فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / وُجوه من فلسطين / الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس: سياسي براغماتي أم دمية إقليمية؟

الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس: سياسي براغماتي أم دمية إقليمية؟

محمود عباس، المعروف أيضاً بكنيته أبو مازن، يترأس السلطة الفلسطينية منذ 9 يناير 2005، وعلى الرغم من انتهاء الولاية القانونية للرئاسة بعد أربع سنوات في عام 2009، رفض عباس اجراء انتخابات رئاسية جديدة، وعليه تعتبر قيادته دون شرعية ديمقراطية.

الإنتقاد الرئيسي الثاني الموجه له هو ما يعرف بسياسة التنسيق الأمني مع إسرائيل، التي تعدّ واحدةً من الجوانب الأساسية لعملية السلام. لذا، فهل يعتبر الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس سياسي براغماتي يعلم كيف يتعامل مع القيادة الاسرائيلية، أم أنه ليس سوى دمية إقليمية لإسرائيل وأمريكا؟

السنوات الأولى

ولد محمود عباس في مدينة صفد في الجليل بتاريخ 26 مارس 1935. هاجرت عائلته إثر نكبة عام 1948 الى الأردن ثم الى سوريا. بدأ دراسته العليا في جامعة دمشق، حيث درس الأدب واللغة الإنجليزية، بالإضافة الى حصوله على إجازة في القانون من جامعة دمشق. بعد سنوات عديدة درس أيضاً التاريخ في جامعة باتريس لومومبا في موسكو وحصل على الدكتوراه في عام 1982 في قسم السياسة الإسرائيلية، حيث كانت أطروحته عن العلاقات بين الصهيونية والنازية. قبل ذلك، عمل في دولة قطر مُدّرساً، ثم مديراً لشؤون الموظفين في وزارة التربية والتعليم في الإمارة لغاية عام 1970، عندما ترك العمل وتفرغ كليا للعمل الوطني.

محمود عباس متزوج من السيدة أمينة عباس، ولهم ثلاثة أولاد هم مازن وياسر وطارق. الابن الأكبر مازن كانت قد وافته المنية فجأة في دولة قطر إثر نوبة قلبية عام 2001، حيث كان يدير شركة للعقارات.

Palestine- Mahmoud Abbas
Photo AFP

أولاده ياسر وطارق يديران مجموعة من الشركات الاقتصادية الضخمة في كل من فلسطين والأردن وقطر.

البداية السياسية

بدأ عباس نشاطه السياسي منذ بداية الستينيات، وأثناء تواجده في قطر في عام 1961، تم تجنيده كعضوٍ في فتح، الحزب السياسي القومي الذي أسسه ياسر عرفات برفقة عددٍ من الفلسطينيين في الكويت في أواخر الخمسينيات. تعتبر فتح أكبر فصيلٍ في منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية متعددة الأحزاب.

واصل ارتقائه في المناصب العليا على مر العقود التالية، حيث تم تعينه عضواً في المجلس الوطني الفلسطيني، الهيئة التشريعية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، في عام 1968، وعضواً في اللجنة التنفيذية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في عام 1980. وفي العام 1996 تم اختياره أميناً لسر اللجنة التنفيذية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، مما جعله الرجل الثاني عملياً في القيادة الفلسطينية.

سجل التاريخ بأن عباس كان أول من دخل معترك المفاوضات السياسية مع الطرف الإسرائيلي المعتدل لأول مرة عام 1977، عندما تباحث مع الجنرال الإسرائيلي ماتيتياهو بيليد، التي أدت إلى إعلان مبادئ سلام على أساس الحل بإقامة دولتين. كما شارك في المفاوضات السرية بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين، من خلال وسطاء هولنديين عام 1989، ونسق المفاوضات أثناء مؤتمر مدريد للسلام عام 1991. تم وصفه بأنه مهندس اتفاقية أوسلو، إذ قاد مفاوضات هذه الاتفاقية، وفي نهاية المطاف وقع بنفسه عن الجانب الفلسطيني اتفاقية اوسلو بتاريخ 13 سبتمبر 1993. ثم وقع ما عرف باتفاقية أوسلو الثانية بعد عامين. أسفرت المفاوضات الأخيرة التي اجراها عباس بعيداً عن الأنظار مع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي يوسي بيلين في عام 1995 عن ما عُرف بوثيقة “أبو مازن – بيلين،” وكانت بمثابة مشروع اتفاق سلامٍ غير رسمي، وتضمنت بشكل أساسي تصورات لحل مشكلة مستقبل اللاجئين، والقدس والمستوطنات.

