فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / وُجوه من فلسطين / عمر البرغوثي: المقاومة السلمية من خلال مقاطعة إسرائيل

عمر البرغوثي: المقاومة السلمية من خلال مقاطعة إسرائيل

يعتبر الناشط الحقوقي الفلسطيني، عمر البرغوثي، العضو المؤسس والمنسق الرئيسي لكل من الحراك المتعلق بالمقاطعة الأكاديمية والثقافية لإسرائيل (PACBI)، بالإضافة الى كونه الناشط الرئيسي لحركة مقاطعة وسحب الاستثمارات وفرض العقوبات على إسرائيل (BDS).

بدأ عمر البرغوتي، المولود في قطر عام 1964، حياته العلمية في الولايات المتحدة حيث حصل على شهادة الماجستير في الهندسة الكهربائية من جامعة كولومبيا، وتزوج من امرأة فلسطينية إسرائيلية، صفاء طميش، وعليه انتقل عام 1993 إلى إسرائيل، واستطاع ان يحصل على الإقامة الدائمة في إسرائيل ويعيش في مدينة عكا، ولده ابنتان.

بدأ البرغوثي دراسة إضافية في جامعة تل أبيب عام 2009، وحصل على درجة الماجستير في الفلسفة وبدأ بدراسة الدكتوراه . عندما تم سؤاله حول دراسته في جامعة إسرائيلية على الرغم من مطالبته بالمقاطعة الأكاديمية، أجاب عمر البرغوتي بأن الفلسطينيين يحتاجون اكتساب المعرفة والعلم وهم غير قادرين على المقاطعة، وانما المطلوب من الدول الأجنبية التي لا تحتاج إسرائيل مقاطعتها.

عندما أصبح نشاط البرغوتي يؤتي ثماره في حشد المجتمعات والمؤسسات الدولية لمقاطعة إسرائيل اقتصادياً وثقافياً، وقع أكثر من 184000 إسرائيلي عريضة لطرده من الجامعة ومن إسرائيل، وهو ما لم يتم لعدم قانونية العريضة. ولكن في عام 2016 رفضت وزارة الداخلية الإسرائيلية تجديد اقامته في إسرائيل، مدعية أن البرغوتي يقضي أكثر وقته في الضفة الغربية، وعليه لم يتم تجديد وثائق سفره.

Omar Barghouti
Photo: ERIC LALMAND / BELGA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ERIC LALMAND / BELGA

البرغوتي اعتبر عدم تجديد اقامته في إسرائيل بأنه امر سياسي بحث، ويهدف لإبعاده عن عائلته المقيمة في عكا .

بعد مصادقة الكنيست الإسرائيلي بتاريخ 6 مارس 2017 على قانون يمنع منح تأشيرة دخول إلى البلاد، أو تصريح مكوث في البلاد، لمواطنين أجانب يدعون لمقاطعة إسرائيل ، بدأت إسرائيل في تشديد الخناق على عمر البرغوتي الذي يعتبر من ناحية قانونية أجنبي، كونه لا يحمل رقم هوية فلسطينية. بعد الإعلان عن فوز عمر البرغوتي بجائزة المنظمة الامريكية المستقلة Promoting Enduring Peace، بدأت إسرائيل في تشديد الخناق عليه أكثر فأكثر، فتم منعه من السفر وتوجيه تهمة التهرب الضريبي له.

في أبريل لعام 2017، رفعت المحكمة الإسرائيلية مؤقتاً حظر سفر البرغوثي، حيث استطاع السفر إلى الولايات المتحدة وتم تكريمه بجائزة غاندي للسلام في حفل أقيم في جامعة يال الامريكية، حيث أهدي البرغوتي جائزته للأسرى الفلسطينيين المضربين عن الطعام .

البحث عن نهج جديد للمقاومة الفلسطينية

عمر البرغوتي لم يكن الوحيد الذي آمن بفكر ونهج المقاومة من خلال المقاطعة الدولية. فقد استلهم الكثير من النهج الذي اتبعه نيلسون مانديلا في تجنيد دول العالم ضد نظام الفصل العنصري في دولة جنوب افريقيا. تم استخدام هذا النهج الجديد بعد فشل مفاوضات السلام في كامب ديفيد الثاني في شهر يوليو لعام 2000، واندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية في شهر سبتمبر 2000 في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة. وفي العام نفسه، بدأ بناء جدار فاصل بين الضفة الغربية وإسرائيل يبلغ طوله أكثر من 700 كيلو متر، حيث تم بناء حوالي 85% من مسار الجدار ليس بمحاذاة حدود عام1967، وانما داخل الأراضي الفلسطينية. وعليه، أصدرت محكمة العدل الدولية بتاريخ 9 يوليو 2004 بعدم شرعية الجدار لأن مساره تم بناءه على ارضي فلسطينية محتلة.

