فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / وُجوه من فلسطين / الشاعر الفلسطيني تميم البرغوثي: شاعر الشعب

الشاعر الفلسطيني تميم البرغوثي: شاعر الشعب

Palestine- Tamim al-Barghouti
Source: The New Yorker

فاز تميم البرغوثي بقلوب ملايين الأشخاص بقصائده، فقد كان والده الفلسطيني، مريد، شاعراً وصحفياً أيضاً في حين أن والدته المصرية، رضوى عاشور، كانت روائية. ولد مريد وتربى في إحدى قرى رام الله، بينما ولد تميم في القاهرة، وتخرج كلاهما من جامعة القاهرة. وكحال والديه، طوّر تميم قدرةً خارقة على وصف الفروق الدقيقة ما بين المقاومة والحزن في العالم العربي.

وكفلسطيني، بلورت تجربة الطرد والمنفى نشأته وأثرت على عمله. ففي عام 1977، وهو العام الذي ولد فيه، اضطر والده لمغادرة مصر عندما تم إيقاف برنامج إذاعة صوت فلسطين نتيجةً لعملية السلام المصرية الإسرائيلية. وعلى مدى السنوات الثماني عشرة التالية، سافر تميم مع عائلته لرؤية والده في بودابست خلال فصل الصيف.

وقال تميم لفَنَك، “جعلتني هذه التجربة أدرك، في وقتٍ مبكر جداً، مسألة السلطة.” وأضاف “[جعلتني أدرك] قدرة الأشخاص الذين لم أعرفهم ولم يعرفوني، ومع ذلك تمكنوا من تشكيل حياتي لأنهم كانوا يمتلكون ألقاباً ومناصب سمحت لهم بفعل ذلك.”

وبحلول عام 1999، نشر تميم أول قصائده. وطوال هذا الوقت، كان يعمل على بناء مستقبله المهني كأكاديمي في العلوم السياسية. ولكن بحلول عام 2003 تمكن تميم من صنع اسمٍ لنفسه.

فقد أجبر عشية الغزو الأمريكي للعراق أيضاً على مغادرة مصر بسبب معارضته للحرب، بما يخالف موقف الحكومة المصرية. شدد على أن الترحيل كان غير قانوني، إلا أنه قال إنه سُمح له بالعودة إلى البلاد بعد عدة أسابيع.

رفض تميم البرغوثي إلتزام الصمت ونشر قصيدتين حول طرده وآرائه حول الحرب. حملت الأولى عنوان “قالولي بتحب مصر،” فيما حملت القصيدة الثانية عنوان “مقام عراق.” تلقى العملان صدىً كبيراً طيباً في مصر وفي العالم العربي أيضاً.

بعدها خرجت إلى النور قصيدته “إلى القدس،” التي جعلت منه إسماً مألوفاً في فلسطين عام 2007. عبرت القصيدة عن جوهر السلب بينما يقصّ حكاية رحلةٍ لم تكتمل بسيارة أجرة إلى مدينة القدس. تصور القصيدة مدينةً يحبها الفلسطينيون حباً جماً إلا أنها لا تبادلهم ذلك الحب.

وبعد تسجيل القصيدة، ظهرت صورته في المتاجر والصحف في جميع أنحاء الأراضي الفلسطينية. كما تم تحويل أجزاء من القصيدة إلى نغمة رنين للهاتف.

وبعد أربع سنوات، غذى شعر البرغوثي نشوة الربيع العربي. ففي 27 يناير 2011، وبعد يومين فحسب من إطاحة المحتجين المصريين بالديكتاتور حسني مبارك، كتب تميم وقرأ قصيدةً بعنوان “يا مصر هانت وبانت” على قناة الجزيرة. وخلال الأسبوعين التاليين، تم إعادة التسجيل مرةً كل ساعتين على شاشات مؤقتة في ميدان التحرير بالقاهرة.

ولكن بعد عامين، قام رئيس المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلحة، عبد الفتاح السيسي، بالإطاحة بأول رئيسٍ منتخب ديمقراطياً في مصر، الإسلامي محمد مرسي.

كتب البرغوثي في صحيفة الجارديان البريطانية أن الإسلاميين والعلمانيين خانوا وعود الثورة. وقال إن كلا المعسكرين اتفقا على تقاسم السلطة مع المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلحة الذي تدربه وتموله الولايات المتحدة. وبصفته عالماً سياسياً، لاحظ البرغوثي، على نحوٍ صحيح، أن الجيش يستغل الانقسام السياسي لاختطاف البلاد. وأشار في وقتٍ لاحق أن النظام العسكري الحالي في مصر “الأسوأ في هذا القرن.”