صعوده إلى السلطة

خلال عملية السور الواقي الإسرائيلية نهاية مارس ولغاية يوليو 2002، اقتحم الجيش الإسرائيلي مدن الضفة الغربية وحاصر مقر الرئيس الفلسطيني الراحل ياسر عرفات. وعليه، تحت الضغوط الدولية تم استحداث منصب رئيس الوزراء، حيث احتل عباس منصب أول رئيس وزراءٍ في السلطة الفلسطينية في 19 مارس 2003، لكنه عاد وترك هذا المنصب بعد ستة أشهر، بسبب خلافاتٍ مع عرفات حول صلاحيات رئيس الوزراء.

بعد وفاة عرفات في 11 نوفمبر 2004، ورث محمود عباس قيادة حركة التحرير الوطني الفلسطينية (فتح)، ورئاسة اللجنة التنفيذية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية. وبعد حوالي شهرين من وفاة عرفات تم انتخاب محمود عباس لرئاسة السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية بتاريخ 9 يناير 2005، بنسبة 62% من مجموع الأصوات.

بعد تقلد عباس الرئاسة، التقى بعد شهرين مع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي آنذاك ارئيل شارون في قمة شرم الشيخ في مصر من اجل التباحث في إنهاء العنف الإسرائيلي- الفلسطييني القائم، وتم الاتفاق على تعميق التعاون في التنسيق الأمني بين الطرفين. بيد أن الانتخابات التشريعية بتاريخ 25 يناير 2006 قلبت الموازين رأساً على عقب، فقد فازت حماس، المنافس الرئيسي لفتح، وعلى نحوٍ مفاجىء بأغلبية مقاعد البرلمان الفلسطيني. أدى هذا الانتصار إلى إعاقة جهود عباس لإعادة بدء عملية السلام، حيث أصرت إسرائيل على عدم تعاملها مع سلطةٍ تتضمن حماس التي تعتبرها منظمةً إرهابية. وبتاريخ 14 يوليو 2007، سيطرت حماس عسكرياً، بمساعدة جناحها العسكري، على قطاع غزة وتم التخلص من جميع مسؤولي حركة فتح هناك. أسفر الصراع عن حل حكومة الوحدة الوطنية وتقسيم الأراضي الفلسطينية بحكم الأمر الواقع إلى قسمين.

كما واجه عباس انتقاداتٍ حادة واسعة النطاق من الفلسطينيين لإدانته جميع أشكال المقاومة، لا سيما المقاومة المسلحة، كما أكد أكثر من مرة على اهتمامه البالغ بالتنسيق الأمني مع إسرائيل. وعلاوةً على ذلك، وفي ظل ضغوطٍ من الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل طالب بسحب تقرير غولدستون لتقصي الحقائق المقدم للأمم المتحدة بشأن الصراع في غزة في الفترة ما بين 2008-2009. اتهم التقرير كلاً من إسرائيل والمسلحين الفلسطينيين على حد سواء بارتكاب جرائم حرب وايضاً شبهة جرائم ضد الإنسانية، إلا أنه لم يتوقع أي فلسطيني هذا الموقف السياسي المساند لإسرائيل من قِبل عباس.

من الأمور القليلة التي رفعت من شأن عباس داخل المجتمع الفلسطيني هو الحصول على عضوية “دولة مراقبة غير عضو” لفلسطين في الأمم المتحدة عام 2012، خلال تصويت الجمعية العمومية للأمم المتحدة. وعليه بدأت السلطة الفلسطينية باستخدام شعار دولة فلسطين على الوثائق الحكومية، كما خول لها الانضمام الى عدد كبير من المؤسسات الدولية الأممية، ومنها المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

الموقف السياسي للرئيس الفلسطيني لم يتغير أيضاً اثناء حرب 2012 وحرب عام 2014، حيث القى اللوم في أكثر من مرة على حماس وليس على إسرائيل. وعليه، فإن المحاولات الحثيثة من الجانب المصري لإنهاء الانقسام الداخلي بين فتح وحماس، باءت بالفشل لأن أبو مازن طالب باستسلام حماس وليس مفاوضة حماس في تسليم قطاع غزة للحكومة الفلسطينية برام الله.

بالإضافة الى سياسية الحصار الإسرائيلية ضد قطاع غزة، فرض أبو مازن مجموعة من العقوبات الإضافية على قطاع غزة منذ مارس 2017، حيث تم تقليص الرواتب للموظفين، وحتى المصاريف الجارية لكل من وزارة الصحة والتعليم.

وأيضاً من القرارات المثيرة للجدل التي اتخذها الرئيس عباس، هو القرار غير الدستوري بحل المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني والدعوة لانتخابات جديدة خلال ستة شهور. تم حل السلطة التشريعية مما جعل عباس يتحكم بالسلطة التنفيذية والتشريعية وأيضاً القضائية، ولم يتم حتى الآن إصدار قرارٍ بإجراء انتخاباتٍ جديدة.