اثناء عملية الدرع الواقي تم تدمير العشرات من المرافق التعليمية، وعليه بدأ نشطاء فلسطينيين وأجانب يترأسهم عمر البرغوتي، بمبادرة في بريطانيا للدعوة لمقاطعة مؤسسات البحث الإسرائيلية. تدريجياً، بدأت حملة المقاطعة الثقافية تأتِ ثمارها، وعليه أعلن المثقفون الفلسطينيون في شهر ابريل 2004 بشكل رسمي عن تأسيس الحملة الفلسطينية للمقاطعة الأكاديمية والثقافية لإسرائيل، وعليه ارتفعت وتيره المبادرات المنادية لمقاطعة إسرائيل في مجالات اخرى. أقيم أسبوع الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي الأول في تورنتو في كندا في شهر مارس 2005، وهو عبارة عن سلسلة سنوية من المحاضرات والمظاهرات التي تقام في شهر مارس من كل عام. انتشرت هذه الفعاليات على مدار السنين في أكثر من 100 مدينة كبيرة حول العالم من ضمنها أمريكا الشمالية ودول الاتحاد الأوروبي ودول جنوب شرق اسيا، وجنوب افريقيا بالإضافة الى المدن الفلسطينية .

في ضوء النجاح الذي حققه المؤتمر الأول في كندا، توافقت الغالبية الساحقة لمؤسسات المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني في الوطن والشتات، بمن فيها الأحزاب والاتحادات النقابية والمهنية، والمنظمات الاهلية، على الحاجة لعمل مستمر واستراتيجي يهدف إلى تحقيق حقوق الشعب الفلسطيني من خلال من خلال التركيز على نهج المقاومة السلمية، من خلال عزل إسرائيل محلياً وعربياً ودولياً على الأصعدة الاقتصادية والأكاديمية والثقافية والعسكرية والسياسية. وعليه صدر بتاريخ 9 يوليو 2005 النداء الفلسطيني من قبل 171 مؤسسة أهلية لمقاطعة إسرائيل وسحب الاستثمارات منها وفرض العقوبات عليها المعروف باسم (BDS) .

اهداف حركة BDS

تتبنى حركة “بي دي اس” التي تحمل شعار “الحرية – العدالة – المساواة،” ثلاثة مبادىء أساسية تهدف في المقام الأول إلى: إنهاء الاحتلال الإسرائيلي للأراضي العربية المحتلة وتفكيك جدار الفصل، والاعتراف بالحقوق الأساسية لفلسطينيي الداخل، وفرض احترام وحماية حقوق اللاجئين في العودة إلى ديارهم وممتلكاتهم بناء على قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 194.

من اجل تحقيق هذه المبادىء تعمل الحركة على ترسيخ ونشر ثقافة المقاطعة كشكل أساسي من أشكال المقاومة الشعبية السلمية لنظام الاحتلال والفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي، كما تهدف الى تطوير استراتيجيات وبرامج المقاطعة عبر الحملات وتقديم الدعم والتوجيه للناشطين إقليمياً ودولياً، بالإضافة الى تحديد وتطوير أولويات ومعايير المقاطعة.

الحركة، التي بدأت بنداء قبل أكثر من خمسة عشر عاماً، أصبحت تشكل عبئاً كبيراً على إسرائيل حيث استطاعت هذه الحركة السلمية بحشد عدد كبير من المؤسسات والنقابات والشركات الدولية على وقف التعامل مع نظرائها الإسرائيليين. العديد من النقابات العمالية، مثل نقابة “يونيفر” الكندية قطعت التعامل مع الاتحاد العام لنقابات العمال الاسرائيلية (هستدروت) بتاريخ 6 سبتمبر 2017، وكانت قد سبقها “الاتحاد النرويجي لنقابات العمال الذي أعلن مقاطعة إسرائيل اقتصادياً وثقافياً وأكاديمياً، بالإضافة الى اتحاد النقابات البريطانية قد أوقف التعامل مع نظيره الإسرائيلي في 14 سبتمبر 2011.