وبعد فترةٍ قصيرة من الانقلاب، بدأ البرغوثي بترجمة العديد من قصائده إلى الإنجليزية بمساعدة والدته. وعن تجربته هذه قال إن والدته خففت من صعوبة ترجمة الإنفعالات والأساطير التي يفضل نقلها باللغة العربية.

فقد قال: “كانت تحررني من هذا الشعور الذي أشعر به كلما تحدثت بالإنجليزية أو كتبت بالإنجليزية، وهو أنني أسبح في بحرٍ من الهلام.” وأضاف “كانت تحاول باستخدام أجنحتها الضخمة- تماماً كحال آلهة العدالة المصرية- أن تشق لي الأمواج كما فعل النبي موسى وتسمح لي بالحركة.”

بعد وفاة والدته في عام 2014، كرّس تميم معظم وقته لإنهاء ترجمات قصائده. وفي عام 2017، نُشرت أخيراً قصيدة في القدس وقصائد أخرى باللغة الإنجليزية. وكتبت الصحيفة الفلسطينية على الإنترنت، Electronic Intifada، نقداً إيجابياً عن الكتاب. إذ قالت سارة إيرفينج من Electronic Intifada “تعبق [المجموعة] بالغضب الذي ينبع من كلٍ من حياة الشاعر كنجل فلسطيني عاش في المنفى وكناشطٍ في الحركات من أجل التغيير التي اتخذت شكل انتفاضاتٍ واجتاحت العالم العربي في عام 2010.”

لعب تميم البرغوثي دور المفكر الشعبي، مجادلاً أن الشعر لا يتم إنتاجه فقط من خلال الكلمة المكتوبة أو المنطوقة بل أيضاً من خلال بطولات الناس العاديين.

وقال لصحيفة ذا نيويوركر: “في بعض الأحيان يصنع الناس الشعر بأقدامهم”. وأضاف “[على سبيل المثال، مشهد] طفلٍ صغير وهو يقف أمام، أو يواجه دبابةً في فلسطين. فارس عوده، صبي يبلغ من العمر 14 عاماً. خسر حياته. هذا الفعل الشجاع هو قصيدة، هناك. لم أكتب أي شيء. قمت فقط بقراءة ذلك عن قدميه.”

إلى جانب شعره، يكتب تميم البرغوثي لصحفٍ يومية لبنانية ومصرية، كما ألف كتابين أكاديميين. ولكن سيذكره العالم أولاً وقبل كل شيء كشاعرٍ للشعب. يُعرض له حالياً برنامجٌ على الخدمة الرقمية، الجزيرة بلس (AJ+)، والذي بات يحظى بشعبية.

ففي منطقةٍ يُسجن فيها الشعراء بسبب صدقهم، لم يقبل تميم يوماً التنازل عن مبادئه لإرضاء من هم في السلطة. ولربما هذا هو السبب الذي يجعل قصائده تحظى بصدى واسع النطاق، فهي تصف التكيّف الذي يراه في عالمٍ يزداد قسوة يوماً بعد يوم.

إذ قال لنا في فَنَك، “قرأت الشعر الذي هربه الناس بين ثنايا التاريخ، وكتبت شعري الخاص.” وأضاف “ينبغي أن تتم هذه المساعي بطرقٍ، آمل، أن تكون فريدة من نوعها.”

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Faces from Palestine / Palestinian Poet Tamim al-Barghouti: the People’s Poet

Palestinian Poet Tamim al-Barghouti: the People’s Poet

Palestine- Tamim al-Barghouti
Source: The New Yorker

Tamim al-Barghouti has won the hearts of millions of people with his poems. His Palestinian father, Mourad, was also a poet and journalist while his Egyptian mother, Radwa Ashour, was a novelist. The  former was raised in a village near Ramallah and the latter was born in Cairo. They both studied at Cairo University. Like his parents, al-Barghouti developed the uncanny ability to describe the nuances of resistance and grief in the Arab world.