الإنقسامات داخل فتح

على الرغم من انه تم عقد المؤتمر العام لحركة فتح السادس عام 2009 لأول مرة على ارضٍ فلسطينية، إلا أن بوادر الانشقاقات بدأت تظهر للعيان منذ تلك الفترة. فقد أصدر عباس قراراً بتاريخ 12 يونيو 2011 بطرد محمد دحلان، رئيس جهاز الأمن الوقائي السابق في غزة، من اللجنة المركزية، وبعد ذلك تسارعت وتيرة طرد أعضاء من حركة فتح ممن ينتقدون سياسة أبو مازن أو يتضح ولائهم لدحلان. فقد جاء هذا الطرد في أعقاب نزاعٍ علني اتهم فيه عباس دحلان بالفساد والتشهير به. وعليه، قامت كل من مصر والسعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة بعدةٍ محاولات لرأب الصدع، إلا أن عباس رفض التعاون.

شبهات فساد

بعد عامين، واجهت حكومة عباس شبهاتٍ بالفساد، فقد ذكرت عدة تقارير إعلامية فلسطينية وإسرائيلية بأن مكتب الرئيس يستنزف أموالاً ضخمة من الميزانية العامة السنوية، والتي بلغت حوالي 70 مليون دولار في العام أو ما نسبته 13% من الميزانية، بالإضافة إلى إنفاق ما يقارب 37 مليون دولار على مكتب المقاطعة في رام الله، بما في ذلك نفقات سفر الرئيس ومرافقيه.

كما تظهر الاحصائيات أن عباس أمضى أكثر من ثلث عام 2018 خارج الأراضي الفلسطينية، في ظل عدم تحقيق نتائج الأداء السياسي للسلطة. فقد أظهرت العديد من استطلاعات الرأي بان نسبة الثقة في عباس لا تتجاوز 20% على أحسن تقدير، كما طالب أكثر من ثلثين من المستطلعة آرائهم عباس بالاستقالة من منصبه.

على الرغم من تراجع شعبيته إلى حدٍ كبير، يصر عباس على مواصلة التفاوض كأداةٍ سياسية ودبلوماسية نشطة للضغط على الآخرين. ولأكثر من 14 عاماً، حافظ على التنسيق الأمني مع إسرائيل لأنه يعلم بأنه الطرف الأضعف في المعادلة، ويعلم أن نهج المقاومة المسلحة فشل في السابق وسيفشل في المستقبل، ولا يوجد امامه سوى أسلوب الحوار من اجل التوصل الى حلٍ سلمي.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Faces from Palestine / Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas: A pragmatic politician or a regional puppet?

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas: A pragmatic politician or a regional puppet?

Mahmoud Abbas, also known by his Arabic kunya Abu Mazen, has been the president of the Palestinian Authority (PA) since 9 January 2005. Despite the end of his four-year term in 2009, he has refused to hold new presidential elections, and thus his leadership lacks democratic legitimacy.

The other main criticism directed at him relates to his policy of security coordination with Israel, which is one of the key aspects of the peace process. So, is Abbas a pragmatic politician who knows how to deal with the Israeli leadership, or is he little more than a regional puppet for Israel and America?

Early years

Abbas was born in the city of Safed in Galilee on 26 March 1935. After the establishment of Israel in 1948, his family emigrated to Jordan and then Syria. He obtained degrees in English language and literature and law from the University of Damascus. He subsequently studied history at the Patrice Lumumba University in Moscow and received his doctorate in 1982 from the Department of Israeli Politics. His dissertation was about the relationship between Zionism and Nazism. Prior to this, he worked as a teacher in Qatar and then as director of personnel in the emirate’s Ministry of Education until 1970, when he left to dedicate himself completely to Palestinian cause.

Palestine- Mahmoud Abbas
Photo AFP

He is married to Amina Abbas and has three sons: Mazen, Yasser and Tariq. Mazen, the oldest, died unexpectedly of a heart attack in 2001 in Qatar, where he ran a real estate company. Yasser and Tariq run a group of large companies in the Palestinian territories, Jordan and Qatar.

Political start

Abbas became politically active in the 1960s. While in Qatar in 1961, he was recruited as a member of Fatah, a nationalist political party that was founded by Yasser Arafat and several other Palestinians in Kuwait in the late 1950s. Fatah is the largest faction in the multi-party Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO).

He rose through the ranks over the following decades, being appointed as a member of the Palestinian National Council (PNC), the PLO’s legislative body, in 1968 and as a member of the PLO’s Executive Committee in 1980. In 1996, he was selected as secretary of the Executive Committee, effectively making him the second in command in the Palestinian leadership.

