوار السجن وعلى قيد الحياة. يقوم إياد حالياً بالتحري عن المملكة العربية السعودية وولي العهد محمد بن سلمان من النرويج.

لفت إياد البغدادي، الذي سيبلغ من العمر 42 عاماً في 17 يونيو، الكثير من الاهتمام خلال بضع سنواتٍ فحسب. نشأ إياد، الذي يقول وفقاً لكلماته إنه لم “يقصد أن يصبح ناشطاً في مجال حقوق الإنسان،” في عائلة هادئة من الطبقة المتوسطة من فلسطين في الكويت، حيث استقر والده إسماعيل، طبيب القلب، من مصر بعد أن أُجبرت أسرته على مغادرة يافا في عام 1948 بعد قيام الدولة الإسرائيلية. وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك في 20 مايو “بعض الناشطين الذين أعرفهم ما يمكن أن نسميه الناشطين العرضيين،” وأضاف “حدث ذلك عندما كانوا هم، أو أشخاص من أسرهم، مستهدفين بينما كانوا يعيشوا حياةً طبيعية، في واقعهم الخاص. ثم يواجهون حقيقة أكثر قسوة بسبب حدثٍ يوقظهم.

Palestine- Iyad el-Baghdadi
Photo: Twitter

بينما وُلد نشطاء آخرون في أسرٍ سياسية. هذه ليست حالتي، فقد جُذبت بالفطرة لطرح أسئلةٍ حول الحرية والكرامة. وأيضاً، كفلسطيني لا يحمل جنسية، من الصعب أن يصبح الأمر غير سياسي.”

انخرط في السياسية أكثر فأكثر مع بداية الانتفاضة المصرية في 25 يناير 2011، عندما بدأ في تحليل الأحداث علناً وترجمة مقاطع الفيديو والبيانات من العربية إلى الإنجليزية كوسيلة لجعل المزيد من الناس يفهمون ما يجري هناك. وقال البغدادي: “لم أفكر كثيراً في الأمر، شعرت فحسب أني لو كنت هناك لكنت سأذهب إلى الاحتجاجات أيضاً.” وتابع القول “شعرت بالحاجة إلى المشاركة شخصياً. كان الأمر وكأنه شعور داخلي يقول لي إنها فرصتنا للعيش أخيراً في منطقة تتمتع بالكرامة والحرية وحرية التعبير. اعتدت أن أفكر أنه ربما عندما أتقدم في السن، سيبدأ الناس في معالجة هذه القضايا، إلا أن الأمر حصل الآن، حانت لحظة الحقيقة.” بدأ بنشر تغريداته حول مصر منذ بداية الانتفاضة الأولى، 25 يناير، وبالكاد استغرق الأمر أكثر من ثلاثة أسابيع قبل أن يتلقى إخطاراً من السلطات الكويتية في 12 فبراير، بضرورة عدم تخطي الحدود وأنه فعل ذلك. “لم يكن هناك ما يوقفني. كان الناس يتعرضون للقتل والهجوم في هذه البلدان التي تقاتل من أجل الكرامة، فلماذا أتوقف عند أول تهديد؟”.

اكتسبت تغريداته، التي لم توثق الكثير منها آخر التطورات فحسب بل قدم أيضاً تعليقاتٍ ساخرة عن الزعماء المستبدين في المنطقة، متابعةً هائلة، ولا سيما وسم #ArabTyrantManual الذي انتشر على نطاقٍ واسع، والذي تمت ترجمته إلى العديد من اللغات. كما تجاوزت مشاهدة مقطع فيديو له على موقع يوتيوب، الذي نُشر في فبراير 2011، لدعوة الناشطة المصرية أسماء محفوظ للمصريين للاحتجاج في ميدان التحرير في القاهرة، والذي يعرض ترجمةً للبغدادي، أكثر من مليون مشاهدة. كما أنه أيضاً مؤلف كتاب “بيان الربيع العربي” المؤلف من مجلدين، والذي أوجز فيه رؤية “الليبرالية الإسلامية” التي كان يأمل أن تصبح الفلسفة التوجيهية لمنطقته في أعقاب الربيع العربي.

