فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / وُجوه / مجد المشهرواي: المهندسة الفلسطينية التي حولت الرماد إلي طوب بناء

مجد المشهرواي: المهندسة الفلسطينية التي حولت الرماد إلي طوب بناء

Palestine- Majd al-Mashharawi,
مجد المشهرواي. Photo AFP

يعاني قطاع الإنشاءات والمباني في قطاع غزة من نقصٍ شديد في مواد البناء بسبب القيود الإسرائيلية المشددة على استيرادها، وبخاصة الأسمنت والرمل والحصى التي يتم استخدامهما في صناعة الطوب.

ولكن كما يقال “الحاجة أم الاختراع،” فقد نجحت المهندسة مجد المشهرواي (24 عاماً) من مدينة غزة، بالتعاون مع زميلتها في الدراسة روان عبد اللطيف في تحويل رماد المحروقات إلي طوب، الذي يعتبر الأول من نوعه في العالم العربي، نظراً لتركيبته المكونة من الاسمنت المخلوط مع رماد الفحم والمحروقات الخشبية بدلاً من الرمل و الحصى.

فقد أطلقت مجد على مشروعها الحجري اسم “Green Cake” أي الكيك الأخضر، ذلك أنهم يُعيدون فيه استخدام الرماد بدلاً من إرساله إلى مدافن النفايات فضلاً عن كونه أخف وزناً بكثير من الطوب الاسمنتي، وعازل للصوت ويمتاز بخصائص عزلٍ جيدة، وأرخص بكثير من الطوب الاسمنتي العادي.

جاءت فكرة صناعة هذا الطوب البيئي عندما كانت مجد وزميلتها روان طالبتين في السنة الثالثة بكلية الهندسة المدنية بالجامعة الإسلامية، حيث بدأتا بالتفكير بمقترحٍ لمشروعٍ جديد في مجال البناء يوفر لهما فرصة عمل جيدة في قطاع الإنشاءات بعد تخرجهن من الجامعة في ظل ارتفاع معدلات البطالة في القطاع. وفي نفس الوقت رغبتا بتقديم حلولٍ صديقة للبيئة والتقليل من نسبة التكاليف المادية المرتفعة لمواد البناء في قطاع غزة.

وتؤكد مجد لفَنَك أن الطوب الذي صنعته من شأنه أن يخفف من نسبة التلوث البيئي في قطاع غزة، لأنه عادةً ما يتم التخلص من الرماد المتطاير من المواد المحترقة إما عن طريق دفنها في التربة أو إلقاءها في مكب النفايات. وتعد كلا الطريقتين ضارتين بالبيئة، ذلك أن الرماد يمكن أن يتغلغل في المياه الجوفية ويلوثها.

وطوال عملها على المشروع، حصلت مجد على فرصةٍ كبيرة لتلقي استشارات فنية من الخبراء المتخصصين في قطاع البناء، بالإضافة لتلقيها الدعم المالي لتغطية بعض تكاليف اختراعها للبدء بمشروعها.

وعن أسباب وعوامل نجاحها، تقول مجد أن امتلاكها لإرادة قوية وإصرارها الكبير على العمل، مع عدم استسلامها للفشل من أول مرة كان السبب في نجاحها. وفي نفس الوقت أكدت مجد أنه لولا دعم وتشجيع عائلتها وخاصةً والدها، رجل الأعمال الغزي إسماعيل المشهرواي، الذي تعتبره ملهمها الرئيسي ومثلها الأعلى بالحياة، لما استطاعت تطوير اختراعها وتحقيق انجازات كبيرة في مجال الأعمال البيئية.

ومع ذلك، تعترف بأن طريقها لم يكن ممهداً وسهلاً. فلكونها شابة تقتحم مجال الإنشاءات الذي يسيطر عليه عادة الرجال، واجهت عدة صعوبات وتحدياتٍ مجتمعية. كما واجهت مجد أيضاً تحدياتٍ تقنية، عندما فشلت نتائج الفحوصات الأولية لعينات الطوب التي أنتجتها في أول التجربة. ولكن مع استمرار مجد في التجربة عدة مرات، نجحت في النهاية في إنتاج طوب البناء البيئي.