كما أعلنت العشرات من الشركات الدولية عدم التعامل مع إسرائيل، ومنها شركة اورانج الفرنسية للاتصالات، وشركة فيتنس للمياه في هولندا، وشركة فيوليا الفرنسية للطاقة، وصندوق التقاعد الهولندي، والاتحاد الوطني البريطاني للطلبة، وجامعة دي بول الامريكية، وجامعة نورث ويسترن الامريكية، بالإضافة لبعض البلديات مثل بلدية ميركيفيل في مدينة سيدني الأسترالية .

يتجلى نجاح الحركة في تقرير للأمم المتحدة عن تراجع الاستثمارات الأجنبية في إسرائيل عام 2014 بنسبة 46% عن العام الذي سبقه.

على الرغم من الجهد الكبير الذي بذلته إسرائيل في تنظيم مسابقة اليوروفيجن في مايو 2019، إلا أن المسابقة الأوروبية الأهم على مستوى الاغنية، لم تمر كما ارادت إسرائيل. فقد استطاعت حركة المقاطعة من خلال النشطاء الدوليين حث المغنيين الأوروبيين على اظهار التعاطف مع الشعب الفلسطيني، حيث رفعت الفرقة الايسلندية علم فلسطين، كما ظهر علم فلسطين في فرقة المغنية العالمية مادونا أثناء أداء أغنية “فيوتشر”.

على الرغم من ان الحكومة الإسرائيلية استطاعت تسجيل نقاط إيجابية في حربها المفتوحة ضد حركة المقاطعة بي دي إس، وذلك عندما وافق البرلمان الاتحادي الألماني (البوندستاغ) على مشروع قانون يدين حركة المقاطعة ضد إسرائيل ووصفها بأنها “معادية للسامية” ، الا أن مشروع القانون تم انتقاده على مستوى واسع سواء من المفكرين الأوروبيين او حتى بعض الإسرائيليين أنفسهم .

مما لا شك فيه أن إسم عمر البرغوتي ارتبط بشكلٍ مباشر بحركة المقاطعة ضد إسرائيل، لكن الأهم من ذلك هو أن البرغوتي استطاع أن يؤسس مع مجموعة من أقرانه نهجاً سلمي جديد، لا يهدف الى العنف والقتل، وإنما يهدف الى الضغط الدولي تجاه السياسة العنصرية التي تستخدمها إسرائيل ضد المواطنين الفلسطينيين.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ ERIC LALMAND / BELGA | ©AFP ⁃ ERIC LALMAND / BELGA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Faces from Palestine / Omar Barghouti: Peaceful Resistance through Boycott of Israel

Omar Barghouti: Peaceful Resistance through Boycott of Israel

Palestinian human rights activist Omar Barghouti is the founding member and primary coordinator of the Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel (PACBI) as well as being the main activist for the Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS) movement.

Born in Qatar in 1964, Barghouti began his career in the United States (US), where he earned his master’s degree in electrical engineering from Columbia University. He married an Israeli Palestinian woman, Safa Tamish, moved to Israel in 1993 and obtained permanent residency there. He lives in the city of Akko (Acre) and has two daughters.

He earned a second master’s degree in philosophy from Tel Aviv University in 2009 and started to pursue his doctoral studies. When asked why he studied at an Israeli university despite his call for the academic boycott, Barghouti replied that the Palestinians needed to acquire knowledge and science and therefore they were unable to boycott Israel, but foreign countries that do not need Israel should boycott it.

When Barghouti’s campaigning began to mobilize international communities and organizations to boycott Israel economically and culturally, more than 184,000 Israelis signed a petition to expel him from the university and from Israel. This did not happen because the petition was not legal.

Omar Barghouti
Photo: ERIC LALMAND / BELGA / AFP

In 2016, however, the Interior Ministry refused to renew Barghouti’s residence permit, claiming that he was spending most of his time in the West Bank. Barghouti believed the non-renewal of his residence permit was politically motivated and aimed at separating him from his family.

After the Knesset, Israel’s parliament, approved a law on 6 March 2017 banning the granting of visas or residence permits to foreign citizens calling for the boycott of Israel, Israel began to tighten the noose on Barghouti, who is legally considered a foreigner because he does not have a Palestinian identity number. After he won an award granted by the independent US-based organization Promoting Enduring Peace, Israel tightened the noose even further, preventing him from travelling and charging him with tax evasion.