ولكن بعد ثلاث سنوات، في عام 2014، واجه أول عواقب حقيقية لمشاركته هذه. ففي 30 أبريل 2014، قام بالتغريد عن صديقه المقرب، الناشط المصري باسم صبري، الذي كان قد توفي للتو. وفي اليوم التالي، في الأول من مايو، أخبرته سلطات الهجرة الإماراتية في مدينته، عجمان، أن أمامه خياران: إما أن يُسجن لفترة غير محددة من الزمن، أو أن يقبل بالترحيل الفوري. لم تقدم السلطات أي سببٍ رسمي لهذا الإجراء، ذلك أنه لم يُتهم بارتكاب أي جريمة ولا يمكنه الطعن في القرار. اختار البغدادي، الذي كان يبلغ من العمر 36 عاماً، الترحيل. ولكن دون وجود بلدٍ يمكنه العودة إليه، انتهى به الأمر في المنفى: أولاً في ماليزيا، التي رفضته، حيث ظل عالقاً في مطار كوالالمبور؛ ثم، في أكتوبر 2014، انتهى به المطاف في النرويج. استغرق الأمر منه عامين لنقل عائلته إلى النرويج. ومع ذلك، ما زال والديه وشقيقته ينتظران الترحيب بهما في مكانٍ آمن، ويقول البغدادي إنه يخشى على حياتهم.

يرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى حقيقة أنه في مايو2019، كشف للصحافة أنه تعرض لتهديداتٍ بالقتل من المملكة العربية السعودية، وهو ما يراه وسيلةً لمحاولة إسكاته، في ضوء التحقيقات التي يجريها حول المملكة وقائدها الفعلي محمد بن سلمان.

وقال لـفَنَك إنه لم يشعر أن عليه الإعلان عن هذه التهديدات مباشرةً، فقد صرح علانية أنه كان بالفعل ضالعاً في قضية بيزوس “للتحقيق في الحملات التي تسيطر عليها الدولة السعودية على تويتر ضد رجل الأعمال الأمريكي ومؤسس أمازون جيف بيزوس.”

وفي 13 مايو في أوسلو، أصدر الناشط بياناً يوضح فيه بالتفصيل ما حصل: “في يوم الخميس، 25 أبريل، وصل عملاء بي إس تي [دائرة أمن شرطة النرويج] إلى عتبة داري. أظهروا لي شاراتهم وطلبوا مني مرافقتهم. اصطحبوني إلى مكانٍ آمن ثم أخبروني أنهم تلقوا معلومات من وكالة استخباراتٍ شريكة تشير إلى أني كنت هدفاً للتهديد. […] قرار الإعلان عن التهديدات لم يتم الاستخفاف به. بدأت في التفكير في خيار نشر التهديدات على الملأ منذ اليوم الأول، وكانت النصيحة التي تلقيتها من خبراء أمنيين مستقلين هي أن نشر التهديدات ستكون بمثابة رادع لاستهدافي الآن، لأن العالم سيراقب. من الأفضل بالنسبة لي أن أكون في منتصف ساحة البلدة من أن أكون في الظل. […] أكدت تقارير إضافية نُشرت في مجلة تايم في 9 مايو أن شركة إنتل الأمريكية قد أصدرت نصائح حول ناشطين آخرين على الأقل – عمر عبد العزيز في كندا، وناشط مقيم في الولايات المتحدة يفضل عدم الكشف عن اسمه في هذه المرحلة. وضع عمر عبد العزيز تحت الحماية من قبل السلطات الكندية، وفي الوقت نفسه مُنع الناشط المقيم في الولايات المتحدة من السفر إلى بلدان معينة كان يخطط لزيارتها.”

باعتباره صديقاً لجمال خاشقجي، وهو صحفي سعودي بارز قُتل في القنصلية السعودية في أكتوبر 2018 في إسطنبول – حيث يُعتقد أن ذلك تم بناءً على أوامر من محمد بن سلمان- وباعتباره من أشد المؤمنين بالديمقراطية والحرية، يشعر البغدادي بأن من واجبه مواصلة فضح جرائم المملكة العربية السعودية. وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك، “المملكة العربية السعودية هي ساحة المعركة في الوقت الحالي،” وأضاف “إنه بلدٌ كبير والتغيير مطلوبٌ هناك. يمكنها أن توقف أي حركة تريد الحرية والكرامة، كما حدث في السودان مؤخراً. والآن حان الوقت، حيث بدأ العالم يدرك أن المملكة العربية السعودية إحدى المشاكل.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Faces from Palestine / Iyad el-Baghdadi, surviving Freedom of Speech from Saudi Arabia’s Grip

Iyad el-Baghdadi, surviving Freedom of Speech from Saudi Arabia’s Grip

From the UAE to Norway, passing by Malaysia: the steps that the Palestinian writer, researcher and human rights activist Iyad el-Baghdadi had to take were made in the hope of being able to continue denouncing injustice and show how the Gulf countries behave towards their citizens – while remaining out of jail, and alive. He is currently investigating Saudi Arabia and the country’s crown prince Mohammad bin Salman (MBS) from Norway.

Iyad el-Baghdadi, who will turn 42 on June 17, has attracted a lot of attention in only a few years. Not “destined to become a human rights activist” according to his own words, he grew up in a quiet middle class family from Palestine in Kuwait, where his father Ismael, a cardiologist, had settled from Egypt after his family had been forced to leave Jaffa in 1948 after the creation of the Israeli state. “Some activists I know are what we can call accidental activists”, Iyad el-Baghdadi told Fanack on May 20. “It’s when they, or people in their family, were targeted by something whereas before they were living a normal life, in their own reality.