فازت مجد بجائزة الإمارات البرونزية للطاقة للعام 2017، ضمن فئة البحث والتطوير عن مشروعها. وتُعد هذه الجائزة من الجوائز المهمة التي تنظمها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كل عامين، بغرض التشجيع على الاستخدام الأفضل لمصادر الطاقة. كما تهدف الجائزة إلى تسليط الضوء على أفضل الممارسات والأعمال الرائدة في مجال كفاءة الطاقة، والطاقة البديلة، والاستدامة، وحماية البيئة.

أما بالنسبة لشعور مجد حول فوزها بهذه الجائزة المميزة، أخبرتنا في فَنَك: “شعرت بالفرحة والحزن في آنٍ واحد، فقد فرحت لأني أول فلسطينية تحصل على هذه الجائزة المميزة في مجال الطاقة والبيئة، وحزنت في ذات الوقت لأن عائلتي لم تتمكن من السفر معي، لتشاركني فرحة الفوز… فعائلتي لم تحصل على تصريح عبور عبر معبر إيرز الإسرائيلي، فقد تم تكريمي وحيدة دون عائلتي، مما جعلني أشعر بغصة في نفسي، لأني أردت أن أرى الفرحة والفخر في أعين والدي أثناء استلامي للجائزة.”

وبالإضافة لجائزة الإمارات، حصلت مجد أيضاً على المركز الأول في مسابقة تحدي اليابان، مما أهلها للسفر إلى اليابان ونقل تجربتها الريادية هناك. واعتبرت مجد فرصة سفرها إلى اليابان بمثابة فرصةٍ مميزة حيث اكتشفت من خلالها الإبداع الياباني عن قرب، وتعرفت عبرها على صناعات وثقافات جديدة.

وبالإضافة إلى Green Cake، وجهت مجد اهتمامها أيضاً نحو تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة، حيث بدأت بمجموعة تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية خارج الشبكة تسمى SunBox. وباستغلالها لأشعة الشمس التي تغطي القطاع على مدار العام تقريباً، تولد المجموعة كيلو واط واحد من الكهرباء، وهو ما يكفي لتشغيل أربعة مصابيح، واثنين من أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمول، وهاتفين، وجهاز توجيه إنترنت، وتلفزيون/ مروحة/ ثلاجة صغيرة ليوم كامل، قبل أن تضطر إلى إعادة شحنها. ففي القطاع الذي يعاني من انقطاع التيار الكهربائي المتكرر، تأمل مجد أن توفر المجموعة، التي يتم بيعها بسعر 450 دولاراً، للغزيين نوعية معيشة أفضل وفرصاً للنمو الاقتصادي.

وفي حال نجح مشروعها الأولي، تأمل مجد بأن تجمع تمويلاً كافياً للتوسع خارج نطاق غزة، بما في ذلك مخيمات اللاجئين في الضفة الغربية، وللسوريين في الأردن والمجتمعات البدوية خارج الشبكة في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط.

وعن أحلام مجد المستقبلية، قالت لنا “أتمنى أن أجد مزيداً من الحلول لمشاكل البيئة بقطاع غزة، ومساعدة أكبر عدد ممكن من الناس في مجال الطاقة والبيئة، وأن أنجح في عقد صفقاتٍ وشراكاتٍ تجارية مع شركات أجنبية وعالمية من أجل تطوير أعمالي… ونقل تجربة اختراع الطوب البيئي لمعظم الدول النامية.”

وتابعت قولها “يجب على الشباب الفلسطيني أن لا يشعر باليأس بسبب الظروف المحيطة به، وأن يتحلى دوماً بالصبر، لأنه لا يوجد طريق سهل وسريع للنجاح في الحياة. كل شيء يحتاج للوقت والصبر، ولا يوجد نجاح لم يسبقه فشل، لذا من يريد النجاح عليه الاستمرار بالمحاولة عدة مرات حتى يحقق هدفه بالحياة.”