In April 2017, an Israeli court temporarily lifted the travel ban on Barghouti, allowing him to travel to the US where he received the Gandhi Peace Award at a ceremony held at Yale University. He donated the value of the award to Palestinian prisoners on hunger strike.

New approach to Palestinian resistance

Barghouti was not the only person who believed in resistance through an international boycott. He was greatly inspired by Nelson Mandela’s approach to mobilizing the nations of the world against the apartheid regime in South Africa. This approach was introduced in Palestine after the failure of the Camp David II peace negotiations in July 2000 and the outbreak of the second intifada (uprising) in September 2000 in the West Bank and Gaza Strip, followed by a major Israeli military operation in the West Bank in 2002. The same year, Israel began building a more than 700km separation wall in the West Bank, around 85 per cent of which was not built along the 1967 border but within Palestinian territory. Consequently, the International Court of Justice ruled on 9 July 2004 that the wall was illegal because it is was built on occupied Palestinian land.

During the military operation, dozens of schools and colleges were destroyed, prompting Palestinian and foreign activists, headed by Barghouti, to launch a campaign in Britain calling for the boycott of Israeli research institutions. The campaign gradually gained ground and, in April 2004, Palestinian intellectuals officially announced the establishment of PACBI, paving the way for initiatives to boycott Israel in other areas. The first Israeli Apartheid Week, which takes the form of university lectures and demonstrations, was held in Toronto, Canada in March 2005. It has since spread to more than 100 cities around the world, including in North America, Europe, South-east Asia, South Africa and Palestine itself.

Following the success of the Toronto event, the majority of Palestinian civil society organizations at home and the diaspora, including parties, trade unions, professional associations and national organizations, agreed on the need for sustained and strategic action aimed at realizing the rights of the Palestinian people by focusing on peaceful resistance and isolating Israel in local, Arab and international arenas at the economic, academic, cultural, military and political levels. On 9 July 2005, 171 national organizations issued a call to boycott Israel, withdraw investments from it and impose sanctions against it. The BDS movement was born.

Objectives of the BDS movement

The BDS movement embraces ‘freedom, justice and equality’, which is manifested in a set of principles with three main aims: ending the Israeli occupation of Arab lands and dismantling the separation wall; recognizing the fundamental rights of Palestinian citizens of Israel to full equality; and respecting, protecting and promoting the rights of Palestinian refugees to return to their homes and properties as stipulated in United Nations Resolution 194.

In order to realize these principles, the movement promotes boycott as a basic form of peaceful popular resistance to the Israeli occupation and the apartheid regime. It also aims to develop boycott strategies and programmes through campaigns, provide support and guidance to regional and international activists, and identify and set priorities and standards of such a boycott.

The movement, which emerged more than 15 years ago, has become a thorn in Israel’s side, mobilizing international organizations, trade unions and companies to stop dealing with their Israeli counterparts. Several trade unions, such as the Canadian UNIVER group, cut ties with the General Organization of Workers in Israel on 6 September 2017. Earlier that year, the Norwegian United Federation of Trade Unions announced it intended to boycott Israel economically, culturally and academically. In addition, the General Federation of Trade Unions in the United Kingdom stopped dealing with its Israeli counterpart on 14 September 2011.

In addition, dozens of international companies announced they would stop dealing with Israel, including the Orange France telecommunication company, Fitness Water in the Netherlands, French energy company Veolia, the Dutch Pension Fund, the British National Union of Students, the US-based DePaul University, the US-based University of North Western and some municipalities such as Merquiville in Sydney.

The success of the movement is evident in a United Nations report, which showed that foreign investment in Israel declined by 46 per cent in 2014 compared to the previous year.

More recently, the high-profile Eurovision Song Contest, held in Israel in May 2019, was the target of the BDS movement. Through its global network of activists, the movement was able to motivate participants to show sympathy toward the Palestinian people. Icelandic performers Hatari raised the Palestinian flag as their points were read out. The flag also appeared during the song ‘Future’ by Madonna, who made a guest appearance at the event.

Although the Israeli government has been able to score points in its open war against the BDS movement, when the German parliament approved a bill condemning the boycott as anti-Semitic, the bill was widely criticized by European intellectuals and even by some Israelis.

Undoubtedly, Barghouti’s name has become directly associated with the boycott movement. More importantly, however, he has been able to establish with a group of likeminded activists a form of resistance that does not resort to violence but aims to put international pressure on the racist policy applied by Israel against the Palestinians.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ERIC LALMAND / BELGA ©AFP | ERIC LALMAND / BELGA ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update