Palestine- Iyad el-Baghdadi
Photo: Twitter ©Twitter

Then they are faced with another harsher reality through an event that awakens them. Other activists were born into political families. This is not my case. I was just naturally drown to questions about freedom and dignity. Also, as a Palestinian having no citizenship, it is difficult to become apolitical.”

His involvement became more political with the beginning of the Egyptian uprising on January 25, 2011, when he starts publicly analyzing events and translating videos and statements from Arabic to English as a way to make more people understand what was going on there. “I didn’t think much about it, I just felt that if I was there I would have gone to the protests as well”, el-Baghdadi said. “I needed to be personally involved. It was like an organic sense telling me that it was our opportunity to finally live in a region with dignity, freedom and freedom of speech. I used to think that maybe when I would be old, people would start tackling those issues, but it was happening then, it was the moment of truth.” He started tweeting about Egypt right from the day of the first uprising, January 25, and it took barely more than three weeks before he received a notification from the Kuwaiti authorities on February 12, saying there was a limit not to cross and that he had already crossed it. “I wouldn’t have stopped for anything. People were being killed and attacked in these countries fighting for dignity, so why stop myself at the first threat?”

His tweets, many of which not only reported on the latest developments but also provided mocking commentary about the region’s dictatorial leaders, gained an enormous following, notably with the widely spread hashtag #ArabTyrantManual, which was translated in many languages.

A You Tube video, posted in February 2011, of Egyptian activist Asmaa Mahfouz’s call for Egyptians to protest in Tahrir square in Cairo, featuring translation by Baghdadi, was viewed over a million times.

He is also the author of the two-volume Arab Spring Manifesto, in which he outlined a vision of an “Islamic libertarianism” that he hoped could become the guiding philosophy of his region in the wake of the Arab Spring.

But it’s three years later, in 2014, that he was faced with the first real consequences of his involvement. On April 30, 2014, he tweeted about his close friend, the Egyptian activist Bassem Sabry, who had just died. The next day, on May 1, UAE immigration authorities in his town, Ajman, told him that he faced a choice: either he could be imprisoned for an indefinite amount of time, or he could accept immediate deportation. The authorities did not provide any official reason for this action, as he wasn’t charged with a crime nor could appeal the decision. Baghdadi, who was 36 at the time, chose deportation. But without any country to go back to, he ended up in exile: first in Malaysia, which refused him, leading him to be stuck in Kuala Lumpur airport; then, in October 2014, he ended up being welcomed in Norway. It took him two years to get his family to Norway as well. Yet his parents and sister are still waiting to be welcomed in a safe place too, and el-Baghdadi says he is afraid for their lives.

That is in part due to the fact that in May 2019, he revealed to the press that he has been the target of death threats from Saudi Arabia, which he sees as a way of trying to shut him up, in the light of the investigations he has been leading on the Kingdom and its de facto leader MBS. He told Fanack that he did not immediately feel ready to publicize the threatst. He had already publicly said that he was involved in the Bezos case “to investigate the Saudi state-controlled Twitter campaigns against U.S. businessman and Amazon founder Jeff Bezos.”

On May 13 in Oslo, the activist made a declaration detailing the situation: “On Thursday, April 25th, PST [Norway Police Security Services] agents arrived at my doorstep. They showed me their badges and asked me to come with them. They took me to a secure location and then told me that they have received a tip from a partner intelligence agency that indicated that I was the target of a threat. […] The decision to go public with the threats was not taken lightly. I started weighing the option of going public from Day 1, and the advice I received from independent security experts was that publicity would serve as a deterrent to targeting me now, since the world would be watching. It’s safer for me to be in the middle of the town square than to be in the shadows. […] Additional reporting published in TIME Magazine on May 9th confirmed that US intel had also passed tips concerning at least two other activists – Omar Abdulaziz in Canada, and a US-based activist who prefers to remain unnamed at this point. Omar Abdulaziz was placed under protection by Canadian authorities, meanwhile the US-based activist was barred from travel to certain countries he had planned to visit.”

As a friend of Jamal Khashoggi, a prominent Saudi journalist killed in the Saudi consulate in October 2018 in Istanbul – presumably on orders from MBS – and as a strong believer in democracy and freedom, el-Baghdadi feels that it is his duty to continue to expose Saudi Arabia’s crimes. “Saudi Arabia is the battlefield for now”, he told Fanack. “It’s such a large country and change is needed there. It can shut down any movement wanting freedom and dignity, like recently in Sudan. And now the time is right, as the world started to acknowledge that Saudi Arabia is a problem.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Twitter | ©Twitter

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.