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Palestine / Faces from Palestine / Majd al-Mashharawi, the Palestinian Engineer Making Bricks Out of Ash

Majd al-Mashharawi, the Palestinian Engineer Making Bricks Out of Ash

Palestine- Majad al-Masharwi
Majd al-Mashharawi. Photo AFP

The construction sector in the Gaza Strip suffers from an acute shortage of construction materials as a result of Israel’s tight import restrictions. Cement, sand and gravel used to manufacture bricks are in particularly short supply.

But necessity is the mother of invention, as the saying goes. In collaboration with Rawan Abdullatif, 24-year-old engineer Majd al-Mashharawi from Gaza City has succeeded in converting ash into bricks. The first of their kind in the Arab world, the bricks are made from cement mixed with coal and wood ash instead of sand and gravel.

‘Green Cake’ bricks, so called because they re-use ash that would otherwise go into landfills and are much lighter than concrete, also have good soundproofing and insulation properties and are cheaper than normal concrete blocks.

Al-Mashharawi and her friend, both graduates of the Faculty of Civil Engineering at the Islamic University, came up with the concept after brainstorming ideas to tackle Gaza’s high unemployment rate. They also wanted to provide an eco-friendly solution and reduce the high costs of building materials in the enclave.

Speaking to Fanack Chronicle, al-Mashharawi said that the bricks will reduce the environmental pollution in Gaza, because ash is usually disposed of either by burying it in the soil or dumping it in landfills. Both methods are harmful because ash can pollute groundwater.

Through the project, al-Mashharawi received technical advice from experts in the construction sector, in addition to obtaining financial support to cover some of her start-up costs.

She attributes her success to her strong will and determination to work, in addition to her refusal to give up. At the same time, she said she would not have got as far as she has without for the support and encouragement of her family, especially her father, Gazan businessman Ismail al-Mashharawi, who was her inspiration and role model.

However, she admits that her journey has been far from smooth. As a woman entering the male-dominated construction industry, she faced considerable social resistance. She also confronted technical challenges. The first brick samples she produced failed the initial tests. She continued to experiment with different mixtures, eventually perfecting the material that became Green Cake.

In 2017, the project won bronze in the research and development category of the Emirates Award for Energy. The prestigious award, which is presented every two years by the United Arab Emirates, recognizes efforts to promote the best use of energy resources. It aims to highlight best practices and pioneering work in the fields of energy efficiency, alternative energy, sustainability and environmental protection.

Speaking about her reaction to winning the award, al-Mashharawi said, “I was so happy and sad at the same time. I was happy because I was the first Palestinian woman to win this prestigious award in the field of energy and environment. I was sad at the same time because my family could not share with me the happiness of winning…My family did not have a permit to pass through the Erez crossing. I was honoured alone, without my family, which made me feel sorry for myself because I wanted to see the joy and pride in my father’s eyes as I received the award.”

In addition to the Emirates Award, al-Mashharawi won first place in the Japan Gaza Innovation Challenge, enabling her to travel to Japan and share her pioneering with other young entrepreneurs. She said the visit was a unique opportunity to experience Japanese innovation first hand as well as learn about different industries and cultures.

In addition to Green Cake, al-Mashharawi is also turning her attention to renewable energy technologies, starting with an off-the-grid solar kit called SunBox. Harnessing Gaza’s almost year-round sun, the kit generates 1 kilowatt of electricity, enough to power four lamps, two laptops, two phones, an internet router and a TV/fan/small refrigerator for a full day, before needing to be recharged. In a place that is plagued by frequent power outages, al-Mashharawi hopes the kit, which sells for $450, will offer Gazans a better quality of life and opportunities for economic growth.

If the launch goes well, al-Mashharawi hopes to raise the financing to expand beyond Gaza, including into West Bank refugee camps, Syrians in Jordan and off-grid Bedouin communities throughout the Middle East.

On her plans for the future, al-Mashharawi said, “I hope I can introduce more solutions to the problems facing the Gaza Strip, help as many people as possible in the field of energy and environment as well as succeed in making deals and commercial partnerships with foreign and international companies to develop my business…and transfer my experience about eco-friendly building bricks to most developing countries.”

She continued: “The Palestinian youth should not feel despair because of the current circumstances, and they should always be patient because there is no easy and fast way to achieve success in life. Everything needs time and patience, and failure is always followed by success, which requires us to try again and again until we can achieve our goal in life.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.