He was among the first to introduce the idea of initiating talks with moderate Israelis, which he did in 1977 during a meeting with Israeli General Mattityahu Peled. The meeting led to a two-state solution that became the basis for the Principles of Peace. He also engaged in secret negotiations between Palestinians and Israelis through Dutch intermediaries in 1989 and coordinated negotiations during the Madrid Conference in 1991. He was described as the engineer of the Oslo I Accord, leading the negotiations and eventually signing the accord on behalf of the PLO on 13 September 1993. He signed the Oslo II Accord two years later. The secret negotiations he conducted with Israeli minister Yossi Beilin in 1995 resulted in the Beilin-Abu Mazen Document, an informal draft for an official peace treaty between the two parties, including the future of refugees, Jerusalem and Israeli settlements.

Rise to power

During Operation Defensive Shield, a large-scale military operation conducted by Israel between March and July 2002, the Israeli army stormed the West Bank and besieged Arafat’s office. Amid international pressure, the PA introduced the position of prime minister, which Abbas assumed on 19 March 2003. However, he resigned six months later following disagreements with Arafat over the prime minister’s powers.

After Arafat’s death on 11 November 2004, Abbas inherited the chairmanship of Fatah and the PLO’s Executive Committee. On 9 January 2005, he was elected president of the PA, winning 62 percent of the votes.

At the Sharm el-Sheikh summit in Egypt a month later, he met with Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon to discuss ways to end the ongoing Israeli-Palestinian violence, and they agreed to strengthen cooperation and security coordination. However, the 25 January 2006 legislative elections turned things upside down. Hamas, Fatah’s main rival, unexpectedly won the majority of seats in the Palestinian parliament. The win brought Abbas’ efforts to restart the peace process to a halt, as Israel insisted it would not deal with an authority including Hamas, which it deems a terror organization. On 14 July 2007, with the assistance of its military wing, Hamas gained control of the Gaza Strip and removed Fatah officials. The conflict resulted in the dissolution of the unity government and the de facto division of the Palestinian territories into two.

Abbas also faced widespread criticism from Palestinians for his condemnation of all forms of resistance, especially armed, and his repeated emphasis on security coordination with Israel. Moreover, under the pressure of U.S. and Israel he requested the United Nations Human Rights Council withdraw the report of the Fact-Finding Mission on the Gaza Conflict in 2008-2009. The report accused both the Israel Defense Forces and Palestinian militants of committing war crimes and possible crimes against humanity, but Palestinians were not expecting what they perceived as Abbas’ support for Israel.

One of the few things that helped Abbas gain some support was the 2012 vote by the United Nations General Assembly that granted Palestine non-member observer state status at the United Nations. The PA accordingly began using the logo of the State of Palestine on government documents and was authorized to join a large number of international organizations, including the International Criminal Court.

Abbas’ political stance remained unchanged during the 2012 war and the 2014 war, and he repeatedly blamed Hamas instead of Israel. Numerous attempts by Egypt to end the internal division between Fatah and Hamas failed because Abbas demanded that Hamas surrender instead of negotiating to hand over power to the Ramallah-based government.

In addition to Israel’s blockade of Gaza, Abbas has imposed a series of additional sanctions on the enclave since March 2017, notably stopping salary payments for civil servants and cutting the health and education budgets.

One of his most controversial decisions was to call for the dissolution of the Palestinian Legislative Council and for new elections within six months. The council was dissolved, putting Abbas in control of the judicial as well as the executive and legislative branches, but no new elections have yet been held.

Divisions within Fatah

Although Fatah’s 6th General Conference was held on Palestinian territory for the first time in 2009, cracks in the party were beginning to appear. On 12 June 2011, Abbas expelled Mohammed Dahlan, Fatah’s former security chief in Gaza, from the Central Committee, followed by several other members who criticized Abbas’ leadership or showed loyalty to Dahlan. The expulsion followed a public feud in which Abbas accused Dahlan of corruption and defamation. Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates made several attempts to mend the rift, but Abbas refused to cooperate.

Allegations of corruption

Two years later, Abbas’ government itself faced allegations of corruption. Palestinian and Israeli media reported that the president’s office was draining huge sums from the annual budget, amounting to approximately $70 million per year or 13 percent of the budget, in addition to approximately $37 million spent by the office of the PA’s Ramallah compound, including on travel costs for the president and his staff.

Statistics show that Abbas spent more than one third of 2018 outside the Palestinian territories but has failed to achieve substantive political results. Several opinion polls indicate that confidence in Abbas does not exceed 20 percent, and that more than two thirds of respondents want him to resign.

Despite his fading popularity, Abbas insists on pursuing negotiation as a political tool and active diplomacy to apply pressure on others. For more than 14 years, he has maintained security coordination with Israel because he knows that he is the weakest party, that armed resistance has failed in the past and will fail in the future, and that he has no other option but dialogue to reach a peaceful solution.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.