As a Palestinian, the experience of dispossession and exile shaped his upbringing and influenced his work. In 1977, the year he was born, his father was forced to leave Egypt when the Voice of Palestine radio show was shut down as a result of the Egyptian-Israeli Peace Process. For the next 18-years, al-Barghouti travelled with his family to see his father in Budapest during the summer.

“This experience made me aware, quite early on, of the question of power,” al-Barghouti told Fanack chronicle. [It made me aware] of the ability of people who I didn’t know and who didn’t know me but could still shape my life because they had titles and positions that allowed them to do so.”

By 1999, al-Barghouti had published his first poem. All the while, he was building a career as an academic in political science. But it was not until 2003 that he made a name for himself.

On the eve of the American invasion of Iraq, he was  forced to leave Egypt due to his opposition to the war, which ran counter to the Egyptian government. He stressed that the deportation was not legal but said that he was allowed to return to the country weeks later.

Refusing to be silenced, al-Barghouti published two poems about his expulsion and his views on the war. The first was ‘aluli Btaheb Masr’, which roughly means ‘They asked me, do you love Egypt’, while the second was titled ‘Maqam Iraq’, which translates as ‘Iraq’s place’. Both poems attracted attention in Egypt and across the Arab world.

Then came his poem ‘In Jerusalem’, which made him a household name in Palestine in 2007. The poem captured the very essence of dispossession by telling a tale of an aborted taxi journey to Jerusalem. The poem portrayed a city that Palestinians love dearly but that does not love them back. After the poem was recorded, his photo appeared in shops and newspapers across the Palestinian territories. Parts of the poem were even made into a ringtone.

Four years later, al-Barghouti’s poetry would fuel the euphoria of the Arab Spring. On 27 January 2011, just two days after Egyptian protestors toppled dictator Hosni Mubarak, al-Barghouti wrote and read a poem titled ‘Ya Masr Hanet’ (‘Oh Egypt, it is close’) on al-Jazeera. For the next two weeks, the recording was replayed every two hours on makeshift screens on Cairo’s Tahrir Square.

Two years later, the head of the Supreme Council of Armed Forces (SCAF), Abdel Fatah al-Sisi, overthrew Egypt’s first democratically elected president and Islamist Mohamed Morsi.

Al-Barghouti wrote in the UK’s Guardian newspaper that both the Islamists and secularists betrayed the promises of the revolution. Both camps, he argued, agreed to share power with the American-trained and funded SCAF.

As a political scientist, al-Barghouti correctly observed that the army was exploiting the political divide to hijack the country. He later remarked that the current military regime in Egypt is the “worst of the century”.

Soon after the coup, al-Barghouti began translating many of his poems into English with the help of his mother. Reflecting on the experience, he  said that his mother alleviated the difficulty of translating emotions and myths that he prefers to convey in Arabic.

“She would liberate me from this feeling I get whenever I’m speaking in English or writing in English, which is that I’m swimming in a sea of jelly,” he said. “She would try, with these huge, huge wings – like the Egyptian goddess of justice – to separate the waves like Moses and allow me to move.”

After his mother died in 2014, al-Barghouti dedicated most of his time to finishing off the translations of his poems. In 2017, In Jerusalem and other poems was finally published in English. The Palestinian online newspaper, Electronic Intifada (EI), gave the book a raving review.

‘[The collection] is redolent with anger that springs both from the poet’s life as the son of an exiled Palestinian and as an activist in the movements for change in the form of the uprisings that swept through the Arab world in 2010,’ wrote EI’s Sarah Irving.

Al-Barghouti has assumed the role of the public intellectual, arguing that poetry is not merely produced through the written or spoken word but also through the heroism of ordinary people.

“Sometimes people make poetry with their feet,” he told The New Yorker. “[For instance, the sight of] a little kid standing, facing a tank in Palestine. Faris Odeh, a 14-year-old boy. He lost his life. That act of courage is a poem, right there. I didn’t write anything. I just read it off his feet.”

Besides his poetry, al-Barghouti writes for Lebanese and Egyptian dailies and has authored two academic books. But he will be remembered first and foremost as a people’s poet. He currently has a program on AJ+ that is gaining in popularity.

In a region where poets are jailed for their honesty, he has never compromised his principles to appease those in power. Perhaps that is why his poems resonate so widely; they describe the resilience that he sees in an increasingly cruel world.

“I read the poetry that people smuggle between the folds of history, and write my own,” he told Fanack chronicle. “Both these endeavours should be done in ways that are, hopefully, unique.“

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.